Basic RFID Security

Marc Ruef

RFID has come to attention with the introduction of the electronic passport used in many a country. Security concerns are justified but latent. In this article, I want to illustrate the effective dangers of simple RFID tags.

Note: RFID is not internationally standardized. Standards and recommendations vary from country to country and from industry to industry. This leads to variations in functionality and use of RFID technology, depending on the user’s location. Attempts at standardization are made with ISO/IEC 18000: Information technology – Radio frequency identification for item management.


RFID is an abbreviation for Radio Frequency Identification. The technology is being used in order to wirelessly exchange data between a transponder (also known as tag) and a reader. Passive transponders do not have their own dedicated source of energy, but get their energy from the high frequency field that the reader generates. Active transponders have a dedicated energy source and are usually powered by batteries.

RFID-Hardware: Reader with USB cable and a collection of tags

Every tag has its unique tag ID that is stored in its read only area. The ID is transmitted in every case in order to identify the transponder. This is the main functionality of RFID. A tag leads to identification in a system. This can be used for personal identification, credit card theft, inventory of goods or access to buildings.

Spoofing a Tag ID

It is noteworthy that RFID tags usually do not contain any data other than the ID. Associating the ID with other data such as a user name happens only when the tag ID is processed further, for example in a SQL database:

SELECT user_id, user_name FROM tbl_user WHERE user_id=$tag_id

Spoofing an identity is therefore dependent on faking the tag ID. Simple authentication systems often use HID Proximity- or EM41XX-Tags.

Software reads the tags of several transponders

Attacks on these systems are, therefore, rather primitive: If you’re able to simulate a target’s tag ID using a cloned transponder or an emulation, then you can gain elevated privileges in a system and therefore access information you’re not authorized to access. This way, you’re able to fake an identity and gain access to all their privileges. This is called spoofing. Spoofing can happen using interception of communication during a Replay Attack or by using Brute Force methods.

Writable Memory

Next to read only transponders, there are those with writable areas. There are two variants: write once and read-write/write-many. In case of the latter, the tag is equipped with memory that can be accessed using additional hardware. The read only area remains in these tags and still can’t be changed.

The information stored in the writable areas of the tag depend on the application. There have been cases of storing user certificates or a passport photo stored remotely.

The issue with read-write areas is that it allows for manipulation. In RFID Viruses and Worms written at the Universiteit Amsterdam, the authors describe a scenario in which the writable area of the tag can be used to distribute a virus.

Up until now, everyone working on RFID technology has tacitly assumed that the mere act of scanning an RFID tag cannot modify back-end software, and certainly not in a malicious way. Unfortunately, they are wrong. In our research, we have discovered that if certain vulnerabilities exist in the RFID software, an RFID tag can be (intentionally) infected with a virus and this virus can infect the backend database used by the RFID software. From there it can be easily spread to other RFID tags.

Problems like this one are older than RFID technology. The writable area of the RFID tag is only used as a carrier. Faulty processing in a program’s backend leads to an attacker gaining elevated rights and therefore the ability to manipulate data he should not have access to. This ability can be used to infect further tags that are processed by the backend.
In an example the Dutch researchers use SQL injection to replicate a Quines virus. So basically, it’s a problem of interfacing systems that do not validate input which, in this case, is a data carrier that can be accessed using RFID technology. A similar scenario has been demonstrated using a RFID tag implanted in researcher Mark Gasson’s hand.


RFID unites the general problems of wireless communication – radation, interference and more – and the basic issues of data entry systems such as corrupt entries. Extensive architecture of a high quality system can mitigate these issues. But, as it’s seen in VoIP telephony, the advantages of a cheap solution are being negated to an extent. Finding a compromise between economy and security is paramount when implementing RFID technology.

German This article has been translated from German. To read the original version, click here.



USB, Exchange, Identity, PDF, RFID, VoIP, YouTube

Exploit pricing

Marc Ruef

CVSSv3 as a risk metric

Marc Ruef

Blockchain is the future

Marc Ruef

Analysis of medical devices

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

Questions about this article?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

Grundlegende RFID-Sicherheit

Marc Ruef

RFID ist durch die breite Bevölkerung spätestens mit der Einführung des elektronischen Passes in verschiedenen Länder wahrgenommen worden. Sicherheitsbedenken gegenüber der Technologie sind berechtigterweise latent vorhanden. Mit diesem Beitrag wollen wir die effektiven Gefahren einfacher RFID-Tags aufzeigen.

Hinweis: Die Standardisierung von RFID ist nicht international geregelt. Verschiedene Länder und Fachbereiche geben unterschiedliche Standards und Empfehlungen heraus. Entsprechend kann es zu Abweichungen in der Funktionsweise und im Umgang mit den jeweiligen Produkten kommen. Eine Vereinheitlichung für Inventarisierungen wurde beispielsweise mit ISO/IEC 18000: Information technology – Radio frequency identification for item management angestrebt.

Einführung

Das Akronym RFID steht für Radio Frequency Identification. Dieses System wird eingesetzt, um drahtlos Informationen zwischen einem Transponder (auch Tag genannt) und einem Lesegerät auszutauschen. Passive Transponder besitzen keine eigene Energiequelle, sondern beziehen die Energie aus dem elektromagnetischen Hochfrequenzfeld, das durch das Lesegerät generiert wird. Aktive Transponder können eigene Energiequellen, vorzugsweise werden Batterien eingesetzt, nutzen.

RFID-Hardware: Lesegerät mit USB-Kabel, Sammlung unterschiedlicher Tags

Jeder Tag besitzt eine eindeutige Tag-ID, die im read-only Bereich abgelegt wird. Sie wird in jedem Fall übertragen, um die Identifikation des Transponders umzusetzen. Damit wird die Hauptfunktionalität von RFID gewährleistet: Innerhalb des Systems kann dadurch eine Identifikation realisiert werden – Dies lässt sich beispielsweise für Identifikation (z.B. Kreditkarte), Inventarisierung oder Zugangssysteme benutzen.

Vortäuschen der Tag-ID

Bemerkenswert hierbei ist, dass RFID-Tags üblicherweise tatsächlich nur die ID und keine zusätzlichen Informationen bereitstellen. Die Ableitung eines Benutzernamens anhand der ID findet erst bei der späteren Verarbeitung, zum Beispiel im Rahmen eines Datenbanksystems, statt (Beispiel SQL: SELECT user_id, user_name FROM tbl_user WHERE user_id=$tag_id). Das Vortäuschen einer Identität ist in diesem Fall also in erster Linie von der Manipulation der Tag-ID abhängig. In einfachen Authentisierungssystemen werden gerne solcherlei simple HID Proximity- oder EM41XX-Tags eingesetzt.

Software liest die Tag-ID unterschiedlicher Transponder aus

Die produktiven Angriffsmöglichkeiten eines solchen Systems sind entsprechend primitiv: Sieht man sich in der Lage mit einem geklonten Transponder oder einer Emulation die Tag-ID eines anderen Tags vorzutäuschen, kann der erweiterte Zugriff im Rahmen des Systems stattfinden. Damit können Identitäten vorgetäuscht und die damit verbundenen Rechte geerbt werden. Das Identifizieren legitimer Tag-IDs kann durch das Abhören einer Kommunikation (Replay-Attacke) oder durch das simple Herausfinden (Bruteforce-Attacke) geschehen.

Beschreibbare Speicher

Es gibt jedoch nicht nur read-only Transponder, sondern ebenfalls solche mit beschreibbaren Bereichen. Hier kann zwischen einmalig (write-once) und mehrmals beschreibbar (read-write/write-many) unterschieden werden. Dabei ist der Datenträger mit einem erweiterten Speicherbereich ausgerüstet, der zusätzlich zur read-only Tag-ID mit erweiterter Hardware angesteuert werden kann.

Was in den erweiterten Bereichen eines Tags gespeichert wird, ist von der jeweiligen Applikation abhängig. Dies kann beispielsweise ein Benutzerzertifikat oder ein dezentralisiert ausgelagertes Passfoto sein.

Das Problem des read-write Bereich ist, dass sich dieser jenachdem manipulieren lässt. Im Beitrag RFID Viruses and Worms der Universiteit Amsterdam wird ein Szenario beschrieben, in dem der dynamische Bereich für die Verbreitung eines Virus genutzt wird:

Up until now, everyone working on RFID technology has tacitly assumed that the mere act of scanning an RFID tag cannot modify back-end software, and certainly not in a malicious way. Unfortunately, they are wrong. In our research, we have discovered that if certain vulnerabilities exist in the RFID software, an RFID tag can be (intentionally) infected with a virus and this virus can infect the backend database used by the RFID software. From there it can be easily spread to other RFID tags.

Derartige Probleme sind nicht auf die RFID-Technologie als solche zurückzuführen. Der beschreibbare Bereich des RFID-Tags wird lediglich als Träger verwendet. Durch eine fehlerhafte Weiterverarbeitung im Backend können erweiterte Rechte erlangt und Manipulationen durchgesetzt werden. Damit lassen sich nachfolgend durch das System bearbeitete RFID-Tags ebenfalls infizieren.

Im illustrierten Beispiel wird über eine SQL-Injection eine Replikation durch einen Quines-Virus durchgesetzt. Es handelt sich also grundsätzlich um ein Schnittstellenproblem, bei dem einmal mehr auf eine umfassende Eingabeüberprüfung – in diesem Fall von einem über RFID ansprechbaren Datenträger – verzichtet wird. Ein ähnliches Szenario wurde ebenfalls im Zusammenhang mit einem implantierten RFID-Chip demonstriert.

Zusammenfassung

Generell kann gesagt werden, dass RFID die allgemeinen Probleme drahtloser Kommunikationen (z.B. Abstrahlung, Interferenz) sowie die grundlegenden Gefahren von Eingabesystemen (korrupte Eingaben) vereint. Eine umfangreiche Architektur mit entsprechendem Qualitätsniveau kann diese Probleme abfangen, wobei hier jedoch – so wie dies auch bei VoIP der Fall ist – die Vorteile der kostengünstigen Lösung relativiert werden müssen. Das Erreichen des Kompromisses zwischen Wirtschaftlichkeit und Sicherheit ist also auch bei RFID eine ganz besondere Herausforderung.

Links

Tags

USB, Bruteforce, PDF, RFID, SQL-Injection, VoIP, YouTube

CVSSv3 als Risikometrik

Marc Ruef

Blockchain ist die Zukunft

Marc Ruef

Analyse von Medizingeräten

Marc Ruef

Sie haben Fragen zum Thema?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!