Virtual Switch Security - An Overview

Virtual Switch Security

An Overview

Andrea Covello
by Andrea Covello
time to read: 11 minutes

Virtualization and cloud environment are a clear and present danger for all ICT people involved in security and operation. Boundaries are dissolving and not only for the physical boxes that used to host several machines. In fact also the things that used to connect them together are vanishing into the virtualization layer. I’m talking here not only of the network interfaces, but also of the cables that were used to patch it to a switch port and the switch itself.

Virtual switches manage and route traffic in a virtual environment, but often network engineers don’t have direct access to these vSwitches. Often vSwitches that are inside the hypervisors don’t offer the type of visibility and management like the physical box do.

Meanwhile there are alternatives to the standard vSwitches inside the hypervisors and we like to here to have a short discussion about the vSwitch functionalities and its inherent contribute to network security (for the god and for the bad).

vSwitch Impact on Networks

In a virtualized environment, the network’s access layer is embedded into the hypervisor and internal vSwitches manage the packet traffic. Traditional physical switches determine where to send message frames based on MAC addresses on physical devices. vSwitches act similarly in that each virtual host must connect to a vSwitch the same way a physical host must be connected to a physical switch.

A closer look reveals quite differences between physical and virtual switches. On physical switches when a dedicated network cable or port goes bad, only one server is affected. With virtualization, one cable could offer connectivity to 10 or more virtual machines, causing a loss in connectivity to multiple VMs.

On the other end, connecting multiple VMs requires more bandwidth, which needs to be handled by the vSwitch. These differences are especially evident in larger networks with complex designs, like the ones needed for infrastructure across data centers or for disaster recovery sites.

Standard vSwitches are manually configured and managed per hypervisor, major misconfigurations or errors can be implemented by an administrator or network engineer without a solid understanding of virtualization and hypervisor management.

vSwitch Types and Features

The hypervisors internal basic vSwitch has a straightforward management interface, and supports all the basic features needed to operate a virtual network. Meanwhile, to help facilitate the move to virtualization in the datacenters, vendors developed technologies to increase the functionality of the vSwitch inside a hypervisor. They introduced additional cost and a more intricate management interface, but also provides access to advanced switch features and ensures a deeper level of security.

Advanced switch features requires an extended layer of network virtualization to provide support over several hypervisors and network devices. The solution is named Distributed Virtual Switch and is comprised of:

which work together with other components of the virtual environment to ensure smooth data transfer as showed in the image below:

vSwitch Architecture

Following is a table with some of the most common vSwitch solution available today:

Vendor Components Description
Cisco Nexus 1000V It’s a replacement vSwitch for ESX that gives the network back to the network operations team.
Nicira Networks Open vSwitch Project The project provides downloadable open source code for the open source virtual switch. It currently supports Xen, XenServer, KVM and VirtualBox but can be ported to other virtualization environments.
VMware DVS (Distributed Virtual Switch) It’s a vSwitch that spans its ports and management across all ESX servers in the cluster.
VMware NSX Just recently VMware – with the acquisition of Nicira Networks – implemented the Open vSwitch capabilities inside the new ESXi 5.5 hypervisor. Together with a control framework inside the vSphere solution it has been named NSX. This should replace the VDS feature in the near future. NSX has also capabilities to configure physical network switches that support its API calls, making possible to manage the complete network environment as known under the acronym SDN (Software Defined Networking)

All of these switches support 802.1Q tagging, which allows multiple VLANs to be used on a single physical switch port to reduce the number of pNICs needed in a host. This works by applying tags to all network frames to identify them as belonging to a certain VLAN.

vSwitch General Issues

Networking teams often loose control over management in a virtualized environment. In fact, virtualization can introduce new networking challenges like:

Beyond technical challenges, virtualization can also cause organizational issues between virtualization and network administrators. Many of these issues are caused from the fact that traffic between VMs on the same host never leaves the server to run over the physical network, making it difficult for networking teams to monitor or manage this traffic. Lack of visibility also means that network firewalls, QoS, ACLs and IDS/IPS systems cannot see this data transfer activity over the physical network.

What’s more, both the standard and distributed vSwitches do not have features that lend themselves to easy management. Administrators only have control of the uplink ports from the physical NICs in the host and not the numerous virtual ports that exist on a vSwitch. To address these issues, networking teams are turning to new network management and security product specifically designed to secure, monitor and control virtual network traffic on a host. Below is a list of such solution available today:

Now let’s take a closer look to some of the features available in two of the most used distributed vSwitch flavors: The Cisco 1000v an the Open vSwitch (which speaks also moslty for NSX).

Nexus 1000v

Here is an overview of the features on the Cisco 1000v virtual switch solution:

Components Description
Cisco NX-OS Interface It offers the well-known Cisco IOS command line interface to manage virtual networking.
Traveling Port Profiles Security and network properties are tied to a VM’s port profile. As that VM moves from server to server with VMotion, that port profile follows it. This way, security policies can be enforced on VMs just as they can be enforced on physical servers.
Advanced Cisco NX-OS Features Quality of Service (QoS), rate limits, continuous data protection, switched port analyzer, NetFlow, VLANs, and port channels
NX-OS Security Features port security, authentication authorization and accounting (AAA), access control lists
Optional VSG Module You can add the VSG module for statefull inspection firewall functionality as a separate licensed feature.

Open vSwitch (NSX)

Here is an overview of the features on the Open vSwitch (OVS) solution:

Components Description
Visibility into inter-VM communication via NetFlow, sFlow, IPFIX, SPAN, RSPAN, and GRE-tunneled mirrors
Advanced switch capabilities LACP (IEEE 802.1AX-2008), standard 802.1Q VLAN model with trunking, a subset of 802.1ag CCM link monitoring, STP, fine-grained QoS control, IPv6 support
Per VM Interface Traffic Policing Security and network properties are tied to virtual switch port profile.
NIC Bonding With source-MAC load balancing, active backup, and L4 hashing.
Advanced Management Control Supports OpenFlow protocol with many extensions for virtualization.
Multiple Tunneling Protocols Supports GRE, VXLAN, IPsec, GRE and VXLAN over IPsec.
Security Features Port filtering

Please note that while the OVS and the Nexus 1000v are basically a system in a VM solution, the NSX has it’s code embedded inside the hypervisor (ESXi) code. And this makes a big difference

vSwitch Security Recommendations

Security is also an important issue using vSwitches and to conclude this overview hare are some hints in help securing your virtual environment:

Recommendation Description
vSwitches are still made of code Be prepared to failures that may lead to DoS or isolation failures.
Segregate your (virtual) network Isolate the management traffic from the network stream used for the virtualized machines, this is one of the key issue you should address. The vSwitch control instance uses API calls to configure the vSwitch Ethernet modules, this traffic need to be secured like any other management access.
Implement Hardening Apply vendor recommended hardening procedure.
Activate vSwitch security features Most vSwitch default configuration are not secure. Activate port security, implement policy on the VM switch ports, deactivate promiscuous mode, detect and reject MAC forgery, enforce VLAN separation with control modules.
Use strong authentication Distributed virtual switches like the Nexus 1000v supports AAA allowing a Radius or Tacacs+ authentication, using this in conjunction with a OTP token will greatly minimize the risk of unauthorized access.
Use advanced security modules Especially if you have to deal with different security zones, use advanced security modules like the one listed above.

I hope this overview gave you some hint on how to approach security in your virtual networking environment.

About the Author

Andrea Covello

Andrea Covello has been working in information security since the 1990s. His strengths are in engineering, specializing in Windows security, firewalling and advanced virtualization.

You want to test the security of your firewall?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
OTPs as Second Factor

OTPs as Second Factor

Mark Zeman

JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Virtual Switch Security – Ein Überblick

Virtual Switch Security

Ein Überblick

Andrea Covello
von Andrea Covello
Lesezeit: 11 Minuten

Die Virtualisierung und der Trend zu Cloud-Umgebungen ist klar auszumachen. Eben so klar ist die Tatsache, dass sie eine konkrete Gefahr für alle Angestellten in der ICT-Branche ist. Vor allem für jene im Bereich der Security und den operativen Aspekten der Branche. Die Grenzen verschwinden zusehends. Nicht nur jene der Boxen, die Maschine von Maschine getrennt hat. Auch die Dinge, welche die Boxen einst verbunden haben, verschwinden immer weiter in die virtuelle Ebene. Es geht hier nicht nur um die Network-Interfaces sondern auch um die Kabel, die wir einst benutzt haben, die Computer mit einem Switchport zu verbinden, wie auch den Switch selbst.

Virtual Switches managen und regeln den Traffic in einem Virtual Environment. Oftmals haben Network Engineers aber keinen direkten Zugriff auf diese vSwitches. Diese vSwitches sind oft innerhalb von Hypervisors und bieten nicht dieselbe Sichtbarkeit oder die selbe Freiheit in Punkto Management wie die physische Box. Doch mittlerweile gibt es Alternativen zu den Standard vSwitches in Hypervisors, die wir uns im folgenden Kapitel ansehen möchten.

Der Einfluss von vSwitches auf Netzwerke

In einer virtualisierten Umgebung ist die Access Layer des Netzwerks in den Hypervisor eingebettet während interne vSwitches den Packet Traffic regeln. Physische Switches finden heraus, wohin die Mitteilung geht, basierend auf MAC-Adressen der phyischen Geräte. vSwitches funktionieren ähnlich, da jeder virtuelle Host sich gleich mit einem vSwitch verbinden muss wie ein physischer Host mit einem physischen Switch.

Bei näherer Betrachtung zeigen sich aber die Unterschiede zwischen physischen un virtuellen Switches. Während der Verwendung von physischen Switches ist nur ein Server betroffen, wenn ein Netzwerk-Kabel oder ein Port ausfällt. Im Zuge der Virtualisation aber übernimmt ein Kabel die Verbindung von mehreren Virtual Machines, was bei Ausfall dazu führt, dass mehrere VMs vom Ausfall betroffen sind.

Andererseits benötigt die Verbindung von mehreren VMs mehr Bandbreite, die vom vSwitch geregelt werden muss. Diese Unterschiede sind besonders in grossen Netzwerken mit komplexen Designs bemerkbar, wie zum Beispiel solche in Datacenters oder in Notfallwiederherstellungsservices. Standardisierte vSwitches sind manuell konfiguriert und werden mittels dem Hypervisor geregelt. Aber: Grobe Fehler können von einem Administrator oder einem Network Engineer ohne grosses Verständnis der Virtualisation und dem Verwalten von Hypervisors implementiert werden.

vSwitch: Typen und Features

Die einfachen vSwitches in einem Hypervisor verfügt über ein geradliniges management interface, das alle grundlegenden Features unterstützt, die benötigt werden, um ein virtuelles Netzwerk zu verwalten. Damit die Migration in die Virtualisation in Datacenters einfacher wird, haben Hersteller Technologien entwickelt, die einem vSwitch in einem Hypervisor weitere Funktionalität hinzufügen. Das kostet zwar mehr, aber bietet ein feingliedrigeres Management Interface wie auch Zugang zu weiter fortgeschrittenen Switch Features. Das erhöht und sichert den Level der Sicherheit.

Diese fortgeschrittenen Features benötigen eine erweiterte Schicht der Virtualisation, die mehrere Hypervisors und Netzwerk-Geräte unterstützt. Die Lösung nennt sich Distributed Virtual Switch und besteht aus

die mit anderen Komponenten der virtuellen Umgebung zusammenarbeiten und so den Datenaustausch wie in der folgenden Grafik

vSwitch Architecture

Die folgende Tabelle listet die meistgenutzten vSwitch-Lösungen auf.

Hersteller Komponente Beschreibung
Cisco Nexus 1000V Ein Ersatz-vSwitch für ESX der das Netzwerk zurück ans Network Operations Team gibt.
Nicira Networks Open vSwitch Project Dieses Projekt bietet downloadbaren Open-Source-Code für den Open Source vSwitch. Aktuell sind Xen, XenServer, KVM und VirtualBox unterstützt, doch der Code kann auf andere virtualisierte Umgebungen angepasst werden.
VMware DVS (Distributed Virtual Switch) Ein vSwitch, der Ports und Managements über alle ESX Server des Clusters zusammenschliesst.
VMware NSX Vor kurzem hat VMware, nach dem Kauf von Nicira Networks, Open vSwitch Funktionalität in den neuen ESXi 5.5 Hypervisor implemetiert. Kombiniert mit einem kontrollierenden Framework in der vSphere-Lösung wird das ganze NSX genannt. Dies sollte das VDS-Feature in der nahen Zukunft ersetzen. NSX hat auch die Fähigkeit physische Switches zu konfigurieren, die API-Calls unterstützen. Dies ermöglicht das Verwalten eines Netzwerkes, was unter dem Namen Software Defined Networking, oder kurz: SDN, bekannt ist.

Alle diese Switches unterstützen 802.1Q Tagging, was die Nutzung mehrerer VLANs auf einem physischen Switch Port erlaubt, was wiederum die Anzahl pNICs, die ein Host benötigt, reduziert. Dies funktioniert, indem Tags den Network Frames hinzugefügt werden, welche die Frames einem VLAN zuordnen.

Generelle Probleme mit vSwitches

Networking Team verlieren oft die Kontrolle über das Management in einer virtualisierten Umgebung. Denn die Virtualisierung bringt neue Herausforderungen wie

Jenseits der technischen Herausforderungen kann die Virtualisation auch organisatorische Probleme zwischen Administratoren und der Virtualisation mit sich bringen. Viele dieser Probleme stammen daher, dass Traffic zwischen den VMs auf dem selben Host den Server nie verlassen um über ein physisches Netzwerk zu laufen. Das erschwert die Arbeit der Networking Teams, den Traffic zu überwachen und zu verwalten. Mangel an Sichtbarkeit bedeutet auch, dass Netzwerk Firewalls, QoS, ACLs und IDS/IPS-Systeme die Datentransfer-Aktivität im physischen Netzwerk nicht sehen können.

Zudem haben die Standardausführung umd die Distributed vSwitches keine Features die einfach zu verwalten sind. Administrators haben nur die Kontrolle über ihre Uplink-Ports der physischen NICs im Host und nicht über die virtuellen Ports, die in einer Vielzahl in einem vSwitch existieren.

Damit diese Probleme gelöst werden, bedienen sich Networking Teams neuer Management- und Sicherheitsprodukte, die speziell dazu da sind, den Traffic in einem virtualisierten Netzwerk zu überwachen, ihn zu sichern und ihn zu kontrollieren. Nachfolgend eine Liste solcher Lösungen:

Schauen wir uns also die Features in zwei der meistgenutzten Lösungen etwas genauer an: Den Cisco 1000v und der Open vSwitch (was grösstenteils auch auf NSX zutrifft).

Komponente Beschreibung
Cisco NX-OS Interface Bietet das Cisco IOS Command Line Interface, welches das virtuelle Netzwerk verwaltet.
Traveling Port Profiles Sicherheits- und Netzwerk-Eigenschaften sind an ein VM-Port-Profil gebunden. Wenn eine VM von einem Server mit VMotion migriert wird, folgt das Port-Profil. Somit können Security Policies auf VMs gleich wie auf physischen Servern angewendet werden.
Advanced Cisco NX-OS Features QQuality of Service (QoS), Rate Limits, stetiger Datenschutz, Switched Port Analyzer, NetFlow, VLANs und Port Channels.
NX-OS Security Features Port Sicherheit, Authorisierungsauthentifizierung
und Accounting (AAA), Access Control Listen.
Optional VSG Module Das VSG-Modul kann für die Inspektion der Firewall-Funktionalität im Rahmen eines separaten lizenzierten Features hinzugefügt werden.

Open vSwitch (NSX)

Here is an overview of the features on the Open vSwitch (OVS) solution:

Komponente Beschreibung
Visibility into inter-VM communication via NetFlow, sFlow, IPFIX, SPAN, RSPAN und GRE-tunneled mirrors
Advanced switch capabilities LACP (IEEE 802.1AX-2008), standard 802.1Q VLAN model mit trunking, ein Subset von 802.1ag CCM link monitoring, STP, fine-grained QoS control, IPv6 support
Per VM Interface Traffic Policing Sicherheit und Netzwerkeigenschaften sind an ein virtuelles Switch Port Profil gebunden.
NIC Bonding Mit source-MAC load balancing, active backup und L4 hashing.
Advanced Management Control Unterstützt OpenFlow Protokolle mit vielen Extensions für die Virtualisation.
Multiple Tunneling Protocols Unterstützt GRE, VXLAN, IPsec, GRE und VXLAN via IPsec.
Security Features Port filtering

Es gilt anzumerken, dass das OSV und das Nexus 1000v eigentlich ein System in einer VM-Lösung ist, aber das NSX hat seinen Code im Hypervisor (ESXi) integriert. Und das macht einen grossen Unterschied.

vSwitch Sicherheitsempfehlungen

Die Sicherheit ist bei Lösungen mit vSwitches nicht ausser Acht zu lassen. Um diese Übersicht zu beenden, habe ich einige Tipps zusammengestellt, die helfen sollen, Ihr virtuelles Netzwerk sicher zu machen:

Empfehlung Beschreibung
vSwitches sind immer noch Code Seien Sie auf Ausfälle vorbereitet, die zu Isolation Failures oder gar zu DDoS führen können.
Segregation im (virtuellen) Netzwerk Isolieren Sie den Management Traffic vom Netzwerk-Stream, der für die virtualiserten Maschinen genutzt wird. Dies ist eine kritische Sache, die Sie unbedingt in Ihrer Firma angehen müssen. Die vSwitch Control instance benutzt API-calls um die vSwitch Ethernet module zu konfigurieren. Dieser Traffic sollte wie jeder andere Management Access gesichert werden.
Implementieren Sie Hardening Die meisten default configurations von vSwitches sind nicht sicher. Aktivieren Sie daher Port Security, implementieren sie Policies auf den VM Switch-Ports, deaktivieren Sie den Promiscuous Mode, spüren sie MAC Forgery auf und lehnen Sie diese ab, erzwingen Sie VLAN Separation mit Kontroll-Modulen.
Aktivieren Sie vSwitch Security Features Most vSwitch default configuration are not secure. Activate port security, implement policy on the VM switch ports, deactivate promiscuous mode, detect and reject MAC forgery, enforce VLAN separation with control modules.
Benutzen Sie starke Authentifikation Distributed Virtual Switches wie das Nexus 1000v unterstützen AAA, was die Authentifizierung mit Radius und Tacacs+ erlaubt. Dies im Tandem mit einem OTP Token minimiert das Risiko von unauthorisiertem Zugang.
Benutzen Sie Advanced Security Modules Insbesondere dann, wenn Sie mit mehreren Security Zones arbeiten, empfiehlt es sich Advanced Security Modules wie die obigen zu nutzen.

Ich hoffe, diese Übersicht hat einige gute Ratschläge zum Zugang zur Sicherheit in Ihrem virtualisierten Netzwerk gegeben.

Über den Autor

Andrea Covello

Andrea Covello ist seit den 1990er Jahren im Bereich der Informationssicherheit tätig. Seine Schwerpunkte liegen traditionell im Engineering, wobei er als Spezialist im Bereich Windows-Sicherheit, Firewalling und Virtualisierung gilt.

Sie wollen die Sicherheit Ihrer Firewall prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv