2013: A Year in Review by scip AG

2013

A Year in Review by scip AG

Simon Zumstein
by Simon Zumstein
time to read: 3 minutes

Digital espionage, data leaks, hacker attacks and, above all, the scandal surrounding the NSA espionage and surveillance. This is what will be remembered about the year 2013 in security.

In a world where it’s the norm to manage and store data in virtual spaces, to access them everywhere at any given time, reactions to reveals such as Edward Snowden’s should provoke clear reactions. The outrage was there, but it subsided quickly. The attention-span seems to be getting smaller and smaller, indicating that we just might be damaged by the information overload that we experience on a daily basis.

The year 2013 was, looking back at it, a very interesting year. A year full of change for us at scip AG. Apart from the surveillance and espionageaffair surrounding Edward Snowden, scip AG was kept alert by work surrounding cloud- and cloudlike services as well as risk assessment, among other things. This brought us many new documents and questions concerning the new regulations (both domestic and foreign). A highlight was the Vendor Assessment we could perform on-site for one of the leading IT-manufacturers. the subject Unified Communications & Collaboration Solutions was something that seemed omnipresent in 2013 and we were more than happy to support our customers with the challenges these solutions bring. A considerable part of our security review work focussed on the subject of mobile computing. Over the course of the past twelve months, we have tested and assessed around 200 applications for iDevices and Android systems. The establishment of social media in the business world hasn’t quieted down the subject of security audits. Apart from new areas and fancy buzzwords, basic security audits and security architecture reviews such as Firewall rule reviews, web application tests, security assessments, concept reviews, trojan-based attack-attempts, configuration reviews and communication analysis are still very popular. Rightfully so.

Apart from all the contracting work for our customers, our employees regularly conduct research into the field of IT-Security and its development. Since 2009, a small part of these findings are published under the label Labs on our website. Starting this year, we have taken this one step further. We are happy to report that all the necessary work and processes have been completed in time and thus: Our first book, with the ISBN 978-3-033-04327-5 is going to be on sale starting January 6th, 2014. It contains selected Labs articles that were originally published in 2013.

The first scip Labs book will be on Sale in January

The world is steadily shrinking, becoming a village, according to a German idiom. The cost consciousness of big companies act as an accellerant for that. A job that can be done in Switzerland might be done in Poland, the Czech Republic, the USA or India tomorrow. We are proud to have grown to be an IT-Security Company with a respectable name from Switzerland in our globally networked world.

To stand still means to lose. We are developing our company at a steady pace and we stick to our roots: Quality wins in the end. Always. We are looking forward to the years to come with our customers, our employees and the challenges that will face us.

About the Author

Simon Zumstein

Simon Zumstein has been working in IT since the 1990s as an engineer, project lead, security consultant and CIO. Integral risk management while taking managerial-economic factors and the presentability to decision makers are his area of expertise.

You want to test the security of your firewall?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Trustworthy AI

Trustworthy AI

Prisca Quadroni-Renella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

2013: Das Jahr im Rückblick der scip AG

2013

Das Jahr im Rückblick der scip AG

Simon Zumstein
von Simon Zumstein
Lesezeit: 3 Minuten

Cyberspionage, Datenlecks, Hackerangriffe und über allem ragt die NSA Überwachungs- und Spionageaffäre. So wird uns das Security Jahr 2013 wohl in Erinnerung bleiben.

In einer Welt, in der es zum täglichen Gebrauch gehört, Daten in virtuellen Definitionen zu speichern und zu verwalten, auf die wiederum von Überall und zu jeder Zeit zugegriffen werden kann, sollten solche Enthüllung zu klaren Reaktionen führen. Die Bestürzung war da, ging dann aber auch schnell wieder. Die Aufmerksamkeitsspanne scheint kürzer zu werden, möglicherweise sind wir bereits Geschädigte der Informationsüberflutung, der wir tagtäglich ausgesetzt sind.

Das 2013 war rückblickend ein sehr interessantes und äusserst abwechslungsreiches Jahr für die scip AG. Nebst der Überwachungs- und Spionageaffäre um Edward Snowden haben uns insbesondere Arbeiten rund um die stetig an Bedeutung zunehmenden Cloud- und cloudartigen Dienste und Dienstleistungen bezüglich Risikobeurteilung beschäftigt. Ebenso brachten uns die neuen Regulatorien (inländisch wie ausländisch) ein Vielzahl an Abklärungen und Strategie-Dokumenten. Ein Highlight war bestimmt das Vendor Assessment, das wir über einen der führenden IT-Hersteller im Kundenauftrag und Vorort durchführen durften. Das Thema Unified Communications & Collaboration Lösungen war 2013 allgegenwärtig und mit Freude unterstützten wir unsere Kunden bei dieser nicht ganz trivialen Aufgabe. Ein nicht unbeachtlicher Teil unserer Security Review Arbeiten fokussieren sich auf das Thema Mobile Computing. Dabei haben wir im 2013 um die 200 Applikationen für iDevices und Android Systeme überprüft und bewertet. Die Etablierung von Social Media innerhalb der Geschäftswelt hat das Thema Security Audit auch nicht verstummen lassen. Nebst neuen Bereichen und fancy Buzzwords erfreuen sich grundlegende Security Audit und Security Architecture Aufträge wie Firewall Rule Reviews, Web Applikations Tests, Security Assessments, Concept Reviews, Trojaner basierte Angriffsversuche, Configuration Reviews und Communication Analysis ungebremster Beliebtheit und zwar zurecht.

Nebst allen auftrags- und kundenbasierten Aufgaben, widmen sich unsere Mitarbeiter regelmässig aktuellen Researches zu neusten Security Entwicklungen und allgemein im Bereich der Information Technology. Seit 2009 veröffentlichen wir einen kleinen Teil dieser Forschungen unter dem Label Labs direkt auf unserer Webseite. Beginnend mit diesem Jahr haben wir uns etwas Spezielles vorgenommen und wir freuen uns, die benötigten Prozesse und Abklärungen rechtzeitig abgeschlossen zu haben: Unser erstes Buch, mit der ISBN 978-3-033-04327-5, wird ab dem 6. Januar 2014 im Handel sein. Es beinhaltet ausgesuchte Labs Werke 2013 unserer Mitarbeiter.

Das erste scip Labs Buch ab Januar im Handel

Die Welt wird ein Dorf und Kostenvorgaben grosser Konzerne wirken diesbezüglich wie Beschleuniger. So kann eine Aufgabe heute noch aus der Schweiz wahrgenommen werden und morgen bereits aus Polen, Tschechien, den USA oder Indien. Wir sind stolz in einer solch globalen Welt als Schweizer Unternehmen zu einem namhaften und international gefragten Information Security Anbieter gewachsen zu sein.

Stehen zu bleiben bedeutet, zu verlieren. Wir entwickeln uns stetig weiter und bleiben dabei unseren Wurzeln treu: Qualität gewinnt am Schluss immer! Wir freuen uns auf die kommenden Jahre mit unseren Kunden, unseren Mitarbeitern und den anstehenden Herausforderung.

Über den Autor

Simon Zumstein

Simon Zumstein arbeitet seit Beginn der 1990er Jahre im IT-Bereich, wobei er als Engineer, Projektleiter, Security Consultant und CIO tätig war. Ganzheitliches Risikomanagement mit Einbezug der betriebswirtschaftlichen Aspekte und der Darstellbarkeit gegenüber den Entscheidungsträgern sind sein Fachgebiet.

Sie wollen die Sicherheit Ihrer Firewall prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv