Security Enhanced Linux

Security Enhanced Linux

Oliver Kunz
by Oliver Kunz
time to read: 12 minutes

This week’s topic is Security Enhanced Linux (SELinux). First, I will outline some general aspects of SELinux, followed by the use of SELinux in Android OS. The topic is huge, and true SELinux is one of the most complicated technologies available. The latter may be one of the reasons why it is often disabled and ignored.

Various Linux distributions have detailed tutorials and how-to articles on SELinux. The following articles are the foundation of this article:The collection of articles for Gentoo Linux and the Guide for RHEL6.

History

Apart from the complex concept, the origin of SELinux may be a further reason for critics not to have a closer look at it. Considering the events that unraveled after May 2013 and the NSA leaks, some people wont like to hear that the kernel module written to enhance security on their systems originated in a National Security Agency (NSA) research project. Together with the Secure Computing Corporation (SCC), the NSA conducted research into the usage of a type enforcement based access control.

Additionally step, in co-operation with the University of Utah, the system architecture Flask was developed. Flask was then ported to Linux, Solaris, and some BSD projects and the distribution of the concept went on.

SELinux’ NSA-related origins are a reoccurring argument for the critics. Up to date, no backdoor in the SELinux code is known. The source code is publicly available, and has been part of the Linux kernel from 2003 onward. Since then, it has been analysed by many a researchers. The fear of a backdoor in SELinux is older than the PRISM leakage and the person able to find evidence of a backdoor or other unwanted behaviour, would make headlines.

What is SELinux

SELinux is a kernel implementation of a Mandatory Access Control (MAC) mechanism. Both, Unix and Linux were developed in a time, as security didn’t have the status and importance it has today. Different security concepts were developed and one of the most used is the Discretionary Access Control (DAC). In DAC, access control to an object (e.g. a file) is granted on the identity of a subject (this could be a user or process). In Linux, the implementation of DAC is known as the permission mask (e.g. rwxrw-r--). In the DAC concept, an object typically has an owner assigned.

In a MAC based access control, more factors than the identity of a subject are considered prior to granting access. In contrast to DAC rules, the owner is not allowed to manage those by himself, resulting in loss of flexibility, but improving protection against accidentally granting access. Having SELinux in place as MAC does not remove the classic DAC mechanics. On the contrary, the DAC builds the foundation of the first round of access control: If access is denied during that first round, SELinux is not consulted. If a subject is granted access to the requested object, the next access checking round consults the SELinux policies.

SELinux modes

SELinux has three different modes. Depending on the distribution, the configuration may differ. Red Hat for example (and related distributions like Fedora and CentOS as well) run SELinux in enforcing mode after the installation.

The current mode of SELinux could be displayed by the command sestatus on a Linux system or read in the file /etc/selinux/config.

Generally, the permissive mode is recommended during the set-up of a system and debugging. The functionality of the system is not affected and potential problems due to access restrictions based on SELinux are written to a log file. By consulting the logs, a system administrator is able to customise and refine the ruleset. As a result, no desired access requests should be logged, or blocked. There are no obstacles left for the productive use of SELinux in enforcing mode.

SELinux Context

The access decision is based on policy rules. Those rules are in turn applied to a SELinux context of a file or process. This context has the format SELinux_User:SELinux_Role:SELinux_Type:SELinux_Level. Below an example:

[root@localhost ~]# ls -Z test.sh
-rwxr--r--. root root unconfined_u:object_r:admin_home_t:s0 test.sh
SELinux_User unconfined_u
SELinux_Role object_r
SELinux_Type admin_home_t
SELinux_Level s0

SELinux_User

Each user on a system has an SELinux_User assigned. The SELinux_User is not necessarily uniquely assigned to a system user account, as seen in the example below, default entries may exist. The command semanage login -l lists the current default mapping.

[root@localhost ~]# semanage login -l
Login Name                SELinux User              MLS/MCS Range

default unconfined_u s0-s0:c0.c1023 root unconfined_u s0-s0:c0.c1023 system_u system_u s0-s0:c0.c1023

SELinux_Role

The relationship between the system user and a SELinux_Role is defined via the SELinux_User. It is an n:n mapping. The command semanage user -l displays the relation between SELinux_User and roles.

[root@localhost ~]# semanage user -l

Labeling MLS/ MLS/ SELinux User Prefix MCS Level MCS Range SELinux Roles

git_shell_u user s0 s0 git_shell_r guest_u user s0 s0 guest_r root user s0 s0-s0:c0.c1023 staff_r sysadm_r system_r unconfined_r staff_u user s0 s0-s0:c0.c1023 staff_r sysadm_r system_r unconfined_r sysadm_u user s0 s0-s0:c0.c1023 sysadm_r system_u user s0 s0-s0:c0.c1023 system_r unconfined_r unconfined_u user s0 s0-s0:c0.c1023 system_r unconfined_r user_u user s0 s0 user_r xguest_u user s0 s0 xguest_r

With SELinux_Roles a system administrator is able to refine, to what domains – and thus to what object types (SELinux_Type) a subject has access to. Seen in the console output above, the default SELinux_User (unconfined_u) has access to two SELinux_Roles (system_r/unconfined_r). This is an important detail and often the reason for confusion. Assume that, a user is able to execute a program based on DAC, but the program is not executed. The reason for this might be that the SELinux_Role is prevented from accessing that SELinux_Type. To list the SELinux_Types to a specific SELinux_Role, run the command seinfo.

[root@localhost ~]# seinfo -runconfined_r -x
   unconfined_r
      Dominated Roles:
         unconfined_r
      Types:
         bootloader_t
         netutils_t
         sandbox_x_client_t
         virt_content_t
         policykit_grant_t
         httpd_user_htaccess_t
         update_modules_t
         telepathy_mission_control_home_t
         gnome_home_t
         sandbox_net_client_t
         ldconfig_t
		...

SELinux Type

SELinux groups different types in so called classes. Probably the most important classes are file_type and domain. Note, not every SELinux_Type can be used for every object, as Dan Walsh explains in his blog. If a type is applied to a process, we speak about a domain. The process is limited to a sandbox. If a type is applied to a file, it defines the access rights for a SELinux_User.

SELinux Level

The attribute SELinux_Level (sometimes also called range) is optional. It consists of two values, sensitivity and category-set:

Android and SELinux

The Android OS is based on a Linux kernel. SELinux has been integrated to the Linux kernel many years ago. Some Linux distributions have it activated by default, others require manual activation. Since Android 4.3 – Jelly-Bean SELinux has been part of the Android OS as Mandatory Access Control (MAC). The dedicated project SEforAndroid deals with porting SELinux to Android.

Jelly-Bean introduced SELinux, however it only runs in permissive mode, logging the policy violations, but not restricting access. The goal was to gain experience and activate the enforcement mode (logging and blocking) in a later release.

A closer look at the new features of Android 4.4 – KitKat revealed, that that has happened. For the first time, SELinux was rolled out in enforce mode. However it is only enforcing the policy on some single domains. To be more specific: it is enforced on the root domain and the root-level processes (initd, installd and vold). Each application has its own domain and the identification is based on the App signature key. The domains of regular applications are currently running in permissive mode. Developers are now able to have SELinux in focus and analyse the blocked access requests, during normal operations of the application. The only known major issue thus far is that if an application is interacting with one of the domains running enforcing mode, the application might crash if SELinux registers a policy violation.

Prior to the use of SELinux, Android had an application sandboxing. This approach is now taken one step further. The earlier application-sandbox was based on the automatic distribution of dedicated UID for a single process. No two processes shared the same UID. This means that no two processes existed that ran under the same user.

Conclusion

SELinux offers the possibility to implement access control on kernel level. This article gave only a basic overview of some of the aspects. A complete implementation of SELinux requires a lot of effort. is Android, using a Linux-Kernel, is already running SELinux (or rather SEforAndroid) for some functions in enforcing mode. Google urges application developers to utilize the functionality of SEforAndroid for newer versions of their applications. SEforAndroid is another element in the Android architecture to establish a solid sandboxing.

About the Author

Oliver Kunz

Oliver Kunz has been in information security since 2010. Mainly, he deals with incident response, forensics and the security of mobile devices.

Links

You want to bring your logging and monitoring to the next level?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Trustworthy AI

Trustworthy AI

Prisca Quadroni-Renella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Security Enhanced Linux

Security Enhanced Linux

Oliver Kunz
von Oliver Kunz
Lesezeit: 12 Minuten

In diesem Artikel möchte ich mich mit Security Enhanced Linux (SELinux) beschäftigen. Zu Beginn werde ich einige generelle Aspekte von SELinux erläutern und zum Schluss auf die Verwendung in Android OS eingehen. Das Thema ist sehr vielseitig und zugegeben, SELinux ist eine der komplizierteren Technologien, was wohl dazu führte, dass es gut und gerne ausgeschaltet und ignoriert wird.

Verschiedene Linux Distributionen haben ausführliche Tutorials und How-To Artikel zum Thema SELinux. Erwähnenswert ist die Sammlung von Artikeln für Gentoo Linux und der Guide für RHEL6, beide dienten als Basis für diesen Artikel.

Geschichte

Neben dem Punkt, dass es nicht gerade das verständlichste Konzept ist, ist die Herkunft von SELinux wohl ein weiterer Punkt, der Kritiker nicht dazu ermutigt, sich damit auseinanderzusetzen. Bedenken wir die Ereignisse vom Mai 2013 und den NSA-Enthüllungen, so wird es einige Leute geben, die keine Freude daran haben, dass ihr Kernel mit Modulen erweitert wurden, die aus einem Research Projekt der National Security Agency (NSA) hervor gingen. Die NSA und die Secure Computing Corporation (SCC) untersuchten zusammen der Einsatz von Type Enforcement basierten Zugriffskontrollen.

In einem weiteren Schritt wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit der University of Utah die Systemarchitektur Flask entwickelt. Flask wurde auf Linux, Solaris und einzelne BSD Projekte portiert und die Verbreitung des Konzepts wurde vorangetrieben.

Die NSA-Herkunft wurde und wird auch heute noch von Kritikern ins Feld geführt. Bis dato ist aber keine Bestätigung einer Backdoor im SELinux Code bekannt. Der Source Code ist öffentlich verfügbar, seit 2003 Teil des Linux Kernel und bestimmt von einigen Leuten bereits analysiert worden. Denn bereits vor PRISM gab es diese Kritik und jedem, der eine Zeile Code mit einer Bestätigung finden könnte, würde wohl oder übel Schlagzeilen machen.

Was ist SELinux

SELinux ist die Implementation eines Mandatory Access Control (MAC) Mechanismus auf Kernelebene. Sowohl Linux als auch Unix wurden in einer Zeit entwickelt, in der Sicherheit nicht allzu hoch auf der Prioritätenliste stand. Sicherheitskonzepte entstanden und weit verbreitet ist die Discretionary Access Control (DAC), in der die Zugriffskontrolle über die Identität eines Subjekts (unter anderem kann das Benutzer oder Prozess sein) auf ein Objekt (zum Beispiel eine Datei) erlaubt wird. In Linux kennen wir die Umsetzung von DAC als Berechtigungsmaske (bsp: rwxrw-r--). Typischerweise kann bei einem DAC-Konzept einem Objekt auch immer ein Besitzer zugeordnet werden.

Bei einem MAC Mechanismus werden mehr Faktoren als nur die Identität zur Zugriffsentscheidung herbeigezogen. Im Gegensatz zu DAC-Regeln sind diese nicht durch den Besitzer eines Objektes veränderbar, was die Flexibilität einschränkt, aber gleichzeitig vor ungewollten Freigaben schützt. Der Einsatz von SELinux als MAC bedeutet jedoch nicht, dass auf das DAC verzichtet wird. Im Gegenteil, das DAC bildet die erste Zugriffskontrolle: Wird bereits hier der Zugriff verwehrt, kommt SELinux nie zur Anwendung. Wird jedoch einem Subjekt der Zugriff auf das gewünschte Objekt ermöglicht, werden die SELinux Policies konsultiert.

SELinux Betriebsmodus

SELinux kennt drei unterschiedliche Betriebsmodi. Je nach Distribution wird der Kernel unterschiedlich konfiguriert. So wird bei Red Hat (und auch den verwandten Systemen Fedora und CentOS) nach der Installation der Enforcing Modus aktiviert.

Auf einem Linux-System kann mit dem Befehl sestatus oder in der Datei /etc/selinux/config der applizierte Status ausgelesen werden.

Grundsätzlich ist der Permissive Modus während dem System-Setup und für das Debugging empfohlen. Die Funktionalität des Systems wird nicht beeinträchtigt und doch werden die potentiellen Probleme in einem Log zusammengetragen. Durch konstantes Konsultieren des Logs können die Regeln verfeinert und angepasst werden. Am Ende sollten keine gewollten Zugriffe mehr geloggt, bzw. geblockt werden. Einem produktiven Einsatz mittels Enforcing Mode steht dann nichts mehr im Weg.

SELinux Context

Die Zugriffsentscheide basieren auf Policy-Regeln. Diese wiederum werden auf einen SELinux Context angewendet, die eine Datei oder Prozess hat. Ein solcher Kontext, setzt sich aus den Abschnitten SELinux_User:SELinux_Role:SELinux_Type:SELinux_Level zusammen. Hier ein Beispiel:

[root@localhost ~]# ls -Z test.sh
-rwxr--r--. root root unconfined_u:object_r:admin_home_t:s0 test.sh
SELinux_User unconfined_u
SELinux_Role object_r
SELinux_Type admin_home_t
SELinux_Level s0

User

Jeder Benutzer auf dem System ist einem SELinux_User zugeordnet. Nicht zwingend hat dabei jeder Benutzer einen eigenen, dafür gibt es den Default Eintrag. Bestehende Mappings können dem Befehl semanage login -l aufgelistet werden.

[root@localhost ~]# semanage login -l
Login Name                SELinux User              MLS/MCS Range

default unconfined_u s0-s0:c0.c1023 root unconfined_u s0-s0:c0.c1023 system_u system_u s0-s0:c0.c1023

Role

Die Beziehung zu einer SELinux_Role wird mittels SELinux_User hergestellt. Es handelt sich um ein n:n Mapping. Mit dem Befehl semanage user -l kann die Relation zwischen SELinux_User und Roles dargestellt werden.

[root@localhost ~]# semanage user -l

Labeling MLS/ MLS/ SELinux User Prefix MCS Level MCS Range SELinux Roles

git_shell_u user s0 s0 git_shell_r guest_u user s0 s0 guest_r root user s0 s0-s0:c0.c1023 staff_r sysadm_r system_r unconfined_r staff_u user s0 s0-s0:c0.c1023 staff_r sysadm_r system_r unconfined_r sysadm_u user s0 s0-s0:c0.c1023 sysadm_r system_u user s0 s0-s0:c0.c1023 system_r unconfined_r unconfined_u user s0 s0-s0:c0.c1023 system_r unconfined_r user_u user s0 s0 user_r xguest_u user s0 s0 xguest_r

Anhand der SELinux_Roles wird verfeinert, auf welche Domains und somit auf welche Objekttypen (SELinux Type) zugegriffen werden können. Im obigen Konsolen-Output ersichtlich ist, dass der default SELinux_User (unconfined_u) zu zwei SELinux_Roles (system_r/unconfined_r) zugriff hat. Dies ist ein wichtiges Detail und kann durchaus zu Verwirrung führen. Angenommen, ein Benutzer kann gemäss Dateiberechtigung ein Programm ausführen, doch ausgeführt wird nichts. So kann dies daran liegen, dass die SELinux_Role kein Zugriff auf den Type erlangen darf. Der Befehl seinfo ermöglicht das Auflisten der SELinux_Types zu einer entsprechenden SELinux_Role.

[root@localhost ~]# seinfo -runconfined_r -x
   unconfined_r
      Dominated Roles:
         unconfined_r
      Types:
         bootloader_t
         netutils_t
         sandbox_x_client_t
         virt_content_t
         policykit_grant_t
         httpd_user_htaccess_t
         update_modules_t
         telepathy_mission_control_home_t
         gnome_home_t
         sandbox_net_client_t
         ldconfig_t
		...

Type

SELinux gruppiert unterschiedliche Typen in so genannte Klassen. Die wichtigsten sind wohl file_type und domain. Nicht jeder SELinux Type kann für jedes Objekt gesetzt werden, wie dies Dan Walsh in seinem Blog eindrücklich erklärt. Wird ein Type auf einen Prozess gesetzt, spricht man von einer Domain. Der Prozess erhält sozusagen eine Sandbox. Wird ein Type auf eine Datei gesetzt, wird dabei die Zugriffsrechte eines SELinux_Users definiert.

Level

Das Attribut SELinux_Level (teilweise auch Range genannt) ist optional. Es besteht aus zwei Werten, Sensitivity und Category-set:

Android und SELinux

Das Android OS basiert auf einem Linux Kernel. SELinux gibt es schon seit einigen Jahren und wurde auch bereits in den Kernel integriert. Einige Distributionen haben es standardmässig aktiviert, bei anderen kann man dies selbständig tun. Seit dem Release von Android 4.3 – Jelly-Bean verwendet auch das Android OS SELinux als Mandatory Access Control (MAC). Dazu wurde das Projekt SEforAndroid ins Leben gerufen, welches sich mit der Umsetzung von SELinux auf dem AndroidOS beschäftigt.

Bei der Einführung mit JellyBean wurde SELinux erst im Permissive Mode ausgeführt. Der Permissive Mode loggt Policy Verstösse, jedoch werden diese nicht verhindert. Das Ziel war es wohl erst, Erfahrungen zu sammeln, um in einem späteren Release den Enforcement Modus (loggen und blockieren) zu aktivieren.

Ein Blick in die Neuerungen von Android 4.4 – KitKat zeigt, dass dies nun geschehen ist. Zum ersten Mal wurde SELinux im Enforce Modus ausgeliefert, jedoch reduziert auf einzelne wenige Domains. Konkret handelt es sich um die Root Domain und Root-Level Prozesse (initd, installd und vold). Jede Applikation hat eine eigene Domain und die Identifikation geschieht über den Key, mit welchem die App signiert wurde. Die Domains von Applikationen werden derzeit noch im Permissive Mode gehalten. Dies ermöglicht den Entwicklern, den Fokus auf SELinux zu richten und die registrierten Verstösse in den Logs zu analysieren, während die Applikation normal funktioniert. Auswirkungen hat es jedoch, wenn eine Applikation mit einer der Domains interagiert, welche im Enforcing Mode laufen. Sollten diese einen Policy-Verstoss zur Folge haben, werden sie abstürzen.

Bereits vor der Verwendung von SELinux kannte Android ein Sandboxing, dieser Ansatz wird weiter geführt. Die Applikations-Sandbox basierte auf automatischer Vergabe von dedizierten UID für einzelne Prozesse. Es existierten daher keine zwei Prozesse, die unter dem selben Benutzer laufen.

Fazit

SELinux bietet die Möglichkeit, auf der Kernelebene Zugriffskontrollen zu implementieren. Dieser Artikel gab eine oberflächliche Darstellung einiger dieser Aspekte. Die vollständige Implementation von SELinux bedarf grösserem Aufwand. Android, das einen Linux Kernel verwendet, setzt SELinux (bzw. SEforAndroid) bereits jetzt für einzelne Bereiche im Enforcement Modus ein. Applikationsentwickler sind von Google angehalten, für neuere Versionen die SEforAndroid Funktionalität zu berücksichtigen. Es ist ein weiteres Element in der Android Architektur um ein möglichst solides Sandboxing zu ermöglichen.

Über den Autor

Oliver Kunz

Oliver Kunz ist seit 2010 im Bereich der Informationssicherheit aktiv. Hauptsächlich setzt er sich mit Incident Response, Computerforensik und der Sicherheit von mobilen Geräten auseinander.

Links

Sie wollen die Resistenz Ihres Unternehmens auf Malware prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv