The Worth of Information Security in Everyday Life - Tilting at Windmills

The Worth of Information Security in Everyday Life

Tilting at Windmills

Stefan Friedli
by Stefan Friedli
time to read: 6 minutes

Whenever I mention Facebook in my professional context at meetings, something interesting happens: The prevailing thought is that due to involvement with the information security scene, the use of Facebook becomes a direct and hard-to-justify misstep.

If you ask the critics of online services such as Facebook why they think the way they think, usually the same few arguments pop up. A current favourite seems to be If you’re not paying for it, you’re not the customer, you’re the product!

Original by Oliver Widder, http://geek-and-poke.com/

I wouldn’t go as far as to say that this is wrong. I would like to say that it’s na├»ve, though. It doesn’t just imply that paid services are more secure and thus less problematic than free ones but also that the avoiding of social networks leads to a massive increase in personal security.

I am going to claim that this statement should be seen as basically false in the context of a central Europe of the 21st century. Especially when we’re looking at the Swiss law concerning the surveillance of the traffic of mail and telecommunications (that is the most accurate translation of the official name of said law which is called Bundesgesetz betreffend die Überwachung des Post- und Fernmeldeverkehrs (BÜPF) in German). But it also works just fine when we’re looking at much more common applications of information security. Looking at these cards that give you a discount if you scan them at supermarkets such as the Swiss Migros Cumulus or the Coop Superpunkte program, it seems overly dramatic and inconsistent to just address the subject of data security and privacy on that one front.

To uphold the integrity and the protection of their own data has become a herculean task that can’t be fit into the everyman’s daily life. E-Mail encryption has been possible for over a decade using PGP. Not a problem. Once installed, encrypting a mail is a matter of exactly one click. The experience of more than ten years of PGP-use has shown us one thing: That is one click too many.

There are examples aplenty: The number of users of the Messaging application WhatsApp is astronomically high. Competitors that seem to be more secure can only dream of such a high number of people using their service, even though their userbase is growing about as much as WhatsApp’s is. And the reactions of the users after Facebook has acquired WhatsApp show one thing: The proven path is far more popular than the more secure one.

That’s a bitter pill to swallow for many a newcomer into the Information Security. And that’s the fact that security is not always the highest of priorities. In fact, most of the time it’s something that comes way down the list. Security is, especially in the consumer market, not an argument for sales. It’s more of a silent expectation that customers have when faced with a professional product. This expectation then turns into outrage once there’s been an incident.

Now the question is: How much security and data protection does the everyday citizen need? And if the answer implies that it’s basically just a little bit of security, then the follow-up question is: How far can we expect the citizens to take care of it themselves?

It’s clear that most recent history, especially Snowden’s whistleblowing and the subsequent NSA Affair, has instilled a greater need of security. The argument “But I’ve got nothing to hide” has been questioned. Rightfully so. This due to the implied general suspicion that justifies mass surveillance of everyday people without any specific reason.

It’s not far off to suspect that the answer isn’t as absolute as expected. I don’t think that trivial communication that we do every day in a sheer inconceivable volume has to be encrypted. But that doesn’t mean that the solutions we use to communicate can’t be secure by default, which definitely is a step in the right direction

It’s obvious that we can’t solve one crucial problem despite all technology, if you want to see it as a problem: To a certain degree, the exposure to the world is in most cases deliberate. Everyone who posts on Facebook knows – or should know – that this is more or less visible to the public. Most owners of a customer card of a supermarket know that the company doesn’t just track the frequency of your purchases and how many bonus points they owe you, but they’re also collecting important marketing information. And everyone who’s ever sent a postcard knows that the mailman might know that the croissant at the Eiffel Tower was horrendously expensive but the weather was just lovely.

The hope remains that all the insecurity, that we as professionals get from our families and our friends, will eventually lead us into an age where security still isn’t a sales argument but a basic requirement.

This process will need time and it’s not done by forcing all our friends and colleagues to use Threema and PGP. How does the old saying go: Patience is a virtue.

About the Author

Stefan Friedli

Stefan Friedli is a well-known face among the Infosec Community. As a speaker at international conferences, co-founder of the Penetration Testing Execution Standard (PTES) as well as a board member of the Swiss DEFCON groups chapters, he still contributes to push the community and the industry forward.

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
OTPs as Second Factor

OTPs as Second Factor

Mark Zeman

JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Der Stellenwert der Informationssicherheit im Alltag

Der Stellenwert der Informationssicherheit im Alltag

Stefan Friedli
von Stefan Friedli
Lesezeit: 5 Minuten

Die Reaktionen fallen stets interessant aus, wenn ich im Rahmen von Apéros oder anderen Zusammenkommen in beruflichem Kontext das Wort Facebook erwähne. Durch ein Involvement im Informationssicherheitsbereich scheint die Nutzung von sozialen Netzwerken zu einem unmittelbaren und nur schwer zu rechtfertigenden Fauxpas zu werden.

Fragt man die Kritiker von Onlinediensten wie Facebook nach ihren Gründen, so hört man oft die selben Sprüche. Wenn du nicht dafür bezahlst, bist du nicht der Kunde, sondern die Ware!” ist einer der momentanen Favoriten.

Original von Oliver Widder, http://geek-and-poke.com/

Es ist ja nun nicht so, dass ich behaupten würde, dass diese Äusserung falsch ist. Ich würde aber soweit gehen zu sagen, dass sie naiv ist. Nicht nur impliziert sie, dass bezahlte Dienste somit als unproblematisch zu betrachten sind, sondern auch, dass die Nicht-Partizipation an sozialen Netzwerken automatisch zu einer massiven Verbesserung der persönlichen Sicherheit führt.

Ich wage nun zu behaupten, dass diese Äusserung im Zentraleuropa des 21. Jahrhunderts grundsätzlich als falsch zu betrachten ist. Gerade im Hinblick auf das vieldiskutierte Bundesgesetz betreffend die Überwachung des Post- und Fernmeldeverkehrs (BÜPF), aber auch viel trivialere Dinge, wie Coop Superpunkte oder Cumuluskarten der Migros, erscheint es etwas dramatisch und gleichzeitig inkonsistent, sich punktuell zum Thema Datenschutz zu äussern.

Konsequent die Integrität und den Schutz der eigenen Daten aufrechtzuerhalten, ist unglaublich komplex geworden und ist für die meisten Bürger nicht vereinbar mit dem Alltag. E-Mail Verschlüsselung ist seit über einer Dekade mittels PGP problemlos möglich und benötigt, einmal installiert, exakt einen einzigen Klick. Und die Erfahrung aus diesen mehr als zehn Jahren hat uns eines gezeigt: Das ist ein Klick zu viel.

Die Beispiele gehen aber weiter: Die Nutzerzahlen, die die Messaging-App WhatsApp verzeichnet, sind astronomisch hoch. Threema, der als sicher geltende Konkurrent kann trotz ähnlich hohen Zuwachszahlen nur von vergleichbaren Werten träumen. Die Reaktionen der breiten Nutzerschaft, die auch nach dem Erwerb von WhatsApp durch Facebook an Bord blieben, zeigen: Bewährt ist beliebter als sicher.

Es ist eine bittere Pille für viele Neuankömmlinge in der Branche der Informationssicherheit, dass Sicherheit nicht immer erste Priorität geniesst. In Tat und Wahrheit wird sie oftmals einer langen Liste von anderen Bedürfnissen untergeordnet. Sicherheit ist, speziell im Consumer-Markt, kein Verkaufsargument, sondern eine stillschweigende Erwartung an ein professionelles Produkt, die bestenfalls im Falle eines späteren Zwischenfalls als Grund zur Entrüstung dient.

Die Frage, die sich aufdrängt, ist: Wie hoch ist der Sicherheits- und Datenschutzbedarf eines durchschnittlichen Bürgers? Und, wenn die Antwort impliziert, dass grundsätzlich auch nur ein geringer Bedarf vorhanden ist: Wie sehr sollte die Stillung dieses Bedarfs in der Verantwortung des einzelnen liegen?

Klar ist, dass durch die Geschehnisse der jüngeren Vergangenheit, allem voran der NSA-Affäre, ein höherer Schutzbedarf empfunden wird. Das Argument “Ich habe ja nichts zu verbergen” wurde plötzlich – zu Recht – in Frage gestellt durch den implizierten Generalverdacht breitflächiger Überwachung regulärer Bürger ohne spezifischen Verdachtsmoment.

So liegt es nahe zu vermuten, dass die Antwort so oder so nicht absolut ist. Ich glaube nicht, dass Trivialkommunikation, wie sie jeden Tag in unvorstellbarem Volumen anfällt, verschlüsselt und authentisiert stattfinden muss. Das heisst allerdings nicht, dass Lösungen, die von Haus aus derartige Sicherheitsmassnahmen implementieren, nicht einen Schritt in die richtige Richtung darstellen.

Es liegt auch auf der Hand, dass wir trotz aller Technologie ein essentielles Problem nicht lösen werden, wenn man es denn als Problem betrachten will: Bis zu einem gewissen Mass ist die Exponierung gegenüber Aussen in den meisten Fällen gewollt. Wer Daten auf Facebook preisgibt, weiss – oder sollte wissen – dass diese mehr oder minder öffentlich einsehbar sind. Die meisten Cumulus-Karteninhaber wissen vermutlich, dass die Migros mit ihren Karten nicht nur Kundenbindung verfolgt, sondern wichtige Marktforschungsinformationen erfasst. Und wer eine Postkarte verschickt, der weiss auch, dass der Postbote unter Umständen sehen kann, dass das Croissant unter dem Eiffelturm horrend teuer, das Wetter aber prächtig war.

So bleibt zu hoffen, dass all die Verunsicherung, die wir als Sachverständige aus der Tagespresse und aus Gesprächen mit Freunden und Verwandten spüren, uns letzten Endes in eine Zeit führt, in der Sicherheit zwar immer noch kein Verkaufsargument, aber eine Grundanforderung darstellt.

Dieser Prozess wird aber noch viel Zeit in Anspruch nehmen und ist nicht damit erledigt, sämtlichen Kollegen Threema und PGP aufzudrängen. Wie der Volksmund sagt: Gut Ding will Weile haben.

Über den Autor

Stefan Friedli

Stefan Friedli gehört zu den bekannten Gesichtern der Infosec Community. Als Referent an internationalen Konferenzen, Mitbegründer des Penetration Testing Execution Standard (PTES) und Vorstandsmitglied des Schweizer DEFCON Group Chapters trägt er aktiv zum Fortschritt des Segmentes bei.

Links

Herausforderung Datenschutz-Grundverordnung DSGVO?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Crypto-Malware

Crypto-Malware

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv