How to Handle Breach Incidents Involving Personal Information

How to Handle Breach Incidents Involving Personal Information

Flavio Gerbino
by Flavio Gerbino
time to read: 9 minutes

Companies typically have sophisticated security incident procedures in place to handle all kinds of issues emerging from possible security events related to their IT environment. Many of those procedures do not consider the affected assets enough and are restricted to IT components. That’s why I have created a short overview on how to respond to and manage an information security incident with the primary focus on breach incidents involving Personal Information on paper or on IT systems.

Prerequisites

To be able to include the suggestions I am outlining in this article a company should already have established an appropriate security incident response and breach notification plan. This plan should consider the local legal and regulatory accounts as well as business and functional needs. A Risk Management System with appropriate risk measurement guidelines is as well an inevitable instrument that must already be in place.

Definitions of Important Terms

Here are some Data Security Incidents as examples to see the different focus compared to classic incident response which is more IT driven (not conclusive…)

Additional Tasks and Members for the Existing Incident Response Team in Case of Breach Incidents Involving Personal Information

To be ready to handle breaches with Personal Data involved an existing Incident Response Team should additionally be charged with the following tasks:

When an Incident includes the breach of Data Privacy the response Team must include additional representatives to assure a proper handling according with legal requirements (especially in cases involving employee fraud or misconduct)

The team should also include senior (management) members from the following departments, depending on the severity and characteristics of the incident

Handling of Data Security Incidents

The Action Plan should include the following simplified key steps (not conclusive):

  1. Preparative Assessment: As a preliminary duty for a Data Security Incident, the Incident Response Team should take the following appropriate preparation actions:
    1. Nominate an individual to investigate possible circumstances of the incident. This individual should bring experience and enough authority to conduct the initial investigation, document the findings in a written report and make recommendations to the Incident Response Team. Typically this person is a senior security representative (e.g. from the CSO Team/organization). From a Data Privacy point of view the following facts need to be checked (additionally to what is anyway being investigated as part of security incidents in any case):
      • The type of systems or files that were compromised (IT Systems, paper files or other)
      • The type of information involved (including whether any Personal Information is at risk and if so, the origin of such data)
      • The persons involved in or responsible for the breach.
    2. Consider whether any external resources are required for assistance. (Including law enforcement in the investigation, consult with outside legal counsel, or enlist other third-party assistance such a forensic analyst).
    3. Identify the need to assemble a broader team to deal with the Data Security Incident.
    4. Determine the need to report
    5. Detect the circumstances of the Security Incident.
  2. Risk Assessment: In the second step the type and amount of Personal Information at risk, the extent of the incident, the persons affected by the incidents and the risk of harm to individuals and the company should be assessed.
    • The understanding and awareness of following factors is necessary to evaluate the risk:
      • What type of Personal Information is involved?
      • What is the sensitivity of the information? Generally, the more sensitive the information, the higher the risk of harm. (A combination of Personal Information should be valued as more sensitive than a single piece of information. However sensitivity alone is not the only criteria in assessing risk, as expected harm to individuals is also extremely important.)
      • How many individuals are affected by the breach? Assessing the number of individuals affected will help you to estimate the severity of the problem and will be relevant in deciding whether or not to notify local privacy authorities.
      • With lost data, what protections were in place to protect the information at the time of the breach (e.g. encryption and was the Personal Information adequately protected).
      • Who is affected by the incident (employees, contractors, public, clients, service providers, other)
      • Can the Personal Information be used by third parties for fraudulent or otherwise harmful purposes.
      • Was the breach inadvertent or intentional
      • Is there a risk of further exposure of the Personal Information
      • If the Personal Information was stolen, can it be determined whether the Personal Information was the target of the theft.
      • Can the Personal Information be recovered
    • After having clarity about the above factors risk of harm to Individuals should be evaluated (Identify whether harm to individuals may result from the Incident):
      • If the data has been stolen, what is the potential risk of misuse?
      • What harm to the individuals could result from the breach?
        • Identity theft
        • Financial loss
        • Loss of business or employment opportunities
        • Humiliation, damage to reputation or relationships
    • After having a conclusion from the risk evaluation, the Incident Response Team will be able to decide whether notification to individuals and appropriate privacy authorities is required or indicated.
  3. Notification: The Legal Department should take responsibility for providing any required notice to governmental authorities, including authorities in other jurisdictions, if required. (If notification is required by law, the affected individuals should be notified as promptly as possible, consistent with both the terms of the applicable law and the need to conduct and complete any investigation. Even if notification is not required by law, notification is strongly recommended if the Data Security Incident presents a risk of fraud or identity theft to affected individuals.
  4. Prevention: A final incident report should include short and long term steps to prevent further incidents:
    • A security audit of security measures
    • A review of policies and procedures, necessary to reflect the lessons learned from the incident
    • Ban on bulk transfers of data onto removable media without adequate security protection
    • Secure couriers and appropriate tamper proof packaging in the transport of bulk data, where applicable to the breach situation.
    • Some Data Security Incidents should be immediately reported to senior Management :
      • Incident where data concerning a substantial number of individuals is involved or where highly sensitive data are concerned
      • Where incident is likely to be published in a national or international newspaper
    • Good reporting gives also overview of data security incidents and is required to document main issues and gaps that have been learned from the incidents. In addition, reporting ensures compliance with disclosure obligations, where applicable, as well as a timely and complete information to the Board.

Conclusion

Reading newspapers and seeing the increasing amount of incidents reports related to data privacy today should open your eyes and raise your awareness about the very important fact that privacy and data protection matters more than ever! Establishing appropriate technical, conceptional as well as organizational protection and safeguards to protect sensitive data is the first step of adequate attention to your data.

The constant care and due diligence during its lifecycle would be the second step. But apart from that you still need to be ready for emergencies in order to avoid bad surprises related to breach incidents involving personal information and sensitive data. This can be accomplished by considering the special characteristics and exceptional value of your data assets in your existing incident response procedures from the beginning to ensure an effective and professional handling in case of an incident.

About the Author

Flavio Gerbino

Flavio Gerbino has been in information security since the late 1990s. His main areas of expertise in cybersecurity are the organizational and conceptual security of a company.

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
OWASP Core Rule Set

OWASP Core Rule Set

Mark Zeman

Anthropomorphism

Anthropomorphism

Marisa Tschopp

Data Leakage Prevention

Data Leakage Prevention

Tomaso Vasella

Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Was tun bei Breach Incidents mit persönlichen Daten

Was tun bei Breach Incidents mit persönlichen Daten

Flavio Gerbino
von Flavio Gerbino
Lesezeit: 9 Minuten

Im Normalfall haben Unternehmen detailliert ausgearbeitete Prozesse etabliert, die alle Arten von Security Incident abhandeln sollen, die aus allen Ecken ihrer IT-Infrastruktur kommen können. Viele dieser Prozeduren gehen aber nicht gut genug auf die betroffenen Assets ein sondern beschäftigen sich lediglich mit den IT-Komponenten. Das ist der Grund warum ich die folgende Übersicht erstellt habe. Sie beschäftigt sich mit Security Incidents, bei denen persönliche Informationen – auf Papier oder auf Computern gespeichert – betroffen sind.

Voraussetzungen

Um die folgenden Ratschläge und Methoden umzusetzen müssen in einem Unternehme bereits angemessene Massnahmen für den Fall eines Security Incidents etabliert sein. Diese Massnahmen müssen die lokale Rechtslage, die Gesetze und Reglementierungen beachten und auch Rücksicht auf das Geschäft, dessen Betrieb und seine Funktionen nehmen. Ein Risikomanagement-System mit angebrachten Massnahmen ist ebenfalls vorausgesetzt.

Definition von wichtigen Begriffen

Folgend werde ich nun einige Beispiele für Data Security Incidents auflisten, die aufzeigen sollen, wo der Unterschied zur klassischen Incident Response – die traditionellerweise IT-Getrieben ist – liegt.

Zusätzliche Aufgaben und Mitglieder, die für das existierende Incident-Response-Team im Falle eines Breach Incidents mit persönlichen Daten wichtig sind.

Damit Breach Incidents mit persönlichen Daten möglichst gut behandelt werden können, sollte ein Incident-Response-Team zusätzlich mit folgenden Aufgaben betraut werden.

Wenn ein Breach Incident persönliche Daten betrifft, dann muss das Response Team zusätzliche Mitglieder abberufen, damit der Vorfall richtig behandelt wird, damit auch die rechtlich relevanten Aspekte des Falles berücksichtigt werden (speziell wenn es darum geht, dass Mitarbeiter sich strafbar gemacht oder falsch verhalten haben). Diese Mitglieder sollten aus den folgenden Departments abberufen werden:

Das Team sollte zudem auch Mitglieder aus der Unternehmensleitung aus den folgenden Abteilungen abberufen, je nachdem, wie schwerwiegend der Vorfall ist und welche Merkmale er aufweist.

Handhabung von Data Security Incidents

Der Action Plan sollte unter anderem folgende Schritte beachten. Die folgende Tabelle ist vereinfacht und erhebt keinen Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit, sondern soll als Guideline dienen.

  1. Vorbereitendes Assessment: Im Vorfeld eines Data Security Incidents sollte das Incident Response Team folgende Vorbereitungen treffen:
    1. Ernennen Sie eine Person, die die Umstände des Incidents untersucht. Diese Person sollte genug Erfahrung und Autorität besitzen, damit sie die initiale Untersuchung gut und gründlich durchführen kann, die Erkenntnisse in einem schriftlichen Report zusammenfassen und Empfehlungen ans Incident Response Team abgeben kann. Typischerweise handelt es sich hierbei um einen Senior Security Representative (z.B. ein Mitglied des Teams des CSO oder dessen Organisation). Aus einem Datensicherheits-Aspekt müssen folgende Punkte beachtet werden:
      • Der Typus des betroffenen Systems (IT-Systeme, Papierakten oder andere)
      • Die Art der betroffenen Informationen (inklusive der Frage ob persönliche Daten bedroht sind und, falls dem so ist, die Quelle der Daten)
      • Die Personen, die in den Breach involviert oder dafür verantwortlich sind.
    2. Stellen Sie die Frage, ob externe Ressourcen zur Hilfe herbeigezogen werden müssen. Unter anderem kann das die Polizei, externe Rechtsbeistände oder andere Dritte wie ein Forensiker sein
    3. Identifizieren Sie den Personalbedarf. Brauchen Sie mehr Personal, um den Incident richtig und gründlich aufzuarbeiten=
    4. Stellen Sie fest, wie viel Reporting notwendig ist.
    5. Beachten und untersuchen Sie die Umstände des Incidents
  2. Risk Assessment: Im zweiten Schritt gilt es den Typus und die Menge der verwundbaren persönlichen Daten festzustellen sowie das Ausmass des Incidents, die Betroffenen Personen. Zudem sollten die Auswirkungen auf Personen und das Unternehmen in Betracht gezogen werden.
    • Das Verstehen und das Bewusstsein der folgenden Faktoren ist für die Risikoanalyse notwendig:
      • Welche Art von persönlicher Informationen sind im Incident involviert?
      • Wie hoch ist die Sensibilität der Informationen einzuschätzen? Generell gilt: Je sensibler die Information, desto grösser das Schadensrisiko. Eine Kombination von persönlichen Daten ist als sensibler als ein einzelner Datensatz zu bewerten. Doch gilt es mehr zu beachten als nur die Sensibilität. Der zu erwartende Schaden für Personen ist ebenfalls als sehr wichtig einzustufen.
      • Wie viele Menschen werden vom Breach betroffen sein? Die Feststellung der Anzahl Betroffener wird Ihnen helfen, den Schweregrad des Breaches festzustellen. Zudem ist das ein relevanter Faktor, wenn es darum geht festzustellen, ob der Gesetzgeber informiert werden sollte.
      • Nach dem Datenverlust: Welche Massnahmen waren implementiert um zu verhindern, dass Daten verloren gehen (z.B. Verschlüsselung und war die persönliche Information ausreichend geschützt)?
      • Wer ist vom Vorfall betroffen (Angestellte, Kunden, die Öffentlichkeit, Service Provider, andere)?
      • Kann die betroffene Information von Dritten zu schädlichen oder betrügerischen Zwecken missbraucht werden?
      • Geschah der Breach absichtlich oder versehentlich?
      • Gibt es Folgerisiken, die aus dem Breach entstehen?
      • Wenn die Informationen gestohlen worden sind, geschah dies weil die persönlichen Daten das Ziel der Diebe waren?
      • Können die Daten wiederhergestellt werden?
    • Nachdem die obigen Fragen beantwortet sind, kann festgestellt werden, wie viel Schaden die verloren gegangenen persönlichen Daten anrichten können. Stellen Sie fest, ob Einzelpersonen Schaden aus dem Breach nehmen könnten.
      • Falls die Daten gestohlen wurden: Wie hoch ist das Risiko des Missbrauchs?
      • Welchen Schaden können Einzelpersonen aus dem Incident davontragen?
        • Identitätsdiebstahl
        • Finanzieller Schaden
        • Bedrohung der Position sowie Einstellungsmöglichkeiten und Business-Opportunities.
        • Schande, Schaden am Ruf oder an Beziehungen
    • Nach dem Abschluss der Risikoeinschätzung kann das Incident Response Team entscheiden, ob Einzelpersonen oder der Gesetzgeber informiert werden muss oder kann.
  3. Notification: Die Rechtsabteilung sollte die Verantwortung dafür übernehmen, dass die Gesetzgeber informiert werden. Dies beinhaltet, wenn nötig, auch Autoritätsorgane in anderen Jurisdiktionen. Sollte geltendes Recht die Benachrichtigung verlangen, so sollte diese so schnell wie möglich geschehen, damit sowohl die rechtlichen Richtlinien eingehalten werden können und die Untersuchung vollständig und zeitnah geschehen kann. Sollte die Benachrichtigung vom Gesetzgeber nicht verlangt werden, empfiehlt sich diese dennoch, damit allfälligen Risiken in Sachen Betrug oder Identitätsdiebstahl vorgebeugt werden kann.
  4. Prävention: Ein letzter Incident Report sollte kurzfristige, wie auch langfristige Schritte zur Prävention weiterer Incidents enthalten.
    • Ein Security Audit der Sicherheitsmassnahmen.
    • Ein Review der Policies und Prozesse, die notwendig sind um die Lessons Learned aus dem Incident zu reflektieren.
    • Eine Sperre von Transfer von grossen Mengen Daten auf mobile Speichergeräte ohne entsprechende Sicherheitsvorkehrungen.
    • Einige Data Security Incidents sollten umgehende dem Management zugetragen werden.
      • Wenn sehr sensible Daten oder Daten, die viele Personen betreffen, betroffen sind.
      • Wenn der Incident mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit von den Medien aufgegriffen wird.
    • Gutes Reporting geben Ihnen zudem einen guten Überblick über die Incidents und sind zwingend notwendig, damit Probleme, die aus den Incidents entstehen sowie Lücken im Sicherheitssystem, ersichtlich werden. Zudem sichert gutes Reporting die Konformität mit Disclosure-Verpflichtungen, falls existent, und eine zeitnahe und vollständige Informierung des Managements des Unternehmens.

Fazit

Die Zeitungslektüre und die vermehrte Berichterstattung über Breach Incidents sollte Ihnen die Augen geöffnet haben und gezeigt haben, dass Daten ein extrem kostbares und empfindliches Gut sind. Der Schutz Ihrer Daten ist heutzutage wichtiger denn je! Durch die Etablierung von adäquaten technologischen, konzeptionellen und organisatorischen Massnahmen Schutzmassnahmen ist der erste Schritt in Richtung guter Schutz für Ihre Daten getan.

Die Pflege Ihrer Daten muss aber während derer Lebensdauer konstant sein. Das ist der zweite Schritt. Nebst diesen Massnahmen müssen Sie immer für Notfälle gewappnet sein, damit Sie keine bösen Überraschungen in Sachen Breach Incidents mit persönlichen und sensiblen Daten erleben. Die kann geschehen, indem Sie die spezielle Eigenschaften und den ausserordentlichen Wert ihrer Daten in Ihre Incident Response Prozedur aufnehmen und so von Beginn an die effiziente und professionelle Handhabung im Falle eines Incidents sicherstellen.

Dieser Artikel erschien hier im Englischen Original

Über den Autor

Flavio Gerbino

Flavio Gerbino ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Bereich der Informationssicherheit tätig. Seine Schwerpunkte liegen im Bereich der strategischen Ausrichtung und des Managements der Sicherheit eines Unternehmens.

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Crypto-Malware

Crypto-Malware

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv