Area41 - A Look Back

Area41

A Look Back

Marc Ruef
by Marc Ruef
time to read: 3 minutes

Earlier this week, the IT-security conference Area41 took place at Komplex457 in Zürich. It was a direct successor to the very successful Hashdays which had previously been held in the Raddison Blu in Luzern for three year. The organizers of the event remained largely the same and so it came that visitors also got to experience an outstanding conference, that can easily compete with conferences that are held in other countries.

The lineup of speakers as well as the talks they held were of very good quality. The speakers gave insight into various aspects of current research and shared knowledge gained during years of experience. The talks were entertaining, informative and ultimately held something for everyone.

Among others, I held a talk that covered the topic of Vulnerability Management during which I talked about our Vulnerability Database. The talk covered its possibilities and the difficulties cataloguing vulnerabilities. The slidedeck is available for download. The feedback I received after the talk was very interesting and I had quite some good conversations on the subject. This will most definitely have an impact on the future of the VulDB.

I would like to personally thank the organizing team for their hard work and the amazingly well-organized convention as well as the exceptionally good event. Speakers as well as visitors were taken care of and could enjoy the entire convention. I will definitely be back next year. I’m looking forward to it.

The main stage right before opening the doors.

About the Author

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef has been working in information security since the late 1990s. He is well-known for his many publications and books. The last one called The Art of Penetration Testing is discussing security testing in detail. He is a lecturer at several universities, like ETH, HWZ, HSLU and IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

You need professional Vulnerability Management?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

MITRE ATT&CK

MITRE ATT&CK

Marc Ruef

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Area41 2014 - Ein kurzer Rückblick

Area41 2014

Ein kurzer Rückblick

Marc Ruef
von Marc Ruef
Lesezeit: 3 Minuten

Diese Tage fand beim Komplex457 in Zürich die IT-Sicherheitskonferenz Area41 statt. Dabei handelt es sich um den Nachfolger der sehr erfolgreichen Hashdays, die ihrerseits drei Jahre lang im Radisson Blu in Luzern durchgeführt wurde. Die Organisatoren des Events blieben zu grossen Teilen die Gleichen und so wurde auch dieses Mal eine hervorragende Konferenz veranstaltet, die sich vor dem internationalen Vergleich in keinster Weise scheuen muss.

Das Lineup der Speaker und der durch sie vorgetragenen Talks hatte ein sehr hohes Niveau. So wurden Einsicht in die verschiedensten Bereiche der aktuellen Forschungen sowie jahrelanger Erfahrungen gewährt. Die Beiträge reichen von unterhaltsam bis informativ, so dass für jeden etwas dabei war.

Unter anderem hielt ich einen Vortrag zum Thema Vulnerability Management. In diesem zeigte ich am Beispiel unserer hauseigenen Verwundbarkeitsdatenbank auf, welche Möglichkeiten und Schwierigkeiten beim Katalogisieren von Sicherheitslücken auftreten können. Das Slidedeck steht zum Download zur Verfügung. Die Resonanz darauf war sehr spannend und so ergaben sich im Anschluss ein paar wirklich gute Diskussionen zum Thema. Daraus wird sich definitiv die eine oder andere Erweiterung in unserem Projekt ergeben.

Entsprechend möchte ich mich bei den Veranstaltern und Helfern für den hervorragend organisierten sowie den Speakern und Teilnehmern für den aussergewöhnlich guten Event bedanken. Sowohl als Speaker als auch als Teilnehmer war man sehr gut aufgehoben und konnte die Tage ausgezeichnet geniessen. Ich werde definitiv nächstes Jahr wieder daran teilhaben und freue mich schon darauf.

Die Hauptbühne kurz vor dem offiziellen Einlass.

Über den Autor

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Cybersecurity-Bereich aktiv. Er hat vor allem im deutschsprachigen Raum aufgrund der Vielzahl durch ihn veröffentlichten Fachpublikationen und Bücher – dazu gehört besonders Die Kunst des Penetration Testing – Bekanntheit erlangt. Er ist Dozent an verschiedenen Hochschulen, darunter ETH, HWZ, HSLU und IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

Sie brauchen professionelles Vulnerability Management?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

3D Printing

3D Printing

Marc Ruef

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv