Software Defined Radio - An Introduction

Software Defined Radio

An Introduction

Oliver Kunz
by Oliver Kunz
time to read: 12 minutes

This article aims to give a short introduction into Software Defined Radio (SDR), an interesting field for everyone who likes radio transmission, hardware hacking and just accessing things you normally can’t access. At the end of this introduction, you should be able to get your antenna up and running, know the good resources for further research and use available tools to track airplanes.

What Is Software Defined Radio and What Is Needed

Radio signals were traditionally received and processed using hardware components (antenna, filter, demodulator, amplifier etc.). Software defined radio aims to process signals in software rather than hardware. The antenna delivers a raw signal to the software which then demodulates it, and further processes it. Said processing can be either readily available or developed independently.

What Can Software Defined Radio Be Used For

Retrieve Electromagnetic Emissions from Keyboards

On the USENIX Security Symposium 2009, two researches of the Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL), Martin Vuagnoux and Sylvain Pasini, presented their research on Compromising Electromagnetic Emanations of Wired and Wireless Keyboards. They were able to recover full or partial keystrokes with the highest success rate (95%) on old PS/2 keyboards, but also USB and wireless keyboards are affected. The most impressive thing about their research, apart from the fact that such an attack is possible, is the distance: Their attack compromised sensitive information over a distance of 20 meters.

The researchers came up with four different forms for discovering and exploiting emanations and were also able to distinguish keystrokes from multiple keyboards which were used at the same time.

Compromising Electromagnetic Emanations of Keyboards Experiment 2/2 from Martin Vuagnoux on Vimeo.

Another project recently published by two researchers of the Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Mordechai Guri and Yuval Elovici, called AirHopper, uses an Android smartphone and the internal FM radio (headphones as antenna) to detect electromagnetic emissions that are generated by keystrokes on a target machine.

The scenario is based on three elements:

Hostile code is installed on the target machine and smartphone, a C&C channel is established to the smartphone and its FM radio is used for monitoring the radio channel in order to detect and decode information on the smartphone.

The hostile code on the target machine creates an FM audio signal using the display adapter. This signal can either be modulated by Dual Tone Multi-Frequeny (DTMF) or Audio Frequency-Shift Keying (A-FSK) onto the carrier frequency.

These research projects are very interesting, because computer environments are quite often shielded. But the quality of these shields may vary for different computer hardware. Let’s think about a scenario where the EPFL results are used to identify keystrokes of a Point-of-Sale terminal that is used to enter debit card PIN in a convenience store. Or another scenario, where skimmers would like to reduce the risk of exposure while skimming ATM card details and PIN. In both scenarios the magnetic stripe of the debit card has to be copied, but the PIN recording can be done over a distance.

Other Uses for Software Defined Radio

Sniffing keystrokes is one thing and certainly a very interesting topic of research. However, for someone starting with this it might just be the little bit of motivation needed to purchase an antenna and setup a system to get going. There are multiple websites (e.g.: rtl-sdr.com, OsmoSDR, radio.linux.org.au and rtl-sdr on OsmoSDR) which have lists of existing projects that give almost off-the-shelf solutions.

Note: Please check for any and all legal issues that might arise in your location. You may not be allowed to do everything you want in your location, this especially applies for any and all projects that transmit signals.

Getting Started with Software Defined Radio

Hardware

Hardware that forwards a raw signal to process in software is needed and which has a supported chipset. The OSmocom website is a good source to get started and even mentions some capable hardware. The Realtek RTL2832U is a cheap DVB-T demodulator that allows raw I/O samples to be transferred to the host. The second factor to focus on is the tuner. A tuner with a large frequency range gives the users the opportunity to use it for many different projects. The tuner in the hardware used for this article is the Rafael Micro R820T and serves a frequency spectrum from 24 – 1766 MHz.

Software

Software exists and, depending on the project, some more packages are required. The host system for this article is a 32bit Fedora Linux. And for the beginning the focus is on retrieving Automatic Dependent Surveillance Broadcast Data transmitted by airplanes.

Intercepting Airplane Traffic Data

ADS-B stands for Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast which is a system to track airplane positions. If an airplane has the system activated, it will periodically send information about its position, altitude, speed and more. The messages containing all this information are sent as a broadcast and as such it is receivable by everyone. Flight tracking websites such as www.flightradar24.com use this information to deliver a web service for flight tracking.

Setting up the System

We are going to use Dump1090, a Mode S decoder for RTLSDR devices to receive and decode ADS-B traffic. The program can be used simply on command line or offers a map-based visualization.

Prerequisistes

The following command installs the rtl-sdr and other libraries used by Dump1090.

yum install rtl-sdr-devel.i686 rtl-sdr.i686 libusbx-devel.i686

The installation from official Fedora repositories is the easiest way. Another option is the git checkout, the repository.

Next is getting the source for Dump1090, either via wget or again by git checkout:

wget https://github.com/antirez/dump1090/archive/master.zip

The compilation is straight forward:

  1. Unzip the source
  2. Change directory in the source folder
  3. run make.

Testing the System

Once the installation is done, check the software for functionality.

[root@localhost]# rtl_test -t
Found 1 device(s):
  0:  ezcap USB 2.0 DVB-T/DAB/FM dongle

Using device 0: ezcap USB 2.0 DVB-T/DAB/FM dongle Detached kernel driver Found Rafael Micro R820T tuner Supported gain values (29): 0.0 0.9 1.4 2.7 3.7 7.7 8.7 12.5 14.4 15.7 16.6 19.7 20.7 22.9 25.4 28.0 29.7 32.8 33.8 36.4 37.2 38.6 40.2 42.1 43.4 43.9 44.5 48.0 49.6 No E4000 tuner found, aborting. Reattached kernel driver

The output displays that the DVB-T dongle was found and that a Rafael Micro R820T tuner is present. The next step is to run Dump1090 and see what airplanes are transmitting.

Readout of ADS-B Flight Data

Start Dump1090 with the following command and browse to http://127.0.0.1:8080 in order to see the planes on a map.

./dump1090 --interactive --net

Conclusion

Software Defined Radio has a great variety of usecases. ADS-B related projects are great for getting started in this field. There is plenty of software and information available. Other projects can be used to for demonstration pruposes (e.g. GSM sniffing). With the right equipment such as the HackRF One unknown raw transmission data can be analyzed and reverse engineered. A potential project could be to read and resend radio transmitting keys (e.g. car keys, garage openers etc.).

About the Author

Oliver Kunz

Oliver Kunz has been in information security since 2010. Mainly, he deals with incident response, forensics and the security of mobile devices.

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

Online Tracking

Online Tracking

Ralph Meier

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Andrea Hauser

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Software Defined Radio - Eine Einführung

Software Defined Radio

Eine Einführung

Oliver Kunz
von Oliver Kunz
Lesezeit: 12 Minuten

In diesem Artikel werden wir einen einführenden Blick auf Software Defined Radio (SDR) werfen. In Punkto Funkübertragung, Hardware Hacking und generell dem Zugriff auf Dinge, auf die Sie normalerweise nicht zugreifen können ist das ein hochinteressantes Feld. Am Ende dieser Einführung sollten Sie in der Lage sein, eine SDR-Antenne aufzusetzen und diese zu betreiben, gute Ressourcen für weitere Recherche kennen und Tools zur Verfügung haben, mit denen Sie Flugzeuge verfolgen können.

Was ist Software Defined Radio und was brauchen wir?

Radiosignale werden traditionellerweise von Hardware – Antennen, Filter, Demodulatoren, Verstärker und so weiter – versendet und empfangen. Software Defined Radio verarbeitet Daten mit Software und nicht mit Hardware. Die Antenne liefert ein Rohsignal zur Software, welche die Verarbeitung und Demodulation übernimmt. Diese Verarbeitung kann einerseits frei erhältlich sein oder aber auch unabhängig entwickelt worden sein.

Wozu Software Defined Radio genutzt werden kann

Empfang elektromagnetischer Signale einer Tastatur

Am USENIX Security Symposium 2009 haben zwei Researcher der École Polytechnique de Lausanne (EPFL), Martin Vuagnoux und Sylvain Pasini, ihre Funde in Punkto Compromising Electromagnetic Emanations of Wired and Wireless Keyboards (Deutsch: Kompromittierung elektromagnetischer Signale kabelgebundener und kabelloser Tastaturen). Im Zuge ihrer Forschungen waren die beiden in der Lage, komplett oder teilweise die Anschläge auf alten PS/2-Tastaturen mit einer 95 prozentigen Erfolgsquote auszulesen. Dieselbe Technik konnten die Forscher auch auf USB-Keyboards und kabellose Tastaturen anwenden. Mit derselben Erfolgsquote. Was besonders beeindruckt, nebst der Tatsache, dass so eine Attacke überhaupt möglich ist: Die Distanz. Der Angriff war über eine Distanz von 20 Meter erfolgreich.

Vuagnoux und Pasini haben vier separate Methoden gefunden, wie Signale von Tastaturen gefunden und erkannt werden können. Sie konnten sogar zwischen Tastenanschlägen von mehreren gleichzeitig genutzten Tastaturen unterscheiden.

Compromising Electromagnetic Emanations of Keyboards Experiment 2/2 from Martin Vuagnoux on Vimeo.

Ein anderes Projekt, der vor Kurzem von zwei Forschern der Ben-Gurion-Universität des Negev, Mordechai Guri und Yuval Elovici, vorgestellte AirHopper, nutzt den internen FM-Empfänger eines Android Smartphones mit den Kopfhörern als Antenne um elektromagnetische Signale von Tastenanschlägen der Zielmaschine festzustellen.

Das Szenario ist auf drei Elemente angewiesen:

Bösartiger Code wird auf der Zielmaschine wie auch dem Smartphone installiert, ein C&C-Kanal wird zum Smartphone etabliert und das FM-Radio wird zur Überwachung, Entdeckung und Dekodierung von Informationen des Smartphones genutzt.

Der bösartige Code auf der Zielmaschine erzeugt ein FM-Audio-Signal unter Nutzung des Display-Adapters. Das Signal kann entweder durch Dual Tone Multi-Frequency (DTMF) moduliert werden oder auch durch Audio Frequency-Shift Keying (A-FSK), damit sie auf die Frequenz des Carriers kommt.

Diese Forschung ist interessant weil Computerumgebungen oft abgeschirmt sind. Die Qualität des Schirms kann je nach Hardware stärker oder schwächer sein. Stellen wir uns ein Szenario vor, in dem wir mit der Methode der École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne die Tastenanschläge auf einem Point-of-Sales Terminal identifizieren. Das Terminal wird unter anderem dazu genutzt, PINs von Bank- und Kreditkarten einzugeben. Oder in einem anderen Szenario könnten Skimmer das Risiko der Entdeckung drastisch reduzieren und weiterhin Kreditkartendaten und PINs auslesen. In beiden Szenarien muss der Magnetstreifen der Karte kopiert werden, aber die Aufzeichnung der PIN kann über eine Distanz hinweg geschehen.

Weitere Möglichkeiten von Software Defined Radio

Tastenanschläge ausspionieren ist sicherlich ein interessantes Thema zur weiteren Forschung und Recherche. Allerdings ist das etwas weiter fortgeschritten. Zu Beginn benötigen Neulinge vielleicht etwas Motivation, um eine Antenne zu kaufen und das System aufzusetzen. Für off-the-shelf Projekte gibt es Websites wie rtl-sdr.com, OsmoSDR, radio.linux.org.au oder rtl-sdr on OsmoSDR. Auf diesen Sites finden Sie unter anderem folgende Projekte:

Achtung: Bitte beachten Sie die rechtlichen Aspekte Ihres Projekts. Unter Umständen sind einige der Projekte, auch wenn sie noch so interessant klingen, in Ihrem Land illegal. Das betrifft vor allem Projekte, die Signale übermitteln.

Die ersten Schritte Software Defined Radio

Hardware

Das grundlegende Setup benötigt Hardware, die Rohsignale zur verarbeitenden Software weiterleiten kann. Diese Hardware muss einen unterstützten Chipsatz haben. Die OSmocom website ist eine gute Ressource für den Anfang und erwähnt sogar einige Hardware-Modelle. Der Realtex RTL2832U ist ein günstiger DVB-T-Modulator, der rohe I/O Signale an den Host übertragen kann. Nebst der Antenne ist der Tuner das Wichtigste. Ein Tuner mit einer grossen Frequenzbreite bietet die Möglichkeit, das Setup für eine Vielzahl Projekte einzusetzen. Beim Tuner, der für diesen Artikel verwendet wurde, handelt es sich um einen Rafael Micro R820T, der mit einem Frequenzspektrum von 24 – 1766 MHz arbeitet.

Software

Die Software für Projekte mit Software Defined Radio muss nicht erst geschrieben werden. Allerdings können, je nach Projekt, Software-Packages notwendig sein. Das Hostsystem in diesem Artikel ist ein 32bit Fedora Linux. Mit diesem Setup ist es nun an der Zeit für ein erstes Projekt: das Abfangen von Automatic Dependent Surveillance Broadcast Data, die von Flugzeugen gesendet werden.

Traffic Data von Flugzeugen abfangen

ADS-B steht für Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast, zu deutsch etwa Automatische bordabhängige Überwachung. Dabei handelt es sich um ein System, das die Position von Flugzeugen übermittelt. Wenn ein Flugzeug sein ADS-B-System aktiviert hat, sendet es in regelmässigen Abständen folgende Daten aus:

Diese Daten werden über Rundfunk ausgesendet und können daher von jedem empfangen werden. Websites wie FlightRadar24 bieten mit dieser Informationsflut einen Webservice zur Flugüberwachung an.

Setup des Systems

Wir werden im Zuge unseres Flugüberwachungsprojekts Dump1090 verwenden, einen Mode S Dekoder für RTLSDR-Geräte, damit wir ADS-B Signale empfangen und dekodieren können. Dump1090 kann einfach im Command Line Interface genutzt werden und bietet kartenbasierte Visualisation.

Voraussetzungen

Die folgenden Befehle installieren rtl-sdr und andere Libraries, mit denen Dump1090 funktioniert.

yum install rtl-sdr-devel.i686 rtl-sdr.i686 libusbx-devel.i686

Die Installation über die offiziellen Fedora Repositories ist die einfachste Methode. Weiter kann aber auch git checkout via Repository verwendet werden.

Als nächstes muss Dump1090s Source beschafft werden. Das geht entweder mit wget oder mit git checkout:

wget https://github.com/antirez/dump1090/archive/master.zip

Die Kompilierung ist einfach:

  1. Source entpacken
  2. Directory im Sourcefolder ändern
  3. make ausführen

Test des Systems

Nach der Installation muss die Software auf ihre Funktionalität geprüft werden.

[root@localhost]# rtl_test -t
Found 1 device(s):
  0:  ezcap USB 2.0 DVB-T/DAB/FM dongle

Using device 0: ezcap USB 2.0 DVB-T/DAB/FM dongle Detached kernel driver Found Rafael Micro R820T tuner Supported gain values (29): 0.0 0.9 1.4 2.7 3.7 7.7 8.7 12.5 14.4 15.7 16.6 19.7 20.7 22.9 25.4 28.0 29.7 32.8 33.8 36.4 37.2 38.6 40.2 42.1 43.4 43.9 44.5 48.0 49.6 No E4000 tuner found, aborting. Reattached kernel driver

Der Output zeigt an, dass der DVB-T-Dongle gefunden wurde und dass ein Rafel Micro R8200T Tuner angeschlossen ist. Als nächsten Schritt wird Dump1090 ausgeführt, damit wir sehen können, was Flugzeuge aussenden:

Readout von ADS-B Flugdaten

Starten sie Dump1090 mit dem folgenden Befehl und browsen sie auf http://127.0.0.1:8080 um die Flugzeuge auf einer Karte zu sehen.

./dump1090 --interactive --net

Zusammenfassung

Software Defined Radio hat eine Vielzahl an Anwendungsmöglichkeiten. Projekte mit ADS-B sind gut um in den Bereich einzusteigen, da ausreichen Informationen und Software vorhanden sind. Andere Projekte wie GSM Sniffing können gut zu Demonstrationszwecken genutzt werden. Mit dem richtigen Equipment, dem HackRF One zum Beispiel, können unbekannte Rohdaten analysiert und reverse engineered werden. Autoschlüssel, Garagenöffner zum Beispiel.

Über den Autor

Oliver Kunz

Oliver Kunz ist seit 2010 im Bereich der Informationssicherheit aktiv. Hauptsächlich setzt er sich mit Incident Response, Computerforensik und der Sicherheit von mobilen Geräten auseinander.

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Crypto-Malware

Crypto-Malware

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv