Apple Watch - A First Commentary

Apple Watch

A First Commentary

Stefan Friedli
by Stefan Friedli
time to read: 6 minutes

In the recent past, there’s not been a single Apple product that has led to quite as much discussion as the Apple Watch. Understandable, given the fact that Apple managed to revolutionize entire types of devices to an extent with the iPhone and the iPod. It’s thinkable that the company from Cupertino manages to do the same with Smartwatches. Smartwatches are already a somewhat established albeit niche market, if we look at most Android Devices.

While the launch of the Apple Watch is eagerly awaited in Switzerland, I probably won’t be among the people who will be among the users in the near future. The fact that I, being an Android User, have only limited profit from all the features in the hip Apple Watch is an important reason, but even looking past that: The Apple Watch holds very little appeal to me. I just like the timeless charm of traditional mechanical timepieces too much. For example the Omega Speedmaster, a watch that does its job even thirty years into its life.

Omega Speedmaster

Despite this, experts and consumers can’t deny that smart watches have gained societal acceptance over the past few months that will certainly rise with the launch of the Apple Watch. The use of the watch as a second display seems intuitive. The use of for individual users probably depends on each user’s habits with the device: Those who steal a glance at their device as soon as any kind of notification comes in, they will be happy about the Apple Watch’s gentle pulsating.

Thirty Per Cent of the Annual Gold Production

Another fact: Apple doesn’t primarily target the technology market. They’re going for the luxury goods market. The presentation of the Apple Watch as well as its introduction is the result of a development that could be foreseen after Angela Ahrendts, former CEO of luxury brand Burberry in 2013. The most obvious evidence of this is the fact that Apple doesn’t just offer sporty variants of the Apple Watch with rubber and metal wristbands but also offers their new product with 18 karat gold casing. This model will sell well on the Chinese market and on similar ones. Apple aims to sell a million units a month. Should these numbers be accurate, Apple would be using 30 per cent of the annual global gold harvest for the Apple Watch. This would be multiple times as much as the traditional watch industry uses every year.

The use of precious metal in watches is a tradition. Gold is among the standard materials used in Rolex and Audemars Piquet watches. However, it’s a new development in smart watches that raises a lot of questions. Mainly: How long is the Apple Watch’s lifecycle? While a Rolex Daytona effortlessly survives its owner, it’s to be expected that the Apple Watch’s first generation will be obsolete within three years. Then, technologically more interesting successors will take the lead. It remains to be seen just how willing consumers are to spend significant amounts of money in a gadget wrapped in precious metals with a short life span.

Fact is: When it comes to functionality, the Apple Watch has potential. Even though it’s currently primarily a wrist mounted Second Display it’s foreseeable that clever app developers will have a lot to work with. There could be real time information about the wearers’ immediate environment, relevant information based on sensor input as seen in Google Now an general use cases that makes the constant and quick availability of a display necessary.

Companies are already investigating into the use of smart watches as a spiritual successor to pagers. Also, they’ve been envisioned as a factor of authentication. It is that aspect, the aspect of security, that is interesting, both in terms of potential as well as risks.

Bluetooth as the Most Likely Attack Vector?

So far, little is known about technical attacks on the Apple Watch. It’s not unthinkable that the watch with its persistent Bluetooth connection to another device, traditionally an iPhone, can be used as a gateway for an attack. Solid authentication is difficult to implement on the watch, seeing as entry option are severely limited on the small display. The subject matter, however, is unquestionably a point of discussion in a business environment. Media has already thrown the term wear your own device into the ring.

A first impression of security concerns related to smart watches can be found in a white paper dated 2015 by Boning-Lee-Valdez. It deal with the Pebble Watch and has a critical look at communications based attacks on the device. The authors also ask the question what kind of risk watch apps can pose.

Even if the Apple Watch and its Android equivalents as well as other smaller exponents of the smart watch industry still lack acceptance and relevance, companies would do well to get familiar with the problems of smart watches and other wearables and come up with strategies concerning these new devices. Because while the current generation of smart watches is most likely not going to lead into a revolution like we’ve seen with smart phones, the next, more powerful generation of smart watches will come. It’s just a matter of time.

About the Author

Stefan Friedli

Stefan Friedli is a well-known face among the Infosec Community. As a speaker at international conferences, co-founder of the Penetration Testing Execution Standard (PTES) as well as a board member of the Swiss DEFCON groups chapters, he still contributes to push the community and the industry forward.

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

Online Tracking

Online Tracking

Ralph Meier

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Andrea Hauser

Qubes OS

Qubes OS

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Die Apple Watch - Ein erster Kommentar

Die Apple Watch

Ein erster Kommentar

Stefan Friedli
von Stefan Friedli
Lesezeit: 6 Minuten

Kaum ein Produkt aus dem Hause Apple hat in jüngster Vergangenheit für so viel Gesprächsstoff gesucht wie die Apple Watch. Nicht ganz zu Unrecht hat Apple doch bereits mit dem iPod und dem iPhone ganze Gerätetypen zu einem gewissen Grad revolutioniert. Es wäre dem Konzern aus Cupertino durchaus zuzutrauen, dasselbe auch für Smartwatches zu schaffen – ein Segment das zwar bereits existiert, aber zumindest im Fall der meisten Android Devices immer noch ein Nischendasein fristet.

Während der offizielle Verkaufsstart der Apple Watch in der Schweiz von vielen herbeigesehnt wird, werde ich kaum zu jenen gehören, die mittelfristig zu den Besitzern der hippen Apple Smartwatch zählen. Der Fakt, dass ich als Android Nutzer nur begrenzt von den Funktionen profitieren würde ist da ein wichtiger Grund, aber auch ansonsten übt die Apple Watch wenig Anziehungskraft auf mich aus. Zu sehr mag ich den zeitlosen Charme von traditionellen, mechanischen Uhren – zum Beispiel der abgebildeten Omega Speedmaster, die auch nach 30 Jahren noch anstandslos ihren Dienst verrichtet.

Omega Speedmaster

Trotzdem können Experten wie auch Konsumenten kaum verneinen, dass Smartwatches über die vergangenen Monate hinweg eine gewisse Akzeptanz gewonnen haben, die mit der Einführung der Apple Watch sicherlich weiter wachsen wird. Die Nutzung als Second Display erscheint intuitiv. Der Nutzen für den Anwender hängt hier vermutlich vom allgemeinen Nutzungsverhalten ab: Wer ohnehin jedes Vibrieren seines Gerätes mit einem prüfenden Blick auf die auslösende Notifikation quittiert, der wird sich am sanften Pochen seiner Apple Watch sicherlich erfreuen.

Dreissig Prozent des Goldes pro Jahr

Klar ist auch: Apple zielt mit seinem neusten Produkt nur sekundär auf den Technologie-, sondern auf den Luxusmarkt. Die Präsentation und die Einführung der Apple Watch ist hier das Resultat einer Entwicklung, die man nach der Verpflichtung von Angela Ahrendts, ehemalige CEO der Luxusmarke Burberry, im Jahr 2013 schon absehen konnte. Das deutlichste Beispiel dafür zeigt sich darin, dass Apple nebst den sportlichen Varianten der Apple Watch mit Gummi- und Stahlbändern auch eine Edelvariante mit 18 Karat Goldgehäuse anbietet. Gerade in Märkten wie China sind diese Modelle gefragt und Apple rechnet mit rund einer Million verkauften Exemplare pro Monat für dieses exklusive Modell. Sollten diese Zahlen akkurat bleiben, so würde Apple rund 30 Prozent des jährlichen Goldertrags weltweit verarbeiten – und ein vielfaches dessen, was die traditionelle Uhrenindustrie jedes Jahr benötigt.

Die Verwendung von Edelmetallen in Uhren hat Tradition. Bei einer Uhr von Rolex oder Audemars Piquet gehört Gold zu den Standardmaterialien. Bei einer Smartwatch dagegen, ist das in dieser Grössenordnung eine neue Entwicklung, die durchaus Fragen aufwirft. Allem voran: Wie langlebig ist die Apple Watch? Während eine Rolex Daytona ihren Besitzer mühelos überleben kann, ist zu erwarten dass die erste Generation binnen drei Jahren ihren Lebenszyklus abschliessen wird, bevor technologisch interessantere Nachfolgervarianten das Zepter übernehmen. Inwiefern hier Konsumenten bereit sein werden, signifikante Beträge für ein in Edelmetall gehülltes Gadget auszugeben, das eine derart kurze Lebenszeit aufweist, ist zweifelhaft.

Tatsache ist: Funktional hat die Apple Watch durchaus Potential. Obschon sie momentan primär als klassisches Second Display am Handgelenk dient, kann schon abgeschätzt werden, dass hier für clevere Applikationsentwickler viel Spielraum geschaffen wird. Denkbar sind Echtzeitinformationen zur Umgebung, relevante Informationen basierend auf Sensorinformationen im Stile von Google Now und generell Anwendungsfälle, in denen die ständige spontane Verfügbarkeit des Displays relevant sind.

So prüfen einzelne Unternehmen bereits den Einsatz von Smartwatches im Stile eines Pager-Revivals. Auch als möglicher Authentisierungsfaktor wurden Smartwatches bereits wiederholt diskutiert. Gerade auch aus Sicherheitssicht bietet die Apple Watch damit Potenzial – und birgt Risiken.

Bluetooth als Angriffsvektor?

So ist bislang wenig über allfällige technische Angriffe auf die Apple Watch bekannt. Tatsächlich ist aber denkbar, dass das Device mit seiner persistenten Bluetooth Verbindung zum Hauptgerät, traditionellerweise ein iPhone, als Einfallstor missbraucht werden könnte. Eine solide Authentisierung ist an der Uhr nur schwerlich machbar, zumal die Eingabeoptionen über die Krone und das kleine Display denkbar marginal ausfallen. Dass diese Thematik aber, gerade im Businessumfeld, für Diskussionen sorgen wird, ist unbestritten. So wurde bereits der etwas hanebüchene Begriff Wear your own device durch Fachmedien in die Runde geworfen.

Einen ersten Eindruck über die Sicherheitsbedenken, die mit Smartwatches aktuell werden, gibt ein Whitepaper aus dem Jahr 2015, das Boning-Lee-Valdez zur Pebble Smartwatch verfasst haben. In ihrer Analyse berücksichtigen die Autoren kommunikationsbasierte Angriff auf das Gerät und stellen auch die Frage, inwiefern mit WatchApps unter Umständen ein sicherheitsrelevantes Problem generiert werden könnte.

Auch wenn es der Apple Watch, Android Wear und andere kleinere Exponenten der Smartwatch Industrie heute noch etwas an Akzeptanz und Relevanz fehlt, so tun Unternehmen gut daran, sich mit der Problematik von funktional höheren Smartwatches und anderen Wearables vertraut zu machen und sich entsprechende Strategien zurechtzulegen. Denn während die derzeitige Generation nicht zu einer Revolution im Stile des Smartphones führen dürfte, so ist die nächste, mächtigere Iteration nur eine Frage der Zeit.

Über den Autor

Stefan Friedli

Stefan Friedli gehört zu den bekannten Gesichtern der Infosec Community. Als Referent an internationalen Konferenzen, Mitbegründer des Penetration Testing Execution Standard (PTES) und Vorstandsmitglied des Schweizer DEFCON Group Chapters trägt er aktiv zum Fortschritt des Segmentes bei.

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv