What You Need to Know About Duqu 2.0

What You Need to Know About Duqu 2.0

Marc Ruef
by Marc Ruef
time to read: 4 minutes

Media report that Russian security company Kaspersky has been compromised during an electronic break-in. The incident, the malware used by the attackers and the political context of the attack have led to an increased media interest and questions to scip AG regarding the attack Kaspersky has dubbed Duqu 2.0.

The following should give you an overview over the most important aspects oft he case.

What Happened?

Russian security research company Kaspersky reported on June 10th, 2015, that they have fallen victim to an attack. Eugene Kaspersky, founder oft he company, describes how researchers discovered the attack, how it has been analysed and what conclusions they can draw.

Which Malware was Used?

A first analysis by Kaspersky has shown that malware was used that is identical with the malware known as Duqu in key aspects. Therefore the Malware was named Duqu 2.0 by the researchers. The first version of Duqu was used during attacks in 2011.

What Makes Duqu 2.0 Remarkable?

An extended analysis by security company Symantec has shown that the extended version Duqu 2.0 mainly has three new features:

  1. There is more functionality in Duqu 2.0
  2. The Malware is almost entirely contained to RAM of an infected system. This makes a forensic analysis difficult, as very little to no data is stored persistently.
  3. The installed basis acts as a Botnet and can be controlled centrally using Command-and-Control servers. Therefore, infected systems can be remote controlled.

Why was Kaspersky Attacked?

Security companies are lucrative targets for a variety of attackers. Manufacturers such as Kaspersky research and develop new technologies combatting computer attacks and malware. If an attacker gains access to the security company’s research, the attacker holds a strategic and tactical advantage for further attacks.

How Were Other Victims Identified?

There are two possibilities to identify victims of malware:

  1. Modern anti virus solutions allow reporting of identified malware, giving manufacturers a statistical overview over infected systems
  2. Analysing Command-and-Control servers that remote control infected systems, researchers can identify further activity by the attacker. To do this, however, researchers need access to communication originating from the command-and-control server. Sometimes, compromising and forensic analysis of the command and control server is necessary. If that has happened in the case of Duqu 2.0 is debated.

Who is behind Duqu 2.0?

Kaspersky emphasises that they can not conclusively name a culprit. The complexity and professionality of Duqu and Duqu 2.0 point to an attacker with considerable financial means. The most likely culprits based on this are governments and organised crime. The targets have primarily been political in nature. This points to the attacker being a governmental agency. Among the targets were political talks regarding Iran’s nuclear weapons program or celebrations of the 70th Anniversary of the Liberation of Auschwitz-Birkenau. These are all indicators that Duqu 2.0 is an Israeli product. This assessment remains unconfirmed.

About the Author

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef has been working in information security since the late 1990s. He is well-known for his many publications and books. The last one called The Art of Penetration Testing is discussing security testing in detail. He is a lecturer at several universities, like ETH, HWZ, HSLU and IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

You want to test the strength of your enterprise regarding malware attacks?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Data Markets

Data Markets

Marc Ruef

Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

MITRE ATT&CK

MITRE ATT&CK

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Die wichtigsten Antworten zu Duqu 2.0

Die wichtigsten Antworten zu Duqu 2.0

Marc Ruef
von Marc Ruef
Lesezeit: 4 Minuten

Medien berichten davon, dass das Sicherheitsunternehmen Kaspersky Opfer eines elektronischen Einbruchs wurde.

Dieser Zwischenfall, die dafür genutzte Malware und der politische Kontext führten dazu, dass wir sehr viele Anfragen von Kunden und Journalisten zu Duqu 2.0 erhalten haben. Mit dieser Mitteilung möchten wir die wichtigsten Fakten rund um den Fall zusammenfassen.

Was ist passiert?

Das russische Sicherheitsunternehmen Kaspersky hat am 10. Juni 2015 die Mitteilung herausgegeben, dass sie Opfer eines Angriffs wurden. Kasperskys Firmengründer Eugene Kaspersky selbst beschreibt, wie die Kompromittierung entdeckt wurde, wie man im Rahmen der Analyse vorgegangen ist und welche Schlüsse man aus dieser gezogen hat.

Welche Malware wurde genutzt?

Die erste Analyse von Kaspersky hat aufgezeigt, dass hier eine Malware zum Tragen kommt, die in zentralen Teilen mit der im Jahr 2011 als Duqu bekannt gewordenen Malware identisch ist. Kaspersky bezeichnet die Malware dementsprechend als Duqu 2.0.

Was ist das Besondere an Duqu 2.0?

Eine erweiterte Analyse des Sicherheitsunternehmens Symantec hat aufgezeigt, dass die erweiterte Form von Duqu drei wesentliche Neuerungen mitbringt:

  1. Es wird ein Mehr an Funktionalität bereitgestellt.
  2. Duqu 2.0 agiert fast nur noch im RAM eines infizierten Systems. Dies erschwert eine forensische Analyse umso mehr, weil wenige bis gar keine Daten persistent abgespeichert werden.
  3. Die installierte Basis fungiert als Botnet und kann über Command-and-Control Server in zentralisierter Form gesteuert werden.

Wieso wurde Kaspersky angegriffen?

Sicherheitsunternehmen sind für verschiedene Akteure ein lohnendes Ziel. Hersteller wie Kaspersky forschen und entwickeln ständig neue Technologien, um Angriffe und Malware erkennen und verhindern zu können. Kann ein Angreifer in den Besitz dieser Informationen kommen, kann dies ein strategischer und taktischer Vorteil für weitere Angriffe bedeuten.

Wie wurden andere Opfer identifiziert?

Es gibt zwei Möglichkeiten, wie Opfer von Malware identifiziert werden können:

  1. Moderne Antiviren-Lösungen erlauben das Melden von identifizierter Malware, wodurch die Hersteller einen statistischen Überblick über infizierte Systeme bekommen können.
  2. Durch das Analysieren der Command-and-Control Server wird es möglich, weitere Aktivitäten identifizieren zu können. Hierzu ist aber das Mitlesen dessen Kommunikationen oder gar das Kompromittieren und forensische Analysieren des Systems erforderlich. Ob dies im Fall von Duqu 2.0 schon geschehen ist, ist fraglich.

Wer steckt wohl hinter der Malware?

Kaspersky weist ganz klar darauf hin, dass sie keine konkreten Zuweisungen bei Malware machen. Die Komplexität und Professionalität von Duqu und dessen Nachfolger deutet auf einen sehr kaufstarken Akteur hin. Hierbei kommen sowohl staatliche Stellen als auch die organisierte Kriminalität in Frage. Die identifizierten Ziele sind jedoch in erster Linie politischer Natur, wodurch sich eine staatliche Stelle aufdrängt. Unter anderem wurden politische Gespräche zum Nuklearprogramm des Irans und die Feierlichkeiten des 70. Jahrestags der Befreiung von Auschwitz-Birkenau unterwandert. Die Anzeichen verdichten sich, dass es sich hierbei um eine israelische Entwicklung handelt. Dies ist zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt aber noch unbestätigt.

Über den Autor

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Cybersecurity-Bereich aktiv. Er hat vor allem im deutschsprachigen Raum aufgrund der Vielzahl durch ihn veröffentlichten Fachpublikationen und Bücher – dazu gehört besonders Die Kunst des Penetration Testing – Bekanntheit erlangt. Er ist Dozent an verschiedenen Hochschulen, darunter ETH, HWZ, HSLU und IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

Sie wollen die Resistenz Ihres Unternehmens auf Malware prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

3D Printing

3D Printing

Marc Ruef

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv