Hack in Paris 2015 - A Short Review

Hack in Paris 2015

A Short Review

Veit Hailperin
by Veit Hailperin
time to read: 6 minutes

Hack in Paris is France’s biggest IT security conference that has been held annually in the country’s capital since 2011. This year, scip employee Veit Hailperin has presented his research in front of a global audience.

After a keynote by Winn Schwartau, Jose Lopes Esteves and Chaouki Kasmi of ANSSI presented the frankly impressive possibility to inject voice commands into a smartphone. To accomplish that, they use an antenna emitting electromagnetic waves that are outside the range of human hearing. As an entry point, they require a cable being plugged into the headphone jack of a smartphone. The biggest obstacle the researchers are facing is that they need a very large battery. It’s the size of a backpack if the target is within a range of two meters. If the target is within a radius of five meters of the antenna, the battery needs to be the size of a small bus.

Mario Heiderich of Cure53, an information security company based in Berlin, Germany, held a very interesting presentation. His talks have become a staple of Hack in Paris and are usually met with great interest. This year, his talk was titled Copy & Pest during which he presented possibilities of code injection into browsers using the container function of the clipboard. All he needed was a copy&paste from Word to Gmail and he provoked an alert box. By the way, this issue isn’t only an issue under Windows. It also works under Linux.

This presentation was followed by a presentation by Matias Katz who was often interrupted by spontaneous applause. Using dbus and a USB stick, he turned the thumb drive into an additional factor of authentication. Inversing this thought, he also manages to create a classy back door into the system using very little and inconspicuous code. He demonstrated this twice. Once he opened and closed the lid of a laptop twice and unlocked it this way. The second time, he unlocked it using a regular audio cable plugged into the laptop’s headphone jack. He unplugged and re-plugged the cable following a predetermined sequence and, once again, the laptop was unlocked.

The afternoon was filled with presentations concerning Social Engineering, 4G security issues that were presented by Timur Yunusov of SCADAStrangelove and a presentation on the various fails of DDos attack mitigation. The evening was concluded with a gala diner and spectacular circus show including aerial silks and aerial dancing.

Veit Hailperin during his presentation at Hack in Paris

Friday began with a keynote by Thomas Roth who talked about secure messaging. He demonstrated a variety of super secure services, among them the Swiss product Proton-Mail, that have to battle security issues. All of them proved to contain holes. Interesting to note is that the process of disclosure with Silent Circle, manufacturer of the Blackphone, has not yet been completed and therefore, a newly found vulnerability could not be presented. Silent Circle recently moved their headquarters from the USA to Switzerland citing privacy concerns.

Really impressive was the talk by Nicolas Grégoire, also known as Agarri. He demonstrated several ways to exploit the relatively new Server-Side Request Forgery (SSRF). He demonstrated these attacks on well-known websites such as Facebook and Paypal. The slides for his presentation are already available on Agarri’s website.

The time before lunch was filled with talks concerning fitness tracker and their security issues as well as SAP (In)security. After a sunny lunch break there was another presentation concerning issues in SAP, held by Alexey Tyurin, head of Erpscan’s Security Assessment Department. This was followed by scip employee Veit Hailperin’s presentation of (Still) Exploiting TCP Timestamps. The conference was completed by talks concerning the security of SNMP on embedded devices and the hacking of ATMs.

A complete list of all talks that will be updated with slides and video records can be found here

The slides Veit Hailperin used during his talk (Still) Exploiting TCP Timestamps can be downloaded here.

About the Author

Veit Hailperin

Veit Hailperin has been working in information security since 2010. His research focuses on network and application layer security and the protection of privacy. He presents his findings at conferences.

Links

You want to test the strength of your enterprise regarding malware attacks?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Trustworthy AI

Trustworthy AI

Prisca Quadroni-Renella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Hack in Paris 2015 - Ein kurzer Rückblick

Hack in Paris 2015

Ein kurzer Rückblick

Veit Hailperin
von Veit Hailperin
Lesezeit: 6 Minuten

An der Hack in Paris, der grössten IT Security Konferenz Frankreichs, hat scip-Mitarbeiter Veit Hailperin vorgetragen. Die Konferenz ist eine Woche lang und besteht aus drei Tagen Training und zwei Tagen gefüllt mit Vorträgen. Sie findet seit 2011 jährlich in Paris statt.

Nach einer Keynote von Winn Schwartau präsentierten Jose Lopes Esteves und Chaouki Kasmi von ANSSI eindrücklich eine Möglichkeit Voice Commands in ein Smartphone einzuschleusen. Dies wurde erreicht mittels elektromagnetischen Wellen, welche nicht im menschlich hörbaren Bereich liegen. Als Antenne und damit als Entry Point dient jedes Kabel, das in den Kopfhöreranschluss des Smartphones eingesteckt ist. Die momentan wohl grösste Schwierigkeit in der Anwendung ist, dass der Angreifer eine Rucksack-grosse Batterie braucht um die Antenne zu betreiben, solange er noch im zwei Meter Radius der Zielperson befindet. Sobald versucht wird diese Technik aus einem fünf Meter Radius verwendet zu werden, braucht es eine Batterie in der Grösse eines kleinen Busses.

Auch Mario Heiderich von der Berliner Informationssicherheitsfirma Cure53 hatte, wie bereits alle Jahre zuvor, einen spannenden Vortrag. Dieses Jahr mit Copy & Pest, Injection-Möglichkeiten in Browsern mittels der Container-Funktionen des Clipboards. Ein Copy & Paste von Word zu Gmail und die Alert-Box ging auf. Das Problem besteht übrigens nicht nur unter Windows sondern auch unter Linux.

Der im Anschluss folgende Vortrag von Matias Katz wurde mehrere Male mit viel Applaus unterbrochen. Er benutzte dbus und einen USB-Stick um mit wenig Aufwand den Stick als zusätzliche Authentisierungsmöglichkeit zu verwenden. Im Anschluss wurde dann der Ansatz umgedreht. Mit wenig Code, der zudem noch unauffällig ist, gelang es Katz, einen sehr effektiven und ungewöhnlichen Backdoor zu erstellen. Als Demonstration zeigte er auf, wie er ein gesperrtes Laptop ohne Passwort entsperren kann. Er demonstrierte den Backdoor anhand von auf- und zuklappen des Laptops. Eine weitere Demonstration verwendete nur ein reguläres Audio-Miniklinke-Kabel als Hilfsmittel, das Katz einer vordefinierten Abfolge nach ein- und aussteckte.

Der Nachmittag bot Vorträge zu Social Engineering, 4G Sicherheitsprobleme präsentiert von Timur Yunusov von SCADAStrangelove, und einer Reihe von Misserfolgen im DDos-Bereich. Der Abend wurde abgeschlossen mit einer Gala inklusive einer Show am Tuch und einem Hochseilakt.

Veit Hailperin während seines Vortrags an der Hack in Paris

Freitag startete mit dem Keynote von Thomas Roth. Probleme von Secure Messaging waren sein Thema, und demonstrierte wie alle möglichen super-sicheren Dienste, unter anderem das Schweizer Proton-Mail, alle mit Sicherheitsproblem zu kämpfen haben, und kein einziger wirklich sicher war. Spannend war auch die Ankündigung, dass momentan ein Disclosure-Prozess mit Silent Circle dem Hersteller des Blackphones noch nicht abgeschlossen ist, und deshalb eine frisch gefundene Schwachstelle noch nicht präsentiert werden konnte. Silent Circle hat kürzlich ihren Firmensitz von der USA in die Schweiz verlegt.

Wirklich herausragend aus der Konferenz war der Talk von Nicolas Grégoire auch bekannt als Agarri. Er demonstrierte mehrere Arten, das noch relativ neuen Server-Side Request Forgery (SSRF) auszunutzen. Hacks von bekannten Webseiten, wie zum Beispiel Facebook und Paypal stellte er vor. Seine Slides sind bereits online auf seiner eigenen Site.

Der späte Vormittag war dann gefüllt mit Talks zu Fitness-Tracker und ihren Sicherheitsproblemen so wie zu SAP (In)security. Nach der inzwischen sonnigen Mittagspause gab es einen weiteren Vortrag zu SAP Problemen von Alexey Tyurin, Head des Security Assessment Departments von Erpscan und dem Vortrag zu (Still) Exploiting TCP Timestamps von scips Veit Hailperin. Die Konferenz wurde abgerundet mit Vorträgen zu SNMP Sicherheit auf Embedded Devices und Hacken von ATM Geräten.

Eine vollständige Liste aller Talks, in Kürze auch mit Slides und Videoaufnahmen, finden sich hier

Die Slides von Veit Hailperins Talk (Still) Exploiting TCP Timestamps können hier heruntergeladen werden.

Über den Autor

Veit Hailperin

Veit Hailperin arbeitet seit 2010 im Bereich der Informationssicherheit. Seine Forschung konzentriert sich auf Network und Application Layer Security sowie auf den Schutz der Privatsphäre. Die Resultate präsentiert er an Konferenzen.

Links

Sie wollen die Resistenz Ihres Unternehmens auf Malware prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv