Statistical Analysis of the Ashley Madison Hack

Statistical Analysis of the Ashley Madison Hack

Dominik Bärlocher
by Dominik Bärlocher
time to read: 8 minutes

The data from cheating portal AshleyMadison.com contains, after cleaning it up, 55’839 Swiss e-mail addresses, 19 of which are directly associated with the Swiss government, ending in admin.ch. But the leak contains so much more. Time to analyse the data.

Before I go and mention numbers, I have something important to write down: The analysis of the data did not happen for the purposes of public shaming. The privacy of Ashley Madison users has been intact at every turn of the investigation. Data that was transmitted to media did not contain names or other unique identifiers. Neither scip AG nor any of its employees has or will name names or release any data – be it address, payment details or sexual preferences – that could lead to identification of Ashley Madison clients. Privacy is a core value of scip AG and is thus something we take seriously. Therefore, the analysis has been kept superficial and was done without involving any personal data.

The goal of the analysis was to find out how much damage the Impact Team’s leak can do. Can third parties make credit card purchases with the leaked data? Which authentication and verification mechanism are used by Ashley Madison? What user data did Avid Life Media (ALM), parent company of Ashley Madison, collect? These are the questions that drove our research and led to this article. It was not the question whether or not an acquaintance or a public figure was or is a client.

E-Mail-Adresses Ending in .ch

The Swiss users of Ashley Madison number – after removing duplicates and addresses spelled in upper and lower caps – 55’839, if we go by e-mail addresses ending in .ch. This data was collected in order to find out which companies or private persons owning mail servers have been affected.

Mail provider

Provider Number of Addresses
bluewin.ch 13’473
hotmail.ch 5’537
bluemail.ch 1’181
gmx.ch 22’970
freesurf.ch 65
hispeed.ch 1’565
sunrise.ch 1’136
protonmail.ch 128
swissonline.ch 376
Other 8’938

Credit Card Data

The most exact way of determining the origins of ALM’s clients is most likely the analysis of credit card data. Anyone can sign up to an ALM service using any mail address, but credit cards are hard to steal. We’ve used this data to extrapolate where in Switzerland ALM’s clients come from.

Clients per Canton

Canton Percent
ZH 26.84%
VD 9.67%
BE 9.62%
AG 8.41%
GE 8.37%
SG 6.38%
LU 3.97%
SZ 3.05%
TI 2.80%
ZG 2.66%
FR 2.51%
BS 2.32%
TG 2.27%
SO 2.18%
BL 1.89%
VS 1.74%
SH 0.97%
GR 0.87%
NE 0.77%
AR 0.63%
NW 0.53%
OW 0.39%
GL 0.39%
JU 0.34%
UR 0.24%
AI 0.10%
Unknown 0.10%

These numbers allow for the following conclusions:

Money

Credit card data would not be complete without a look at how much people spent.

Transactions per year

Average amount spent per booking

About the Author

Dominik Bärlocher

Dominik Bärlocher has been working with IT subjects since 2006. The journalist relied on his affinity for all things IT during his tenures at news papers and benefited from it. At scip, he conducts OSINT researches and is an expert at information gathering.

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Trustworthy AI

Trustworthy AI

Prisca Quadroni-Renella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Statistische Auswertung des Ashley Madison Hacks

Statistische Auswertung des Ashley Madison Hacks

Dominik Bärlocher
von Dominik Bärlocher
Lesezeit: 8 Minuten

Die vom Impact Team erbeuteten Daten aus dem Hack der Fremdgehwebsite AshleyMadison.com enthalten bereinigt 55’839 Schweizer E-Mail-Adressen, darunter 19 Adressen aus Bundesbern, die auf admin.ch enden. Doch das Datenleck enthält noch viel mehr. Zeit, die Daten statistisch auszuwerten.

Doch bevor ich Zahlen nenne, eine wichtige Erklärung in eigener Sache: Die Analyse der Daten geschah nicht aus Gründen der öffentlichen Blossstellung. Die Privatsphäre der Nutzer Ashley Madisons ist zu jedem Zeitpunkt gewahrt worden, da diese nach wie vor unantastbar ist. Daten, die den Medien übergeben worden sind, beinhalten keine Namen oder andere direkte Identifikatoren ausser die von den Medien genannten. Es wird nicht vorkommen, dass Mitarbeiter der scip AG Namen nennen oder irgendwelche persönlichen Daten – seien das Adressen, Zahlungsdetails oder sexuelle Vorlieben – an die Öffentlichkeit tragen werden, da dies nicht den Idealen und Werten der Firma entspricht. Daher ist die Untersuchung oberflächlich gehalten und bewusst ohne Miteinbeziehung persönlicher Daten geschehen.

Ziel der Analyse war es, herauszufinden, wie viel Schaden mit den vom Impact Team veröffentlichten Daten angerichtet werden kann. Können Dritte mit Kreditkarten der Nutzer Zahlungen vornehmen? Welche Verifikations- und Authentisierungsmethoden verwendet das Portal? Welche Daten hat Avid Life Media (ALM), Mutterkonzern Ashley Madisons, über seine Nutzer gesammelt? Dies sind die Fragen, die zur Auswertung in diesem Artikel geführt haben und nicht die Frage, ob ein Bekannter Kunde des Portals war oder ist.

E-Mail-Adressen, die auf .ch enden

Die Nutzer Ashley Madisons aus der Schweiz haben nach Bereinigung von Duplikaten und Unterschieden in Gross- und Kleinschreibung 55’839 Mail-Adressen mit der Endung .ch verwendet, um sich anzumelden. Diese Daten wurden erhoben, um festzustellen, welche Firmen oder Privatpersonen mit Mailservern betroffen sind.

Mail provider

Mailanbieter Anzahl Anmeldungen
bluewin.ch 13’473
hotmail.ch 5’537
bluemail.ch 1’181
gmx.ch 22’970
freesurf.ch 65
hispeed.ch 1’565
sunrise.ch 1’136
protonmail.ch 128
swissonline.ch 376
Andere 8’938

Kreditkartendaten

Am wohl exaktesten lässt sich die Kundschaft ALMs anhand von Kreditkartendaten feststellen. Diese Daten haben wir als Hochrechnungsbasis genommen und sind zu folgenden Daten gelangt. Die Tabelle listet den prozentualen Anteil der Kantonsbewohner an der gesamten Schweizer Ashley-Madison-Kundschaft.

Kunden pro Kanton

Kanton Prozent
ZH 26.84%
VD 9.67%
BE 9.62%
AG 8.41%
GE 8.37%
SG 6.38%
LU 3.97%
SZ 3.05%
TI 2.80%
ZG 2.66%
FR 2.51%
BS 2.32%
TG 2.27%
SO 2.18%
BL 1.89%
VS 1.74%
SH 0.97%
GR 0.87%
NE 0.77%
AR 0.63%
NW 0.53%
OW 0.39%
GL 0.39%
JU 0.34%
UR 0.24%
AI 0.10%
Unbekannt 0.10%

Diese Zahlen lassen folgende Rückschlüsse zu:

Geldbeträge

Kreditkartendaten wären ohne Betrag nicht vollständig ausgewertet.

Buchungen pro Jahr

Durchschnittsbetrag pro Buchung

Über den Autor

Dominik Bärlocher

Der Journalist Dominik Bärlocher ist seit 2006 im IT-Bereich tätig. Während seiner Arbeit als Journalist bei grossen Schweizer Zeitungen sind ihm seine Recherchefähigkeiten und seine IT-Affinität immer wieder zu Hilfe gekommen. Bei scip AG führt er OSINT Researches durch und betreibt Information Gathering.

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv