Facebook's Ears - Threats by Audio Discovery

Facebook's Ears

Threats by Audio Discovery

Dominik Bärlocher
by Dominik Bärlocher
time to read: 17 minutes

Social media wants to know. They collect data indiscriminately and ceaselessly. Facebook, Google+ and other social networks have employed various tactics to get to know their users – us – better over the years. While Google+ is comparably harmless, Facebook has always been rather aggressive.

Facebook’s methods have included, but were not limited to, flat out asking what our favourite movies or bands or restaurants were, then asking us if we’ve seen a particular movie, rolling out plugins for other social networks such as GoodReads and TripAdvisor as well as asking variations of the question «You liked $thing, you might like $relatedThing, too». All this in order to target advertising better and sell our data to advertisers and whoever else pays the money.

Correlation such as asking if we like something related because we liked something else is a thing of the past. Antiquated, even. With the rise of increasingly faster internet connections, new technological means become available. And we’re at the point where user input is not necessary anymore, perhaps even unwanted. The latest in this regard is a Facebook feature that is currently being rolled out in the United States: Audio discovery.

Audio Discovery – Spying on You For No Good Reason

Facebook Audio Discovery

Audio discovery is not a new concept, nor is it unique to Facebook. But what sets Facebook’s implementation apart is the general use and details of it. In Google’s Android, there’s Google Now and in Apple’s products, Siri is embedded. They operate on the same principle. They record what users are saying and perform useful tasks such as finding the best route to a nearby place or playing music on a streaming app. In recent months, the effectiveness and intelligence of these features has progressed insanely quickly, so it’s no wonder others want to have a piece of the cake.

At Facebook, the audio discovery feature has no name. It’s simply part of the mobile applications in the US for now. The international launch is expected soon. What the feature does is simple. When a user types a status update, Facebook turns on the phone’s microphone and listens to ambient sound, identifying songs, TV shows or movies playing in the background. When the status is posted, a sentence like «is listening to Hol Baumann – [Human] is appended to the user’s status. Their friends can then listen to a 30 second segment of the song or watch a trailer and are then linked to purchasing options.

Facebook’s Listening – A Long History

The audio discovery feature by Facebook is by no means a new invention. The earliest public mention of it date back to early 2014 when it was officially announced. However, the feature was apparently not rolled out immediately and went back into obscurity. It was only recently that it resurfaced and caused the exact same waves it did when it was first announced.

Facebook says the feature will be used for harmless things, like identifying the song or TV show playing in the background, but by using the phone’s microphone every time you write a status update, it has the ability to listen to everything. Not only is this move just downright creepy, it’s also a massive threat to our privacy. The feature is opt-in, but many won’t even read the warnings. – SumOfUs.org Petition

In addition to that, many a user has suspected that Facebook listens in even if the recording function is off. That is a theoretical possibility, but gets denied by Facebook themselves.

Myth: The feature listens to and stores your conversations. Fact: Nope, no matter how interesting your conversation, this feature does not store sound or recordings. Facebook isn’t listening to or storing your conversations. Here’s how it works: if you choose to turn the feature on, when you write a status update, the app converts any sound into an audio fingerprint on your phone. This fingerprint is sent to our servers to try and match it against our database of audio and TV fingerprints. By design, we do not store fingerprints from your device for any amount of time. And in any event, the fingerprints can’t be reversed into the original audio because they don’t contain enough information. Myth: Facebook is always listening using your microphone. Fact: Nope, if you choose to turn this feature on, it will only use your microphone (for 15 seconds) when you’re actually writing a status update to try and match music and TV. – newsroom.fb.com

Still, almost immediately after the new feature was announced in 2014, users flocked to online activism to force Facebook’s hand to have the feature removed. They called the feature creepy and didn’t like the idea at all.

One year later, society is far more used to sounds triggering events on our devices and with the advancement of technology, these commands can be increasingly complex and useful. The public opinion on voice control is changing rapidly with the advancement of the technology and the comfort it brings.

Attacks on Audio

Supplying commands to a device using nothing but a human voice carries a lot of vulnerabilities. The big one, of course, is surveillance.

If an application gets unrestricted access to the devices microphone, it’s essentially bugging the room the device is in. Hijacking the application or making a malicious app that listens in can lead to massive amounts of information disclosure. Every place the smartphone or tablet is at can theoretically be put under surveillance.

This is not just interesting for law enforcement, but also advertisers and spies. The latter are not the James Bond type, but people after confidential data of a company, for example. Many managers carry their phone with them at all times seeing as they need to be able to respond to incidents above a certain threshold immediately. These phones are present during a lot of highly confidential discussion. Being able to access the microphone and eavesdrop from a remote location could yield quite the competitive edge.

Thinking more along the lines of James Bond, government spies could also benefit from this kind of surveillance, not just during times of conflict. In fact, there has been a case of a government spying on a friendly nation: The whole affair surrounding the Merkelphone. Edward Snowden’s leaks have revealed that the NSA was spying on German Chancellor Angela Merkel’s phone conversation on her private mobile phone that she also used for political business. While this strained the relationship between the two countries, the investigation was dropped and Angela Merkel as well as the German government use encrypted phones built by the Deutsche Telekom subsidiary T-Systems.

The other obvious vector of attack is that of interference. So far, all commercial grade devices with audio features do not distinguish between users. This means that while user Alice is giving her phone commands, attacker Mallory can yell things from a distance away and the phone picks it up as if it was a legitimate command. While this most likely won’t lead to much damage other than general annoyance, it will become a bigger threat once voice activated devices are able to carry out more sensitive tasks.

Mount Your Defenses

There are a number of suggested defenses against the attacks, the majority of them from the field of Operations Security, also referred to as OPSEC. The most obvious seems to be the most effective: If a meeting deals with confidential materials above a certain threshold, there shall be no phones in the room. This low-tech solution is the most convenient and the most reliable.

The next best alternative would be censoring language. During meetings, certain terms such as names of clients or interest groups are not to be mentioned. Alternatively, they could be referred to by a code name. This can be very cumbersome in certain cases and lead to a lot of misunderstandings. Leaving the phones outside of the room might be easier and is more secure.

Creating a distinct voiceprint of the main user’s voice as well as that of a few trusted people can block interference by other users. In a household, this could mean that only the residents can give the appliance commands. In an office, the only authorized users would be defined by their importance to the operation of the appliance. This would require users to pre-register their voices though, using certain markers that would most likely be discovered by repeating a sentence or several.

In Facebook We Trust?

The question here isn’t whether or not Facebook can listen to our conversation outside of the constraints of only listening when typing a status but whether or not they do it. As it stands right now, it’s a reasonable assumption that they do not. Or do they?

There are quite a few reasons for this:

While Facebook generally seems to have a rather weird concept of moral and ethics – allowing hate speech but not nudity, indicating a very American understanding of the concepts – they have their occasional bouts of privacy concerns. That makes sense, as it does not pay off to antagonize your customer base that has to be loyal to the company and not wander off to use one of the other big social media networks. After all, Facebook is aware that the users are not their clients, but the product being sold. But it doesn’t mean that the users can be treated too badly. A certain degree of bad treatment and indifference towards user needs is okay, but drastic changes and too much controversy drive their product to the competition.

So while Facebook might not be willing to listen to everything that is said in the vicinity of a device capable of features that carry functionality by audio interception, it is far from impossible for them to implement that.

Just in case Facebook can’t be trusted, which it probably shouldn’t be, developer Daniel Velazco has developed an Android application that isolates Facebook from the rest of an Android Device.

How it Works

There are two different ways audio is being intercepted by modern smartphones and tablets.

Facebook’s method is the more passive one, where the microphone is presumably turned off unless a very specific number of criteria are met. In Facebook’s case, the criteria look like this:

In addition to that, Facebook claims that they’re only recording for 15 seconds and that these recordings are not stored anywhere. So they’re not actively analyzing what users are saying and storing it away for later use, despite rumours to the contrary.

The other method is the one that can be activated in Google Now’s settings or that is the default with the Amazon Echo or Apple’s Siri. Devices with these settings are always listening but only react to you and presumably open an Internet uplink only then when they hear a trigger word. In case of Google, it’s Okay Google and the names of the products. Alexa in case of Amazon Echo and Hey, Siri on Apple’s devices. Once the devices have heard their trigger word, they start to not only upload your voice print to the cloud servers of their owners but also to analyze massive amounts of data that will hopefully produce an answer that is satisfactory to users.

Privacy Concerns Galore

As it stands, users have no way of verifying that devices and services using Facebook’s method actually do what they’re told. There are numerous cases where the users believe that the Facebook app is listening at all time.

We found a roach in our apartment (very common in my part of the world). We were complaining about it and the need for pest control. Within 10 minutes I had an ad on my Facebook feed for a local pest control place. Never ever ever have a seen a similar ad on Facebook. The rationalist in me wanted to say that it must have to do with the time of year and the frequency of roach problems in my area, but the coincidence was enough to give me pause. – User NewHoustonian on Reddit’s Jailbreak subreddit.

This is apparently not an isolated incident. People in the same thread report that their Facebook app has picked up on all kinds of things it shouldn’t have picked up on, such as a movie with a specific quote, a special kind of almonds and diarrhea. All these users swear that they did not give any other indication of the issues Facebook picked up on other than the spoken word, so it must have listened. However, data correlation does wonders and with enough data, the predictions can be fairly accurate. That is not to say that the Facebook app wasn’t listening, but it is merely a reminder that there are other ways. Alternatively, the Baader-Meinhof Phenomenon, also known as Frequency Illusion, could be responsible for these strange occurrences. The Phenomenon describes the mind’s trick that once a person cognitively notices something – in this case a conversation with certain topics – terms related to it appear seemingly everywhere.

Still, even those 15 seconds the app admittedly is listening to could theoretically lead to a public nightmare. Let’s assume you’re talking to your mother about an illness. Or to your girlfriend about what you want to do under the sheets later. Generally, imagine yourself in any situation where you’ve typed a Facebook status and try to remember what you were talking about. At least theoretically, Facebook has the ability to analyze this conversation. So do Google, Amazon and Apple with their devices.

Protection Might Be Avoidance

It is hard to protect users against snooping, mainly for two reasons. The main reason might be that users simply do not care and think of Facebook and their competitors as inherently benevolent, despite there being numerous instances where it’s proven that this is not the case. One such case is the fall of Swiss local politician Sarah Bösch who, after being detained by police on a DUI charge, took to Facebook to vent. Her provocative statements caused the media to investigate other aspects of her life. Ultimately, this led to her being thrown out of her party. Running as an independent politician with a scandal in her background, Bösch is highly unlikely to have any chances at being elected for anything.

The other one is that humans as a species are a curious bunch. The reason why we as a humanity have come so far is because people couldn’t resist the urge of What happens when I do…?

The solution, however, just might be in the constellation of Facebook not wanting to treat its users too badly and the users resisting the urge to wonder about new features as well as forgoing a bit of convenience. In simpler terms: Just uninstall the app. No online petition or news report will have the effect that a sharp drop in users has. Luckily, at this point, the feature is still opt-in and not available outside of the United States so – right now – we’re still safe.

About the Author

Dominik Bärlocher

Dominik Bärlocher has been working with IT subjects since 2006. The journalist relied on his affinity for all things IT during his tenures at news papers and benefited from it. At scip, he conducts OSINT researches and is an expert at information gathering.

Links

You want to evaluate or develop an AI?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

Online Tracking

Online Tracking

Ralph Meier

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Andrea Hauser

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Facebooks Ohren - Bedrohung durch Audio Discovery

Facebooks Ohren

Bedrohung durch Audio Discovery

Dominik Bärlocher
von Dominik Bärlocher
Lesezeit: 17 Minuten

Soziale Netzwerke wollen es wissen. Es spielt keine Rolle, was es ist. Sie sammeln Daten, egal von was, von wo und worüber. Sie sind unaufhaltbar. Facebook, Google+ und andere soziale Netze haben im Verlauf der Jahre einige Tricks angewandt, um ihre Nutzer – also uns – besser kennenzulernen. Während Google+ recht harmlos ist, ist Facebook als das aggressivere der Netzwerke bekannt.

Facebook hat in der Vergangenheit unter anderem direkt nach unseren Lieblingsfilmen oder -bands oder -restaurants gefragt. Später dann kam die Frage, ob wir einen bestimmten Film gesehen haben sowie Plug-Ins, die andere soziale Netzwerke mit Facebook verbinden, darunter Goodreads für Leseratten und TripAdvisor für Reisefieber-Gepackte. Dazu kommen unzählige Variationen der Frage «Du hast $ding geliket, du könntest $ähnlichesDing auch mögen». Das alles nur, damit die Werbung, von der Facebook lebt, noch zielgerichteter verteilt werden kann und den Werbekunden Facebooks noch bessere Marketingdaten zur Verfügung stehen.

Datenkorrelation durch Nachfragen, ob ein Nutzer nun dieses oder jenes mag, gehört der Vergangenheit an. Antiquiert, möchte man fast sagen. Mit dem steten Anstieg der Datentransferrate und dem Fortschritt in Datenanalyse stehen neue technologische Mittel zur Verfügung. Die Welt nähert sich dem Punkt, an dem User Input gar nicht mehr notwendig, vielleicht sogar unerwünscht, ist. Die jüngste Entwicklung in diesem Gebiet ist ein Feature, das Facebook in den Vereinigten Staaten in Betrieb hat. Es fällt in die Kategorie der Audio Discovery.

Audio Discovery – Grundlose Spionage

Facebook Audio Discovery

Audio Discovery ist kein neues Konzept und Facebook ist nicht der einzige Konzern, der ein solches System einsetzt. Google betreibt Google Now und Apple hat seine Siri. Was Facebooks Implementation aber von der Konkurrenz unterscheidet, sind die generelle Nutzung und die Details, denn vom Prinzip her sind alle diese Services mehr oder weniger identisch: Sie zeichnen auf, was ein Nutzer sagt und führen Aktionen basierend auf dem Satz entnommenen Instruktionen auf. Darunter sind Navigationsfunktionen oder das Abspielen eines Musikstücks in einer Streaming App. In den vergangenen Monaten haben Effektivität und Intelligenz dieser Services stark zugenommen. Daher ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass viele Anbieter auf den Markt drängen und auch ein Stück des Kuchens wollen.

Bei Facebook hat das Audio Discovery Feature keinen eigenen Namen, wie auch der Name Audio Discovery selbst keinerlei Anspruch auf die offizielle Bezeichnung macht. Ein anderer Begriff, der ebenfalls geläufig ist, ist Voice Recognition. Das Feature ist Teil der App für Android- und Applegeräte in den Vereinigten Staaten. Der internationale Launch wird schon bald erwartet. Die Funktion: Wenn ein User ein Statusupdate tippt, schaltet die App das Mikrofon des Telefons ein und hört dem Raum, in dem der Nutzer ist, zu. Songs oder Fernsehserien, die im Hintergrund laufen, werden identifiziert. Wenn der Status abgeschickt wird, wird ein Satz wie «hört gerade Hol Baumann – [Human] dem Userstatus angefügt. Die Facebookfreunde können daraufhin einen 30 sekündigen Clip des Lieds hören und werden dann zu Kaufoptionen weitergeleitet.

Facebook hört zu – eine längere Geschichte

Das Audio Discovery, weil Voice Recognition ist es im eigentlichen Sinne ja nicht, ist keine neue Erfindung. Die früheste Erwähnung des Produkts datiert auf das Frühjahr 2014, als das Feature offiziell angekündigt wurde. Doch wurde es nicht sofort verbreitet und verschwand wieder in den Schatten des Internets. Kürzlich aber ist es wieder aufgetaucht, diesmal anscheinend weit verbreitet, und löste dieselben Bedenken bei Nutzern aus, die es schon im Vorjahr ausgelöst hatte.

Facebook says the feature will be used for harmless things, like identifying the song or TV show playing in the background, but by using the phone’s microphone every time you write a status update, it has the ability to listen to everything. Not only is this move just downright creepy, it’s also a massive threat to our privacy. The feature is opt-in, but many won’t even read the warnings. – SumOfUs.org Petition

Zudem hegt manch ein Nutzer den Verdacht, dass Facebook auch dann zuhört, wenn das Mikrofon aus sein soll. Theoretisch ist es möglich, aber das wird von Facebook dementiert.

Myth: The feature listens to and stores your conversations. Fact: Nope, no matter how interesting your conversation, this feature does not store sound or recordings. Facebook isn’t listening to or storing your conversations. Here’s how it works: if you choose to turn the feature on, when you write a status update, the app converts any sound into an audio fingerprint on your phone. This fingerprint is sent to our servers to try and match it against our database of audio and TV fingerprints. By design, we do not store fingerprints from your device for any amount of time. And in any event, the fingerprints can’t be reversed into the original audio because they don’t contain enough information. Myth: Facebook is always listening using your microphone. Fact: Nope, if you choose to turn this feature on, it will only use your microphone (for 15 seconds) when you’re actually writing a status update to try and match music and TV. – newsroom.fb.com

Kurz nachdem das Feature angekündigt wurde, sind empörte Nutzer zum Internetaktivismus übergegangen und haben versucht, Facebook mit einer Online-Petition dazu zu zwingen, das Feature wieder zu entfernen, da es laut ihnen gruslig sei.

Ein Jahr später ist die Gesellschaft weit mehr daran gewöhnt, dass der Klang der menschlichen Stimme Maschinen kontrolliert. Mit dem Fortschritt der Technologie wird es auch möglich, dass diese Befehle zunehmend komplexer und daher auch nützlicher werden. Die öffentliche Meinung zu Voice Control ändert sich Tag für Tag mit neuer Technologie und deren Vorzüge.

Angriffe per Mikrofon

Einem Gerät Befehle mittels Stimme zu übergeben, birgt eine Menge Risiken. Die meisten sind im Bereich der Überwachung zu finden.

Wenn eine Applikation uneingeschränkten Zugang zum Mikrofon eines Geräts erhält, verwanzt es den Raum in dem das Gerät liegt. Wenn nun die Applikation übernommen oder der Netzwerkverkehr mitgehört werden kann, oder wenn gar eine eigens zu dem Zweck entwickelte App zum Einsatz kommt, dann kann das zu grossen Mengen an Informationen führen, die einem Angreifer zur Verfügung stehen. Kurz: Jeder Raum, in dem ein betroffenes Gerät liegt, kann überwacht werden.

Das ist nicht nur für Gesetzeshüter interessant. Auch Werber und Spione dürften am Feature ihre Freude haben. Spione nicht im Sinne von James Bond, sondern mehr im Sinne von Menschen, die Interesse an Geheimnissen konkurrierender Unternehmen haben, so als Beispiel. Viele Manager nehmen ihr Handy mit in wichtige Sitzungen mit, da sie auf Vorfälle aller Art im Betriebsalltag reagieren müssen. Diese Telefone hören eine grosse Menge streng Vertrauliches mit. Wenn jetzt auf das Mikrofon des Telefons zugegriffen werden kann, könnten die abgehörten Informationen einen grossen geschäftlichen Vorteil versprechen.

Wenn wir aber nun doch über James Bond Spione einer Regierung nachdenken, dann steht schnell fest, dass Regierungen sich einen grossen Vorteil versprechen, wenn sie wissen, was andere Regierungen besprechen und beschliessen. Das geschieht nicht nur in Krisenzeiten, wie der Fall des Merkelphones zeigt. Die Dokumente, die Whistleblower Edward Snowden veröffentlicht hat, zeigen auf, dass die NSA das Privathandy der deutschen Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel abgehört hat, das sie auch für Politisches verwendet hat. Die Affäre hat die diplomatischen Beziehungen Deutschlands mit den USA stark gereizt, aber am Ende wurde die Ermittlung eingestellt. Angela Merkel und die deutsche Regierung verwenden seither verschlüsselte Handies, die von der Telekom-Tochter T-Systems hergestellt werden.

Der andere offensichtliche Angriffsvektor ist die Interferenz. Bis jetzt unterscheiden nur wenige der Geräte zwischen Nutzern. Das heisst, wenn Nutzerin Alice ihrem Handy einen Befehl gibt, dann kann Angreifer Mallory einfach Dinge rufen und das Telefon akzeptiert Mallorys Kommando als legitimen Befehl. Heute führt das wohl noch nicht zu grossem Schaden, aber wird spätestens dann zum Problem, wenn die Voice Recognition sensitivere Daten verarbeiten kann.

Verteidigen Sie sich

Es gibt einige Verteidigungsmassnahmen gegen obige Angriffe. Sie gehören alle ins Feld der Operations Security, kurz OPSEC genannt. Die offensichtlichste Lösung scheint auch die einfachste und effizienteste zu sein: Wenn ein Meeting sich mit vertraulichen beschäftigt, dann bleibt das Handy ausserhalb des Raumes. Diese low-tech Lösung ist aus offensichtlichen Gründen effektiv.

Die nächste Alternative wäre es, sich selbst zu zensieren. Das könnte so aussehen, dass während einem Meeting gewisse Dinge wie der Name des Kunden oder der Interessengruppe nicht laut gesagt werden darf. Es könnten Codenamen verwendet werden, aber das kann schnell mühsam werden und zu grossen Missverständnissen führen. Da scheint es doch einfacher, das Telefon nicht in die Sitzung mitzunehmen.

Indem ein Stimmabdruck, das Audio-Äquivalent zum Fingerabdruck, erstellt wird, können nur autorisierte und registrierte Nutzer das Gerät bedienen. In einem Privathaushalt könnte das bedeuten, dass nur Familienmitglieder dem Gerät Befehle geben können. Im Büro könnten autorisierte Nutzer projektbezogen definiert werden. Das würde aber voraussetzen, dass jeder Nutzer einen eigenen Account in der Voice Recognition Software benötigt. Eine solche Registration würde wohl daraus entstehen, dass ein Nutzer denselben Satz mehrere Mal aufsagt und dann der Applikation den Rest überlässt.

Auf Facebook vertrauen wir?

Die Frage ist nicht, ob Facebook Nutzern zuhören kann, sondern ob Facebook wirklich nur dann zuhört, wenn Nutzer ein Statusupdate tippen. Soweit Informationen vorliegen ist es wahrscheinlich, dass sie es nicht tun. Oder etwa doch?

Dafür gibt es einige Gründe:

Selbst wenn Facebook generell ein etwas seltsames Konzept von Moral und Ethik hat – Hassreden sind erlaubt, Nacktheit aber nicht, was auf ein kulturell amerikanisches Verständnis der Konzepte hindeutet – so haben sie doch hin und wieder Privatsphärenbedenken. Das ergibt Sinn, da Facebook seine Nutzer nicht allzu schlecht behandeln darf. Ein bisschen schlecht behandeln ist in Ordnung, aber zu weit gehen darf der Konzern nicht, weil sonst das Produkt – also die Nutzer – abwandern und sich im nächsten sozialen Netzwerk wieder finden werden. Das weiss Facebook auch.

Daher, selbst wenn Facebook nicht gewillt ist, jedem Wort, das die Nutzer sagen, zuzuhören, so ist es doch keine Hexerei, so ein Feature einzuführen. Das trifft auch auf jede andere Applikation mit Voice Recognition oder Audio Discovery Features zu.

Für den Fall, dass Facebook tatsächlich nicht vertraut werden kann, wovon auszugehen ist, hat Developer Daniel Velazco eine Android-Applikation entwickelt, die Facebook vom Rest des Geräts isoliert.

Wie es funktioniert

Es gibt aktuell zwei vorherrschende Modelle, wie Stimmen und andere Geräusche von einem Mobiltelefon abgefangen werden können.

Facebooks Methode ist die passivere der Beiden. Das Mikrofon ist in der Regel ausgeschaltet, es sei denn einige sehr spezifische Kriterien stimmen zu. Im Falle Facebook dürften sie in etwa so aussehen:

Dazu behauptet Facebook, dass sie nur während 15 Sekunden Ton aufzeichnen und diese Daten nirgendwo ablegen werden. Daher analysieren sie nicht aktiv, was Nutzer sagen und bewahren die Daten auf, auch wenn es anderslautende Gerüchte gibt.

Die andere Methode ist die, die in Google Nows oder Siris Einstellungen aktiviert werden kann und die den Standard in Amazon Echo darstellt. Geräte, die diese Methode wählen, hören immer zu, reagieren und verbinden sich aber nur dann mit dem Internet, wenn sie ein Reizwort hören. Bei Google Now ist das Okay Google, Alexa bei Amazons Echo und bei Siri ist es Hey, Siri. Sobald die Geräte ihr Reizwort gehört haben, laden sie nicht nur die Stimme zum Verständnis in die Cloud sondern analysieren gleichzeitig eine grosse Menge Daten, die hoffentlich die Antwort auf die Frage des Nutzers bringen soll.

Sorge um die Privatsphäre im grossen Stil

Nutzer haben derzeit keinerlei Mittel, zu verifizieren, ob die Geräte tatsächlich das tun, was sie sagen, wenn sie die oben genannte Methode verwenden, auf die auch Facebook setzt. Es gibt zahlreiche Fälle, in denen Nutzer glauben, dass die Facebook-App immer zuhört.

We found a roach in our apartment (very common in my part of the world). We were complaining about it and the need for pest control. Within 10 minutes I had an ad on my Facebook feed for a local pest control place. Never ever ever have a seen a similar ad on Facebook. The rationalist in me wanted to say that it must have to do with the time of year and the frequency of roach problems in my area, but the coincidence was enough to give me pause. – User NewHoustonian auf Reddits Jailbreak subreddit.

Allem Anschein nach ist das kein Einzelfall. Andere Leute im selben Thread berichten davon, dass die App allerlei Sachen aufgelesen hat, die sie eigentlich gar nicht hätte hören sollen. Darunter ein Film mit einem sehr spezifischen Zitat, speziell geröstete Mandeln und Durchfall. Die Nutzer versichern, dass sie über diese Themen nicht auf Facebook geredet haben und es daher keinen Weg gebe, wie Facebook davon hätte erfahren können, es sei denn, die App höre immer zu. Dennoch, Datenkorrelation kann Wunder bewirken und mit genügend Daten nicht nur genau sondern auch spezifisch sein. Nun heisst das nicht, dass die App nicht tatsächlich zugehört hat, aber es gibt durchaus andere Wege, an die selbe Information zu kommen. Alternativ könnte auch eine kognitive Verzerrung namens Baader-Meinhof-Phänomen oder auch Frequenz-Illusion für den Effekt verantwortlich sein. Das Phänomen beschreibt das Auftauchen gewisser Begriffe im Alltag nachdem sie einmal bewusst wahrgenommen wurden. Der Begriff taucht nicht öfter auf, wirkt aber auffälliger.

Doch auch nur die 15 Sekunden, die von der App garantiert mitgehört werden, können schon zu grosser Peinlichkeit oder zum Verlust von Vertraulichem führen. Beispiele hierfür sind Gespräche mit einem Elternteil über eine Krankheit, oder mit dem Partner über das, was nach Ausschalten des Lichts im Bett passiert. Versuchen Sie sich an die Gespräche zu erinnern, die sie hatten, während Sie einen Facebook-Status getippt haben. Zumindest theoretisch hat Facebook die Möglichkeit, diese Gespräche zu analysieren. Auch Google, Amazon und Apple haben diese.

Schutz durch Vermeidung

Es ist schwierig, sich gegen solche technologischen Features zu schützen. Dafür gibt es zwei Gründe: Der eine ist, dass eine Vielzahl der User Facebook nicht hinterfragt. Sie gehen davon aus, dass sie der Kunde sind und dass Facebook ihnen gegenüber grundsätzlich wohlgesonnen ist und daher nie etwas tun würde, das ihnen schaden würde. Dies trotz unzähliger Fälle, die das Gegenteil beweisen, zum Beispiel der Fall der Schweizer Politikerin Sarah Bösch, die sich nach einem Post über die eigene Trunkenheit am Steuer so exponiert hatte, dass ihr Leben und ihre Karriere medial untersucht wurde und sie am Ende die politische Karriere gekostet hat. Als Unabhängige hat Sarah Bösch nach dem Skandal um ihre Person kaum Chancen auf Wahlerfolg.

Der zweite Grund könnte der sein, dass wir Menschen neugierig sind. Wer kann schon dem Drang Was passiert, wenn ich das mache? widerstehen? Das ist der Grund, weshalb wir als Menschheit soweit gekommen sind und unser Forschungsdrang nach wie vor ungezügelt ist.

Die Lösung könnte aber in der Konstellation von Facebooks Unwillen, seine Nutzer zu schlecht zu behandeln, und Nutzern, die auf etwas Bequemlichkeit verzichten wollen und ihre Neugier zügeln können, liegen. Einfach gesagt: Deinstallation der App. Keine Online-Petition und kein News-Report wird den gleichen Effekt haben, wie es ein rapider Abfall der Nutzerzahlen hat. Glücklicherweise ist das Audio Discovery Feature derzeit nur in den USA aktiv und auch dort muss ein Nutzer das Feature einschalten. Daher sind wir – zumindest für den Moment – sicher.

Über den Autor

Dominik Bärlocher

Der Journalist Dominik Bärlocher ist seit 2006 im IT-Bereich tätig. Während seiner Arbeit als Journalist bei grossen Schweizer Zeitungen sind ihm seine Recherchefähigkeiten und seine IT-Affinität immer wieder zu Hilfe gekommen. Bei scip AG führt er OSINT Researches durch und betreibt Information Gathering.

Links

Sie wollen eine KI evaluieren oder entwickeln?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Crypto-Malware

Crypto-Malware

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv