Release of Burp Extension DetectDynamicJS

Release of Burp Extension DetectDynamicJS

Veit Hailperin
by Veit Hailperin
time to read: 4 minutes

Today scip AG releases a new extension for the de facto standard web application audit tool Burp Suite. The extension was written by Veit Hailperin and is titled DetectDynamicJS. It compares JavaScript files to determine if they were dynamically generated. There are various reasons why JavaScript content is dynamically generated. Occasionally the generated JavaScript does not only contain code, but also sensitive data such as usernames and session information. Sebastian Lekies, Ben Stock, Martin Wentzel and Martin Johns describe the dangers that arise from dynamically generated JavaScript in their paper The Unexpected Dangers of Dynamic JavaScript. This extension is intended to facilitate the hunt for vulnerabilities by providing publicly available code that automates the first two steps outlined in the paper. This extension is licensed under GNU Public License and is available for free.

Usage

The extension can be loaded through the Extender tab. To trigger the extension start a passive scan of JavaScript files. To get actually helpful results, an authenticated user should first identify as many existing JavaScript files as possible. This process can be assisted by the use of Burp Spider. Afterwards all JavaScript files should be accessed again, but this time without being authenticated. Having collected the JavaScript files as authenticated and unauthenticated it is now time to run the passive scanner on all JavaScript files. If differing content was discovered, the finding is reported as issue in the Target tab.

Screenshot of the Extension

The Response tabs will feature the different files and display the differences.

Differences Between Files Are Highlighted

Note: It is worth scanning files that have the same file size, because the difference can also be the same length.

After successful identification of differences and elimination of false positives (e.g. advertisement banners), the real work starts and the test can be concluded manually.

Update 2016/01/12, 9.15am

The extension is now available in the official BApp Store.

About the Author

Veit Hailperin

Veit Hailperin has been working in information security since 2010. His research focuses on network and application layer security and the protection of privacy. He presents his findings at conferences.

Links

You want more than a simple security test with Nessus und Nmap?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

Online Tracking

Online Tracking

Ralph Meier

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Andrea Hauser

Qubes OS

Qubes OS

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Veröffentlichung der Burp Extension DetectDynamicJS

Veröffentlichung der Burp Extension DetectDynamicJS

Veit Hailperin
von Veit Hailperin
Lesezeit: 4 Minuten

Heute veröffentlicht scip AG eine neue, von Veit Hailperin geschriebene, Extension für die Standard-Webtestsoftware Burp Suite. Die Extension mit dem Namen DetectDynamicJS vergleicht JavaScript-Dateien, um festzustellen, ob diese dynamisch generiert wurden. Gründe für dynamischen JavaScript-Inhalt gibt es viele. Manchmal kommt es allerdings vor, dass nicht nur der Code dynamisch generiert wird, sondern auch Daten mit sensitivem Inhalt, wie Benutzernamen oder Sitzunginformation, ihren Weg in die Datei finden. Sebastian Lekies, Ben Stock, Martin Wentzel und Martin Johns beschreiben die Gefahren die dadurch entstehen in ihrem Paper The Unexpected Dangers of Dynamic JavaScript. Die Extension soll die Suche nach diesen Verwundbarkeiten erleichtern, da es für die ersten beiden Schritte, welche sie für die Erkennung definieren, bisher keinen öffentlich Code gab. Die Extension unterliegt der GNU Public Licence and und ist frei zugänglich.

Verwendung der Extension

Die Extension kann im Extender-Tab geladen werden. Ausgelöst wird die Extension durch das passive Scannen von JavaScript-Dateien. Damit die Ergebnisse Sinn ergeben, muss sich ein Benutzer authentisieren und möglichst viele der existierenden JavaScript-Dateien identifizieren. Dazu kann unterstützend auch der Burp Spider verwendet werden. Anschliessend sollten alle gefundenen JavaScript-Dateien erneut aufgerufen werden, diesmal allerdings unauthentisiert. Nach dem Scan werden, je nachdem ob Abweichungen identifiziert wurden, neue Issues im Target-Tab angelegt.

Screenshot der Extension

In den Response-Tabs werden die Unterschiede zwischen den Dateien dargestellt.

Der Unterschied ist farbig markiert

Wer nach Verwundbarkeiten mit dieser Extension sucht, sollte nicht davor zurückschrecken, auch Dateien mit der gleichen Grösse zu scannen. Der Unterschied könnte die gleiche Länge haben.

Nach erfolgreicher Identifizierung von Abweichungen und Ausschluss von False Positives (z.B. Werbebanner) muss der eigentliche Test anschliessend manuell zu Ende geführt werden.

Update 12.01.2016, 9.15 Uhr

Die Extension ist im offiziellen BApp Store erhältlich.

Über den Autor

Veit Hailperin

Veit Hailperin arbeitet seit 2010 im Bereich der Informationssicherheit. Seine Forschung konzentriert sich auf Network und Application Layer Security sowie auf den Schutz der Privatsphäre. Die Resultate präsentiert er an Konferenzen.

Links

Sie wollen mehr als einen simplen Security Test mit Nessus und Nmap?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Crypto-Malware

Crypto-Malware

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv