Inglorious Headers

Inglorious Headers

Veit Hailperin
by Veit Hailperin
time to read: 19 minutes

Protection doesn’t have to be cost much. Neither time nor money. For individuals, I’ve documented protection in the series Healthy Paranoia but there are also tricks for server administrators that grant significantly more security with not that much effort. This article is primarily about headers that are sent with an HTTP response and that influence browser behaviour that aims to prevent Cross-Site-Scripting (XSS) attacks among others.

During XSS attacks, JavaScript-Code is being snuck into websites. There are several classes of XSS. So-called Reflected XSS that return the user input without any filters in the response. It’s one of the most commonly found XSS vulnerabilities. Stored or Persistent XSS additionally stores the entered code on the website in things such as guest books or forums. DOM-based XSS that uses active code such as JavaScript on the browser side in an insecure way and Mutation-Based XSS that sees browsers interpret slightly altered code and transform it into working code. Other, more obscure versions of XSS are not being respected here.

Content-Type

During the Browser Wars, in which the browsers competed for dominance on the web, many a function was newly introduced in order to display as many websites as possible correctly. Apart from the fact that this behaviour fostered bad design, the consequences for security can be felt until this day. One of those is the guessing of the character set used in a document.

The problem has several layers. XSS filters are often only defined for one character set (charset). This means that these filters can be circumvented easily if the malicious JavaScript code is being supplied in a different encoding. A classic example for this is UTF-7.

UTF-7 is an encoding that was initially devised for SMTP gateways due to the fact that some gateways were unable to handle 8-bit characters. UTF-7 is easy to recognize, though. Therefore, a filter that recognizes regular XSS such as

<script>alert(1)</script>

could be circumvented by

+ADw-script+AD4-alert(1)+ADw-/script+AD4-

if the function to guess charsets was enabled in a browser because the browser recognized +ADw- as a < in UTF-7 which lead to the browser adapting to that charset. More details on UTF-7 attacks can be found in OWASP’s XXS-Filter-Evasion Cheat-Sheet. The number of existing encodings is huge. Hackvertor offers a range of various charsets that help in web application penetration tests.

The Content-Type header can be set as follows:

Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8

Using this line, the browser is instructed to not guess the charset and therefore , the protection against these attacks is improved.

X-Content-Type-Options

Another child of the browser wars is the function that guesses content. If a browser, on the basis of content type guessing, determines that a file should be downloaded, an attacker can abuse this to stage a Drive-by Download Attack. Even Chrome is not safe against those attacks. But bigger impact can be observed when Cross-Site Script Inclusion-attacks (XSSI) attacks are deployed. During an XSSI attack, CSV and JSON can, among others, leak by including a malicious site in a script tag. By including the site in a script tag, it is no longer subject to the Same-Origin Policy and even though they are no longer being executable as a script – due to the fact that they aren’t scripts – data can be leaked using an error message. Various CVEs concerning this have been published.

Limiting this is simple and is stated in the title. The recommended value is:

X-Content-Type-Options: nosniff

The class of XSSI vulnerabilities is not completely mitigated using this line, as shown by current research but this header manages to cover most XSSI attacks.

X-XSS-Protection

Going by the name X-XSS-Protection alone, it is easy to assume that this header protects against XSS. But at most it corrects the protection level back to the level offered out of the box by browsers Internet Explorer (IE) and Google Chrome. Both browsers enable the user to deactivate their protection against XSS. The header fixes this setting for a websites. The recommended value is:

X-XSS-Protection: 1; mode=block

; mode=block keeps the browser from getting the idea to correct things and display them. If ; mode=block isn’t set, the XSS filter opens a new attack vector. All headers that are set as protection by Meta tag such as the following Content-Security-Policy header

<meta http-equiv="Content-Security-Policy" content="super-secure-csp" />

can be circumvented. This is, once more, due to Internet Explorer and his successor, Microsoft Edge. As opposed to other browsers such as Firefox and Chrome, Internet Explorer reads the entire page in order to identify Meta tags. Due to its XSS filter, it recognizes parameters such as

?a=<meta http-equiv="

that are being sent along, as attacks, because it’s being used in the body of the website. By default, IE simply replaces one of these characters and therefore circumvents this protective measure.

If ; mode=block is missing, not only protection measures can be circumvented. It could even introduce new vulnerabilities! Regarding this, the paper X-XSS-Nightmare by researcher Masato Kinugawa is worth a read.

X-Frame-Options

The X-Frame-Options header is known due to it being created in order to defend against Click-Jacking attacks. But the header also “protects against the docmode problem as as a number of special XSS such as the Copy&Paste XSS, Invisible Site-Wide XSS and even against a subversion of the Content-Security-Policy. Security Engineer Frederik Braun and security researcher Mario Heiderich have written a comprehensive paper that I highly recommend. It describes this and more vulnerabilities that are protected by the X-Frame-Options header.

The Docmode issue is quite the exception and deserves its own paragraph. Internet Explorer tries to support old and broken websites come what may. Some of these websites run only in old versions of the browser. In order to display those sites correctly, Internet Explorer 11 is being instructed to behave as if it was Internet Explorer 8. This can be enforced using the following header:

X-UA-Compatible: IE=8

But this leads to the browser being vulnerable to old vulnerabilities. Because the Docmode is inherited by the parent frame, Internet Explorer can be instructed to display a current site using an old Docmode. An example of a framed site with old, vulnerable Docmode:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
  <head>
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <title>Test Layout</title>
	<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=8" />
    <style type="text/css">
      body, html
	    {
          margin: 0; padding: 0; height: 100%; overflow: hidden;
        }
		#content
        {
          position:absolute; left: 0; right: 0; bottom: 0; top: 0px;
        }
  </style>
  </head>
  <body>
    <div id="content">
      <iframe width="100%" height="100%" frameborder="0" src="http://domain-without-xfo-header.tld" />
    </div>
  </body>
</html>

Therefore, the X-Frame-Options header is one of the most important headers at the moment. For those asking if this problem persists in Microsoft Edge, the answer is a definite Yesnomaybe. On one hand, Edge doesn’t support old Docmodes anymore. But it wouldn’t be Microsoft if the solution didn’t come with some kind of catch. Because on the other hand, Edge suggests to users to open pages using old Docmode headers in Internet Explorer.

Framing should be forbidden using

X-Frame-Options: DENY

or at the very most allow itself using the following header:

X-Frame-Options: SAMEORIGIN

This header is being succeeded by the CSP policy frame-ancestors. Until this has happened, though, it is suggested to set both.

Content-Security-Policy

It is complicated, but very powerful, to set the Content-Security-Policy (CSP) Header. In this header, a guideline can be defined as to which sources are allowed to be used. This means that when embedding scripts, only the scripts on your own server or from external sources or only specific external hosts are being embedded. Currently, work is being done on the Content Security Policy 2.0 W3C Candidate Recommendation.

Experimental implementations use the names X-WebKit-CSP and X-Content-Security-Policy. Microsoft Internet Explorer has not quite made the jump and still uses X-Content-Security-Policy, as opposed to all other browsers. Luckily, Microsoft has seen the way in their new browser Edge and realized that standards are standards for a reason and support the usual CSP header. According to Can I use, the CSP header is supported by 80 per cent of all browsers in the world.

All possible options:

There are two options that should be looked at from the get go: default-src and report-uri. Basically, default-src should be as restrictive as possible.

Keywords for this are

It is self-explanatory that unsafe-inline and unsafe-eval are insecure and therefore should not be used.

report-uri indicates where transgressions of the guidelines are being sent in order for evaluation of their breaking points. In order to not have unavailable services during potential adjustments of unsafe web elements, it is recommended to start with Content-Security-Policy-Report-Only.

Content-Security-Policy-Report-Only: default-src 'none'; script-src 'self'; connect-src 'self'; img-src 'self'; style-src 'self'; frame-ancestors 'none'

If you don’t want to use your own report-uri in the beginning, there’s the one offered by REPORT URI.

With a solid starting point the guidelines can either be loosened by necessity or the website can be corrected. Twitter, as one of the early adopters of CSP on their website, have published a report.

CSP Bypasses and Header Injections have become increasingly rare over the course of the past six years so that the effort of the configuring the CSP pays off. It is recommended to have a look at the Content Security Policy Quick Reference Guide. It contains further information regarding the header and of its configuration. It also pays off to read the CSP Cheat Sheet by security consultant Scott Helme.

Current Situation

The situation on the Internet (data collected using Shodan) looks as follows when looking at security headers:

All values are given in percent. They are drawn from the complete traffic in the entire row. The first cell states that 0.95% of all websites in the world have set the Strict-Transport-Security header on Port 443.

Land und PortStrict-Transport-SecurityXFO DenyXFO SameoriginPublic-Key-PinningContent-TypeX-Xss-ProtectionX-Content-Type-OptionsContent-Security-Policy
80/tcp 0.17691.7509 25.15150.72830.40580.0233
443/tcp0.95220.44323.59700.010724.50870.67000.86950.1250
80/tcp 0.16541.1788 36.83490.51550.63620.1272
443/tcp2.69320.69245.93770.048335.29411.01181.51810.4765
80/tcp 0.11572.2089 32.30210.81620.50670.0553
443/tcp2.17141.20789.76150.014230.87041.00141.61200.2550

There are two conclusions that can be reached from this.

  1. Hardly anyone seems to bother with security headers, despite the fact that some of them are really easy to set up. The positive exception here is Content-Type with charset. It is being used on more than a quarter of all websites.
  2. Switzerland and Germany don’t look too shabby when compared to the rest of the world.

Home Sweet Home

To check your own headers is even easier than to set them. A website that automatically tests them for you is, for example, SecurityHeaders.io. The site is a good indicator but note that the site can’t deliver a complete analysis of the CSP headers. What happens when the CSP configuration is not done correctly can be found in @filedescriptor’s blog post.

There are more relevant security headers. More about this can be found in the article titled Big Brother or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love Encryption.

About the Author

Veit Hailperin

Veit Hailperin has been working in information security since 2010. His research focuses on network and application layer security and the protection of privacy. He presents his findings at conferences.

Links

Are you interested in a Penetration Test?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Trustworthy AI

Trustworthy AI

Prisca Quadroni-Renella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Inglorious Headers

Inglorious Headers

Veit Hailperin
von Veit Hailperin
am 21. Januar 2016
Lesezeit: 18 Minuten

Schutz braucht nicht viel zu kosten. Weder Zeit noch Geld. Für Privatpersonen dokumentiere ich das in der Reihe Gesunde Paranoia. Aber auch für Serverbetreiber gibt es Tricks, mit denen man mit wenig Aufwand seine Sicherheit massgeblich verbessern kann. In diesem Artikel geht es in erster Linie um die Header, die in der http-Antwort mitgeschickt werden, um das Browserverhalten beeinzuflussen um u.a. Cross-Site-Scripting (XSS) Angriffe zu verhindern.

Bei XSS-Angriffen wird Javascript-Code in Webseiten eingeschleust. Es gibt verschiedene Klassen von XSS. Sogenannte Reflected XSS, bei denen eine Benutzereingabe ungefiltert zurückgegeben wird in einer darauf folgenden Antwort. Es ist die am häufigsten gefundenen XSS Schwachstelle. Stored oder Persistent XSS, bei denen zusätzlich die Eingabe auf der Webseite gespeichert wird, zum Beispiel bei Gästeforen. DOM-based XSS, bei denen Browser-seitiger, aktiver Code (z.B. Javascript) Benutzereingaben unsicher verwendet und Mutation-Based XSS, bei denen der Browser die Eingabe leicht verändert und dadurch nicht funktionierenden Code in Code verändert. Andere, obskure XSS werden nicht berücksichtigt.

Content-Type

Während der Browser-Kriege, bei denen Browser um die Vormacht im Web stritten, wurden viele Browserfunktionen eingeführt um möglichst alle Webseiten korrekt anzuzeigen. Abgesehen davon, dass dies schlechtes Design förderte, sind auch die Folgen in Bezug auf die Sicherheit bis heute spürbar. Eines davon ist das Erraten des Zeichensatzes eines Dokumentes. Das Problem ist mehrschichtig. XSS-Filter sind häufig nur in einem Zeichensatz (charset) definiert. Das heisst, dass diese Filter leicht umgangen werden können, wenn der bösartige Javascript-Code in einer anderen Kodierung daherkommt. Ein klassisches Beispiel hierfür ist UTF-7.

UTF-7 ist eine Kodierung, welche ursprünglich für SMTP Gateways entwickelt wurde, da manche Gateways nicht mit 8-bit-Zeichen umgehen konnten. UTF-7 ist allerdings auch eine Kodierung, welche sehr leicht zu erkennen ist. Damit konnte ein Filter, welcher ein reguläres XSS wie

<script>alert(1)</script>

erkennt, aber der Browser die Funktion zum Zeichensatzerraten aktiviert hat umgangen werden mit

+ADw-script+AD4-alert(1)+ADw-/script+AD4-

da der Browser +ADw- als kodierte UTF-7 kodiertes < erkannte, und das Charset zur Darstellung anpasst. Mehr Details bezüglich UTF-7 Angriffen bietet OWASP in ihrem XXS-Filter-Evasion Cheat-Sheet. Die Anzahl existierender Kodierungen ist riesig. Hackvertor bietet eine Auswahl verschiedener Charsets und hilft während Web Application Penetration Tests.

Der Content-Type Header kann folgendermassen gesetzt werden:

Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8

Damit wird der Browser angewiesen, den Zeichensatz nicht zu erraten und verbessert dadurch den Schutz vor diesen Angriffen.

X-Content-Type-Options

Ein weiteres Kind der Browser-Kriege ist die Funktion zum Erraten des Inhalts. Wenn ein Browser auf Basis von Content-Type-Guessing annimmt, dass eine Datei heruntergeladen werden soll, kann dies zum Beispiel durch Drive-By-Download-Angriffe ausgenutzt werden. Auch Chrome ist dem gegenüber nicht gefeit. Grössere Auswirkung haben sogenannte Cross-Site Script Inclusion-Angriffe (XSSI), bei denen z.b. CSV und JSON abfliessen können, indem sie in einer bösartigen Seite per script-Tag eingebunden werden. Dadurch, dass sie als Script eingebunden werden, unterliegen sie nicht mehr der Same-Origin Policy und obwohl sie nicht dann nicht als Script ausgeführt werden können – da sie keine Script sind – können die Daten mittels Error Message geleakt werden. Diverse CVEs sind diesbezüglich veröffentlicht worden.

Dies stark einzugrenzen ist simpel und steht bereits im Titel. Der empfohlene Wert ist:

X-Content-Type-Options: nosniff

Die Klasse der XSSI-Verwundbarkeiten ist damit nicht komplett verhindert, wie aktuelle Forschung zeigt, aber der Header deckt den Grossteil der XSSI ab.

X-XSS-Protection

Dem Namen nach würde man annehmen, dass dieser Header gegen XSS schützt. Bei korrekter Verwendung korrigiert er allerdings maximal zurück auf den Schutz, den Browser Internet Explorer (IE) sowie Google Chrome ohnehin bieten. Beide Browser geben dem Benutzer die Möglichkeit, ihren XSS-Schutz zu deaktivieren. Der Header korrigiert diese Einstellung für die Webseite zurück. Der empfohlene Wert ist:

X-XSS-Protection: 1; mode=block

; mode=block verhindert, dass der Browser auf die Idee kommt, Sachen zu korrigieren und anschliessend korrigiert darzustellen. Falls ; mode=block nicht gesetzt ist, bietet der XSS-Filter damit perfiderweise eine neue Angriffsfläche. Jeglicher Header, welcher als Schutz per Meta-Tag definiert wird, wie z.B. der folgende Content-Security-Policy Header

<meta http-equiv="Content-Security-Policy" content="super-sichere-csp" />

kann ausgehebelt werden. Das liegt wieder mal an Internet Explorer und seinem Nachfolger Microsoft Edge. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Browsern wie Firefox und Chrome durchläuft Internet Explorer zuerst die komplette Seite, um nach Meta-Tags zu suchen. “Dank” seines XSS Filters, erkennt er, wenn als Parameter

?a=<meta http-equiv="

mitgeschickt wird, dieser auch im Body der Webseite vorkommt und wertet es deshalb als Angriff. Standardmässig ersetzt IE einfach eines der Zeichen und hebelt somit den Schutz aus.

Wenn ; mode=block fehlt, können damit allerdings nicht nur Schutzmechanismen umgangen werden. Es können sogar neue Schwachstellen eingeführt werden! Lesenswert dazu ist Security Researcher Masato Kinugawas Paper X-XSS-Nightmare.

X-Frame-Options

Der X-Frame-Options Header ist bekannt, weil er erstellt wurde um Click-Jacking Angriffe abzuwehren. Allerdings schützt der Header auch gegen eine Reihe von speziellen XSS, wie dem Docmode-Problem der Krücke des Internets, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Drag’n‘Drop XSS, Copy&Paste XSS, Invisible Site-Wide XSS, und sogar gegen Unterlaufen der Content-Security-Policy. Security Engineer Frederik Braun und Security Researcher Mario Heiderich haben ein sehr ausführliches und empfehlenswertes Paper geschrieben, welches diese und weitere Schwachstellen beschreibt, die durch den X-Frame-Options Header geschützt sind.

Das Docmode-Problem ist besonders und verdient seinen eigenen Absatz. Internet Explorer versucht auf Biegen und Brechen alte und kaputte Webseiten zu unterstützen. Manche dieser Webseite laufen allerdings nur in alten Versionen des Browsers. Um diese korrekt anzuzeigen kann Internet Explorer 11 dazu veranlasst werden sich zu verhalten als sei er Internet Explorer 8. Dies kann erreicht werden mit folgendem Header:

X-UA-Compatible: IE=8

Das führt allerdings auch dazu, dass der Browser wieder durch alle alte Schwachstellen verwundbar ist. Da der Docmode vom Parent-Frame vererbt wird, kann Internet Explorer dazu veranlasst werden, eine aktuelle Seite durch framen in einem alten Docmode anzuzeigen. Ein Beispiel einer geframten Seite mit altem, verwundbarem Docmode:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
  <head>
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <title>Test Layout</title>
	<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=8" />
    <style type="text/css">
      body, html
	    {
          margin: 0; padding: 0; height: 100%; overflow: hidden;
        }
		#content
        {
          position:absolute; left: 0; right: 0; bottom: 0; top: 0px;
        }
  </style>
  </head>
  <body>
    <div id="content">
      <iframe width="100%" height="100%" frameborder="0" src="http://domain-without-xfo-header.tld" />
    </div>
  </body>
</html>

Dadurch wird der X-Frame-Options zu einem der wichtigsten, momentan existierenden Security Header. Für diejenigen, die sich fragen, ob dieses Problem in Edge weiterhin besteht ist die Antwort eindeutig Jain. Auf der einen Seite unterstützt Edge alte Docmodes nicht mehr, was gut ist. Aber es wäre nicht Microsoft, wenn die Lösung nicht einen Haken hätte. Edge schlägt in dem Fall eines alten Docmode Headers dem Benutzer nämlich vor, die Seite in Internet Explorer zu öffnen.

Framing sollte verboten werden mittels

X-Frame-Options: DENY

oder maximal sich selbst erlauben durch folgenden Header:

X-Frame-Options: SAMEORIGIN

Dieser Header wird abgelöst durch die CSP Policy frame-ancestors. Bis dies allerdings tatsächlich geschehen ist, wird empfohlen beides zu setzen.

Content-Security-Policy

Etwas komplizierter, dafür umso mächtiger, ist der Content-Security-Policy (CSP) Header. In ihm lässt sich mittels Richtlinie definieren, welche Quellen verwendet werden dürfen. Das heisst, wenn man Skripte einbindet, nur vom eigenen Server oder auch von extern oder nur von spezifischen externen Hosts. Momentan wird an der Content Security Policy 2.0 W3C Candidate Recommendation gearbeitet.

Experimentelle Implementationen benutzten die Namen X-WebKit-CSP und X-Content-Security-Policy. Microsoft Internet Explorer hat den Sprung nicht geschafft und benutzt immer noch X-Content-Security-Policy, im Gegensatz zu allen anderen Browsern. Glücklicherweise hat Microsoft immerhin bei ihrem neuen Browser Edge eingesehen, dass Standards einen Sinn haben, und unterstützt dort den regulären CSP Header. Laut Can I use wird der CSP Header von knapp 80 Prozent aller Browser weltweit unterstützt.

Die möglichen Optionen sind:

Es gibt insbesondere zwei Optionen, denen man sich anfangs widmen sollte, nämlich default-src und report-uri. Grundsätzlich sollte default-src so restriktiv wie möglich konfiguriert sein.

Schlüsselwörter dazu sind

Es ist eigentlich selbsterklärend, dass unsafe-inline und unsafe-eval unsicher sind, und deshalb nicht verwendet werden sollten.

report-uri gibt an, wohin Verletzungen der Richtlinie geschickt werden, damit man evaluieren kann, wo sie bricht. Damit es während der Richtlinienerstellung und dem eventuellen Anpassen von unsicheren Webseitenelementen nicht zu einem Ausfall kommt, empfiehlt es sich mit Content-Security-Policy-Report-Only anzufangen.

Content-Security-Policy-Report-Only: default-src 'none'; script-src 'self'; connect-src 'self'; img-src 'self'; style-src 'self'; frame-ancestors 'none'

Falls man bei anfänglichen Experimenten noch nicht seine eigene report-uri zur Verfügung stellen möchte, so kann man dies auf der Seite REPORT URI.

Von hier aus kann dann die Richtlinie entweder notwendigerweise gelockert, oder die Webseite korrigiert werden. Twitter, als einer der frühen Umsetzer von CSP auf ihrer Webseite, hat einen Erfahrungsbericht online gestellt.

CSP Bypasses und Header Injections sind in den letzten sechs Jahren einiges rarer geworden, sodass sich der Aufwand der Konfiguration von CSP lohnt. Empfehlenswert ist ein Blick auf den Content Security Policy Quick Reference Guide. Hier finden sich weitere Informationen zum Header und dessen Konfiguration. Auch lesenswert ist das CSP Cheat Sheet von Security Consultant Scott Helme.

Aktueller Stand

Die Situation im Internet (Daten erhoben mit Shodan) sieht folgendermassen aus im Bezug auf Security Header:

Die Werte sind jeweils prozentuale Angaben auf den kompletten Verkehr der sich aus der Reihe ergibt. Die erste Datenzelle sagt also, dass 0.95% Weltweit aller Webseiten auf Port 443 den Strict-Transport-Security Header gesetzt haben.

Country and PortStrict-Transport-SecurityXFO DenyXFO SameoriginPublic-Key-PinningContent-TypeX-Xss-ProtectionX-Content-Type-OptionsContent-Security-Policy
80/tcp 0.17691.7509 25.15150.72830.40580.0233
443/tcp0.95220.44323.59700.010724.50870.67000.86950.1250
80/tcp 0.16541.1788 36.83490.51550.63620.1272
443/tcp2.69320.69245.93770.048335.29411.01181.51810.4765
80/tcp 0.11572.2089 32.30210.81620.50670.0553
443/tcp2.17141.20789.76150.014230.87041.00141.61200.2550

Es gibt insgesamt zwei Hauptaussagen die man daraus leicht ziehen kann.

  1. Kaum jemand scheint sich um Security Header zu kümmern und das obwohl einige davon wirklich leicht zu setzen sind. Die positive Ausnahme dazu bildet Content-Type mit Charset. Der wird auf über einem Viertel aller Seiten gesetzt.
  2. Die Schweiz als auch Deutschland stehen im weltweiten Vergleich gut da.

Home Sweet Home

Seine eigenen Header zu überprüfen ist noch einfacher als sie zu setzen. Eine Webseite, welche diese für einen überprüft ist zum Beispiel SecurityHeaders.io. Hierbei kann diese Seite als guter Indikator verwendet werden, bei der Content-Security-Policy gilt es allerdings darauf zu achten, dass die Seite keine vollständige Analyse des CSP Headers liefern kann. Was passieren kann, wenn man die CSP Konfiguration nicht richtig macht, beschreibt @fildedescriptor hier.

Es gibt noch weitere relevante Security Header. Dazu gibt es mehr im Artikel Big Brother oder: Wie ich lernte, Verschlüsselung zu lieben.

Über den Autor

Veit Hailperin

Veit Hailperin arbeitet seit 2010 im Bereich der Informationssicherheit. Seine Forschung konzentriert sich auf Network und Application Layer Security sowie auf den Schutz der Privatsphäre. Die Resultate präsentiert er an Konferenzen.

Links

Haben Sie Interesse an einem Penetration Test?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Crypto-Malware

Crypto-Malware

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv