HTTPS Bicycle Attack - An Overview

HTTPS Bicycle Attack

An Overview

Stefan Friedli
by Stefan Friedli
time to read: 8 minutes

Big problems almost always start as small problems – which is the best point in time to tackle them. This ancient wisdom, commonly attributed to the founder of Taoism, Lao Tzu, is probably known to many of our readers.

But size does not only matter in Lao Tzu’s teachings, but is also a theme of Guido Vranken’s recently published paper concerning the so-called HTTPS Bicycle Attack. Simply put, Vranken states that the usage of stream-based ciphers in TLS connections leads to a disclosure of the length/size of the payload when the network traffic is observed by a potentially malicious actor. The encryption effectively hides the content of the transmission, but the sizes of individual requests in sequence lets an attacker glimpse it’s structure of shape. Hence the name Bicycle Attack in reference to a gift-wrapped bicycle: Brand, color and the specific components of the item wrapped are unknown, but the fact that the item is indeed a bicycle is thinly veiled at best.

The concern, that the length of TLS payloads is not effectively concealed is not necessarily new. In September 2013, Alfredo Pironti of INRIA Paris-Rocquencourt released an Internet-Draft bearing the title Length Hiding Padding for TLS Protocol proposing some methods to avoid the disclosure of payload sizes, such as Range Splitting.

But Vranken’s publication does raise some new practical concerns regarding attack vectors based on this behavior. One interesting approach is to use known sizes of requests and responses to fingerprint specific sequences of HTTP requests. For example, requesting the login form of the popular blogging platform WordPress leads to a total of five requests with individual lengths. These are directly correlating to each other in a fixed ratio. Example:

ID Request Length
1 /wp-login.php 368
2 /wp-includes/css/buttons.min.css?ver=4.4 409
3 /wp-includes/css/dashicons.min.css?ver=4.4 411
4 /wp-admin/css/login.min.css?ver=4.4 404
5 /wp-admin/images/wordpress-logo.svg?ver=20131107 454

Vranken uses the correlation coefficient (Bravais/Pearson) to identify the displayed sequence in a stream of encrypted requests. This constitutes an interesting approach, since the Pearson correlation is not a one-to-one numeric comparison: As long as the relative relations between the single requests are correct, identification is possible despite slight difference, such as for example different browser headers sent by the affected client. This approach potentially allows an attacker to passively identify software products being used by the target.

A second approach Vranken describes deals with the possibility of deducing the length of unknown factors, for example a password, from passive analysis. This does, however, require a number of prerequisites, such as knowledge of the specific browser being used as well as the specific resources being requested by the target. If all these prerequisites are met, an attacker might be able to deduce the length of a password from observing the difference in length between the baseline requests and the observed requests of the target.

This attack, as outlined in Vranken’s paper, appears only partially practical at this point in time. Even when successful, existent standard security controls such as account lockouts would still deal with most attempts of a brute-force attack against a password – even if the length of said password is known and the potential options to guess it are massively reduced.

The last example in the paper uses the scenario of an application that frequently updates a remote endpoint by sending GPS coordinates over a SSL-encrypted HTTP connection. By passively observing the lengths of said requests, an attacker could potentially guess the geographical movements of the target to a certain degree. An example:

If the sum of characters contained in the parameters for longitude and latitude is exactly two (2), an attacker can assume that the target is currently located within the area Cameroon and/or Congo. If this length increases to three characters (3), the target would most likely have moved to the north or to the east. This approach is limited in its practical usage though: If the sum of characters in the aforementioned parameters increases to four, deviations all directions become feasible assumptions.

Identifying geolocation by data length

All restrictions aside: Considering that this analysis can be conducted entirely passive without any tampering of the traffic it is targeting, it’s a legitimate to assume that this might be a considerable method of observing large amounts of network traffic for suspicious behavior.

In summary:

  1. Given access to the network traffic of the target, an attacker might deduce the usage of specific applications and/or websites by correlating the lengths of single requests.
  2. Given that an attacker has knowledge of the target resource and the specific browsers being used by the target, an attacker might be able to deduce the length of unknown factors (e.g. passwords).
  3. Given that an attacker has knowledge of a geolocation service used by a target’s device, analysis of the change of length in the longitude and latitude parameters might open an opportunity to gain approximate movement information on the target.

Despite the potential risks implied by these scenarios, the question of relevance must be asked: Currently, in spring 2016, stream-based ciphers are rather unpopular, due to known problems with RC4. Until Salsa20 becomes more popular and is more widely used, the scenarios outlined above are currently to be considered rather unlikely. One exception might be the usage in which block-based ciphers are used stream-based (Galois/Counter) due to performance issues.

These limitations aside, an application-based solution the problem is moderately easy to achieve: Using Request Padding, applications could provide any sensitive field with a padding buffer, bloating the request to a uniform size, rendering analysis as described above mostly impossible.

Or, to keep Vranken’s analogy: If you don’t want your gift to be identified as a bicycle on first sight, maybe put it into a wooden crate.

About the Author

Stefan Friedli

Stefan Friedli is a well-known face among the Infosec Community. As a speaker at international conferences, co-founder of the Penetration Testing Execution Standard (PTES) as well as a board member of the Swiss DEFCON groups chapters, he still contributes to push the community and the industry forward.

Links

You want to bring your logging and monitoring to the next level?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

Online Tracking

Online Tracking

Ralph Meier

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Andrea Hauser

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

HTTPS Bicycle Attack - Ein Überblick

HTTPS Bicycle Attack

Ein Überblick

Stefan Friedli
von Stefan Friedli
am 17. März 2016
Lesezeit: 8 Minuten

Grosse Probleme fangen meistens als kleine Probleme an. Und dann ist der beste Zeitpunkt, sie zu lösen. Diese Weisheit, die gemeinhin dem Gründer des Taoismus, Lao Tzu, zugeschrieben wird, dürfte manchem bekannt vorkommen.

Doch Grössen stehen nicht nur im Zentrum von Lao Tzu’s Lehren, sondern auch in Guido Vranken’s jüngst veröffentlichtem Paper zur sogenannten HTTPS Bicycle Attack. Simpel zusammengefasst stellt Vranken fest, dass die Nutzung von Stromverschlüsselungen im Kontext von TLS-Verbindungen dazu führt, dass die Grösse/Länge des Payloads durch das Betrachten des Netzwerkverkehrs für einen Angreifer eruierbar ist. So versteckt die Verschlüsselung zwar den Inhalt, lässt aber dessen Dimensionen und, über mehrere Requests hinweg, deren Form durchblicken. Vranken wählte basierend darauf den Vergleich mit einem in Geschenkpapier eingewickelten Fahrrads: Marke, Farbe und genaue Ausprägung bleiben unbekannt; der Fakt, dass es sich um ein Fahrrad handelt, ist aber vergleichsweise einfach abzuleiten.

Die Problematik, dass die Länge von TLS-Payloads nicht versteckt wird, ist nicht neu. Bereits im September 2013 veröffentlichte Alfredo Pironti von der INRIA Paris-Rocquencourt einen Internet-Draft mit dem Titel Length Hiding Padding for TLS Protocol, der einige Methoden zum Verstecken der Länge mittels entsprechender Mechaniken (zum Beispiel Range Splitting) aufzeigt.

Neu an Vranken’s Paper ist allerdings der Versuch, praktische Angriffsvektoren aus diesem Verhalten abzuleiten. So demonstriert er in seinem Papier einen interessanten Ansatz, um die bekannten Längen von Requests/Responses zum Fingerprinting von bestimmten Seitenaufrufen zu nutzen. So führt der Aufruf des Loginformulars der populären Blogging-Plattform Wordpress zu insgesamt fünf Anfragen mit individuellen Längen, die in einer bestimmten, statischen Relation zueinander stehen. Beispiel:

ID Anfrage Länge
1 /wp-login.php 368
2 /wp-includes/css/buttons.min.css?ver=4.4 409
3 /wp-includes/css/dashicons.min.css?ver=4.4 411
4 /wp-admin/css/login.min.css?ver=4.4 404
5 /wp-admin/images/wordpress-logo.svg?ver=20131107 454

Vranken nutzt dann den Korrelationskoeffizienten (nach Bravais und Pearson), um die obengenannte Sequenz in einem Strom von Requests zu identifizieren. Ein interessanter Ansatz, zumal dabei eine relative Korrelation der einzelnen Grössen stattfindet: Solange die Grössen im richtigen Verhältnis zueinander stehen, kann ein Angreifer so zum Beispiel genutzte Softwareprodukte und ähnliches eruieren oder erweiterte Angriffe konzipieren. Statische Abweichungen, wie zum Beispiel ein deutlich längerer User-Agent Header, sind daher irrelevant.

In einem zweiten Szenario geht Vranken etwas weiter und zeigt auf, dass unter gewissen Bedingungen die Länge eines unbekannten Faktors, wie zum Beispiel eines Passworts, eruiert werden kann. Dazu muss der Angreifer aber den eingesetzten Browser sowie die spezifische Ressource, die das Ziel des Angriffes sein soll, kennen. Kann ein Angreifer allerdings alle Header sowie weitere Drittdaten emulieren, dann kann er aus der Längendifferenz der beobachteten Requests die Länge des gewünschten Parameters, also in diesem Falle des Passwortes, ableiten.

Dieser Angriff scheint, in der Form wie ihn Vranken schildert, nur begrenzt praxisfähig und hätte durch heute gängige flankierende Massnahmen (Account Lockouts etc.) auch nur wenig kritische Implikationen. Obwohl natürlich die Kenntnis der Passwortlänge den benötigten Effort für eine Brute-Force Attacke massiv reduzieren würde.

Das letzte Beispiel, das in Vranken’s Paper Verwendung findet, geht von einer Applikation aus, die regelmässig die aktuelle Position des Ziels in Form von GPS-Koordinaten über eine SSL-verschlüsselte HTTP Verbindung sendet. Durch das passive Beobachten, so Vranken’s Annahme, könnten die Bewegungen des Ziels zumindest grob nachvollzogen werden. Ein Beispiel:

Beträgt die Summe von Zeichen in den Parametern für Längen- und Breitengrad exakt zwei (2), so kann davon ausgegangen werden, dass sich das Ziel an einer Örtlichkeit in der Umgebung von Kamerun oder dem Kongo befindet. Erhöht sich die Summe der Zeichen plötzlich auf drei (3), so hat sich das Ziel entweder gegen Norden oder Osten verschoben. Die Praktikabilität dieses Angriffs hat jedoch seine Grenzen: Bei einer Erhöhung der Zeichensumme auf vier (4), sind fast alle Himmelsrichtungen als mögliche Optionen denkbar.

Geolokation durch Datenlänge ableiten

Ungeachtet dessen: Im Hinblick darauf, dass diese Analyse gänzlich passiv und damit ohne jegliches Einwirken auf den Verkehr stattfinden könnte, muss die Frage gestellt werden, ob hier nicht Potenzial im Bereich flächendeckender Verkehrsanalyse vorhanden wäre.

Kurz zusammengefasst heisst das:

  1. Ein Angreifer mit Zugriff auf den Netzwerkverkehr des Ziels kann mittels gezielter Korrelation zwischen einzelnen Request-Längen feststellen, ob spezifische Webseiten und/oder Webapplikationen genutzt werden.
  2. Ein Angreifer mit Kenntnis der Zielressource und des eingesetzten Browsers auf Seiten des Benutzers kann mittels Beobachtung des Traffics die Längen unbekannter Faktoren ableiten (z.B. Passwort).
  3. Ein Angreifer mit Kenntnis eines Geolocation-Dienstes kann durch Analyse der Anzahl Zeichen in den Parameterfeldern für Längen- und Breitengrad die Position des Ziels und mutmassliche Bewegungsdaten eruieren.

Generell stellt sich allerdings die Frage, wie weit verbreitet hier Angriffsspielraum überhaupt vorhanden ist. Zum Zeitpunkt dieses Artikels im Frühjahr 2016 ist der Einsatz von Stromchiffren eher unpopulär, bedingt durch die Probleme mit RC4. Zumindest bis Salsa20 breite Verwendung findet, dürften sich die Risikoszenarien daher eher auf Fälle beschränken, in denen Blockchiffren aus Performancegründen als Stromchiffren genutzt werden (Galois/Counter).

Ungeachtet dessen wäre eine mögliche Lösung des Problems einfach zu bewerkstelligen: Request Padding. So könnten Webapplikationen jeder Anfrage mit einem dynamischen, schützenswerten Feld, einen Buffer mitgeben, der die Anfrage auf eine uniforme Grösse aufbläht und so die Analyse auf obengenannter Basis unmöglich macht.

Oder, um Vranken’s Analogie weiterzuspinnen: Wer nicht möchte, dass sein Geschenk als Fahrrad erkannt wird, verpackt es optimalerweise in einer Holzkiste.

Über den Autor

Stefan Friedli

Stefan Friedli gehört zu den bekannten Gesichtern der Infosec Community. Als Referent an internationalen Konferenzen, Mitbegründer des Penetration Testing Execution Standard (PTES) und Vorstandsmitglied des Schweizer DEFCON Group Chapters trägt er aktiv zum Fortschritt des Segmentes bei.

Links

Sie wollen Ihr Log und Monitoring auf das nächste Level bringen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Crypto-Malware

Crypto-Malware

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv