CVSSv3 as a risk metric – a detailed view

CVSSv3 as a risk metric

a detailed view

Marc Ruef
by Marc Ruef
time to read: 9 minutes

Keypoints

  • The Common Vulnerability Scoring System is used for the evaluation of vulnerabilities
  • There is a strong move towards introduction of CVSSv3
  • Acquisition and expansion of CVSSv2 attributes is possible
  • Evaluation is more granular, but with unclear vectors
  • The degree of severity is on an upward trend

The Common Vulnerability Scoring System is used by companies, products and services as a metric for evaluation of vulnerabilities. Many of them are now switching to the latest version, number 3. This article discusses the transformation, and the challenges and opportunities it brings.

Introduction

CVSS is a standard for evaluation of the severity of vulnerabilities in computer systems. Although it competes with various other standards, its success is attributable to its transparency and ready availability. Anyone can use it to evaluate vulnerabilities by first reading the documentation and then carrying out an implementation.

The first and often only goal of CVSS is to determine a base score. This is a figure from 1 to 10 that defines generic severity – independent of temporal and individual factors – for a given vulnerability.

Various aspects are taken into consideration to determine this value. The Access Vector, for example, defines whether attacks might come through the internet, a local network, a local system or through purely physical access. These attributes form the foundation for the final calculation of the score.

Porting

CVSSv2 vectors and scores are still being used in many instances. These will need to be transferred to ‘CVSSv3’:https://www.first.org/cvss/specification-document. A mathematical transformation of scores does not make sense, as the metrics are based on different calculations.

So at first glance it may seem that every vector and score will have to be reallocated. Fortunately, however, only a certain amount of reallocation will be required, with the rest of the vector information being converted or derived. This makes it possible to recalculate scores with a high degree of accuracy, without reattributing every vector.

The best example is the Access Vector (AV). In CVSSv2, this can have a position of either Local (L), Adjacent (A) or Network (N). These three positions are also available in CVSSv3, with the addition of Physical (P). This value can now be used for the sake of simplicity. Only a small number of scores will have to be manually set to P. Most of these will be listed primarily as L, as these are closest to P both logically and mathematically. The following table shows the conversion in this type of transformation:

CVSSv2 CVSSv3 Typical
Base: AV – Access Vector
N N
A A
L L/P L
Base: Au – Authentication
N N
S L/H L
M H/L H
Base: CI / II / AI – Impacts
C H
P L
N N
Temp: E – Exploitability
H H
F F
POC P
U U
ND X
Temp: RL – Remediation Level
OF O
TF F
W W
U U
ND X
Temp: RC – Report Confidence
C C
UR R
UC U
ND X

Another, more complex expansion occurs with the CVSSv2 attribute Access Complexity (AC). In CVSSv3, this is now split into attack complexity (AC) and User Interaction (UI). This expansion makes sense because attacks that require user interaction can be assessed differently. This includes certain forms of Cross Site Scripting (XSS), Cross-Site Request Forgery (CSRF) and poofing techniques (e.g. clickjacking).

Further expansion comes with Scope (S). This indicates whether a successful attack has the potential to spread beyond its anticipated context.

New vector

CVSSv2 stipulates that for each given score, the vector must also be shown. The vector CVSS2#AV:N/AC:M/Au:N/C:C/I:C/A:C results in 9.3, a typical score for a critical remote attack. If the temp score is shown, the attributes of the expanded vector must also be shown. A CVSS2#E:ND/RL:OF/RC:C will result in a temp score of 8.1.

This vector behavior has resulted in a number of changes in CVSSv3. For pure base scores, the vectorization of the temp attributes must also be shown. The same calculation results in a base score of 10.0, a temp score of 9.5 and CVSS:3.0/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:H/E:X/RL:O/RC:C as a total vector.

The syntax of the vectors is slightly different, at least when it comes to versioning. In addition, CVSSv3 comes with amended and additional vectors. However, it is only the inclusion of the temp value that tends to appreciably extend the vector. From the original six attributes for a base score, there are now 11. This is due primarily to the fact that undefined values in the temp score must be set to X (ND was used previously).

With CVSSv2, one can comprehend the vector at a glance and identify the individual attributes. The length of the CVSSv3 means that one must take time and focus on a search for the individual attributes.

Changed calculation

If one looks at the underlying formula for calculating scores, some subtle changes can be seen. One is that a C/I/A of P is weighted marginally less than C than previously. For temp scores, the status of an exploit is weighted a little more, reflecting the growing exploit market. A similar shift is seen in reliability of disclosures.

Looking at CVSSv2 and CVSSv3 scores, it is immediately apparent that these are trending upwards. In recent years, base scores have risen from an average of 5.8 to 6.3 (+0.5) and temp scores from 5.2 to 6.0 (+0.8).

comparison of base scores

The graphic illustrates the distribution of base scores for all disclosed vulnerabilities in 2016 so far. Here, the shift to higher scores becomes clear. This can be seen in the deflections 7→8 and 5→6. Generally, however, averaging means that previously criticized gaps are less conspicuous in reality.

Conclusion

CVSSv3 is about to replace CVSSv2. Most companies, products and projects are starting to transform and in the future will only offer CVSSv3. The new version of the popular system offers improvements at almost every level. Scores can be defined with greater granularity since the complex data is better equipped to take modern attack scenarios into consideration. The only contentious factor is the increased complexity of the vectors, which now will always be shown with all temp attributes.

A transformation is recommended that adopts, adapts and adds to existing CVSSv2 attributes. Thus, with comparatively little effort, high quality new scores can be achieved without having to generate them completely from scratch.

About the Author

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef has been working in information security since the late 1990s. He is well-known for his many publications and books. The last one called The Art of Penetration Testing is discussing security testing in detail. He is a lecturer at several universities, like ETH, HWZ, HSLU and IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

You want to evaluate or develop an AI?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
MITRE ATT&CK

MITRE ATT&CK

Marc Ruef

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

Marc Ruef

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

CVSSv3 als Risikometrik - Eine detaillierte Betrachtung

CVSSv3 als Risikometrik

Eine detaillierte Betrachtung

Marc Ruef
von Marc Ruef
am 21. Juli 2016
Lesezeit: 9 Minuten

Keypoints

  • Das Common Vulnerability Scoring System wird für das Bewerten von Schwachstellen eingesetzt
  • Vielerorts ist man um die Einführung des neuen CVSSv3 bemüht
  • Eine Übernahme und Erweiterung der CVSSv2 Attribute ist möglich
  • Bewertungen werden granularer, die Vektoren aber auch unübersichtlicher
  • Tendenziell verschiebt sich der Schweregrad nach oben

Das Common Vulnerability Scoring System wird von vielen Firmen, Produkten und Projekten als Metrik zur Bewertung von Schwachstellen eingesetzt. Viele davon stellen mittlerweile auf die jüngste Version 3 um. Dieser Artikel diskutiert eine solche Transformation, ihre Herausforderungen und die neuen Möglichkeiten.

Einführung

Bei CVSS handelt es sich um einen Standard zur Bewertung des Schweregrads von Schwachstellen in Computersystemen. Er konkurriert mit verschiedenen anderen Standards, wobei sein Erfolg auf seine Offenheit und die freie Verfügbarkeit zurückzuführen ist. Jeder kann die Dokumentation lesen, eine Implementierung vornehmen und danach Schwachstellen damit bewerten.

Das erste und oftmals einzige Ziel von CVSS ist das Erstellen eines Base Score. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine Zahl von 1 bis 10, die den generischen Schweregrad – unabhängig von zeitlichen und individuellen Faktoren – einer Schwachstelle ausgibt.

Um diesen Wert erreichen zu können, werden verschiedene Aspekte berücksichtigt. Zum Beispiel definiert der Access Vector, ob der Angriff über das Internet, im lokalen Netz, lokal auf dem System oder nur mit physischem Zugriff durchsetzen lässt. Diese Attribute bilden die Grundlage, um schlussendlich den Score berechnen zu können.

Portierung

Vielerorts werden noch CVSSv2 Vektoren und Scores eingesetzt. Dabei existiert das Bedürfnis, diese in CVSSv3 zu überführen. Eine mathematische Transformation der Scores ist nicht sinnvoll, da die Metriken unterschiedliche Berechnungsgrundlagen mitbringen.

Auf den ersten Blick erscheint es also erforderlich, sämtliche Vektoren und Scores neu zu vergeben. Dies ist aber glücklicherweise nur bedingt vorausgesetzt. Stattdessen können einige der Vektorinformationen umgeformt oder abgeleitet werden. Dadurch wird eine Neuberechnung der Scores möglich, wodurch eine sehr hohe Genauigkeit erreicht werden kann, ohne sämtliche Vektoren neu attributisieren zu müssen.

Das beste Beispiel ist der Access Vector (AV). Dieser kann bei CVSSv2 die Positionen Local (L), Adjacent (A) und Network (N) einnehmen. Bei CVSSv3 sind ebenfalls diese drei Positionen möglich. Zusätzlich wurde aber noch Physical (P) eingeführt. Es kann nun also der Einfachheit halber der Wert übernommen werden. Nur noch eine kleine Menge an Scores muss manuell auf P gesetzt werden. Dabei wird es sich voraussichtlich in erster Linie um die Werte L handeln, da diese sowohl logisch als auch mathematisch am ehesten an das neue P heranreichen. Die folgende Tabelle zeigt die Umformung bei einer solchen Transformation:

CVSSv2 CVSSv3 Typisch
Base: AV – Access Vector
N N
A A
L L/P L
Base: Au – Authentication
N N
S L/H L
M H/L H
Base: CI / II / AI – Impacts
C H
P L
N N
Temp: E – Exploitability
H H
F F
POC P
U U
ND X
Temp: RL – Remediation Level
OF O
TF F
W W
U U
ND X
Temp: RC – Report Confidence
C C
UR R
UC U
ND X

Ein anderes und komplexeres Teilen muss beim CVSSv2 Attribut Access Complexity (AC) beobachtet werden. Dieses wird bei CVSSv3 in Attack Complexity (AC) und User Interaction (UI) aufgeteilt. Diese Erweiterung ist sinnvoll, da dadurch Angriffe, die eine Benutzerinteraktion erfordern, anders taxiert werden können. Dazu gehören bestimmte Formen von Cross Site Scripting (XSS), Cross Site Request Forgery (CSRF) und Spoofing-Techniken (z.B. Clickjacking).

Eine andere Erweiterung wird durch Scope (S) realisiert. Dabei wird festgehalten, ob ein erfolgreicher Angriff aus dem vorgesehenen Kontext auszubrechen in der Lage ist.

Neuer Vektor

In CVSSv2 wird festgehalten, dass zu einem Score immer auch dessen Vektor abgedruckt werden muss. Der Vektor CVSS2#AV:N/AC:M/Au:N/C:C/I:C/A:C ergibt den für einen kritischen Remote-Angriff typischen Score von 9.3. Will der Temp Score ausgegeben werden, müssen die Attribute des erweiterten Vektors abgebildet werden. Aus einem CVSS2#E:ND/RL:OF/RC:C wird dann der Temp Score 8.1.

Bezüglich dieses Vektor-Verhaltens haben sich einige Änderungen in CVSSv3 ergeben. Neu muss auch für reine Base Scores die Vektorisierung der Temp-Attribute mitgegeben werden. Die gleiche Berechnung ergibt einen Base Score von 10.0, einen Temp Score von 9.5 und CVSS:3.0/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:H/E:X/RL:O/RC:C als Gesamtvektor.

Der Syntax des Vektors ist, mindestens auf Bezug auf die Versionierung, leicht anders. Hinzu kommt, dass CVSSv3 die geänderten und hinzugefügten Vektoren mitbringt. Der Vektor verlängert sich aber erst merklich, wegen der Nennung der Temp-Werte. Aus ursprünglich 6 Attributen für einen Base Score sind nun immer 11 geworden. Dies ist vor allem auch deshalb der Fall, da nicht definierte Werte im Temp Score jeweils immer als X angegeben werden müssen (früher wurde ND verwendet).

Bei CVSSv2 kann man auf einen Blick den Vektor verstehen und die einzelnen Attribute identifizieren. Der Vektor von CVSSv3 ist dafür zu lang. Man muss sich Zeit nehmen und fokussiert nach den einzelnen Attributen suchen.

Veränderte Kalkulation

Betrachtet man die zugrundeliegende Formel für die Berechnung der Scores, fallen subtile Änderungen auf. Zum einen ist es so, dass ein C/I/A von P gegenüber C nun marginal weniger gewichtet wird als zuvor. Bei den Temp Scores gewinnt der Status eines Exploits ein bisschen mehr an Gewicht, wodurch dem wachsenden Exploitmarkt Rechnung getragen wird. Eine ähnliche Verschiebung ergibt sich bei der Verlässlichkeit einer Veröffentlichung.

Betrachtet man die CVSSv2 und CVSSv3 Scores, so fällt unmittelbar auf, dass diese tendenziell ansteigen. Bei Base Scores sind dies in den letzten Jahren durchschnittlich von 5.8 auf 6.3 (+0.5) und bei Temp Scores von 5.2 auf 6.0 (+0.8).

Vergleich der Base Scores

Die gezeigte Grafik illustriert die Distribution der Base Scores für alle bisher im Jahr 2016 veröffentlichten Schwachstellen. Hierbei ist klar zu sehen, dass einerseits eine Verschiebung zu höheren Werten stattfindet. Dies ist anhand der beiden Ausschläge 7→8 und 5→6 zu erkennen. Generell findet aber auch ein Mitteln statt, so dass die bisher kritisierten Löcher in der Realität weniger auffällig ausfallen.

Fazit

CVSSv3 ist im Begriff CVSSv2 abzulösen. Die meisten Firmen, Produkte und Projekte fangen damit an und werden zukünftig nur noch CVSSv3 anbieten. Die neue Version des beliebten Systems bringt auf nahezu allen Ebenen Verbesserungen mit. Die Scores lassen sich granularer definieren, da sie die komplexen Gegebenheiten moderner Angriffsszenarien mitberücksichtigen in der Lage sind. Einzig die erhöhte Komplexität der Vektoren, die von nun an immer auch mit den gesamten Temp Attributen angegeben werden sollen, ist umstritten.

Es ist eine Transformation empfohlen, bei der die bestehenden CVSSv2 Attribute übernommen, umgeformt und ergänzt werden. So lässt sich mit überschaubarem Aufwand eine sehr hohe Qualität mit den neuen Scores erreichen, ohne dass diese komplett neu generiert werden müssen.

Über den Autor

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Cybersecurity-Bereich aktiv. Er hat vor allem im deutschsprachigen Raum aufgrund der Vielzahl durch ihn veröffentlichten Fachpublikationen und Bücher – dazu gehört besonders Die Kunst des Penetration Testing – Bekanntheit erlangt. Er ist Dozent an verschiedenen Hochschulen, darunter ETH, HWZ, HSLU und IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

Sie wollen eine KI evaluieren oder entwickeln?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

3D Printing

3D Printing

Marc Ruef

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv