Security Boards – structure, function and use

Security Boards

structure, function and use

Flavio Gerbino
by Flavio Gerbino
time to read: 7 minutes

Keypoints

  • Focus on qualitative strengthening of information security
  • Systematic anchoring of information security in business processes
  • Standardization of information security, practices and methods
  • Risk-adjusted allocation of resources
  • Optimal task solution through knowledge exchange and complementarities
  • Consideration of managerial, specialist and user acceptance, and business requirements through participation of various stakeholders
  • Ensuring strategic alignment

The issues behind information security are diverse, complex and increasingly fragmented. This applies in particular to the relevant legislative and regulatory developments and framework conditions. What’s more, short-term trends and hype around IT, communications technology and information security are emerging constantly (cybersecurity, blockchain, APTs, cloudification, big data etc.), so coordinated evaluation of every aspect that can affect a company’s security is of major strategic importance.

A company’s financial resources also require managers and decision makers to invest wisely. That is, recognition of which trends are unlikely to endure and investment in new technologies and security innovations only if they can demonstrate the level of maturity required for operational use.

In order for it to succeed and keep pace with all these requirements and developments requires continuous targeted initiatives in the structure and development of information security. Within the company, these factors can be recorded, discussed, coordinated and determined by a security board.

A security board is a committee, a steering instrument that identifies, discusses, coordinates, processes and determines security issues and topics in an interdisciplinary, overarching manner.

What makes a secure company?

Analysis of competencies in the implementation of IT and security in secure companies shows that:

A security board is the right instrument for creation of precisely these conditions in a company.

The security board acts as a hub that coordinates all the multi-faceted internal and (vague) external requirements, topics and challenges around security, as well as the IT competencies and functions at hand. This ensures a balance that enables decisive impetus for coordinated strategic thrust in information security through coordinated decision making. The security board provides clear structures as a frame of reference and so assumes the role of central coordination point, while also facilitating greater, broader-based common sense in information security.

Characteristics

Construction and establishment of a functioning security board within a company requires consideration of the following points:

Main tasks and characteristics of the board

Organizational aspects

Participation in and management of the Security Board

The security board should be set up in accordance with the size, complexity and risk profile of the company and must be sufficiently endowed with the necessary expertise and technical resources to enable it to fulfill its mandate efficiently and comprehensively. Members of the security board should be officially nominated and each member should have a qualified deputy. Further departments, experts, project managers, external consultants, etc, can be summoned as needed.

The chair should come from senior management within an information security or risk management context. The CISO is typically a good fit for this role. The security board chair not only chairs the meeting, but is also an active member of the panel, who along with ensuring correct proceedings of the security board also pursues their own interests and tasks, strategies and goals, and brings their own subjective commitments for the benefit of the whole. They must also lead discussions with expertise and empathy, both for the orderly proceedings of the session and also to ensure discussions and negotiations are as well structured and fruitful as possible.

Tasks in the context of governance

In this context, the security board assumes responsibility for putting interdisciplinary and thematic requirements into practice, turning them into readily comprehensible and feasible measures. It will also determine which subject areas of information security and risk management must be regulated and how the roles and responsibilities in the application of regulated areas appear. These include:

Conclusion

A security board can fulfill and ensure a broad spectrum of essential security and risk tasks through an interdisciplinary approach. Efficient use of existing synergies allows overarching company goals in the area of security to be reached.

About the Author

Flavio Gerbino

Flavio Gerbino has been in information security since the late 1990s. His main areas of expertise in cybersecurity are the organizational and conceptual security of a company.

Links

You need professional Vulnerability Management?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

Online Tracking

Online Tracking

Ralph Meier

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Andrea Hauser

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Security Boards - Aufbau, Funktionsweise und Nutzen

Security Boards

Aufbau, Funktionsweise und Nutzen

Flavio Gerbino
von Flavio Gerbino
am 15. September 2016
Lesezeit: 7 Minuten

Keypoints

  • Qualitative Stärkung der Informationssicherheit rückt in Vordergrund
  • Systematische Verankerung der Informationssicherheit in Geschäftsprozessen
  • Vereinheitlichung der Informationssicherheit, der Vorgehensweisen und Methoden
  • Risikoadjustierte Zuweisung von Ressourcen
  • Optimale Aufgabenlösung durch Austausch von Wissen und gegenseitige Ergänzung
  • Berücksichtigung von Management-, Fach-, und Nutzerakzeptanz und Geschäftserfordernisse durch Mitwirkung diverser Interessensvertreter
  • Sicherstellen des Strategic Alignment

Die Themen der Informationssicherheit sind vielfältig, komplex und zunehmend fragmentiert. Die entsprechenden gesetzlichen und regulatorischen Entwicklungen und Rahmenbedingungen erst recht. Darüber hinaus überschlagen sich kurzfristige Trends und Hypes der IT, Kommunikationstechnik, Informationssicherheit förmlich (Cybersecurity, Blockchain, APTs, Cloudification, Big Data etc.), so dass es von grösster strategischer Bedeutung ist, alle Aspekte, welche die Sicherheit eines Unternehmens betreffen und tangieren, koordiniert zu beurteilen.

Die finanziellen Möglichkeiten von Unternehmen erfordern darüber hinaus auch, dass Manager und Entscheider ihre Investitionen mit Bedacht tätigen. D.h. dass sie sich nicht durchsetzende Trends erkennen und in andere Technologien und Sicherheitsinnovationen erst dann investieren, wenn diese einen adäquaten Reifegrad für eine operativen Nutzung aufweisen.

Damit es nun gelingen kann mit allen diesen Anforderungen und Entwicklungen Schritt zu halten, sind kontinuierlich zielgerichtete Initiativen in den Aufbau und die Weiterentwicklung der Informationssicherheit erforderlich. Diese können im Unternehmen mit einem Security Board erfasst, diskutiert, koordiniert und entschieden werden.

Ein Security Board ist ein Gremium, welches als Steuerungsinstrument interdisziplinäre und übergreifende Sicherheitsfragen und Themen erkennt, diskutiert, koordiniert, behandelt und beschliesst.

Wodurch zeichnen sich sichere Unternehmen aus

Die Kompetenz von sicheren Unternehmen, analysiert man deren Implementation der IT und der Sicherheit, basiert darauf, dass:

Ein Security Board ist das geeignete Instrument, um genau diese Voraussetzungen in einem Unternehmen zu schaffen.

Das Security Board dient als Drehscheibe, welche die facettenreichen internen und vagen externen Anforderungen, Themen und Herausforderungen der Sicherheit, sowie die vorhandenen Kompetenzen und Funktionen der IT aufeinander abstimmt. Dadurch entsteht eine Balance, welche durch koordinierte Beschlüsse einen entscheidenden Impuls für eine koordinierte Stossrichtung in punkto Informationssicherheit ermöglicht. Das Security Board gibt als Bezugsrahmen klare Strukturen vor und übernimmt so auch die Rolle der zentralen Koordinationsstelle sowie eines Vermittlers für mehr und breiter abgestützten Common Sense in der Informationssicherheit.

Charakteristik

Um ein funktionierendes Security Board im Unternehmen aufzubauen und etablieren muss man sich über die folgenden Punkte des Boards Gedanken machen:

Hauptaufgaben und Eigenschaften des Boards

Organisatorische Aspekte

Teilnahme und Führung des Security Boards

Das Security Board ist der Grösse, Komplexität und dem Risikoprofil des Unternehmens entsprechend aufzustellen und muss dahingehend ausreichend dotiert sein, um über die nötigen Fachkompetenzen und Sachmittel zu verfügen, damit es sein Mandat effizient und vollumfänglich erfüllen kann. Die Mitglieder des Security Boards sollten offiziell nominiert werden und für jedes Mitglied bedarf es einer qualifizierten Stellvertretung. Bedarfsweise werden weitere Fachbereiche, Experten, Projektverantwortliche, externe Berater etc. aufgeboten.

Der Vorsitzende sollte aus dem höheren Management im Kontext der Informationssicherheit oder des Risikomanagements stammen. Typischerweise eignet sich der CISO für diese Aufgabe. Der Security Board Vorsitzende ist nicht nur Sitzungsleiter sondern auch aktives Mitglied des Gremiums, der nebst der korrekten Abwicklung des Security Boards, auch noch seine eigene Interessen und Aufgaben wahrnimmt, Strategien und Ziele verfolgt und auch seine subjektiven Verpflichtungen gegenüber dem Wohl des Ganzen in das Gremium einbringt. Er muss also als Diskussionsleiter, mit Sachverstand und Empathie, einerseits für eine korrekte Abwicklung der Sitzung und andererseits für eine gedanklich gutgegliederte und fruchtbare Diskussion und Verhandlung sorgen.

Aufgaben im Kontext der Governance

Das Security Board übernimmt in diesem Kontext die Praxisübersetzung für die interdisziplinären und themenbezogenen Anforderungen und macht daraus verständliche Ausführungsbestimmungen und praktikable Massnahmen. Es wird aber auch festgelegt, welche Themengebiete des Informationssicherheits- und Risikomanagements geregelt werden müssen und wie die Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten in der Anwendung der geregelten Gebiete aussehen. Dazu zählen:

Fazit

Das Security Board kann durch seine interdisziplinäre Arbeitsweise ein breites Spektrum an essentiellen Sicherheits- und Risikoaufgaben erfüllen bzw. sicherstellen. Mit der effizienten Nutzung vorhandener Synergien können übergeordnete Unternehmensziele in puncto Sicherheit erreicht werden.

Über den Autor

Flavio Gerbino

Flavio Gerbino ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Bereich der Informationssicherheit tätig. Seine Schwerpunkte liegen im Bereich der strategischen Ausrichtung und des Managements der Sicherheit eines Unternehmens.

Links

Sie brauchen professionelles Vulnerability Management?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Crypto-Malware

Crypto-Malware

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv