Credential and Device Guard – Is the tide turning?

Credential and Device Guard

Is the tide turning?

Michael Schneider
by Michael Schneider
time to read: 11 minutes

In Microsoft Windows, two vulnerabilities have been successfully exploited for attacks for years now – execution of arbitrary code and reading of access data from data storage. Microsoft’s counter-measures to date have not had the desired effect. Various whitelisting approaches have been tabled to prevent code from being executed. However, these can sometimes be circumvented, or deactivated if attackers manage to obtain administrative rights. An attacker who gains control over the operating system can manipulate existing control systems. This is the weak link in the chain. Reading of plain-text passwords can now be prevented by a restrictive configuration.

But it is still possible to read NTLM hashes, which can be used for pass-the-hash attacks. Here, too, an attacker with control over the system can manipulate a restrictive configuration. With the introduction of Windows 10, Microsoft presented the functions Credential Guard and Device Guard, which were intended to resolve these existing vulnerabilities. In this article, we will introduce these functions and evaluate their influence on the security of the operating system.

Virtual Secure Mode

The essential innovation of Credential Guard and Device Guard is the use of virtualization techniques, to isolate these functions from the operating system and thus better protect it against attackers and malware. Both are based on Virtual Secure Mode (VSM) technology. VSM is a protected container, which is operated in a Hyper-V hypervisor and thus isolated from the Windows 10 host and its kernel. Within this container, only explicitly permitted code can be executed and in addition testing for code integrity is constantly carried out. Microsoft refers to this technology as Virtualization-Based Security (VBS).

Like the operation of a normal virtual machine, VSM relies on hardware-based protective measures. The hypervisor uses the virtualization extension of the processor to protect access to data in storage and to ensure that each instance can access only its own data. The Windows kernel subsequently has no direct access to the VSM container. Currently, three functions can be executed in VSM:

  1. Local Security Authority (LSA)
  2. Code-integrity control in the form of kernel mode code integrity (KMCI)
  3. The hypervisor has its own code-integrity control called hypervisor code integrity (HVCI)

Requirements and installation

In order to use Virtual Secure Mode, the hardware of the device must fulfill the following criteria:

The Windows feature Hyper-V hypervisor must then be installed; the Hyper-V components are not required. VSM itself is administered through Group Policy Turn on virtualization-based security under the path Computer Configuration\Administrative Templates\System\Device Guard.

For the options Virtualization-based protection of code integrity and Credential Guard configuration, the setting Enabled with UEFI lock can be selected. This measure prevents remote deactivation of these options. To deactivate them, the UEFI configuration must be reset locally on the device.

Following activation of Virtual Secure Mode, Credential Guard and Device Guard can be applied.

Credential Guard

The function Credential Guard secures against access to system and user passwords, so that domain access data can no longer be read if the system is compromised. To do this, any access data that has been stored in the Local Security Authority (LSA) process is evacuated to a virtualized and isolated LSA process. This isolated LSA process, named LsaIso, consists solely of a reduced set of operating system binary files that are required for actual operations. These binary files are all signed and each signature validated before execution. The access data for the operating system is no longer directly accessible; the LSA process calls it up via remote procedure calls. This is intended to ensure that unauthorized access to access data is not allowed. Currently, Credential Guard can be used to protect NTLM and Kerberos access data for domain accounts. Note that neither local accounts nor Microsoft accounts can be protected by Credential Guard.

The tool Mimikatz, introduced in the Article Windows Passwords – A well-known secret can read access data from the storage for the LSA process, among other things, and is therefore an ideal test candidate for Credential Guard. In a standard installation of Windows 10, it is possible to read a user’s NTLM hash:

Mimikatz without Credential Guard

When Credential Guard is activated, it can no longer be read:

Mimikatz with Credential Guard

Device Guard

The goal of the Device Guard function is to prevent the execution of malicious code. This is known as a whitelisting solution with a signature-based approach. It means that only code that is explicitly categorized as benign is executed. Device Guards stops drivers from loading, restricts the execution of binary files (including DLLs) in user mode, MSI and scripts (PowerShell, Windows Script Host, VBS, JS, WSF and WSC) that are not explicitly permitted. With PowerShell, scripts are generally run in constrained language mode unless they are explicitly cleared for execution.

The advantage of Device Guard over other solutions, such as Microsoft AppLocker, is the use of virtualization-based security and with it the isolation from the rest of the operating system. This means the policy is protected from manipulation by administrators or malware with the relevant execution permissions.

Device Guard is composed of the following three primary components:

The implementation of Device Guard has similar requirements as for VSM.

A code integrity policy should be created on a system that has all the software required for operation (golden image). Through the PowerShell cmdlet New-CIPolicy, the system is scoured for installed applications and a policy generated on this basis. The policy comes in XML format and is converted into binary format before usage with the ConvertFrom-CIPolicy. The Deploy Guide by Microsoft employee Brian Lich discusses all the steps necessary for creation of such a policy.

The Device Guard policy should always be operated in audit mode to begin with. This permits infringements of the policy that are merely recorded in the Event Log Applications and Services Logs\Microsoft\Windows\CodeIntegrity\Operational. This ensures that the policy is not blocked for the operation of required applications. Where multiple policies are created – for example, an initial policy and other policies that handle special cases, such as the blocking of a particular program – these must be merged so that only one binary policy per computer can be used. The cmdlet Merge-CIPolicy is used for this. As an additional protective measure, a signature test for the CI policy itself can be activated.

Evaluation – is the tide turning?

The use of virtualization techniques brings a new level of security to Windows. Because the security-relevant functions are isolated from the operating system, the previous vulnerability – that an attacker with control of the system can cancel protective measures – is mitigated. This alone is a big step for a system’s security.

Credential Guard prevents current known attacks on the LSA process and so prevents reading of access data in storage until further notice. As long as the hardware requirements are met, Credential Guard can be activated via a group policy and does not have to undergo further configuration or adaptation. Therefore, it is relatively easy to implement this function. The implementation of Credential Guard as part of a Windows 10 rollout is regarded as realistic. This will increase the effort required for attackers to reach domain access data in the future. Credential Guard is a step in the right direction, but it can not prevent every type of attack. Attacks via phishing, key loggers and access data outside Credential Guard, or directly in the currently logged-in user’s session, will still be possible.

The implementation of Device Guard, on the other hand, is a little more complex than Credential Guard. With the use of signatures, a PKI environment should be available so that your own code-signing certificates can be deployed. In addition, it depends on the software manufacturers correctly signing their applications. There is provision for applications without signatures to be included as an exception in the policy, with the inclusion of hashes. In a heterogeneous environment with numerous different applications, this could represent a major challenge. Moreover, the configuration of an effective code-integrity policy is currently possible only through PowerShell cmdlets and editing of the XML file. The lack of a graphic configuration interface could have an inhibiting influence on the expansion of Device Guard. We can therefore assume that Device Guard will be used in only a few companies in the next three to five years.

Security researcher Casey Smith has already found workarounds for a standard code-integrity policy. By using debuggers of the tool MSBuild.exe of the .NET framework and the tool CSI.exe for C# scripting, it was possible to circumvent a policy generated in line with the example in the Device Guard chapter and execute random code. All these bypasses are based on the fact that internal, trustworthy Windows tools can be misused to execute additional code. Matt Graeber has created a separate policy as a counter-measure against this known bypass. This adaptation by Matt explicitly blocks this tool, or allows it only when the minimal version number 99.0.0.0 is reached. The head-to-head race between attack and defense will continue with Device Guard.

Conclusion

Credential Guard and Device Guard have the potential to selectively change the security landscape. With these two functions, Windows now has new security controls based on virtualization techniques. Whether this potential can be used, however, depends on whether these functions can also be implemented in real life. With Device Guard, particularly, it will be years before we see widespread implementation. And it will be a few more years – with many lines of malicious code executed and sensitive access data read without permission – until the tide really turns.

About the Author

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider has been in IT since 2000. Since 2010 he is focused on information security. He is an expert at penetration testing, hardening and the detection of vulnerabilities in operating systems. He is well-known for a variety of tools written in PowerShell to find, exploit, and mitigate weaknesses. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

You want to test the strength of your enterprise regarding malware attacks?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
ContainerKitty

ContainerKitty

Michael Schneider

WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

HardeningKitty Score

HardeningKitty Score

Michael Schneider

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Credential und Device Guard - Wendet sich das Blatt?

Credential und Device Guard

Wendet sich das Blatt?

Michael Schneider
von Michael Schneider
am 20. Oktober 2016
Lesezeit: 11 Minuten

In Microsoft Windows gibt es zwei Schwachpunkte, die seit Jahren erfolgreich für Angriffe ausgenutzt werden: Ausführen von beliebigem Code und Auslesen von Zugangsdaten aus dem Speicher. Die Gegenmassnahmen von Microsoft haben bisher nicht die erwünschte Wirkung erzielt. Es wurden verschiedene Whitelisting-Ansätze präsentiert, um die Ausführung von Code zu verhindern. Diese können jedoch teilweise umgangen, oder gar von einem Angreifer, der administrative Rechte erlangt hat, deaktiviert werden. Hat ein Angreifer Kontrolle über das Betriebssystem erlangt, kann dieser die vorhandenen Kontrollsysteme manipulieren. Dies ist das schwache Glied in der Kette. Das Auslesen von Klartext-Passwörtern kann mittlerweile durch eine restriktive Konfiguration unterbunden werden.

Es ist aber nach wie vor möglich NTLM-Hashes auszulesen, die für Pass-the-Hash-Angriffe verwendet werden können. Auch hier gilt, dass ein Angreifer mit Kontrolle über das System, eine restriktive Konfiguration manipulieren kann. Mit der Einführung von Windows 10 präsentierte Microsoft die Funktionen Credential Guard und Device Guard, welche diese bestehenden Schwachstellen schliessen sollen. In diesem Beitrag stellen wir diese Funktionen vor und schätzen deren Einfluss auf die Sicherheit des Betriebssystems ein.

Virtual Secure Mode

Die wesentliche Neuerung von Credential Guard und Device Guard ist die Nutzung von Virtualisierungstechniken, um eine Isolation dieser Funktionen vom Betriebssystem zu erreichen und somit diese besser vor einem Angreifer oder Malware schützen zu können. Beide basieren auf der Technologie Virtual Secure Mode (VSM). VSM ist ein geschützter Container, der in einem Hyper-V Hypervisor betrieben wird, und dadurch vom Windows 10 Host und dessen Kernel isoliert ist. Innerhalb dieses Containers kann nur explizit erlaubter Code ausgeführt werden. Dabei wird eine konstante Prüfung der Code-Integrität durchgeführt. Microsoft bezeichnet diese Technologie auch als Virtualization Based Security (VBS).

VSM setzt analog wie der Betrieb einer herkömmlichen virtuellen Maschine auf hardwarebasierte Schutzvorkehrungen. Der Hypervisor nutzt die Virtualisierung-Erweiterungen des Prozessors, um Zugriff auf Daten im Speicher zu schützen und sicherzustellen, dass jede Instanz nur auf eigene Daten zugreifen kann. Der Windows Kernel hat demzufolge keinen direkten Zugriff auf den VSM-Container. Aktuell können drei Funktionen in VSM ausgeführt werden:

  1. Local Security Authority (LSA)
  2. Code-Integrität-Kontrolle in der Form der Kernel Mode Code Integrity (KMCI)
  3. Die Hypervisor eigene Code-Integrität-Kontrolle namens Hypervisor Code Integrity (HVCI)

Anforderungen und Installation

Damit der Virtual Secure Mode genutzt werden kann, muss die Hardware des Geräts die folgenden Punkte erfüllen:

Das Windows Feature Hyper-V Hypervisor muss anschliessend installiert werden, die Hyper-V Komponenten werden nicht benötigt. VSM selbst wird über die Group Policy Turn On Virtualization Based Security unter dem Pfad Computer Configuration\Administrative Templates\System\Device Guard verwaltet.

Für die Optionen Virtualization Based Protection of Code Integrity und Credential Guard Configuration kann die Einstellung Enabled with UEFI lock gewählt werden. Diese Massnahme verhindert, dass diese Optionen remote deaktiviert werden können. Um diese zu Deaktivieren, muss die UEFI-Konfiguration lokal am Gerät zurückgesetzt werden.

Nach der Aktivierung des Virtual Secure Mode können Credential Guard und Device Guard eingesetzt werden.

Credential Guard

Die Funktion Credential Guard sichert den Zugriff auf System- und Benutzer-Kennwörter ab, damit im Falle einer Kompromittierung des Systems das Auslesen von Domänen-Zugangsdaten nicht mehr möglich ist. Dazu werden Zugangsdaten, die bisher im Speicher des Prozess Local Security Authority (LSA) abgelegt wurden, in einen virtualisierten und isolierten LSA-Prozess ausgelagert. Der isolierte LSA-Prozess namens LsaIso besteht nur aus einem reduzierten Set von Betriebssystem-Binärdateien, die für den eigentlichen Betrieb benötigt werden. Diese Binärdateien sind allesamt signiert und diese Signaturen werden jeweils vor der Ausführung validiert. Die Zugangsdaten sind für das Betriebssystem nicht mehr direkt erreichbar, der LSA-Prozess fragt diese über Remote Procedure Calls ab. Somit soll sichergestellt werden, dass ein unbefugter Zugriff auf Zugangsdaten nicht möglich ist. Zurzeit können mit Credential Guard NTLM- und Kerberos-Zugangsdaten von Domänen-Accounts geschützt werden. Zu beachten ist, dass lokale Konten und Microsoft Accounts durch Credential Guard nicht geschützt werden.

Das Tool Mimikatz, vorgestellt im Beitrag Windows Passwörter – Ein wohlbekanntes Geheimnis, kann unter anderem Zugangsdaten aus dem Speicher des LSA-Prozesses lesen und ist deshalb ein idealer Testkandidat für Credential Guard. In einer Standardinstallation von Windows 10 ist es möglich den NTLM-Hash eines Benutzers auszulesen:

Mimikatz ohne Credential Guard

Nach Aktivierung von Credential Guard kann dieser nicht mehr ausgelesen werden:

Mimikatz mit Credential Guard

Device Guard

Das Ziel der Funktion Device Guard ist die Ausführung von bösartigem Code zu verhindern. Es handelt sich um eine Whitelisting Lösung mit einem signaturbasierten Ansatz. Es soll nur Code ausgeführt werden, der als bewusst gutartig eingestuft wurde. Device Guard blockt das Laden von Treibern, schränkt die Ausführung von Binärdateien (inklusive DLLs) im User Mode, MSI sowie Skripte (PowerShell, Windows Script Host, VBS, JS, WSF und WSC) ein, welche nicht explizit erlaubt wurden. Bei PowerShell werden Skripte grundsätzlich im Constrained Language Mode betrieben; es sei denn, sie wurden explizit zur Ausführung freigegeben.

Der Vorteil von Device Guard gegenüber anderen Lösungen, wie Microsoft AppLocker, ist die Verwendung der Virtualization Based Security und somit der Isolation vom Rest des Betriebssystems. Dadurch ist die Policy vor Manipulationen durch Administratoren oder Malware mit entsprechenden Ausführberechtigungen geschützt.

Device Guard besteht aus den folgenden drei Primärkomponenten:

Für die Implementierung von Device Guard gelten ähnliche Anforderungen für VSM.

Die Erstellung einer Code Integrity Policy sollte auf einem System erfolgen, das alle erforderliche Software für den Betrieb enthält (Golden Image). Über das PowerShell Cmdlet New-CIPolicy wird das System auf installierte Anwendungen untersucht und auf dieser Basis eine Policy generiert. Die Policy liegt im XML-Format vor und wird vor Gebrauch mittels ConvertFrom-CIPolicy in ein Binärformat konvertiert. Der Deploy Guide des Microsoft Mitarbeiters Brian Lich bespricht alle zur Erstellung einer solchen Policy notwendigen Schritte.

Die Device Guard Policy sollte zuerst immer im Audit Mode betrieben werden. Dabei werden Verstösse gegen die Policy zugelassen und nur im Event Log Applications and Services Logs\Microsoft\Windows\CodeIntegrity\Operational aufgezeichnet. Damit kann sichergestellt werden, dass die Policy nicht für den Betrieb notwendige Applikationen blockiert. Falls mehrere Policies erstellt werden, beispielsweise eine Initial Policy sowie weitere Policies, die Spezialfälle behandeln, beispielsweise das Blockieren eines Programms, müssen diese zusammengelegt werden, da nur eine binäre Policy pro Rechner verwendet werden kann. Dazu wird das Cmdlet Merge-CIPolicy eingesetzt. Als zusätzliche Schutzmassnahme kann für die CI Policy selbst eine Signaturprüfung aktiviert werden.

Einschätzung – Wendet sich das Blatt?

Der Einsatz von Virtualisierungstechniken bringt einen neuen Sicherheitslevel für Windows mit sich. Da die sicherheitsrelevanten Funktionen vom Betriebssystem isoliert sind, wird der bisherige Schwachpunkt, dass ein Angreifer mit Kontrolle über das System Schutzmassnahmen aushebeln kann, mitigiert. Dies alleine ist ein grosser Schritt für die Sicherheit eines Systems.

Credential Guard unterbindet die momentan bekannten Angriffe auf den LSA-Prozess und verhindert so bis auf weiteres das Auslesen von Zugangsdaten aus dem Speicher. Sofern die Hardware-Anforderungen erfüllt sind, kann Credential Guard über eine Group Policy aktiviert werden und muss nicht weiter konfiguriert oder angepasst werden. Es ist dementsprechend verhältnismässig einfach diese Funktion einzusetzen. Die Implementation von Credential Guard im Rahmen eines Windows 10 Rollouts wird als realistisch eingeschätzt. Der Aufwand für Angreifer an Domänen-Zugangsdaten zu gelangen wird dadurch zukünftig erhöht. Credential Guard ist ein Schritt in die richtige Richtung, kann aber nicht alle Angriffsformen unterbinden. So sind Angriffe über Phishing, Key Logger, sowie auf Zugangsdaten ausserhalb Credential Guard, oder auch direkt auf die Sitzung von angemeldeten Benutzern weiterhin möglich.

Die Implementation von Device Guard ist im Gegenzug einiges komplexer als Credential Guard. Durch den Einsatz von Signaturen sollte einerseits eine eigene PKI-Umgebung zur Verfügung stehen, damit eigene Code-Signing-Zertifikate eingesetzt werden können. Zudem besteht eine Abhängigkeit zu den Software-Herstellern, dass diese ihre Anwendungen ebenfalls korrekt signieren. Es ist zwar vorgesehen, dass Anwendungen ohne Signatur mit der Aufnahme von Hashes als Ausnahme in die Policy aufgenommen werden können. Bei einer heterogenen Umgebung mit vielen verschiedenen Anwendungen kann dies eine grosse Herausforderung darstellen. Zudem ist die Konfiguration einer wirkungsvollen Code Integrity Policy zurzeit nur über die PowerShell Cmdlets und Bearbeiten der XML-Datei möglich. Das Fehlen einer grafischen Konfigurationsoberfläche könnte einen hemmenden Einfluss auf die Verbreitung von Device Guard haben. Es ist daher davon auszugehen, dass Device Guard nur in wenigen Unternehmen in den kommenden drei bis fünf Jahren eingesetzt wird.

Der Security Researcher Casey Smith hat bereits einige Umgehungsmöglichkeiten einer Standard Code Integrity Policy gefunden. Durch den Einsatz von Debugger, des Tools MSBuild.exe des .NET Frameworks sowie des Tools CSI.exe für C# Scripting konnte eine Policy, generiert analog des Beispiels im Kapitel Device Guard, umgangen werden und es war möglich beliebigen Code auszuführen. Alle diese Bypasses basieren darauf, dass interne und vertrauenswürdige Windows-Tools zur Ausführung von zusätzlichem Code missbraucht werden können. Darauf hat Matt Graeber eine separate Policy als Gegenmassnahme für diese bekannten Bypasses erstellt. Durch die Anpassung von Matt werden diese Tools explizit blockiert, beziehungsweise erst zugelassen, wenn die minimale Versionsnummer 99.0.0.0 erreicht wurde. Das Kopf-an-Kopf-Rennen zwischen Angriff und Verteidigung wird auch mit Device Guard weitergehen.

Fazit

Credential Guard und Device Guard haben das Potential, punktuell die Sicherheitslandschaft zu verändern. Mit diesen beiden Funktionen werden unter Windows neue Sicherheitskontrollen basierend auf Virtualisierungstechniken eingeführt. Ob dieses Potential aber genutzt werden kann, hängt davon ab, ob diese Funktionen auch in der Praxis eingesetzt werden können. Vor allem bei Device Guard werden noch Jahre vergehen, bis eine grossflächige Implementation beobachtet werden kann. Es werden noch einige Jahre vergehen, dabei viele Zeilen von bösartigen Code ausgeführt und sensitive Zugangsdaten unerlaubt ausgelesen werden, bis sich das Blatt wirklich ändert.

Über den Autor

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider arbeitet seit dem Jahr 2000 in der IT. Im Jahr 2010 hat er sich auf die Informationssicherheit spezialisiert. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören das Penetration Testing, Hardening und das Aufspüren von Schwachstellen in Betriebssystemen. Er ist bekannt für eine Vielzahl in PowerShell geschrieber Tools zum Finden, Ausnutzen und Beheben von Schwachstellen. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Sie wollen die Resistenz Ihres Unternehmens auf Malware prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
HardeningKitty

HardeningKitty

Michael Schneider

KleptoKitty

KleptoKitty

Michael Schneider

Linux Hardening

Linux Hardening

Michael Schneider

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv