XSS is still my name – a call for greater appreciation of developers

XSS is still my name

a call for greater appreciation of developers

Veit Hailperin
by Veit Hailperin
time to read: 10 minutes

The world is fascinated by hackers. Green font on a black background is as much a stereotypical signifier as the hoodie. It’s fascinating because it seems so incomprehensibly complicated and inaccessible. It’s fascinating because it has a hint of the forbidden. That’s as far as most people go. But some are so fascinated that they dig further into the issue and to their enormous surprise discover that it really doesn’t seem that difficult after all. A few months later comes the first mockery of developers and on Twitter they’re saying how simple offensive security is. But nothing is simple – not when you want to take things seriously and do it well. Offensive security is no exception.

Every specialist area has its hot topics. In IT security, it’s web application security. Web application security is concerned with the security of applications that can be controlled through a browser. As the term hot topic indicates, this was not always the case. Binary exploitation had its time in the sun. For a long time, network security was big news. But then the range of applications expanded and new methods of attack, such as SQL injection, were discovered. Web application security has been the hot topic ever since.

But in the security sector, there seems to be a trend at the moment towards strengthening network security again. This is presumably due to the large number of companies that have been hacked in recent months.

Easy start with XSS

The truth is, getting started with web application security is easy. There are plenty of good sources and programs that can help you begin. The Open Web Application Security Project (OWASP) in particular is an enormous resource. Beginners reading through the Top 10, will soon come across cross-site scripting (XSS) on the Internet. The faulty code, the cause of this gap, is rarely more complicated than the following example:

<?php
$username = $_GET[‘username’];
echo ‘<!DOCTYPE html><head><title>XSS</title></head><body>Hello ’;
echo $username;
echo ‘</body></html>’
?>

The problem is clear: unsanitized output of an entered parameter. Attackers can exploit this by entering their own JavaScript code via the parameter username:

https://unsafe-domain.tld/?username=<script>alert(1)</script>

The alert box lights up. But how does it look if a template engine is involved and it has additional filters integrated in the compiler? This is exactly what happens with the popular JavaScript framework AngularJS.

AngularJS

AngularJS 1.5.7 has more than 31,000 lines of code. The framework offers its own template engine, which runs inside a sandbox. The sandbox is meant to stop any JavaScript code from running. Should an attacker manage to break out of the sandbox and if AngularJS is used incorrectly, and the sandbox is used by the developers as a security mechanism, this in turn leads to XSS. Although this may seem like many conditions from an external perspective, we regularly come across this situation in our tests.

The first sandbox escapes were relatively simple. However, several protective, preventative mechanisms were integrated into the template parser. Consequently, the current bypass for the framework looks like this:

{{a=toString().constructor.prototype;a.charAt=a.trim;$eval(‘a,alert(1),a’)}}

Just to comprehend this kind of AngularJS sandbox bypass requires basic JavaScript knowledge, an understanding of how the AngularJS templating engine works and an ability to debug. Developing this kind of attack, which is actually the work of a penetration tester, requires more than just basic programming knowledge.

In the case of an AngularJS bypass, there is a video that explains the bypass. This video also offers a good insight into the basic skills and knowledge required to find vulnerabilities and develop exploits. A really detailed description of how the bypasses works was written by Jann Horn, one of the bypass authors, as part of his bachelor thesis.

The necessity of programming

A good hacker not only masters their own tools, they are also able to expand on them and develop their own. Anyone working in the industry who can not program would be well advised to learn as soon as possible. Script languages like Python, Ruby, Bash, Lua and PowerShell offer a good entry point. A good starter project is the automation of recurring documentation tasks, the kind of thing penetration testers would prefer to ignore. A good hacker does not do jobs that a computer can do better and faster.

What day-to-day tools will you need? Nmap, Metasploit, BurpSuite, Zap, Sqlmap. All of these tools have interfaces for expansion. If there’s a tool you use all the time, it makes sense to be able to extend it for your own purposes.

One phenomenon that I observe repeatedly is penetration testers that do not want to share their developments because the code is of insufficient quality. But releasing tools allows others to use them, find errors and sometimes set about tidying up the code themselves. Not only have you helped someone, you have also learned more about programming. The reason that getting a start in this field is so easy these days is that people have taken it on themselves to put their beginner code online.

Respect for developers increases rapidly once they start learning to program. The number of possible errors is so high that it’s little wonder the internet is full of holes. And that’s not including design errors.

Another positive aspect of programming knowledge is that instead of just criticizing, you can actively support developers. Developers may come up with excuses or propose poor solutions – it’s rare, fortunately, but occasionally it happens. And when it does, you can be there to protect the client. Of course being able to program also makes any kind of code review much simpler.

Debugging and developer tools

Last but not least, developer tools are great for testing. Of course, there are some tools that have been developed specifically for hacking. During web application penetration tests, proxies are essential. The trend toward one-pagers, meaning websites that exist entirely in DOM, is increasing. In order to audit DOM, a knowledge of the developer console is a must! It can also be practical to know how to develop your own browser apps and plug-ins. In any case, the most powerful means of testing client-side functions at the moment is the developer console. For testers who spend little time with – or even fear – the developer console, I recommend the following two articles as a starting point:

I’m not the first person to write about these issues. One article I personally find highly inspirational is by Andreas LindhHacking Open Source software for fun and non-profit, which looks at the whole issue from an operating perspective.

For beginners in the offensive security field, I can recommend the articles How to become a pentester articles by the Belgian researcher corelan and So, you want to work in security? by security engineer Parisa Tabriz. Both articles also look at programming.

Conclusion

Every budding penetration tester should consider it a goal to learn programming. Programming allows testers to think more like developers, using their tools for attacks, not to overstate ones findings and to improve security with patches.

About the Author

Veit Hailperin

Veit Hailperin has been working in information security since 2010. His research focuses on network and application layer security and the protection of privacy. He presents his findings at conferences.

Links

You want to test the security of your firewall?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Programming Language Go

Programming Language Go

Ralph Meier

Microsoft365DSC

Microsoft365DSC

Rocco Gagliardi

Third-Party Cookies

Third-Party Cookies

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

OWASP Core Rule Set

OWASP Core Rule Set

Mark Zeman

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Vier XSS für ein Halleluja - Plädoyer für mehr Wertschätzung von Entwicklern

Vier XSS für ein Halleluja

Plädoyer für mehr Wertschätzung von Entwicklern

Veit Hailperin
von Veit Hailperin
am 10. November 2016
Lesezeit: 10 Minuten

Die Welt ist von Hackern fasziniert. Grüne Schrift auf schwarzem Hintergrund, wie auch der Hoodie sind stereotypische Merkmale. Es fasziniert, weil es so unfassbar kompliziert und unerreichbar erscheint. Es fasziniert, weil es den Touch von Verbotenem hat. Die meisten Leute hören hier auf. Der Rest ist so fasziniert, dass er sich mehr mit dem Thema auseinander setzt und ganz erschrocken feststellt – so schwierig scheint das ja gar nicht zu sein. Wenige Monate später wird das erste Mal über Entwickler gespottet und auf Twitter geschrieben, wie einfach Offensive Security ist. Aber nichts ist einfach. Nicht wenn man es tatsächlich seriös und gut betreiben will. Offensive Security stellt keine Ausnahme dar.

Jedes Fachgebiet hat sein Trendthema. In IT-Security ist es Web Application Security. Web Application Security beschäftigt sich mit der Sicherheit der Anwendungen, welche über einen Browser angesteuert werden. Wie der Begriff “Trendthema” bereits ausdrückt, war das nicht immer so. Binary Exploitation hatte seine Zeit zu glänzen. Netzwerksicherheit war lange Zeit ein grosses Thema. Doch dann wurde die Anwendungsvielfalt grösser und es wurden neue Angriffsarten wie SQL-Injection entdeckt. Das Trendthema heisst deshalb seit dem immer noch Web Application Security.

Es scheint momentan aber in der Sicherheitsbranche wieder einen Trend zur Verstärkung von Netzwerksicherheit zu geben. Vermutlich liegt das an der grossen Anzahl an gehackten Firmen in den letzten Monaten.

Ein leichter Einstieg mit XSS

Der Einstieg in Web Application Security ist tatsächlich leicht. Es gibt massenhaft gute Quellen und Programme, die beim Einstieg helfen. Insbesondere das Open Web Application Security Project ist eine riesige Ressource. Liest ein Anfänger die Top 10 durch, so wird er schnell Cross Site Scripting (XSS) im Internet finden. Der fehlerbehaftete Code, welcher der Grund für die Lücke ist, ist häufig nicht komplizierter als das folgende Beispiel:

<?php
$username = $_GET[‘username’];
echo “<!DOCTYPE html><head><title>XSS</title></head><body>Hello “;
echo $username;
echo “</body></html>”
?>

Das Problem ist offensichtlich: Ungefilterte Ausgabe eines mitgeschickten Parameters. Dies kann ein Angreifer ausnützen, in dem eigener JavaScript Code über den Parameter username übergeben wird:

https://unsafe-domain.tld/?username=<script>alert(1)</script>

Das Alert-Böxchen erfreut. Aber wie sieht es aus, wenn eine Template-Engine involviert ist und diese noch zusätzliche Filter in den Compiler eingebaut hat? Genau das passiert bei dem populären JavaScript Framework AngularJS.

AngularJS

AngularJS 1.5.7 hat mehr als 31’000 Zeilen Code. Das Framework bietet seine eigene Template Engine an, welche in einer Sandbox läuft. Die Sandbox soll verhindern, dass beliebiger JavaScript Code ausgeführt werden kann. Gelingt es einem Angreifer aus dieser Sandbox auszubrechen und wird zusätzlich AngularJS falsch benutzt sowie die Sandbox als Sicherheitsmechanismus von den Entwicklern eingesetzt, führt das wiederum zu XSS. Obwohl dies von aussen möglicherweise nach vielen Konditionen aussieht, finden wir diese Situation regelmässig in unseren Tests.

Die ersten Sandbox-Escapes, waren noch relativ simpel. Daraufhin wurden jedoch mehrere Schutzmechanismen zur Verhinderung in den Template-Parser eingebaut. Der aktuelle Bypass für das Framework sieht folgendermassen aus:

{{a=toString().constructor.prototype;a.charAt=a.trim;$eval(‘a,alert(1),a’)}}

Um einen solchen AngularJS-Sandbox-Bypass nur schon zu verstehen, bedarf es grundlegender JavaScript Kenntnisse, Verständnis zur Funktionsweise der Templating Engine von AngularJS und die Fähigkeit zum Debuggen. Möchte man einen solchen Angriff entwickeln, die tatsächliche Arbeit eines Penetration Testers, braucht es mehr als nur grundlegende Programmierkenntnisse.

In dem Fall des AngularJS Bypasses, gibt es ein Video welches den Bypass erklärt. Dieses Video bietet auch einen guten Einblick, was für grundlegende Fähigkeiten und Kenntnisse benötigt werden, um die Schwachstelle zu finden und den Exploit zu entwickeln. In der Bachelorarbeit von Jann Horn, einem der Bypass Autoren, findet sich eine sehr detaillierte Beschreibung der Funktionsweise.

Programmieren als Notwendigkeit

Ein guter Hacker beherrscht nicht nur seine Tools, sondern ist in der Lage diese zu erweitern und seine eigenen zu entwickeln. Wer bereits in der Industrie arbeitet und noch nicht programmieren kann, sollte schleunigst damit anfangen. Einen guten Einstieg bieten Skript-Sprachen, wie Python, Ruby, Bash, Lua und PowerShell. Gute Startprojekte sind die Automatisierung von immer wiederkehrenden, oft bei Penetration Testern unbeliebten Dokumentationsaufgaben. Gute Hacker erledigen nicht die Arbeit, die ein Computer für sie besser und schneller erledigen kann.

Was für Tools bestimmen den Alltag? Nmap, Metasploit, BurpSuite, Zap, Sqlmap. Alle diese Tools haben Schnittstellen zur Erweiterung. Es lohnt sich das Tool, mit dem man am häufigsten arbeitet für seine Zwecke anpassen zu können!

Ein Phänomen, welches ich immer wieder beobachte ist, dass Penetration Tester ihre Entwicklungen nicht teilen wollen, weil die Code-Qualität nicht gut genug ist. Aber durch das Veröffentlichen der Tools werden es andere verwenden, Fehler finden und manchmal sich auch die Arbeit machen, den Code zu verschönern. Nicht nur hat man jemandem anderes geholfen, sondern auch etwas mehr über Programmieren gelernt. Der Grund warum heute der Einstieg so simpel ist, ist weil sich Leute durchgerungen haben, ihren Anfänger-Code Online zu stellen.

Der Respekt gegenüber Entwicklern wächst massiv in dem Moment, in dem Programmieren erlernt wird. Die Anzahl an Fehlermöglichkeiten ist so hoch, dass man sich eigentlich nicht darüber wundern kann, dass das Internet voller Lücken ist. Und das ohne die Designfehler.

Ein weiterer positiver Aspekt von Programmierkenntnissen ist, dass man anstatt nur zu kritisieren, die Entwickler aktiv unterstützen kann. Es ist glücklicherweise eher selten, aber gelegentlich sieht man, dass seitens Entwickler Ausreden oder schlechte Lösungsansätze vorgeschlagen werden. In diesen Momenten erlaubt es einem, den Kunden zu schützen. Selbst zu programmieren vereinfacht natürlich auch jegliche Art von Code-Review.

Debugging und Developer Tools

Last but not least, Developer Tools sind hervorragend zum Testen. Natürlich gibt es einige Tools die speziell zum Hacken entwickelt wurden. Proxies sind während Web Application Penetration Tests unerlässlich. Der Trend zu One-Pagern, also Webseiten, die komplett im DOM leben, steigt. Um das DOM zu auditieren, ist die Beherrschung der Developer-Console ein Muss! Zusätzlich kann es praktisch sein, selbst Browser-Apps entwickeln zu können oder Plugins zu programmieren. Allerdings die mächtigste Art clientseitige Funktionen zu testen, ist momentan die Developer Console. Für Tester, welche sich selten in der Developer Console aufhalten, oder diese sogar fürchten, empfehle ich die folgenden zwei Artikel zum Einstieg:

Ich bin nicht der erste der über dieses Thema schreibt. Ein, für mich persönlich, sehr inspirierender Artikel von Security Researcher Andreas Lindh Hacking Open Source software for fun and non-profit betrachtet das Thema aus der Perspektive des Operating.

Für Einsteiger im Bereich Offensive Security sind die Beiträge von dem belgischen Researcher corelan How to become a pentester und So, you want to work in security? von Security Engineer Parisa Tabriz empfehlenswert. In beiden Artikeln ist Programmieren ebenfalls ein Thema.

Fazit

Programmieren erlernen sollte für jeden angehenden Penetration Tester ein Ziel sein. Programmieren ermöglicht sich in Entwickler besser hineinzudenken, deren Tools als Angriffswerkzeuge zu verwenden, Findings nicht zu überbewerten und Sicherheit auch durch Patches zu verbessern.

Über den Autor

Veit Hailperin

Veit Hailperin arbeitet seit 2010 im Bereich der Informationssicherheit. Seine Forschung konzentriert sich auf Network und Application Layer Security sowie auf den Schutz der Privatsphäre. Die Resultate präsentiert er an Konferenzen.

Links

Sie wollen die Sicherheit Ihrer Firewall prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Crypto-Malware

Crypto-Malware

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv