Using the NIST CSF for a Rapid Security Assessment

Using the NIST CSF for a Rapid Security Assessment

Rocco Gagliardi
by Rocco Gagliardi
time to read: 5 minutes

An Information Technology Security Assessment is a set of methods, procedures, and documents to find vulnerabilities and risks in an organization and assure that adequate security controls are well managed. Does it mean that you can walk through a company, fill a questionnaire, and write something in a fancy form?

Not really. Assessing an object is basically an easy job: Execute a check-list and confirm if it’s compliant or not. But what if the object is a complex organization and you don’t have months of time?

Many tools exist to support the auditor in his job; my favorite, with an optimal balance between complexity and completeness, is the NIST Cybersecurity Framework, or NIST-CSF.

The NIST Cyber Security Framework

CSF was originally built to provide guidance of critical enterprises. However, the contents of the NIST CSF are applicable to any firm, business, and enterprise with an interest in its own cybersecurity.

The CSF includes implementation tiers that support a high-level measurement of organizational cybersecurity and create a view of security that is measurable and organized by risk.

The five framework core functions are explained below. These functions are not intended to form a serial path, or lead to a static desired end state. Rather, the functions can be performed concurrently and continuously to form an operational culture that addresses the dynamic cybersecurity risk.

The NIST Cybersecurity Framework

Rapid Security Assessment (RSA)

A security assessment is a long sequence of reading documents, decoding infrastructure and processes, identification of gap between the list of controls in place and those required by legal or technical standards, checking if the process are in place and well managed, checking if the systems are configured as documented, documenting the differences, and reporting them. Even the sampling check and documentation of a single server may take days.

In most case, however, for an identification of the problem areas it is not necessary to go deep since first meeting. It is useful to quickly check different aspects of the organization and, with experience, it is possible to drive the corrective action plan in an efficient manner. But, if you are quick, you are also prone to errors. During assessment you are normally finger-pointing at people and this may have consequences on those people, not always enjoyable.

The assessment must be rapid but also complete and coherent, and the results must be measurable.

We try to measure the quantity and the quality of the controls in place with following steps:

Rapid Security Assessment

Not Everyone Likes the Rainbow

Once a lot of information are collected, it is time to analyze them and prioritize problems. How to assign a G-Y-R code to each inspected control and measure the result? The NIST-CSF has a lot of controls, and not every organization has the resource to manage them.

We decided to set the absolute minimum at the CIS Critical Security Controls. The CIS-CSC are a recommended set of actions for cyber defense that provide specific and actionable ways to stop today’s most pervasive and dangerous attacks.

Mapping the CIS-CSC to NIST-CSF, makes possible to separate the performance of each control in the NIST-CSF in different areas:

Defined the metric, with some code and database relations, it is possible to get values/trends/performances from the data, and support our judgment with a more solid and understandable reason.

Here some examples of figures extracted:

RSA Analysis

Summary

A security assessment is a long sequence of actions that may take a lot of resource to produce results. Assessing a company is a complex and delicate problem, involving not only technical but also human aspects. We developed the rapid security assessment to produce fast and reliable results to help organizations to efficiently drive investments and efforts and to make the right tactic and strategic decision to improve they security posture.

About the Author

Rocco Gagliardi

Rocco Gagliardi has been working in IT since the 1980s and specialized in IT security in the 1990s. His main focus lies in network routing, firewalling and log management.

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Office 365 Teams Security

Office 365 Teams Security

Rocco Gagliardi

Phishing Protection

Phishing Protection

Rocco Gagliardi

Logging

Logging

Rocco Gagliardi

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Rapid Security Assessments mittels NIST CSF

Rapid Security Assessments mittels NIST CSF

Rocco Gagliardi
von Rocco Gagliardi
am 24. November 2016
Lesezeit: 6 Minuten

Ein Information Technology Security Assessment ist eine Sammlung von Methoden, Prozeduren und Dokumenten, um Schwachstellen und Risiken innerhalb einer Organisation sowie der schon eingebrachten Controls ausfindig zu machen. Bedeutet dies, dass wir gemütlich durch das Unternehmen spazieren und zwischendurch den Fragenkatalog ausfüllen können?

Nicht wirklich. Die Analyse eines Objekts ist zwar grundsätzlich eine einfache Tätigkeit: Anhand einer Checkliste die Richtigkeit der Prüfpunkte identifizieren. Doch viele Objekte sind sehr komplex und in umso komplexere Umgebungen eingebettet. Normalerweise hat man aber nicht Monate zur Verfügung, um die entsprechende Analyse voranzutreiben.

Es existieren viele verschiedene Werkzeuge, die einen Auditor bei seiner Arbeit unterstützen können. Mein bevorzugtes Mittel, es bietet die optimale Balance zwischen Komplexität und Komplettheit, ist das NIST Cybersecurity Framework (NIST-CSF).

Das NIST Cyber Security Framework

CSF wurde ursprünglich entwickelt, um exponierten Unternehmen zur Verfügung zu stehen. Der Inhalt des Frameworks ist aber grundsätzlich für jede Organisation anwendbar, die sich um das Thema Cybersecurity bemüht.

Das CSF beinhaltet Implementation Tiers, das eine übersichtliche Messung der organisatorischen Cybersecurity erlaubt und damit die Sicht auf die Sicherheit messbar und nach Risiken sortiert ermöglicht.

Die fünf Framework Core Functions werden unten aufgezeigt. Diese Funktionen sind nicht streng linear anzuwenden. Sie führen ebenso nicht zu einem strengen statischen Resultat. Stattdessen können diese Funktionen parallel und zeitgleich durchgeführt werden, um mit hoher Dynamik dem Thema Cybersecurity zu begegnen.

Das NIST Cybersecurity Framework

Rapid Security Assessment (RSA)

Ein Security Assessment besteht aus dem Lesen verschiedener Dokument, dem Verstehen der Infrastruktur und der zugrunde liegenden Prozesse, der Identifikation der Abweichungen der vorgesehenen und etablierten Controls, der Prüfung der Etablierung der beschriebenen Prozesse und der Dokumentation sowie Rapportierung der Unterschiede. Selbst die allgemeine Prüfung eines einzelnen Servers kann mehrere Tage in Anspruch nehmen.

In vielen Fällen ist zur Identifikation von Schwachstellen kein umfangreiches Vorgehen erforderlich. Mit der entsprechenden Erfahrung können punktuelle Prüfungen durchgeführt und so sehr schnell erste Resultate herauskristallisiert werden. Doch wenn man zügig arbeitet, erhöht sich das Risiko für Fehler. Während eines Assessments zeigt man gut und gerne mit dem Finger auf die Fehler anderer Leute und die damit einhergehenden Konsequenzen können nicht immer nur schön sein.

Das Assessment muss zwar schnell vonstattengehen – Es muss aber auch komplett und konsistent ausfallen, während die Resultate messbar bleiben.

Wir messen deshalb den Umfang und die Qualität der geprüften Controls wie folgt:

Rapid Security Assessment

Nicht alle mögen den Regenbogen

Nachdem sämtliche Informationen gesammelt wurden, müssen diese analysiert und priorisiert werden. Dabei gilt es den G-Y-R Code zu jedem einzelnen Control zu bestimmen und das Resultat zu messen. In NIST-CSF finden sich verschiedene Controls, wobei nicht jedes Unternehmen alle diese im Einsatz hat.

Wir haben uns entschiedenen, ein absolutes Minimum der CIS Critical Security Controls einzusetzen. Die CIS-CSC stellen ein empfohlenes Set an Aktionen bereit, die konkret auf heutige Gefahren anwendbar sind.

Das Zuweisen von CIS-CSC zu NIST-CSF macht es möglich, die Performance eines jeden Controls innerhalb von NIST-CSF zu bestimmen:

Dank dieser Metrik und dem Verknüpfen der Resultate wird es möglich, Werte, Trends und Performances in den Daten zu erkennen. Dies unterstützt die Entscheidung mit konkreten Daten.

Hier einige Beispiele, wie sie extrapoliert werden können:

RSA Analyse

Zusammenfassung

Ein Security Assessment ist eine Verkettung verschiedener Aufgaben. Dabei ist die Prüfung eines Unternehmens eine sehr komplexe und schwierige Angelegenheit, die sowohl technisches Verständnis als auch zwischenmenschliches Feingefühl erfordert. Wir haben mit dem Rapid Security Assessment eine Methode entwickelt, um diese Arbeit schnell und zuverlässig erledigen zu können. Dadurch können Investitionen und Aufwände minimiert werden, um strategische und taktische Entwicklungen bezüglich der Sicherheit richtig in Position bringen zu können.

Über den Autor

Rocco Gagliardi

Rocco Gagliardi ist seit den 1980er Jahren im Bereich der Informationstechnologie tätig. In den 1990er Jahren hat er sich ganz der Informationssicherheit verschrieben. Die Schwerpunkte seiner Arbeit liegen im Bereich Routing, Firewalling und Log Management.

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Schutz vor Phishing

Schutz vor Phishing

Rocco Gagliardi

Logging

Logging

Rocco Gagliardi

IT Security Policies

IT Security Policies

Rocco Gagliardi

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv