Rapid Risk Assessment - Analysis of Active Directory Services

Rapid Risk Assessment

Analysis of Active Directory Services

Andrea Covello
by Andrea Covello
on February 16, 2017
time to read: 9 minutes

In my work as security consultant I’m involved in security architecture reviews and assessments. They are sometimes limited on single application other times it may involve the whole DMZ implementation or a complex framework. The goal is to evaluate the risks and propose strategies to mitigate them. But as in real life, seldom the analyzed assets are isolated from the environment. That’s why we need to define scopes to limit effort and costs, but sometimes it just doesn’t feel right. Imagine a security review/assessment of an application/service that is integrated within the Active Directory Services (ADS): How can I provide conclusive results without assessing the ADS architecture & concepts?

Role of Active Directory

Unless you’re not on a complete non-Windows environment, you have to deal with ADS – In my 20+ years of Cybersecurity services I’ve seen very few environments that didn’t. ADS is almost omnipresent and plays a central role not only in authentication. My first question on such assessment usually is: “What happens when the ADS is down?” Most people answer that the ADS is redundant and high-available and in turn I say: “Well, I didn’t speak of server disruption, I meant – what if the AD is malfunctioning, corrupted or just not available – How will your business process be affected?” Usually at this stage most people realize the impact. The network may be up and running, the storage services available and even the virtual or physical infrastructure (VDI, servers, workstations) working and still you may not be able to access your workstation, check for your email.

Rapid Risk Assessment

The ADS is a critical target, by now you’ll agree that that the Cybersecurity posture of the ADS will affect any application or solution that relies on it, therefore we always suggest to also reviewing the ADS implementation for cybersecurity risks. Still, there is an issue: Normally an ADS assessment would require at least 5 days effort. You see the problem on hitting the budget.

Therefore we came with a different approach: Adapting the NIST Cybersecurity Framework for our Risk Assessment. The CSF approach is explained in this picture:

NIST CSF Lifecycle

Security is a process: It starts with the identification of our critical assets and its related governance, going further to implementing controls to protect and detect cybersecurity events, and (to complete the cycle) you’ll need to have procedures and processes to respond during and recover after cybersecurity events. Our Rapid Risk Assessment is following this schema to establish information about the security controls available in each area and its maturity level.

To achieve the time-frame restriction the assessment is mainly based on interviews with ADS key stake holders and on automated information gathering (using scripted tools). Those steps should gave enough information to be analyzed and documented in 2 days.

ADS Security Categories

Following categories will be of interest when assessing the Active Directory Security Controls:

Category Subcategories CSF Area
Risk AssessmentBusiness Impact Analysis, Data Classification, Infrastructure Impact AnalysisIDENTIFY
Architecture DesignTopology, Forest, Domain, Site, DC, FSMO, DNS, ClientsIDENTIFY
Extended ServicesCertificate, Federation, Rights Management (DRM)IDENTIFY
IntegrationExchange, Skype (UC), Sharepoint, Hyper-VIDENTIFY
AuthenticationLocal, Remote, PrivilegedPROTECT
AdministrationLocal, Remote, Service ProvidersPROTECT
Group PoliciesDesign, Testing, OperationPROTECT
System HardeningBaseline, Firewall, Integrity CheckPROTECT
Client AccessLocal, Remote, Service ProvidersPROTECT
Protocol EncryptionLDAP, Global Catalog, Kerberos, SMB PROTECT
Life-CyclePatching, Change-Management, BackupPROTECT
Logging & AuditPolicies, Collection, Archiving, NormalizationDETECTION
MonitoringNetwork Monitoring, Intrusion Detection, Security Monitoring, Vulnerability Management DETECTION
Incident Response ManagementADS Process & ProceduresRESPONSE
ADS RecoveryObject Restore, Function Restore, CA Certificate Restore, ADS Disaster RecoveryRECOVER

The ADS assessment will analyze each category and report a risk level based of the information gathered during the process. Key effort of this approach is to understand the avenues for establishing a healthy ADS, implementing monitoring systems, reducing the attack surface and managing a resilient environment.

Execution and Deliverables

To give a rough figure of the required efforts, this table will give you a quick overview:

Effort What Note
3hInterview with key stakeholdersPlanned initial 2h interview – 1h as contingency and further clarification
1hRequest for ADS configuration & documentation Export GPO from DC & clients – Get available documentation
4hAutomated AD information gatheringRequires a windows workstation with read privileges to the AD and a running PowerShell environment, to run our scripts
4hData AnalysisWhere the magic happens… ;)
4hReportingFill the issues on a predefined Template

Now an overview on the deliverables, this is how the report may looks like in the overall survey matrix:

Rapid Security Assessment ADS Overview

And this is how a finding may look like:

Rapid Security Assessment ADS Finding

Conclusion

The Rapid Risk Assessment approach will not find all possible issues inside your ADS, but will surely point you in the right direction and highlight major gap that may harm your environment. Probably the final results would recommend investing more time in a specific category inspection, but at least you’ll spend precious time and resources in the most effective way.

About the Author

Andrea Covello

Andrea Covello has been working in information security since the 1990s. His strengths are in engineering, specializing in Windows security, firewalling and advanced virtualization.

Links

You want to test the security of your firewall?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

Online Tracking

Online Tracking

Ralph Meier

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Andrea Hauser

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Rapid Risk Assessment - Analyse von Active Directory Services

Rapid Risk Assessment

Analyse von Active Directory Services

Andrea Covello
von Andrea Covello
am 16. Februar 2017
Lesezeit: 9 Minuten

Während meiner Arbeit als Security Consultant bin ich in verschiedenen Security Architecture Reviews und Assessments involviert. In manchen Fällen sind sie auf eine einzelne Applikation fokussiert – In anderen werden ganze DMZ-Implementationen oder breitflächige Frameworks untersucht. Das Ziel ist jeweils, die Risiken zu erkennen und eine Strategie zur Adressierung dieser zusammenzutragen. Die einzelnen Ziele werden dabei vom Umfeld losgelöst untersucht. Aus diesem Grund benötigen wir Scope-Definitionen, um den Aufwand und die Kosten einzuschränken. Doch das führt oftmals dazu, dass sich ein Projekt nicht richtig anfühlt. Stellen Sie sich ein Security Review/Assessment der Applikationen/Dienste an, die über Active Directory Services (ADS) angebunden sind: Wie können da konklusive Resultate hervorgebracht werden, ohne die Architektur und das Konzept des ADS zu berücksichtigen?

Rolle des Active Directory

Nur falls es sich wirklich um eine reine Nicht-Windows-Umgebung handelt, kann man auf eine Interaktivität mit ADS verzichten – In meiner mehr als zwanzig jährigen Tätigkeit im Bereich Cybersecurity habe ich nur sehr selten eine solche Ausnahme angetroffen. ADS ist allgegenwärtig und spielt eine zentrale Rolle, nicht nur wenn es um Authentisierung geht. Meine erste Frage ist sodann: “Was passiert, wenn das ADS nicht verfügbar ist?” Die meisten Kunden antworten, dass das ADS redundant ausgelegt und damit hochverfügbar ist. Im Gegenzug frage ich weiter: “Klar, aber was ich meinte ist, dass das AD nicht richtig funktioniert, die Daten korrupt oder nicht vorhanden sind – Welchen Einfluss hat dies auf die Geschäftsprozesse?” Spätestens hier realisieren meine Gesprächspartner die Tragweite eines solchen Szenarios. Das Netzwerk mag zwar verfügbar sein, die Speicherdienste ebenfalls und die virtuelle oder physische Infrastruktur (VDI, Server, Workstations) ebenso. Und trotzdem könnte es sein, dass kein Zugriff auf die Arbeitsplatzrechner möglich ist, um Emails zu bearbeiten.

Rapid Risk Assessment

Das ADS ist ein kritisches Ziel, denn Sie werden mir beipflichten, dass eine Einwirkung darauf direkten Einfluss auf andere Applikationen und Lösungen haben kann. Aus diesem Grund empfehlen wir immer, das ADS im Rahmen einer Sicherheitsüberprüfung mit zu berücksichtigen. Dies führt aber ein neues Problem ein: Normalerweise benötigt ein ADS Assessment mindestens 5 Tage Aufwand. Die Auswirkungen auf das Budget sind nicht unbedingt wünschenswert.

Aus diesem Grund verfolgen wir einen etwas anderen Ansatz: Wir adaptieren das NIST Cybersecurity Framework für unsere Zwecke. Die Herangehensweise sieht wie folgt aus:

NIST CSF Lifecycle

Sicherheit ist ein Prozess. Zu Beginn geht es darum, die kritischen Assets und die zugewiesenen Anforderungen zu identifizieren (Identification). Es werden Controls implementiert, um diese zu schützen (Protect) und Cybersecurity-Ereignisse zu erkennen (Detect). Und um den Kreis wieder zu schliessen, muss auf diese reagiert (Respond) und die Sicherheit wiederhergestellt (Recover) werden. Unser Rapid Risk Assessment folgt diesem Ansatz, indem es die für die Sicherheit zuständigen Controls auf ihre Maturität hin analysiert.

Um die zeitliche Eingrenzung zu berücksichtigen, fusst das Assessment in erster Linie auf Interviews mit den ADS Key Stake Holders sowie automatisierter Datenanalyse (wir nutzen entsprechende Tools). Dieser Ansatz verspricht, dass eine Datensammlung und Auswertung innert 2 Tagen durchgeführt werden kann.

ADS Sicherheitskategorien

Die folgenden Kategorien sind von Interesse, wenn die Controls eines Active Directory untersucht werden:

Kategorie Unterkategorie CSF
RisikobeurteilungBusiness Impact Analyse, Datenklassifizierung, Infrastruktur Impact AnalyseIDENTIFY
ArchitekturdesignTopologie, Forest, Domain, Site, DC, FSMO, DNS, ClientsIDENTIFY
Erweiterte DiensteZertifikate, Federation, Rights Management (DRM)IDENTIFY
IntegrationExchange, Skype (UC), Sharepoint, Hyper-VIDENTIFY
AuthentisierungLokal, remote, priviligiertPROTECT
AdministrationLokal, Remote, Service ProvidersPROTECT
GruppenrichtlinienDesign, Testing, OperationPROTECT
System HardeningBaseline, Firewall, IntegritätsprüfungPROTECT
ClientzugriffLokal, Remote, Service ProvidersPROTECT
ProtokollverschlüsselungLDAP, Global Catalog, Kerberos, SMB PROTECT
Life-CyclePatching, Change-Management, BackupPROTECT
Logging & AuditPolicies, Sammlung, Archivierung, NormalisierungDETECTION
MonitoringNetzwerkmonitoring, Intrusion Detection, Security Monitoring, Vulnerability Management DETECTION
Incident Response ManagementADS Prozesse & ProzedurenRESPONSE
ADS WiederherstellungObject-Wiederherstellung, Funktions-Wiederherstellung, CA Zertifikats-Wiederherstellung, ADS Disaster RecoveryRECOVER

Das ADS Assessment wird jede einzelne Kategorie untersuchen und in einem Bericht das identifizierte Risiko ausweisen. Hauptziel bei dieser Arbeit ist zu verstehen, was zur Umsetzung eines gesunden ADS erforderlich ist, wie das Monitoring implementiert werden muss und wie die Angriffsfläche sowie der Verwaltungsaufwand reduziert werden kann.

Durchführung und Abgabedokumente

Die folgende Tabelle gibt einen kurzen Überblick darüber, mit welchem Aufwand zu rechnen ist:

Aufwand Was Bemerkungen
3hInterview mit Key Stakeholder2h erstes Interview – 1h weitere Diskussionen und Abklärungen
1hAnfrage für ADS Konfiguration & Dokumentation Export GPO der DC & Clients – Erhalt der verfügbaren Dokumentation
4hAutomatische Datensammlung im ADErfordert eine Windows-Workstation mit Leserechten im AD und Ausführrechte für Powershell-Skripte
4hDatenanalyseWhere the magic happens… ;)
4hReportingDokumentation der Resultate in den vorgesehenen Vorlagen

Nun eine Betrachtung der Abgabedokumente. So sieht die Übersicht der geprüften Punkte eines ADS aus:

Rapid Security Assessment ADS Übersicht

Ein Finding wird in der folgenden Form dokumentiert:

Rapid Security Assessment ADS Details

Fazit

Der Ansatz des Rapid Risk Assessment ist nicht in der Lage, alle möglichen Schwachstellen in einem ADS zu finden. Er hilft aber dabei, in die richtige Richtung zu zeigen und die offensichtlichen Schwächen in einer Umgebung identifizieren zu lassen. In der Regel erfordert das Resultat, dass weitere Abklärungen in Bezug auf eine bestimmte Kategorie vorgenommen werden wollen. Dadurch kann gewährleistet werden, dass Zeit und Ressourcen möglichst zielgerichtet eingesetzt werden.

Über den Autor

Andrea Covello

Andrea Covello ist seit den 1990er Jahren im Bereich der Informationssicherheit tätig. Seine Schwerpunkte liegen traditionell im Engineering, wobei er als Spezialist im Bereich Windows-Sicherheit, Firewalling und Virtualisierung gilt.

Links

Sie wollen die Sicherheit Ihrer Firewall prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv