Bluetooth - Low Energy and High Visibility

Bluetooth

Low Energy and High Visibility

Eleanore Young
by Eleanore Young
on March 16, 2017
time to read: 5 minutes

Since the adoption of the Bluetooth specification 4 in 2010, the Bluetooth Low Energy (BTLE) subset has become practically universal in all electronic devices from smartphones to medical devices. The major advantage over previous Bluetooth specifications and other communication protocols is that communicating over BTLE requires practically no energy and certain devices can be powered by cell batteries for multiple years. This has made BTLE particulary popular in the world of the Internet of Things, and one of the principal reasons for its introduction was to enable convenient communication with a wider than traditional range of electronic devices such as head phones, heart rate monitors, and smart home devices such as the oft-cited refrigerator.

The Network

In the BTLE network, there are two principal roles of communication, the Central and the Peripheral role (there are two more, but we’ll ignore them for now). The Central role is commonly filled by devices with larger batteries and more processing power (ex. smartphones), while the Peripheral role pertains to sensors, audio devices, location or time providers. Peripherals usually have a very limited set of functionalities and cannot establish connections on their own.

Peripherals are set up such that they periodically send out very short messages, so-called advertisements. These advertisements are sent usually every 120 ms and contain at most 31 bytes of data. Advertisements will tell other devices about how to reach the Peripheral, what its name is, and what services it provides, among other things. A typical advertisement will look as follows:

<Connectability indicator><Address type><Bluetooth address>[<Advertisement type><Advertisement data>, . . . ]

Each advertisement contains one or more data blocks. These blocks contain a list of services, service data, the device name, or vendor-specific data.

Tracking Devices

Due to the fact that these advertisements are sent in the clear, the Bluetooth consortium has introduced the ability for vendors to generate random device addresses that may be re-generated at regular intervals. This should ensure that a device remains identifiable via BTLE only for a short time. However, this renewal interval is chosen by the vendor, and some vendors will choose not to renew the address at all. So, while the aforementioned Address type may be set to Random Device Address, the address may still remain unchanged for a particular device, and thus cause the device to be identifiable indefinitely.

Apple is known to change their addresses about every 15 minutes, but Fitbit for example used to change their device addresses less than once per day or not at all. Even given a fifteen-minute renewal interval, this still means that a device will send out about 7500 advertisement messages before it changes its address. Depending on the content, that’s a lot of data.

Thus, it is still conceivable to track BTLE devices to a certain extent, and longer if the advertisement data is used as a fingerprint.

But advertising data can also be used to gather information about a device, because they routinely include the vendor ID (ex. Apple Inc.) as well as being connectable without the need for pairing. Connecting to devices often reveals the device name (ex. iPhone) and additional version information (ex. iPhone8.1).

What sets BTLE apart from tracking via WiFi or other communication channels, is that the upfront investment is essentially none. Under current Linux, the kernel and accompanying libraries provide easy access to most Bluetooth hardware, and can be used with a very wide range of easily available hardware such as a Raspberry Pi. The example utility at our Git repository performs a passive scan for all nearby BTLE devices and attempts to calculate a simple fingerprint of these devices.

# python3 main.py
0130855d15f06f, [Flags:06][AppleInc:ManufacturerSpecificData:10020b00] – -85 dBa, ConnectableDirectedAdvertising
010c0554a664c2, [Flags:04][IncompleteListOf128BitServiceClassUUIDs:ba5689a6fabfa2bd01467d6e00fbabad][ServiceData16BitUUID:0a181204a5850000] – -86 dBa, ConnectableDirectedAdvertising
011c890c768857, [Flags:1a][CompleteListOf16BitServiceClassUUIDs:[‘Next DST Change Service’, ‘Current Time Service’, ‘Reference Time Update Service’]][CompleteLocalName:54696d65] – -63 dBa, ConnectableDirectedAdvertising

Just in December of 2016, the Bluetooth Consortium adopted the new Bluetooth specification 5 and they claim to have further increased the security of the Low Energy protocol. We’ll see in the following years how this will play out, particularly with regards to the world of the Internet of Things.

About the Author

Eleanore Young

Eleanore Young has completed her master degree in electrical engineering and information technology in 2014 at ETH Zurich. Her areas of focus include computer architectures, operating systems and applied research.

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

Online Tracking

Online Tracking

Ralph Meier

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Andrea Hauser

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Bluetooth - Low Energy und leicht sichtbar

Bluetooth

Low Energy und leicht sichtbar

Eleanore Young
von Eleanore Young
am 16. März 2017
Lesezeit: 5 Minuten

Seit der Einführung der Bluetooth Spezifikation 4 im Jahr 2010, ist der Unterstandart Bluetooth Low Energy (BTLE) zu beinahe universeller Präsenz in elektronischen Geräten von Smart Phones bis Medizinalgeräten herangewachsen. Der hauptsächliche Vorteil von BTLE im Vergleich zu klassischem Bluetooth oder anderen Kommunikationsmethoden ist der geringe Energieverbrauch für darüber kommunizierende Geräte. Für einige Geräte reicht bereits eine Knopfzellenbatterie, um sie für mehrere Jahre zu betreiben. Dies führte dazu, dass BTLE besonders in der Welt des Internet of Things Beliebtheit erlangte. Tatsächlich ist einer der Hauptgründe für die Einführung des Standards, die Kommunikation zwischen Geräten diverser Art wie Kopfhörer, Pulsmessgeräten und dem weit bekannten “intelligenten” Kühlschrank zu ermöglichen.

Das Netzwerk

Im BTLE Netzwerk wurden zwei Hauptrollen, Central und Peripheral, definiert. Es gibt zwei weitere, diese lassen wir hier jedoch aus. Die Central Rolle wird üblicherweise von Geräten mit grösseren Batterien und mehr Rechenleistung übernommen (z.B. Smartphones), während die Peripheral Rolle eher von kleineren Geräten wie Kopfhörer, Orts- oder Zeitdiensten und Sensoren ausgeführt wird. Peripheral Geräte besitzen meist einen limitierten Funktionsumfang und sie können selbst keine Verbindungen zu anderen Geräten erstellen.

Peripheral Geräte verhalten sich so, dass sie in regelmässigen Abständen sehr kurze Nachrichten, sogenannte Advertisements, versenden. Diese Advertisements werden ca. alle 120 ms verschickt und können maximal 31 Bytes an Daten enthalten. Advertisements enthalten Informationen über das Peripheral Gerät, wie es zu erreichen ist und welche Dienste es anbietet. Ein Advertisement besitzt folgende Struktur:

<Connectability indicator><Address type><Bluetooth address>[<Advertisement type><Advertisement data>, . . . ]

Jedes Advertisement enthält mindestens einen Datenblock. Diese Datenblöcke enthalten wiederum eine Liste der angebotenen Dienste, Dienstdaten, den Namen des Geräts oder Hersteller-spezifische Daten.

Tracking von Geräten

Aufgrund der Tatsache, dass Advertisements unverschlüsselt übermittelt werden, entschied das Bluetooth Konsortium eine zufällige Geräteadresse einzuführen, die in definierten Intervallen neu generiert werden kann. Dies soll sicherstellen, dass BTLE Geräte nur für eine beschränkte Zeit eindeutig identifizierbar sind. Dieses Erneuerungsintervall wird jedoch von den Herstellern selbst definiert und einige entscheiden sich dafür, die Adresse nie zu erneuern. Somit enthält ein Advertisement zwar den Address type Klassifizierer Random Device Address, dafür bleibt das Gerät trotzdem eindeutig identifizierbar, weil sich die Adresse nie ändert.

Apple erneuert bekannterweise deren Geräteadressen ca. alle 15 Minuten, Fitbit als gegensätzliches Beispiel erneuerte früher ihre Geräteadressen weniger als einmal pro Tag oder gar nie. Doch auch ein Erneuerungsintervall von 15 Minuten bedeutet, dass das Gerät ca. 7500 Advertisements versendet, bevor die Adresse erneuert wird. Das ist eine grosse Datenmenge!

Auf diese Weise ist es trotzdem vorstellbar, dass BTLE Geräte getrackt werden können. Länger noch, wenn die Advertisement Daten verwendet werden, um einen Fingerprint zu errechnen.

Die Advertisement Daten können aber auch dazu verwendet werden, Informationen über ein Gerät zu sammeln. So enthalten die Daten gewöhnlich eine Referenz zum Hersteller (z.B. Apple Inc.) und akzeptieren Verbindungen ohne vorheriges Pairing. Aktive Verbindungen liefern zusätzliche Informationen über das Gerät, wie zum Beispiel dessen Namen (iPhone) und Versionsinformationen (iPhone8.1).

Was BTLE von anderen Kommunikationsmethoden wie WiFi abhebt, ist die minimal erforderliche Investition, um Geräte zu verfolgen. Unter aktuellen Linuxversionen stellen der Kernel und angehängte Bibliotheken diverse Zugriffsmethoden auf Bluetooth Hardware zur Verfügung. Zudem eignen sich sehr günstige Geräte wie z.B. das Raspberry Pi bereits für den vorliegenden Zweck. Beispielsweise sucht unsere Utility auf unserer Git Repository passiv nach BTLE Geräten und versucht diese zu tracken.

# python3 main.py
0130855d15f06f, [Flags:06][AppleInc:ManufacturerSpecificData:10020b00] – -85 dBa, ConnectableDirectedAdvertising
010c0554a664c2, [Flags:04][IncompleteListOf128BitServiceClassUUIDs:ba5689a6fabfa2bd01467d6e00fbabad][ServiceData16BitUUID:0a181204a5850000] – -86 dBa, ConnectableDirectedAdvertising
011c890c768857, [Flags:1a][CompleteListOf16BitServiceClassUUIDs:[‘Next DST Change Service’, ‘Current Time Service’, ‘Reference Time Update Service’]][CompleteLocalName:54696d65] – -63 dBa, ConnectableDirectedAdvertising

Im Dezember 2016 veröffentlichte das Bluetooth Konsortium die neue Bluetooth Spezifikation 5, in welcher sie den Anspruch nach verbesserter Sicherheit gegenüber der vorangehenden Spezifikation stellen. Wir werden wohl in den nächsten Jahren sehen, wie sich diese neue Version auf die Welt des Internet of Things auswirkt.

Über die Autorin

Eleanore Young

Eleanore Young hat ihren Master in Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnologie im Jahr 2014 an der ETH Zürich abgeschlossen. Zu ihren Fachgebieten gehören Rechnerarchitekturen, Betriebssysteme sowie angewandte Forschung.

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Crypto-Malware

Crypto-Malware

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv