Corporate, IT and Security Governance - The Basics

Corporate, IT and Security Governance

The Basics

Flavio Gerbino
by Flavio Gerbino
on April 06, 2017
time to read: 10 minutes

Anyone who uses the term governance is throwing around a powerful word. The concept was established in corporate management a long time ago. Within the context of crises and crisis management, governance as a general term has been used since the 1990s to refer to the principles of responsible corporate management and monitoring geared towards long-term value creation. This ongoing discussion about the fundamental principles of sustainable business, which started in the United States and which generally gains in intensity in the wake of company bankruptcies, has become a fashionable topic for debate of late (think of the economic and financial crisis that began in 2008). And governance remains a buzzword today. Nevertheless, it is unfortunately still not exactly clear what aspects the main categories of governance, IT governance and security governance actually cover. A similar uncertainty prevails in the frequent reports on issues of risk management, compliance, and information security.

Systematic and well-integrated governance, risk, compliance and security management incorporate the following factors:

We will now assess these factors in terms of effective control and regulation systems of capital market-oriented companies, a central theme when it comes to responsible, transparent, efficient and secure business management. These factors further break down into the following related areas:

The most basic principles here are, in simple terms:

Multifaceted concepts

So governance is a term that, depending on the thematic underpinnings and professional discipline in question, may be understood in different ways. To better understand what governance means from the perspective of information security, one should bring to mind the many aspects of corporate governance, IT governance and security governance:

Governance

On the most abstract level, one might say that governance encompasses responsible, sustainable organization geared towards long-term value creation and steering of activities and therefore the entire system of internal and external performance, control and monitoring mechanisms.

IT governance

Consensus on a definition for IT governance is harder, because it is unfortunately impossible to determine whether a singular definition has already been established. However, there is a tendency towards a common understanding, which can be described as follows:

One might then also derive a common basic understanding for IT governance that encompasses the organization, steering and monitoring of a company’s IT resources to ensure the consistent alignment of IT processes with the corporate strategy. Like the company’s governance, IT should ultimately be integrated into a uniform framework that is in line with the company’s business interests and that defines guidelines and standards.

Security governance

So what does this mean for information security and the need for security governance?

Security governance is most easily defined in terms of information security objectives; that is, how does security governance contribute to information security? (Source: IT Governance Institute (ITGI) – ISACA):

Security governance is thus directly aligned with a company’s information security strategy, thereby establishing the foundation for managing activities in the area of information security. Only in this way is it possible to effectively and efficiently implement information security requirements that are fully in line with a company’s processes.

For this reason information security governance must ultimately aim not only at ensuring IT dependability in a management context (while observing information security management requirements), but must also ensure the controllability, per se, of information technologies.

Accordingly, security governance is a set of clear responsibilities, practices, and principles that are used by the certified information security officer (CISO) and managers to set out strategic goals. This should also ensure effective fulfillment of information security targets. Additionally, there is a need to ensure that risks are managed properly and that a company’s resources are used responsibly.

The CISO shapes effective security governance

First and foremost, overlap between corporate, IT, and security governance and the interfaces with risk, compliance, and information security management must be clearly identified, delineated, and structured to allow a view of the big picture. For company management, the CIO and the CISO, this requires a common understanding of the concept.

The CISO has a key role in the development of security governance practices. The CISO’s management tool is the Security Board, which enables effective development information security throughout the organization. The CISO sees to it that his or her security process is put into practice, and has the following responsibilities (source: IT Governance Institute – ITGI):

Here, the CISO should also ask the following high-level questions:

The CISO should also be able to assess the company’s business model with respect to consequences for its IT and information security:

The CISO must spell out what governance means within the company:

Conclusion

In terms of information security management, security governance encompasses the role of managing planning processes and aims to achieve harmony between the corporate culture, organizational principles, and the actual organizational structure within the company, as well as addressing specific opportunities and technical topics that IT and information security require to handle the market requirements of the industry.

This offers the following advantages:

Above all, highly regulated industries that may not immediately recognize the positive impact the many new regulations and stricter requirements might have on business must set about creating efficient governance structures. Introducing mechanisms and meeting standards costs money, but those who take the trouble to systemically establish governance in coordination with these mechanisms and standards will discover the long-term, value-oriented prospects that security governance management offers.

About the Author

Flavio Gerbino

Flavio Gerbino has been in information security since the late 1990s. His main areas of expertise in cybersecurity are the organizational and conceptual security of a company.

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
OTPs as Second Factor

OTPs as Second Factor

Mark Zeman

JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Corporate-, IT- und Security Governance - Die Grundlagen

Corporate-, IT- und Security Governance

Die Grundlagen

Flavio Gerbino
von Flavio Gerbino
am 06. April 2017
Lesezeit: 10 Minuten

Wer Governance sagt, spricht ein mächtiges Wort gelassen aus. Auf der Ebene der Unternehmensführung hat sich der Begriff schon längst etabliert. Im Kontext von Krisen und Krisenmanagement werden unter dem Oberbegriff Governance bereits seit den 90er Jahren des letzten Jahrhunderts Prinzipien einer verantwortungsvollen, auf langfristige Wertschöpfung ausgerichteten Unternehmensführung und Kontrolle diskutiert. Diese anhaltende Debatte um die Grundprinzipien nachhaltigen Wirtschaftens, die in den USA ihren Beginn nahm und meist nach Unternehmensinsolvenzen in grossem Stil besonders intensiv geführt wurde, ist zu einer Modedebatte geworden (Man denke auch an die Wirtschafts- und Finanzkrise ab 2008). Doch Governance ist nach wie vor ein Modewort. Trotz allem ist leider bis heute nicht wirklich klar, welche Aspekte unter dem Hauptthemen Governance, IT Governance und Security Governance eigentlich subsumiert werden sollten. Ähnliches gilt für die in diesem Kontext immer wieder zu vernehmenden Meldungen zu den Themen Risk Management, Compliance und Informationssicherheit.

Für ein systematisches und gut integriertes Governance-, Risk-, Compliance- und Security-Management zählen folgende Faktoren:

Alle diese Faktoren werden nun im Sinne eines wirksamen Steuerungs- und Regelungssystems kapitalmarktorientierter Unternehmen adressiert und stehen als Leitmotive im Mittelpunkt einer verantwortungsvollen, transparenten, effizienten und sicheren Unternehmensführung und unterteilen sich in diese verwandte Teilbereiche:

Die elementarsten Grundprinzipien sind dabei vereinfacht gesagt

Begriffe mit vielen Gesichtern

Governance ist also im Allgemeinen ein Begriff, der je nach thematischem Hintergrund und fachlicher Disziplin einem anderen Verständnis unterliegen kann. Um die Bedeutung der Governance aus Sicht der Informationssicherheit besser verstehen zu können, sollte man sich die vielen Facetten der Corporate Governance, IT-Governance und Security Governance vorgegenwärtigen:

Governance

Auf abstraktester Ebene könnte man sagen, dass Governance die verantwortungsvolle, nachhaltige und auf langfristige Wertschöpfung gerichtete Organisation und Steuerung von Aktivitäten und damit das gesamte System interner und externer Leistungs-, Kontroll- und Überwachungsmechanismen umfasst.

IT-Governance

In Bezug auf die IT-Governance wird eine breit akzeptierte Begriffsbestimmung schon schwieriger, da man leider nicht feststellen kann, ob sich eine einheitliche Definition etabliert hätte. Allerdings lässt sich eine Tendenz zu einem gemeinsamen Begriffsverständnis feststellen, welche sich durch folgende Eigenschaften charakterisieren:

Daraus könnte man nun auch ein gemeinsames Grundverständnis für IT Governance ableiten, welche die Organisation, Steuerung und Kontrolle der IT eines Unternehmens zur konsequenten Ausrichtung der IT-Prozesse an der Unternehmensstrategie umfasst. Letztendlich soll die IT analog zur Governance des Unternehmens in ein einheitliches Framework eingebunden sein, das sich am Geschäftszweck des Unternehmens orientiert und Leitlinien und Standards setzt.

Security Governance

Was bedeutet dies nun für die Informationssicherheit und die notwendige Security Governance?

Am schnellsten lässt sich die Security Governance anhand der Informationssichetheitsziele ableiten; oder was trägt die Security Governance zur Informationssicherheit bei? (Quelle: IT Governance Institute (ITGI) -ISACA):

Die Security Governance orientiert sich also direkt an der Informationssicherheits-Strategie des Unternehmens und schafft damit die Grundlage, die Aktivitäten im Bereich der Informationssicherheit zu steuern. Erst dadurch wird eine effektive und effiziente Umsetzung der Anforderungen im Bereich der Informationssicherheit möglich, welche die Prozesse des Unternehmens voll unterstützt.

Letztlich ist es daher die Aufgabe der Information Security Governance, im Rahmen der Steuerung nicht nur die Verlässlichkeit der Informationstechnik (unter Beachtung der Vorgaben des Information Security Management), sondern eben auch die Beherrschbarkeit der Informationstechnik per se sicherzustellen.

Security Governance ist demnach ein Satz an klaren Verantwortlichkeiten, Praktiken, Prinzipien, die vom CISO und dem Management eingesetzt werden, um die strategischen Ziele vorzugeben. Damit soll sichergestellt werden, dass die Zielvorgaben auch von der Informationssicherheit sinnvoll erreicht werden. Weiterhin soll sichergestellt werden, dass Risiken angemessen gehandhabt und die Ressourcen eines Unternehmens verantwortungsvoll eingesetzt werden.

CISO prägt effiziente Security Governance

In erster Linie müssen die Überlappungen der Corporate-, IT- und Security- Governance und die Schnittstellen zum Thema Risk-, Compliance- und Informationssicherheitsmanagement klar erkannt, abgegrenzt und strukturiert werden, so dass daraus ein Big-Picture entsteht, welches für die Unternehmensleitung, den CIO und CISO auf kollektivem Verständnis fusst.

Der CISO nimmt bei der Ausgestaltung der Security Governance eine Schlüsselrolle ein. Sein Steuerungsinstrument ist das Security Board, welches es ihm ermöglicht, die Informationssicherheit organisationsweit effektiv aufzubauen. Der Manager der Informationssicherheit (CISO) treibt seinen Sicherheits-Prozess voran und ist für Folgendes verantwortlich (Quelle: IT Governance Institute (ITGI)):

Dabei sollte sich der CISO auch folgende High-Level Fragen stellen:

Der CISO sollte auch das Geschäftsmodell des Unternehmens hinsichtlich der Konsequenzen für die IT und die Informationssicherheit beurteilen können:

Der CISO muss die Governance des Unternehmens hell beleuchten:

Fazit

Die Security Governance umfasst im Sinne des Informationssicherheitsmanagements die Rolle der Führung von Gestaltungsprozessen und zielt darauf ab, die Stimmigkeit zwischen der Unternehmenskultur, den Organisationsprinzipien und der tatsächlichen Organisationsstruktur im Unternehmen, sowie den spezifischen Chancen und Fachlichen Themen, welche die IT und Informationssicherheit für die Bewältigung der Marktanforderungen in der Branche benötigt, herzustellen.

Daraus ergeben sich folgende Vorteile:

Vor allem stark regulierte Branchen, die auf den ersten Blick noch nicht erkennen, warum die Vielzahl neuer Regulierungen und strenger Anforderungen eine positive Erfolgswirkung für Unternehmen haben sollte, müssen sich mit der Schaffung effizienter Governance Strukturen auseinandersetzen. Denn die einzuführenden Mechanismen und einzuhaltenden Standards verursachen zwar Kosten. Doch wer die Mühe einer systematischer Ausarbeitung einer darauf abgestimmten Governance macht, offenbart sich auf den zweiten Blick die langfristige, wertorientierte Perspektive eines Security Governance Managements deutlich.

Über den Autor

Flavio Gerbino

Flavio Gerbino ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Bereich der Informationssicherheit tätig. Seine Schwerpunkte liegen im Bereich der strategischen Ausrichtung und des Managements der Sicherheit eines Unternehmens.

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Crypto-Malware

Crypto-Malware

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv