Bluetooth Low Energy - Pairing, GATT and More

Bluetooth Low Energy

Pairing, GATT and More

Eleanore Young
by Eleanore Young
on May 18, 2017
time to read: 6 minutes

In our last article about Bluetooth, we looked at how Bluetooth Low Energy devices advertise themselves to their surroundings. We discovered that the advertising data sometimes contains device names, vendor names, and information about services offered by the device. But we also mentioned that a large number of Bluetooth Low Energy devices can be connected to without pairing. In order to explain the significance of this statement, we first have to look at the concept of pairing and at the benefits of connecting to devices.

Pairing

Pairing is the process of establishing a mutual trust relationship between two devices. Connecting to Bluetooth devices without prior pairing is generally not possible. The Bluetooth pairing process usually requires the participants thereof to ensure that a specifically displayed number is the same on both devices. The goal here is that the device users each confirm the pairing process before it actually happens. This verification number is nowadays usually a six-digit random number, but sometimes it is also just set to 0000, depending on the vendor’s configuration of the devices.

In the background, both Bluetooth devices perform a cryptographic handshake in order to establish an encrypted communication channel between those two devices. After the pairing process, the content of the communication is not visible to others (unless they’ve recorded the handshake). For more information about Bluetooth pairing, please refer to a memo on pairing security published by the Bluetooth consortium.

Since the Bluetooth pairing process requires cryptographic algorithms, and these algorithms are often computationally expensive by design, many Bluetooth Low Energy devices are not powerful enough to perform encryption. As such, much of the communication between these devices is done in the clear, and connections can often be established without pairing.

Connecting and GATT

Upon connecting to a target Bluetooth Low Energy device, the target will provide access to a variety of Generic Attribute Profile Services (GATT). Each service is characterized by a unique identifier, a UUID, and encapsulates a number of GATT Characteristics. Each characteristic in turn is also identified by a UUID, flags such as read or write, and a byte array value. The Bluetooth consortium declared many services and characteristics, but it is also possible for vendors to specify their own. Both the Bluetooth consortium and the BlueZ repository document known services and characteristics. As an example, take the Device Information service, as defined by the Bluetooth consortium, which consists of a total of 8 characteristics, and is accessible without restrictions upon connection:

So, in the concrete example of an iPhone, the Device Information service will display two of the aforementioned characteristics: Manufacturer Name String, and Model Number String. They will Apple Inc. and the device is an iPhone8,1 (the numbers likely refer to the iOS version). But the service is missing some characteristics, and this is crucial; vendors may decide not to provide this information even though the service defines it. But, heck, they might also decide to provide all information, as is the case for a Zebra Technologies printer, which provides a model identifier ZD410, the full (!) device serial number, the firmware revision V77.19.17Z, the hardware revision ZD41022-D0EM00EZ, the software version 3.2 and a Plug-and-Play ID. This information can be an important basis for strategically preparing for attacks on these devices. Due to the fact that many characteristics are writeable, it is conceivable that even device behavior may be modified using the GATT hierarchy.

Analysis with BTLE Sniffer Software

How does this relate to the devices commonly around us? The sniffer presented in the last article about Bluetooth was updated to connect to the discovered devices and now records the GATT hierarchy for each device. Unfortunately, it cannot properly record the values of GATT characteristics yet, but this will be added in the foreseeable future. Issues and pull requests are appreciated!

The sniffer was used to record Bluetooth Low Energy devices in a rather busy area over a period of 15 minutes. From a sample of 356 discovered devices, 157 thereof had a public device name and 185 devices provided a total of 31 unique (12 known) services to others. While many of the Bluetooth Low Energy devices were infrastructure devices with unclear function, only very few were smart phones, and a large proportion of the devices were IoT devices, particularly smart watches and fitness monitors.

Devices commonly identified by their names were Alta, Fitbit, Garmin, and Microsoft smart watches, Bose and Jabra headphones, as well as Estimote iBeacon devices, Apple TV and Apple Pencil. A few devices were ostensibly named after their owners. Most devices provided three services on average. The Device Information service is present on almost all devices. Some particularly salient services were: B&O Play A/S, Heart Rate, Anhu Huami Information Technology Co., Bose Corporation, GoPro, Inc., and Kontakt Micro-Location Sp. z o.o..

With the exception of the Heart Rate service, all of the aforementioned services are vendor-defined. It remains open to speculation, what the specific purposes of these services are, as there is generally no documentation on vendor-defined services. Given what we were able to gather from the Zebra Technologies printer, it is very likely that at least some of these services provide juicy information or even control over the device of some sort.

About the Author

Eleanore Young

Eleanore Young has completed her master degree in electrical engineering and information technology in 2014 at ETH Zurich. Her areas of focus include computer architectures, operating systems and applied research.

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Trustworthy AI

Trustworthy AI

Prisca Quadroni-Renella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Bluetooth Low Energy - Pairing, GATT und mehr

Bluetooth Low Energy

Pairing, GATT und mehr

Eleanore Young
von Eleanore Young
am 18. Mai 2017
Lesezeit: 6 Minuten

In unserem letzten Artikel zu Bluetooth beobachteten wir, wie sich Bluetooth Low Energy Geräte gegenüber anderen Geräten melden. Wir fanden heraus, dass diese Nachrichten (sog. Advertising Data) zum Teil Gerätenamen, Herstellernamen und Informationen über die vom Gerät angebotenen Dienste enthalten. Wir erwähnten jedoch zusätzlich, dass zu einer grossen Zahl an Bluetooth Low Energy Geräten Verbindungen ohne vorheriges Pairing aufgebaut werden können. Um die Signifikanz dieser Aussage zu erläutern, müssen wir erst die Hintergründe des Pairings und die Möglichkeiten eines Verbindungsaufbaus erkunden.

Pairing

Das Pairing bezeichnet einen Prozess, der zwischen zwei Geräten ein gegenseitiges Vertrauensverhältnis aufbaut. Verbindungen zu Bluetooth Geräten ohne vorheriges Pairing aufzubauen ist gewöhnlich nicht möglich. Der Bluetooth Pairing Prozess erfordert üblicherweise, dass die zwei Teilnehmerinnen des Pairings eine Nummer vergleichen, die auf beiden Geräten dieselbe sein muss. Das Ziel ist hierbei, dass die Nutzerinnen den Pairingvorgang bestätigen, ehe er stattfinden kann. Diese Nummer is heutzutage meist eine sechsstellige Zufallszahl, aber es ist Herstellern auch möglich, z.B. stets eine 0000 zu verwenden.

Im Hintergrund führen beide Bluetooth Geräte einen kryptographischen Austausch durch, der einen verschlüsselten Kommunikationskanal ermöglicht. Nach dem Pairing ist der Inhalt der Übertragung grundsätzlich nicht mehr sichtbar für andere, es sei denn, der Pairingprozess wurde aufgenommen. Für mehr Information über Bluetooth Pairing, empfehle ich Memo über Pairing Sicherheit, publiziert vom Bluetooth Konsortium.

Da der Bluetooth Pairingvorgang kryptographische Algorithmen erfordert und da diese meist per Definition Rechenaufwendig sind, sind viele Bluetooth Low Energy Geräte nicht leistungsfähig genug, um Verschlüsselung durchzuführen. Aus diesem Grund findet Kommunikation zwischen Bluetooth Low Energy Geräten oft im Klartext statt, und Verbindungen sind in vielen Fällen ohne Pairing möglich.

Connecting und GATT

Nach dem Verbindungsaufbau mit einem Bluetooth Low Energy Gerät, stellt dieses eine Auswahl von Generic Attribute Profile Services (GATT) zur Verfügung. Jeder Service ist durch eine eineindeutige Nummer (UUID) gekennzeichnet und umfasst mehrere GATT Characteristics. Jedes Characteristic ist wiederum durch eine UUID, mehrere Flags wie z.B. read oder write und durch ein Datenwert (Byte Array) definiert. Das Bluetooth Konsortium spezifiziert selbst eine grosse Zahl an Services und Characteristics, aber es ist Herstellern auch möglich, eigene zu definieren. Sowohl das Bluetooth Konsortium wie auch die BlueZ Repository dokumentieren bekannte Services und Characteristics. Ein Beispiel stellt der Device Information Service dar, der durch das Bluetooth Konsortium definiert wurde und insgesamt 8 Characteristics umfasst. Der Service ist ohne Sicherhheitseinschränkungen erreichbar (read-only):

Am konkreten Beispiel eines iPhone, enthält der Device Information Service nur zwei Characteristics; Manufacturer Name String und Model Number String. So erkennen wir, dass es von Apple Inc. erstellt wurde und das Model iPhone8,1 bezeichnet (die Nummern beziehen sich höchstwahrscheinlich auf die iOS Version).

Wir erkennen jedoch, dass der Service viel weniger Characteristics enthält, als erwartet. Dies ist zentral, denn Hersteller können sich entscheiden, weniger Informationen preiszugeben, auch wenn die Definition des Services mehr vorsieht. Aber hey, sie können sich auch entscheiden, alle Informationen zu liefern; wie wir im Falle eines Zebra Technologies Drucker sehen: Wir erhalten hier sowohl den Modellbezeichner ZD410, die volle (!) Seriennummer des Geräts, die Firmwareversion V77.19.17Z, die Hardwareversion ZD41022-D0EM00EZ, die Softwareversion 3.2 und sogar eine Plug-and-Play ID. Diese Informationen können für spätere strategische Angriffe auf diese Geräte entscheidende Vorteile schaffen. Und aufgrund der Schreibberechtigung auf einige Characteristics ist es sogar denkbar, dass über die GATT Hierarchie das Verhalten von Geräten beeinflusst werden kann.

Analyse mit BTLE Sniffer Software

Wie vergleichen sich diese Erkenntnisse mit Geräten um uns? Der Sniffer aus dem letzten Artikel über Bluetooth wurde angepasst, um sich nun mit entdeckten Geräten zu verbinden und deren GATT Hierarchie aufzunehmen. Leider kann der Sniffer zur Zeit die Werte von GATT Attributes nicht korrekt aufnehmen; dies wird aber in absehbarer Zeit noch hinzugefügt. Issues und Pull Requests sind sehr willkommen!

Der Sniffer wurde verwendet, um Bluetooth Low Energy Devices während einer Viertelstunde an einem stark frequentierten Ort aufzunehmen. Aus insgesamt 356 entdeckten Geräten hatten 157 davon öffentliche Gerätenamen und 187 Geräte boten insgesamt 31 einzigartige Dienste an (12 davon bekannt).

Während viele der Bluetooth Low Energy Geräte einer unklaren Infrastrukturfunktion zuzuweisen waren, fanden wir nur wenige Smartphones, dafür sehr viele IoT Geräte; insbesondere Smart Watches und Fitness Monitors. Geräte, die häufig über deren Namen identifiziert werden konnten waren: Alta, Fitbit, Garmin, und Microsoft Smart Watches, Bose und Jabra Kopfhörer, wie auch Estimote iBeacon Geräte, Apple TV und Apple Pencil. Einige Geräte waren mutmasslich nach ihren Besitzern benannt. Die meisten Geräte boten im Schnitt drei Services an. Der Device Information service war hierbei auf fast allen Geräten vorhanden. Einige besonders auffällige Services waren: B&O Play A/S, Heart Rate, Anhu Huami Information Technology Co., Bose Corporation, GoPro, Inc., und Kontakt Micro-Location Sp. z o.o..

Mit der Ausnahme des Heart Rate Services, waren alle der vorhergenannten Dienste von Herstellern definiert. Aufgrund der Tatsache, dass diese Dienste fast nie dokumentiert sind, bleibt es offen zur Spekulation, welche Funktion diese Dienste wohl einnehmen. Wenn wir jedoch sehen, was wir beim Zebra Technologies Drucker herausfinden konnten, ist es naheliegend, dass auch in solchen Diensten Interessantes verborgen liegt. Vielleicht ist es sogar möglich, die Gerätefunktionen zu beeinflussen.

Über die Autorin

Eleanore Young

Eleanore Young hat ihren Master in Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnologie im Jahr 2014 an der ETH Zürich abgeschlossen. Zu ihren Fachgebieten gehören Rechnerarchitekturen, Betriebssysteme sowie angewandte Forschung.

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Crypto-Malware

Crypto-Malware

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv