Personal Digital Assistants - The Future of Ubiquitous AI

Personal Digital Assistants

The Future of Ubiquitous AI

Marc Ruef
by Marc Ruef
on July 06, 2017
time to read: 18 minutes

Keypoints

  • Personal assistants are software solutions that are designed to take on concrete tasks
  • Through voice commands you can send messages or have appointments read out, for example
  • Recognition of voice commands generally occurs locally, with data processing in the cloud
  • For products to achieve wide reach, voice input must be natural and simple
  • Within a few years we can expect the kind of acceptance and distribution that smartphones presently enjoy

Digital personal assistants or virtual assistants are solutions that are intended to offer the advantages of an assistant in day-to-day life. Various products are competing for the favor of users. This article looks at the possibilities and future developments expected in an area that will exert a decisive influence on both the technological and sociological level.

Functionality

Personal assistants are sold as dedicated software. You may have previously encountered them on your smartphone in the form of Siri or Google Assistant, successor to Google Now. After Amazon presented its own Alexa service as autonomous hardware in the form of Echo and Dot, Google and Apple have now stepped up with Home HomePod respectively. Ultimately, what’s at stake here is the dominance of the living room: The more naturally an assistant can be integrated into day-to-day life, the greater its acceptance and chance of survival. Microsoft has now integrated Cortana into the Windows operating system. Apple did so with Siri in macOS, and sooner or later other manufacturers will be keen to follow suit. It is now common for apps to be positioned on competitors’ platforms, even though restricted integration into the external ecosystem means they are only able to offer a fraction of their normal options.

These solutions are primarily based on audio communications: They wait until they hear a keyword, and they are then ready to accept commands through voice entry. The results are preferably returned in audio form, but sometimes just as a list of web search results. Through commands, users can make calls, dictate messages, manage calendar entries, listen to music and play games, for example.

Both Siri and Allo (an alternative connection to Google Now) also allow text input on the device. In terms of architecture, this means that you can separate out the input and output functions of data processing and recombine them however you wish. Command input via OCR is just as feasible as image recognition (e.g. as a basis for sign language). This allows disabled-ready usage of the latest electronics.

Product Manufacturer Main platforms Strengths
Alexa Amazon Echo, Dot, Kindle Fire Purchase, additional Skills
Cortana Microsoft Windows Phone, Windows general, Windows integration
Google Assistant Google Android, Home Knowledge, coverage, precision
Mycroft GPL Linux open source, Linux integration, Raspberry Pi
Siri Apple iOS, macOS Apple ecosystem integration

This is where we encounter the first security concerns in relation to privacy. For your assistant to hear your keyword, it must constantly listen in on your conversations. In Europe especially, this has met with persistent skepticism. And not just because Alexa was called as a witness to a murder. To lay these concerns to rest, many products offer physical activation for voice input. The iPhone, for instance, requires the home button to be held down. Amazon Echo even supports complete button-based deactivation of the microphone. Experience shows that speaking Swiss German dialect is a good way to avoid being systematical, automatically bugged, for the time being at least.

Manufacturers promise that they are not collecting data, even when continual listening is activated. Nor would this be desirable from an ergonomic point of view. Amazon Echo and Apple Siri, for instance, a record for a maximum of three seconds in order to recognize the keyword. This is evaluated by a local chip in order to ensure minimal latency. Only after it receives the keyword does the device send the voice input to the cloud for comprehensive analysis, evaluation, and processing.

On the other hand, it is in the providers’ interests to collect as much audio data as possible. It is also conceivable that manufacturers would wish to retain audio recordings for longer periods. This would allow them, for example, to passively improve speech recognition, which would, in turn, be of benefit to the user. But it would also assist them in identifying words, speakers and the ambient sounds around them. Because all of this data has value, not least to the advertising industry, which will want to make use of it. There has recently been a discussion on the Internet about people receiving spontaneous personalized advertisements for products following personal conversations about related issues. This would, of course, be an unacceptable infringement of privacy. It would be technologically feasible, commercially it might even be desirable. And as with so many infringements of privacy, it is only a matter of time until this one, too, overcomes widespread opposition.

Restrictions and breakthrough

Personal assistants are linked to artificial intelligence (AI). It is AI that is tasked with providing a correspondingly intelligent response to the input. It is therefore important that the input processing is as smart as possible. If not, users will perceive the device as dumb and reject it.

When it comes to the quality and quantity of data, Google naturally has a competitive edge. It will be impossible for providers like Amazon to shorten this gap in the near future. Instead, providers may well decide that purchasing additional data inventories from their competitors (e.g. IBM Watson is a very interesting) option or they may obtain it directly from the market leader. Amazon has found a way around this hurdle by primarily configuring its products to facilitate straightforward purchases from its online store.

The way we evaluate the intelligence of an assistant is subjective and highly dependent on the command input. So the quality of speech recognition is enormously important if the device is to succeed. This begins with the audio quality offered by the microphone. Here Amazon Echo has put in some solid prep work by fixing its devices with multiple microphones which ensure optimal speech recognition. This is a purely hardware-related issue. And Amazon is also setting the standard in relation to response time (recognition of beginning and end of speech input).

But even more important is the speech analysis itself, that is the ability of the system to recognize individual words and transform them into comprehensible instructions. Unlike microphones, this is a software issue. The software in question is not currently installed on the end device. Instead, speech data is always sent to the cloud and evaluated there, where there are plenty of resources to hand. This cloud-based approach also allows manufacturers to implement optimization without forcing users to purchase new products or install patches.

Ultimately, personal assistants will only become a part of day-to-day life when they can be used naturally. Users over 30 often find it difficult to talk to a computer at first, despite the last 20 years of smartphones and voicemails. For the Swiss, there is the additional problem that they have to issue instructions in a foreign language. Even if it is only standard German. But still, it feels strange to have to suddenly formulate individual phrases in a foreign language. Naturally, this is likely to present less of a barrier to English-speaking users.

But the main problem ailing present solutions is the unnatural handling that is sometimes expected from the user. German speakers, for example, might expect Alexa to play songs in a random order on hearing the phrase Starte Zufallswiedergabe (“begin random play”). But Alexa doesn’t recognize this instruction. Instead, the user has to use the English equivalent, Shuffle, which ironically is acknowledged with the words Zufallswiedergabe aktiviert (“random play activated”).

This is most likely just a failure to make speech commands sufficiently German-friendly. But if you wanted to start a playlist entitled Best of Rock, for instance, then it’s not enough to formulate this as something like: Play Best of Rock. Instead you have to explicitly say: Play playlist Best of Rock.

You can find plenty of further examples for every platform. Collectively, they show that it is still the user who is expected to conform to the peculiarities of the device. And when you have to first consider how to formulate an instruction, the interaction becomes clumsy and unnatural.

In the case of the Alexa Skills, this is generally quite deliberate. The Skills, comparable to apps, can be loaded onto an Echo or a Dot. The number of Skills has grown from 135 in Q1 2016 to 10,000 in Q1 2017. Various news portals, music services, and websites offer their own Skills. For example, you can have your device open Wikipedia and then look something up. The major restriction here is that these Skills must be specially summoned. So the instruction would be: Alexa, open Wikipedia and search for Cybersecurity. This example may seem harmless. But things get more difficult the more Skills you install and the less often you use them. Here, too, you are forced to stop and think about the right way to formulate the question.

Amazon would do well to implement a keyword for controlling Skills. But they would have to be summarized into product categories and prioritized, either by Amazon or by individual developers. So when you say Play rock music, Alexa would check Spotify as well as all the other Skills in the Music/Radio category for possible hits.

Concrete Visions for the future

Today’s personal assistants are primarily a combination of microphone and speaker which allows interaction. With the Dot, Amazon has attempted to provide a competitively priced device to achieve coverage in every room in the house. But it is important that individual devices (Echo or Dot) function autonomously and do not interfere with each other. The device that recognizes the speech command most readily will respond. There is still no true device synchronisation, nothing like the kind of multi-room system you find with Sonos or Bose. But this would be the next obvious step.

One fundamental problem for present-day solutions is security. There is no true authentication. While Siri can be configured so that the user has to first log on with a smartphone in order to issue commands, this is an undesirable hurdle which significantly diminishes the user experience. With Alexa, it is possible to set up multiple accounts and switch between them, but this does not require a password. As such, third parties may be able to access and manipulate them on the spot. Many households are therefore adopting a generic user account with no links to sensitive personal content. But this, in turn, diminishes the functionality. Ideally, we will have user identification through voice recognition in the future. Pitch, tone and speech patterns could make it far more difficult for third parties to issue instructions.

Note, that in spite of the discussion over the intelligence of systems, these systems are still computers. They are networked, and access cloud-based services. Thus, the protection of privacy is as important as hardening and patching of components. By deactivating individual functions, data leakage can be curtailed in some cases, but due to the architecture of modern solutions, it is not possible to prevent completely. However, this architecture at least has the advantage of allowing automated patching of the components, assuming that service vendors follow this practice in a sustainable fashion.

The functionality of solutions – what we refer to as their intelligence – will increase significantly. Speech recognition is improving all the time and more and more data can be linked up. On this important point, it is the product with the best and fastest growing possibilities that will win the competition. A particularly open solution may offer a decisive competitive advantage. With its Alexa Skills Kit SDK Amazon is already well advanced, allowing the creation of tailored Skills. It is likely that Google, too, will pursue a more open strategy in order to link up with Echo and Siri. Complete open-source approaches, such as the Mycroft project, will probably be the exception.

But overall, systems will have to be capable of learning. And not through programming, but in dynamic exchange with the user. So after repeatedly asking play Best of Rock, if an album of this name is played and the instruction is corrected to Play playlist Best of Rock, then after the second or third time, the system should assume that the user has the playlist in mind and not the album.

The key to the kind of widespread success enjoyed by the Internet and the smartphone lies in natural interaction. As soon as you can take advantage of the possibilities easily and at each and every step of the way, just like the computer in Star Trek -, use of personal assistants will become a staple of day-to-day life. But that could be five to ten years away. In the interim, these solutions are of undeniable benefit to people with disabilities (dyslexia, visual impairment, paraplegia).

About the Author

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef has been working in information security since the late 1990s. He is well-known for his many publications and books. The last one called The Art of Penetration Testing is discussing security testing in detail. He is a lecturer at several universities, like ETH, HWZ, HSLU and IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

You want to evaluate or develop an AI?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Data Markets

Data Markets

Marc Ruef

Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

MITRE ATT&CK

MITRE ATT&CK

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Personal Digital Assistants - Die Zukunft der allgegenwärtigen K.I.

Personal Digital Assistants

Die Zukunft der allgegenwärtigen K.I.

Marc Ruef
von Marc Ruef
am 06. Juli 2017
Lesezeit: 18 Minuten

Keypoints

  • Personal Assistants sind Software-Lösungen, die konkrete Arbeiten abnehmen sollen
  • Durch Sprachkommandos können zum Beispiel Nachrichten verschickt und Kalendereinträge vorgelesen werden
  • Die Erkennung von Sprachkommandos erfolgt meist lokal, die Datenverarbeitung dann in der Cloud
  • Die Produkte können sich dann breitflächig durchsetzen, wenn die Spracheingabe natürlich und unkompliziert erfolgen kann
  • Eine Akzeptanz und Verbreitung, wie heute bei Smartphones, ist in wenigen Jahren zu erwarten

Bei digitalen Personal Assistants bzw. Virtual Assistants handelt es sich um Lösungen, die einem im Alltag die Möglichkeiten eines Assistenten gewähren wollen. Verschiedene Produkte buhlen um die Gunst der Nutzer. Dieser Artikel diskutiert die Möglichkeiten und zukünftigen Entwicklungen, die sich in diesem Bereich, der einen massgeblichen Einfluss auf technischer und soziologischer Ebene haben wird, entfalten werden.

Funktionsweise

Personal Assistants kommen als dedizierte Software daher. Traditionell trifft man sie in Form von Siri oder bzw. Google Assistant als Nachfolger auf Google Now auf dem Smartphone an. Nachdem Amazon ihre Alexa als Echo und Dot eigene autonome Hardware bereitgestellt hat, sind auch Google mit Home und Apple mit HomePod endlich um solche bemüht. Schliesslich geht es hier um die Vorherrschaft im Wohnzimmer: Umso natürlicher sich ein Assistent in das tägliche Leben integrieren kann, desto eher wird er akzeptiert und wird benutzt. Microsoft hat ihre Cortana mittlerweile in das Windows-Betriebssystem integriert, Apple tat es mit Siri in macOS gleich und die anderen Hersteller werden früher oder später diesen Ansatz ebenso verfolgen wollen. Dass auf Konkurrenzplattformen eigene Apps angeboten werden, die zwar aufgrund der eingeschränkten Einbindung im fremden Ökosystem nur einen Bruchteil der Möglichkeiten bereitzustellen in der Lage sind, ist zu einer Selbstverständlichkeit geworden.

Diese Lösungen sind in erster Linie auf Audio-Kommunikationen ausgelegt: Sie warten auf die Nennung eines Schlüsselworts, um dann per Spracheingabe Kommandos entgegennehmen zu können. Die Resultate werden dann wiederum bevorzugt per Audio ausgegeben. Manchmal aber auch nur als Auflistung von Resultaten einer Websuche. Dadurch lassen sich beispielsweise Anrufe initiieren, Kurznachrichten diktieren, Terminkalender bewirtschaften, Musik abspielen und Spiele spielen.

Sowohl Siri als auch Allo (eine alternative Anbindung an Google Now) erlauben ebenso die Texteingabe am Gerät. In Bezug auf Architektur kann man also Ein-/Ausgabe von der Datenverarbeitung trennen und wieder nach Belieben kombinieren. Kommandoeingaben über OCR sind genauso denkbar wie Bilderkennung (z.B. als Basis für Gebärdensprache). Dies ermöglicht eine barrierefreie Nutzung modernster Elektronik.

Produkt Hersteller Hauptplattformen Stärken
Alexa Amazon Echo, Dot, Kindle Fire Einkauf, zusätzliche Skills
Cortana Microsoft Windows Phone, Windows Allgemein, Integration Windows
Google Assistant Google Android, Home Wissen, Abdeckung, Genauigkeit
Mycroft GPL Linux Quelloffen, Integration Linux, Raspberry Pi
Siri Apple iOS, macOS Integration Apple-Ökosystem

Hierbei entstehen die ersten Sicherheitsbedenken bezüglich Privatsphäre. Damit die Assistenten ihr Schlüsselwort erkennen können, müssen sie ständig mithören. Gerade im europäischen Raum stand und steht man dem skeptisch gegenüber. Und dies nicht nur, seitdem Alexa als Zeuge in einem Mordfall eingesetzt wurde. Um diese Bedenken auszuräumen, bieten viele Produkte eine physische Aktivierung der Spracheingabe an. Beim iPhone muss zum Beispiel lange der Home-Button gedrückt werden. Amazon Echo unterstützt sogar die komplette knopfbasierte Deaktivierung des Mikrofons. Schweizerdeutsch scheint, wenigstens zurzeit, ein Vorteil zu sein, um nicht systematisch und automatisiert abgehört werden zu können.

Die Hersteller versprechen, dass auch beim ständigen Zuhören durch sie keine Datensammlung erfolgt. Aus Sicht der Ergonomie wäre dies eigentlich auch nicht erwünscht. Amazon Echo und Apple Siri zeichnen zum Beispiel maximal 3 Sekunden auf, um das Schlüsselwort erkennen zu können. Dieses wird durch einen lokalen Chip ausgewertet, um minimale Latenz gewährleisten zu können. Erst nach der Angabe des Schlüsselworts wird die Spracheingabe zur umfangreichen Analyse, Auswertung und Bearbeitung in die Cloud geschickt.

Im Umkehrschluss haben die Anbieter dennoch ein Interesse, dass möglichst viele Audio-Daten gesammelt werden können. Es ist auch absehbar, dass die Hersteller die Audioaufnahmen für längere Zeit aufbewahren wollen. Zum Beispiel, um passiv die Spracherkennung verbessern zu können, was wiederum dem Benutzer zugutekäme. Aber natürlich auch, um Gesprächsinhalte, Gesprächsteilnehmer und Umgebungsgeräusche erkennen zu können. Denn auch hierbei handelt es sich um Daten mit einem Wert, der zum Beispiel durch die Werbeindustrie genutzt werden will. So finden sich im Internet jüngst Diskussionen dazu, dass Personen nach persönlichen Gesprächen zu einem Thema plötzlich personalisierte Werbung zu den dazugehörigen Produkten erhalten haben. Dies wäre natürlich ein Eingriff in die Privatsphäre, der so nicht akzeptiert werden will. Technologisch wäre dies durchaus umsetzbar, kommerziell gar wünschenswert. Und wie bei vielen Eingriffen in die Privatsphäre ist es nur eine Frage der Zeit, bis auch dieser den breiten Widerstand überwinden kann.

Einschränkungen und Durchbruch

Personal Assistants sind mit einer Künstlichen Intelligenz (KI) verknüpft. Diese ist dafür zuständig, entsprechend intelligent auf die Eingaben zu reagieren. Es ist deshalb wichtig, dass die Eingabeverarbeitung möglichst klug erfolgt. Ist dies nicht der Fall, wird das Gerät durch Nutzer als dumm wahrgenommen und nicht akzeptiert.

Google hat hier natürlich in Bezug auf Qualität und Quantität der Daten einen Marktvorsprung. Ein Anbieter wie Amazon wird diesen innert kurzer Zeit nicht aufholen können. Es scheint absehbar, dass zusätzliche Datenbestände von anderen Anbietern eingekauft (z.B. IBM Watson wird hier plötzlich sehr interessant) oder direkt beim Marktführer bezogen werden müssen. Amazon weiss um dieses Hindernis und hat ihre Produkte in erster Linie darauf ausgelegt, dass darüber Waren unkompliziert in ihrem Online Store gekauft werden können.

Die Bewertung der Intelligenz eines Assistenten ist subjektiv ebenfalls sehr stark von der Kommandoeingabe abhängig. Die Qualität der Spracherkennung ist also enorm wichtig, ob sich ein Gerät durchsetzen kann. Dies beginnt bei der durch das Mikrofon gewährleisteten Audioqualität. Hier hat Amazon Echo starke Vorarbeit geleistet, indem die Geräte mit einer Vielzahl an Mikrofonen ausgestattet werden, um maximale Spracherkennung erreichen zu können. Dies ist eine reine Hardware-Angelegenheit. Und auch in Bezug auf die Reaktionszeit (Erkennung von Beginn und Ende der Spracheingabe) vermag hier Amazon vorzulegen.

Doch eigentlich noch wichtiger wird die Sprachanalyse selbst. Also wie gut kann das System die einzelnen Worte erkennen und in eine nachvollziehbare Anweisung umwandeln. Im Gegensatz zu den Mikrofonen ist dies die Aufgabe der Software. Diese Software ist zurzeit nicht auf den Endgeräten vorhanden. Stattessen werden die Sprachdaten immer in die Cloud geschickt und dort ausgewertet. Dort steht ein Mehr an Ressourcen zur Verfügung. Dieser cloudbasierte Ansatz ermöglicht es den Herstellern zudem, dass sie Optimierungen umsetzen können, ohne Anwender zum Kauf neuer Produkte oder der Installation von Patches bewegen zu müssen.

Personal Assistants können sich schlussendlich im Alltag nur durchsetzen, wenn deren Nutzung auf natürliche Weise erfolgen kann. Benutzer über 30 Jahren tun sich anfänglich schwer damit, sich mit einem Computer zu unterhalten. Da haben die letzten 20 Jahre Smartphones und Voicemails nur wenig geholfen. Hinzu kommt bei den Schweizern das Problem, dass die Anweisung in einer Fremdsprache zu erfolgen haben. Und sei dies auch nur auf Hochdeutsch. Es fühlt sich einfach sonderbar an, wenn man plötzlich einzelne Sätze in einer anderen Sprache formulieren muss. Diese Hürde dürfte bei englischsprachigen Benutzern naturbedingt geringer ausfallen.

Woran die heutigen Lösungen aber hauptsächlich kränkeln, ist der teilweise widernatürliche Umgang, der vom Benutzer erwartet wird. Es ist zum Beispiel zu erwarten, dass die deutschsprachige Alexa mit der Anweisung Starte Zufallswiedergabe dazu bewegt werden kann, dass Lieder in zufälliger Reihenfolge abgespielt werden. Alexa kennt diese Anweisung jedoch nicht. Stattdessen muss mit Shuffle dieser Effekt erzielt werden, der dann ironischerweise mit Zufallswiedergabe aktiviert quittiert wird.

Hierbei handelt es sich wahrscheinlich nur um das Versäumnis, den Sprachbefehl entsprechend einzudeutschen. Möchte man aber zum Beispiel eine Playlist namens Best of Rock starten, dann reicht es nicht, wenn die Anweisung wie folgt formuliert wird: Spiele Best of Rock. Stattdessen muss explizit angegeben werden: Spiele Playlist Best of Rock.

Solche Beispiele gibt es auf allen Plattformen zuhauf. Sie zeigen, dass sich der Benutzer noch zu sehr an den Gepflogenheiten des Geräts anpassen muss. Und wenn man zuerst überlegen muss, wie man eine Anweisung zu formulieren hat, wirkt die Interaktion holprig und widernatürlich.

Dies wird generell bei den sogenannten Skills von Alexa bewusst. Hierbei handelt es sich quasi um Apps, die auf einem Echo oder Dot nachgerüstet werden können. Die Anzahl der Skills ist von 135 in Q1-2016 auf 10’000 in Q1-2017 gewachsen. So bieten verschiedene Nachrichten-Portale, Musikdienste und Webseiten ihre eigenen Skills an. Beispielsweise kann explizit Wikipedia geöffnet und darin etwas gesucht werden. Die massgebliche Einschränkung dabei ist, dass diese Skills dediziert aufgerufen werden müssen. Die Anweisung muss also lauten: Alexa, öffne WikiPedia und suche nach Cybersecurity. Dieses Beispiel vermag harmlos erscheinen. Es wird aber umso schwieriger, desto mehr Skills installiert sind und desto seltener man sie braucht. Auch hier muss man plötzlich vor dem Stellen der Frage überlegen, wie man sie richtig zu formulieren hat.

Amazon täte gut daran, die Skills zwar direkt mit einem Schlüsselwort ansteuern zu lassen. Aber diese ebenfalls in Produktkategorien zusammenzufassen und zu priorisieren – Entweder durch Amazon selbst oder durch die einzelnen Entwickler. Dass wenn also Spiele Rockmusik gesagt wird, sowohl Spotify als auch alle anderen Skills der Kategorie Musik/Radio auf mögliche Treffer geprüft werden.

Konkrete Zukunftsvisionen

Die heutigen Personal Assistants sind in erster Linie Mikrofone und Lautsprecher, mit denen interagiert werden kann. Amazon hat versucht mit dem Dot ein kostengünstiges Gerät bereitzustellen, um in einem Haushalt eine Abdeckung in jedem Raum erreichen zu können. Dabei war man darum bemüht, dass die einzelnen Geräte (Echo oder Dot) autonom funktionieren und nicht miteinander interferieren. Jenes Gerät, welches das Sprachkommando am besten erkennt, wird auch darauf reagieren. Eine echte Synchronisation der Geräte, also quasi ein Multi-Room-System im Sinn von Sonos oder Bose, findet noch nicht statt. Dies wird aber der nächste offensichtliche Schritt sein.

Ein grundlegendes Problem der heutigen Lösungen ist die Sicherheit. Es findet keine echte Authentisierung statt. Bei Siri kann zwar eingestellt werden, dass sich der Benutzer zuerst auf dem Smartphone anmelden muss, um Kommandos abzusetzen. Dies ist aber eine unerwünschte Hürde, die das Benutzererlebnis massgeblich schmälert. Bei Alexa können zwar verschiedene Konten eingerichtet und zwischen diesen Gewechselt werden. Die Eingabe eines Passworts ist aber nicht erforderlich. Jenachdem können also Einsichten und Manipulationen durch Fremde vor Ort stattfinden. In vielen Haushalten kommt deshalb ein generisches Benutzerkonto ohne die Einbindung sensitiver persönlicher Inhalte zum Zug. Damit wird die Funktionalität aber wiederum geschmälert. Im Idealfall findet also in Zukunft, so wie von Google vorgesehen, die Benutzerauthentisierung anhand der Stimmerkennung statt. Tonlage, Klangfarbe und Sprechmuster könnten es massgeblich erschweren, dass Anweisungen durch Drittpersonen durchgesetzt werden.

Bei aller Diskussion über die Intelligenz entsprechender Systeme darf nicht vergessen werden, dass es sich um Computer handelt. Sie sind vernetzt, greifen auf cloudbasierte Dienste zu. Der Schutz der Privatsphäre ist dabei genauso wichtig, wie das Härten und Patchen der Komponenten. Durch das Deaktivieren einzelner Funktionen kann in manchen Fällen der Informationsabfluss eingeschränkt werden. Gänzlich verhindern lässt er sich aber aufgrund der Architektur der heutigen Lösungen nicht. Diese führt wenigstens den Vorteil mit sich, dass die ständig vernetzten Geräte automatisiert und unkompliziert gepatcht werden können. Es bleibt hierbei zu hoffen, dass die Anbieter dieser Pflicht auch in nachhaltiger Weise nachkommen werden.

Die Funktionalität der Lösungen – das was wir als ihre Intelligenz bezeichnen – wird massgeblich zunehmen. Die Spracherkennung wird immer besser und es können immer mehr Daten miteinander verknüpft werden. In diesem wichtigen Punkt wird jenes Produkt das Wettrennen gewinnen, dessen Möglichkeiten am schnellsten und besten wachsen. Eine möglichst offene Lösung kann hier also einen entscheidenden Wettbewerbsvorteil erlangen lassen. Amazon ist mit dem Alexa Skills Kit SDK schon sehr weit und erlaubt das Erstellen von eigenen Skills. Es ist anzunehmen, dass auch Google da eher eine offene Strategie fahren wird, um zu Echo und Siri aufschliessen zu können. Komplette Quelloffenheit, wie sie das Projekt Mycroft gewährleistet, dürfte aber eine Seltenheit bleiben.

Aber generell müssen die Systeme lernfähig werden. Und zwar nicht durch Programmierung, sondern im dynamischen Umgang mit dem Benutzer. Wenn also mehrfach nach Spiele Best of Rock gefragt wird, dann jeweils irgendein Album mit diesem Titel abgespielt wird und dann wiederum eine Korrektur zu Spiele die Playlist Best of Rock stattfindet, dann muss nach dem zweiten oder dritten Mal durch das System ausgegangen werden, dass der Benutzer halt eben bevorzugt die Playlist und nicht ein Album meint.

Der Schlüssel zum breitflächigen Erfolg, wie er zum Beispiel das Internet oder die Smartphones für sich erschliessen konnten, liegt in einem natürlichen Umgang. Sobald an jeder Stelle und unkompliziert auf die Möglichkeiten zurückgegriffen werden kann – ähnlich dem Computer in Star Trek -, wird die Nutzung von Personal Assistants zu einer alltäglichen Sache werden. Bis dann dürften aber sicher noch 5 bis 10 Jahre verstreichen. Zwischenzeitlich unbestritten sind solche Lösungen gerade für Menschen mit Behinderungen (Dyslexie, Sehschwäche, Paraplegie) von grossem Nutzen.

Über den Autor

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Cybersecurity-Bereich aktiv. Er hat vor allem im deutschsprachigen Raum aufgrund der Vielzahl durch ihn veröffentlichten Fachpublikationen und Bücher – dazu gehört besonders Die Kunst des Penetration Testing – Bekanntheit erlangt. Er ist Dozent an verschiedenen Hochschulen, darunter ETH, HWZ, HSLU und IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

Sie wollen eine KI evaluieren oder entwickeln?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

3D Printing

3D Printing

Marc Ruef

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv