Data Loss Prevention – Are you blocking yet?

Data Loss Prevention

Are you blocking yet?

Dominik Altermatt
by Dominik Altermatt
on July 20, 2017
time to read: 9 minutes

Keypoints

  • DLP systems are designed to identify and prevent unwanted data leakage
  • Often, systematic blocking is not used because the rules are so error-prone
  • DLP is therefore designed to serve more as a broken process detector
  • Projects must be business-driven and approached with an eye toward reporting

For years it has been clear that internal employees pose a significant risk when it comes to the issue of data breaches. Data loss prevention tools (DLP) offer one approach to dealing with this problem. One of the biggest reasons for using these tools is the ability to prevent data leakage automatically (blocking rules). It sounds almost too good to be true: After implementing a DLP tool, simply activate the predefined rules, watch the behavior for several weeks in monitoring mode, then change to blocking mode straight away and you have an effective risk management solution. Of course it’s not that simple. In reality, there are few enterprise-level companies willing to take the risk of deploying blocking mode even on a rudimentary level.

Why blocking is avoided

Simply put, because the DLP rules are imprecise and thus return too many false positives (FP). The FPs resulting from blocking would impede key business processes or even render them inoperative altogether.

There are many different reasons for this, from fundamentally incorrect assumptions as to how DLP solutions are supposed to be used through to highly complex protected objects that cannot simply be described with a simple DLP rule.

Three incorrect assumptions

  1. DLP tools protect companies against data leakage: Data leakage prevention is a putative term and misleading in terms of the actual value of a DLP solution. If the basic measures for protecting data (technical and organizational) are not particularly well implemented, a DLP solution is of little or no use in protecting against data leakage. It might be better to consider DLP as a controlling tool. A good DLP implementation shows where there are gaps in existing measures or where measures have not yet been implemented, allowing improvements to be made. This principle or ones similar to it should be the basis for defining DLP rules.
  2. Blocking mode is the ultimate goal: As previously mentioned, it’s more useful to understand where there are gaps in processes or technical measures so that these can be dealt with appropriately. Once blocking is sufficiently refined with highly effective DLP rules, it can of course have very desirable results.
  3. DLP projects are IT projects: Anyone who thinks that an IT department can define effective DLP rules might be mistaken. The Risk and Business departments should be able to define the protected objects to be described in the DLP rules. Without their input, the IT department cannot define effective rules. Organizational measures must be implemented here to ensure that those IT departments that are implementing the DLP are provided with correct data about the assets requiring protection. Unfortunately, the DLP rules that are built-in to the DLP solutions are all too often applied without seriously considering the structure and organization of the protected objects.

Protected objects

You find all kinds of different data in the use cases for which the DLP solutions were designed to minimize the risk of data leakage. In addition to the false assumptions just described, the complexity of various protected objects is often the reason behind the high number of false positives. The problem can be illustrated using the following example with customer data.

Simple protected objects

The easiest objects to protect are identification numbers, such as account numbers. IDs, particularly those with more characters than a telephone number, are easy to implement (with indexing or regular expression rules). No FPs or only negligible numbers can be expected for these types of IDs.

Complex protected objects

The problem is with data that does not always fit the same pattern, such as free text fields, e.g. names or addresses. These types of data are always susceptible to FPs, because basically anything can occur here.

If, for instance, you want to represent your customer base using a DLP, you would most likely index the data from the customer database to create a DLP rule. However, this raises a whole set of problems. Even in the rather unusual scenario in which the customer database has been entirely cleaned up and validated, there are still plenty of sticking points in the various attributes of the free-text fields.

It is very likely that a process will have to be defined to prevent unvalidated data from being included in the DLP rules. Only an undesired attribute in the DLP rule can unleash a storm of FPs.

If you have the data quality under control, free-text fields still always have various idiosyncrasies that increase FP rates. For example, a popular Asian first name is “An”. But “An” is also a commonly used preposition in the German language. Do we exclude customers named “An” or accept the high number of FPs triggered by the presence of the preposition?

Ultimately, there is no way to get around excluding certain data from the DLP rules, especially when you have to cover thousands or hundreds of thousands of data records. If you then exclude certain data in order to minimize the FP rates, you also reduce the coverage of the DLP rule at the same time. If 5% or 10% of the initial data has to be excluded from the customer database, this must be documented and accepted as a residual risk.

If you have reached this point, the tools included with the DLP solutions are unlikely to be very helpful. The DLP setup is, of course, highly specific to the particular company and must be able to handle this complexity on its own.

The solution

Along with the technical DLP implementation, an administrative body must be introduced to deal with DLP rules in particular. This sort of DLP policy management is designed to create the necessary transparency and thus information about the quality and status of the DLP rules, as well as to constantly improve the quality of the DLP rules.

DLP policy management

DLP policy management should take a position between the Business and IT departments. A two-person team, one from the Business (Risk) and one from the IT (DLP rule author) departments is one possible method.

It is important to understand that while DLP rules can be defined during an initial (implementation) project, they usually result in very high FP rates. The important tuning (minimizing FP rates and increasing coverage) of the DLP rules can only succeed over time. Thus, policy management is aimed at ensuring that even after the project is complete, DLP rules can be improved iteratively during operation.

Tools and processes

So how is DLP policy management supposed to work? Basically, it is essential to understand that only an iterative process can be effective when it comes to protecting large volumes of data. Too many factors affect the quality of DLP rules, and most of these factors are still unknown during the initial DLP project. The following concepts can therefore be effective.

The simplest representation of a DLP rule is its configuration in the DLP solution, but this does not reveal anything about the quality of the rule. To gain an end-to-end view of a DLP rule, the following factors should be documented, at the very least:

To address the iterative aspect, version management needs to be introduced.

Reporting

If the DLP rules are managed in an end-to-end view throughout their lifecycle, the reporting is the easy part. The information is logical and does not have to be interpreted – but only if the data collection is centralized and automated. On the other hand, the standard DLP solutions offer only a few tools for this and often you are on your own. For this reason, the reporting features in the DLP implementation project should be evaluated closely and consideration given to the requirements of a DLP policy management solution.

Conclusion

DLP projects should be business-driven. IT departments are service providers wanting to implement the requirements of their business. Because the detailed requirements for DLP solutions cannot be specified by the IT departments in the same way as an anti-virus solution, this input must be provided clearly on the business end.

DLP solutions can be very expensive and yet have only a minimal impact in reducing the risk of data leakage. It becomes tempting to install a tool with a blocking mode and then assume that risks have been effectively minimized. This problem is particularly common at the enterprise level. But if a DLP solution is thought of as a controlling tool for already-existing measures to prevent data leakage, it serves as an excellent broken process detector.

Yet inconsistencies in data management (here DLP at least identifies the first broken processes) and the properties of the many different kinds of data requiring protection make creating and using effective DLP rules complex. In addition, the tools included with DLP solutions are usually inadequate. For this reason, clearly structured policy management should be implemented as the operational standard at the same time. During the evaluation of the DLP solution, particular attention should also be paid to reporting functions. If the budget does not provide for policy management, the result is usually stagnation, which is concealed by false reporting (which increases risks!), or a new DLP solution is considered in order to straighten it out again. This is expensive and the benefits are unfortunately limited.

Those who can implement DLP policy management from the outset should do so conscientiously. Those still struggling with an onslaught of FPs or unsatisfactory coverage should also consider introducing a DLP policy management solution – even if this may require taking a few steps backwards.

About the Author

Dominik Altermatt

Dominik Altermatt is working since 2003 in the IT business and was responsible for Data Leakage Prevention at a Swiss bank for many years. Besides traditional penetration testing he is also focusing on the introduction and improvement of IT security management processes. (ORCID 0000-0003-4575-4597)

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Traffic Analysis with Windows Built-In Tools

Traffic Analysis with Windows Built-In Tools

Dominik Altermatt

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Data Loss Prevention – Blocken Sie schon?

Data Loss Prevention

Blocken Sie schon?

Dominik Altermatt
von Dominik Altermatt
am 20. Juli 2017
Lesezeit: 9 Minuten

Keypoints

  • Ein DLP-System soll den ungewollten Datenabfluss erkennen und verhindern
  • Oftmals wird auf den Einsatz von konsequentem Blocking aufgrund der Fehleranfälligkeit der Rules verzichtet
  • DLP sollte stattdessen deshalb eher als Broken-Process-Detector verstanden werden
  • Ein Projekt muss vom Business getrieben und mit Rücksicht auf Reporting angegangen werden

Seit Jahren weiss man nun, dass interne Mitarbeiter ein erhebliches Risiko mitbringen, wenn es um das Thema Datenabfluss geht. Einen Lösungsansatz für dieses Problem bieten Data Leakage Prevention Tools (DLP). Einer der schlagenden Argumente dieser Tools ist die Möglichkeit Datenabfluss automatisiert zu unterbinden (Blocking-Rules). Das hört sich fast zu gut an, um wahr zu sein. Nach der Implementation eines DLP Tools einfach die vordefinierten Rules zu aktivieren, dann einige Wochen im Monitor-Mode das Verhalten prüfen und sogleich in den Blocking-Mode wechseln und die Risiken sind effektiv minimiert. Nein, so einfach ist es nicht. In Wahrheit gibt es kaum Unternehmen auf Enterprise Level, welche es wagen, den Blocking Mode auch nur ansatzweise scharf zu stellen.

Warum auf Blocking verzichtet wird

Einfach gesagt, weil die DLP-Rules ungenau sind und damit zu viele False Positives (FP) generieren. Zu viele wichtige Geschäftsprozesse würden durch das Blocken von FPs behindert oder sogar verunmöglicht werden.

Dafür kann es sehr verschiedene Gründe geben. Angefangen bei grundlegen Falschannahmen, wie eine DLP-Lösung einzusetzen ist. Bis hin zu sehr komplexen Schutzobjekten, die man nicht einfach in einer trivialen DLP-Rule beschreiben kann.

Drei Falschannahmen

  1. DLP-Tools schützen das Unternehmen vor Datenabflüssen: Der Name Data Leakage Prevention ist vermeintlich und täuscht über den wahren Wert einer DLP-Lösung hinweg. Werden die grundsätzlichen Massnahmen zum Schutz von Daten (technisch und organisatorisch) nicht schon gut oder sehr gut umgesetzt, nützt eine DLP Lösung zum Schutz vor Datenabfluss wenig bis nichts. DLP könnte man eher als Controlling Tool betrachten. Ein gute DLP-Implementation zeigt einem auf, welche der bereits umgesetzten Massnahmen Lücken aufweise oder an welchen Stellen noch keine Massnahmen existieren. Daraufhin kann an diesen nachgebessert werden. Ein solcher oder ähnlicher Gedanke sollte die Definition von DLP-Rules vorantreiben.
  2. Blocking-Mode ist das Ziel: Wie zuvor erwähnt, ist es wertvoller zu verstehen, welche Prozesse oder technischen Massnahmen Lücken aufweisen, um diese dann auch sinnvoll adressieren zu können. Ab einer hohen Maturität kann das Blocking bei sehr effektiven DLP-Rules natürlich als erstrebenswertes Ziel gesetzt werden
  3. DLP-Projekte sind IT-Projekte: Wer glaubt, dass eine IT-Abteilung effektive und sinnvolle DLP-Rules definieren kann, der könnte sich irren. Die Kompetenz der Definition der Schutzobjekte, welche in den DLP Rules Abgebildet werden sollen, liegt bei den Risk und Business Abteilungen. Ohne deren Input kann die IT Abteilung keine sinnvollen Rules definieren. Hier muss organisatorisch sichergestellt werden, dass jene IT-Abteilungen die DLP implementieren, mit korrekten Daten über die zu schützenden Assets versorget werden. Leider verleiten die, in den DLP Lösungen mitgelieferten DLP-Rules allzu oft dazu, diese zu verwenden, ohne sich ernsthaft über die Struktur und Organisation der Schutzobjekte Gedanken zu machen.

Schutzobjekte

In den Use Cases, in denen die DLP-Lösungen das Risiko von Datenabfluss minimieren sollen, findet man so ziemlich jede Art von Daten. Neben den beschriebenen Falschannahmen, ist oft die Komplexität von diversen Schutzobjekten die Ursache von hohen FP-Raten. Im Folgenden wird anhand des Beispiels von Kundendaten die Problematik aufgezeigt.

Einfache Schutzobjekte

Die einfachsten Schutzobjekte sind Identifikationsnummern wie Kontonummern. IDs, besonders jene mit mehr Zeichen als eine Telefonnummer, sind einfach zu implementieren (mit Indexierungs- oder Regularexpression-Rules). Bei solchen IDs sind keine oder nur marginale FP-Raten zu erwarten.

Komplexe Schutzobjekte

Die Problematik liegt bei Daten, welche nicht immer einem gleichen Muster entsprechen. Dies sind Freitextfelder, wie z.B. Namen oder Adressen. Solche Daten sind grundsätzlich für FP anfällig, da im Prinzip alles Erdenkliche darin vorkommen kann.

Möchte man z.B. seinen Kundenstamm in einer DLP Rule abbilden, so indexiert man höchstwahrscheinlich die Daten aus der Kundendatenbank in eine DLP-Rule. Dies wirft aber eine ganze Reihe von Problematiken hervor. Selbst im eher seltenen Fall, dass die Kundendatenbank zu 100% bereinigt und validiert ist, bergen die diversen Eigenschaften der Freitext-Felder noch genügen Knackpunkte.

Es ist sehr wahrscheinlich, dass ein Prozess definiert werden muss, der verhindert, dass nicht validierte Daten in die DLP-Rules gelangen. Nur ein ungewolltes Attribut in der DLP-Rule kann ein Sturm von FPs auslösen.

Hat man die Datenqualität im Griff, bleiben immer noch die diversen Eigenheiten der Freitextfelder, welche die FP-Raten ansteigen lassen, dazu folgendes Beispiel: Ein beliebter Asiatischer Vorname ist “An”. “An” ist aber auch eine häufig verwendete Präposition in der deutschen Sprache. Wie soll damit umgegangen werden, den Kunden mit Vorname “An” ausschliessen oder die hohe FP Raten durch die Präposition in Kauf nehmen?

Schlussendlich kommt man meist nicht darum herum, gewisse Daten aus den DLP-Rules auszuschliessen. Vor allem wenn man tausende oder hunderttausende Dateneinträge abdecken muss. Schliesst man nun gewisse Daten aus um die FP-Raten klein zu halten, mindert sich zugleich der Abdeckungsgrad der DLP-Rule. Musste man 5% oder 10% der initialen Daten der Kundendatenbank ausschliessen, muss dies dokumentiert und als Restrisiko akzeptiert werden.

Ist man an diesem Punkt angelangt, helfen einem die in den DLP-Lösungen verfügbaren Werkzeuge nicht mehr viel. Das DLP-Setup ist nun schon stark auf das Unternehmen zugeschnitten und es muss selbst mit dieser Komplexität klar kommen.

Die Lösung

Parallel zur technischen DLP-Implementation sollte auch organisatorisch eine Verwaltungsinstanz, insbesondere der DLP-Rules eingeführt werden. Ein solches DLP Policy Management soll die nötige Transparenz schaffen und damit Auskunft über die Qualität und den Status von DLP Rules geben, sowie die Qualität der DLP Rules stetig verbessern.

DLP Policy Management

Ein DLP Policy Management sollte zwischen Business und IT-Abteilungen angesiedelt werden. Eventuell bietet sich ein Zweierteam an, jemand aus dem Business (Risk) und jemand aus der IT Abteilung (DLP Rule Autor).

Wichtig ist zu verstehen, dass DLP Rules in einem initialen (Implementations) Projekt zwar erstellt werden können, aber auch meist sehr hohe FP Raten aufweisen werden. Das wichtige Tuning (Minimieren der FP Raten und Erhöhen des Abdeckungsgrades) der DLP-Rules kann erst über die Zeit erfolgreich sein. Somit soll ein Policy Management sicherstellen, dass auch nach Beendigung des Projekts, während dem Betrieb, die Möglichkeit DLP Rules iterativ zu verbessern gegeben ist.

Tools und Prozesse

Wie soll nun ein DLP Policy Management seine Arbeit verrichten? Grundsätzlich muss verstanden werden, dass bei grossen zu schützenden Datenvolumen nur ein iterativer Prozess zielführend sein kann. Zu viele Faktoren beeinflussen die Qualität der DLP-Rules und meist sind diese Faktoren im initialen DLP Projekt noch nicht bekannt. Daher bieten sich folgenden Konzepte an.

Die einfachste Darstellung einer DLP-Rule ist deren Konfiguration in der DLP-Lösung. Jedoch sagt dies nichts über die Qualität einer Rule aus. Um eine End-to-End View einer DLP-Rule zu erhalten, sollten mindestens folgenden Faktoren per Rule dokumentiert sein:

Um dem iterativen Aspekt entgegen zu kommen soll eine Versionsverwaltung eingeführt werden.

Reporting

Werden die DLP-Rules in einer End-to-End View durch ihren Lifecycle verwaltet, ist das Reporting ein leichtes. Die Informationen sind logisch und es muss nicht interpretiert werden. Jedoch nur wenn die Datenlage auch zentral und automatisiert gesammelt werden kenn. Wiederum bieten die gängigen DLP-Lösungen dazu nur wenige Werkzeuge und man ist auf sich gestellt. Es empfiehlt sich daher, in dem DLP-Implementations-Projekt, die Reporting Funktionalitäten genau zu evaluieren und die Anforderungen eines DLP Policy Management zu berücksichtigen.

Fazit

DLP Projekte sollten vom Business getrieben werden. IT-Abteilungen sind Dienstleister, welche die Anforderungen des Business umsetzen möchten. Da die Inhaltlichen Anforderungen an DLP-Lösungen nicht, wie etwa einer Antivieren-Lösung, durch die IT-Abteilugen spezifiziert werden können, muss dieser Input klar von der Business-Seite aufgearbeitet und zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

DLP-Lösungen können viel Geld kosten und doch nur minimal zu Minderung der Risiken von Datenabflüssen beitragen. Man ist verleitet, ein Tool mit dem Ziel Blocking-Mode zu installieren und dann davon auszugehen, Risiken effektiv minimiert zu haben. Vor allem auf Enterprise Level ist diese Problematik weit verbreitet. Aber versteht man DLP-Lösungen als Controlling-Tool für bestehen Massnahmen gegen Datenabflüsse, lässt es sich hervorragend als Broken-Process-Detector nutzen.

Doch Inkonsistenzen in der Datenhaltung (hier zeigt DLP allenfalls schon erste kaputte Prozesse auf) und die Eigenheiten der vielen verschiedenen Arten von zu schützenden Daten machen das Erstellen und Nutzen von effektiven DLP-Rules komplex. Die DLP Lösungen bringen dazu meist unzureichende Tools mit sich. Daher empfiehlt sich ein klar strukturiertes Policy Management als Betriebs-Standard mit einzuführen, ausserdem sollte bei der Evaluation der DLP-Lösung besonders auf die Reporting-Funktionalitäten geachtet werden. Ist in der Budgetierung kein Policy Management vorgesehen, gerät man meist in einen stagnierenden Zustand. Dieser wird durch verfälschtes Rapportieren verschwiegen (womit sich Risiken erhöhen!) oder man evaluiert bereits die nächst DLP-Lösung, die es dann richten soll. Die Kosten waren hoch und der Nutzen leider begrenzt.

Wer die Möglichkeit hat ein DLP Policy Management von Anfang einzuführen, sollte dies gewissenhaft tun. Jene die noch mit massiven FP-Stürmen oder nicht befriedigende Abdeckungsraten kämpfen, sollten in Erwägung ziehen, ebenfalls ein DLP Policy Management einzuführen. Auch wenn dafür eventuell einige Schritte rückwärts gemacht werden müssen.

Über den Autor

Dominik Altermatt

Dominik Altermatt arbeitet seit 2003 in der IT-Branche. Unter anderem hat er sich mehrere Jahre mit Data Leakage Prevention bei einer Grossbank beschäftigt. Heute liegen seine Schwerpunkte neben klassischen Penetration Tests bei der Einführung und der Weiterentwicklung von IT-Security-Management-Prozessen. (ORCID 0000-0003-4575-4597)

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Traffic-Analyse mit Windows-Boardmitteln

Traffic-Analyse mit Windows-Boardmitteln

Dominik Altermatt

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security

Dominik Altermatt

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv