Artificial Intelligence - Fundamentals of Learning Algorithms

Artificial Intelligence

Fundamentals of Learning Algorithms

Eleanore Young
by Eleanore Young
on September 07, 2017
time to read: 13 minutes

Keypoints

  • Artificial Intelligence demands the capability of learning
  • Neuronal networks introduce an automated approach to do so
  • There are different models available
  • All of them have individual advantages and disadvantages

With the recent advent of digital assistants, people invite into their homes not only a whole host of privacy concerns but the successful result of decades-long research into artificial intelligence. Of course, the term artificial intelligence amounts to hardly more than a diffuse description of the underlying concepts, and its definition has changed constantly over the past two decades in computer science. Still, many a person would agree that the likes of Alexa and Cortana constitute the closest humanity has come to conceiving of artificial intellects.

These devices are a long shot away from being anywhere close to human-like intelligence, but they are already capable of processing a few spoken and written languages, distinguishing faces, and adequately responding to commands and questions. But how do they manage to understand spoken language, let alone distinguish persons from one another?

Artificial Intelligence

In its most rudimentary sense of the term, Artificial Intelligence refers to the fact that computers are able to learn a certain set of skills without developers explicitly having to program them. This means in turn that these devices commonly need to be trained before they are accurate enough to be productive.

Computer science techniques that allow devices to learn belong to the diverse category of regression algorithms, or in buzzword-lingo, machine learning and big data. In essence, learning algorithms try to build a mathematical function that approximates the problem at hand, and their memory consists of a set of variables that are continually adapted to the training data in a feedback loop.

In order to perform their actions, digital assistants always use a combination of learning algorithms to transform and classify data or to perform predictions. For example, they would first use a recurrent neural network to translate spoken language from sound to the equivalent textual representation, then an expert system based on a Bayesian inference engine or a random forests algorithm to extract semantic meaning from the aforementioned textual representation in order to interpret the data as command or question.

Since ca. 2010, so-called artificial neural networks have surged in popularity over other regression algorithms due to their astounding capability of automatically extracting relevant characteristics from source data, which means that developers hardly need to characterize a problem before they can formulate a suitable learning algorithm. This means in turn, that the internal logic developed by artificial neural networks is often impossible to comprehend or reproduce. Moreover, artificial neural networks can require much longer learning phases and they are prone to bias and overfitting unless the training data is scrutinized for confounding factors. The effect of bias and overfitting in learning algorithms is humorously illustrated by the infamous tank detection experiment, but it can have deleterious effects in many real-life applications where learning algorithms replicate human bias and stereotype discrimination due to implicit bias present within the corpus of training data.

Understanding the Problem Domain

In order to understand how learning algorithms work in principle, we have to work our way through something less complex than spoken language or semantic analysis. Instead, we will go through the process of building a learning system that is capable of distinguishing SPAM from legitimate email.

At the most superficial level, a learning algorithm will take a corpus of complete email messages as input, and produce as output whether it thinks that a particular message is SPAM or legitimate. This problem belongs to the group of binary classification problems because the final outcome is only one of two discrete things; SPAM or HAM. The input data consists of a certain number of sets of characters of varying length.

In mathematical terms, the input x is defined as an N x F matrix, where N is the number of email messages and F is the number of input characteristics or features. The output, in turn, is defined as a vector y of 0s and 1s with N dimensions. The relationship between x and y is defined as the function f, which will depend on the actual choice of algorithm. Thus, our algorithm f will effectively reduce F dimensions of source data into a single dimension in the output.

Feature Extraction

But there’s a problem: Our source data isn’t an N x F matrix of real numbers but a series of email messages. In order to get there, we need to perform so-called feature extraction, the process in which we reduce text messages of varying length into a series of equal-length numbers or features. There is no one true way to do this, and understandably, the final performance of a learning algorithm will strongly depend on how we represent the source data as a set of features.

One way to do this in our example would be to count the occurrence of each symbol (e.g. A or , or <) which, if we assume UTF-8 format, will result in F = 256. Another would be to count the frequency of particular n-grams (the more general definition of words). The final number of features will thus equal the total number of unique n-grams within our source data set. Given experience, it is immediately obvious that it makes more sense to count the n-gram frequency rather than the symbol frequency.

Feature Selection

But we also need to account for n-grams that are so common that they do not contain any relevant information (words like “the” or “a”). If we do not take those out of our feature space, the algorithm is more prone to underfitting, and will also be less efficient due to the (usually) high number of features involved.

In the end, we want to produce those features that best explain the variance in the source data set, statistically speaking. This process is what is called feature selection:

Given a set of features, transform the feature data such that you have the least amount of features that explain as much of the problem domain as possible.

This is where artificial neural networks shine because they are capable of performing the feature selection process automatically (assuming that the network is suited for the problem). Going back to our SPAM example, we would probably want to filter out the most common n-grams using Term Frequency – Inverse Document Frequency (Tf-Idf) weighting. This statistical technique prioritizes words that are frequent in a single document but decreases the importance of words that are common across all documents, such as the or a in English.

Choosing a Model

Given our problem, it is best that we evaluate multiple algorithms, or models, for performance, because we don’t really know the shape of the multi-dimensional curve that separates SPAM from legitimate email. The relationship between the frequency of each n-gram and the legitimacy of the email could be linear, it could be polynomial, or it could be a much more complex, non-linear relationship. For example, it could be that the more complex HTML code an email contains, the more likely it is to be SPAM. But it could just as well be that once the terms review or draft appear in the same email, then it’s more likely to be from the marketing division of your company. Given our experience, we would probably catch Viagra SPAM with a linear model, but more involved or targeted SPAM will require a non-linear model. The choice of models will further involve statistical considerations and whether we know which training emails are SPAM, and which are not (i.e. whether we are working with labeled data or not).

In our example, we would likely work with labeled training data, therefore we would select from supervised learning algorithms. Common supervised models are:

The latter is actually a class of algorithms more commonly referred to as artificial neural networks because they were originally designed to model interconnected neurons analogous to the brains of vertebrates.

Evaluating Chosen Models

Each learning model has a set of parameters that are changed either by us prior to training or as part of the training process itself. Any pre-processing steps such as feature selection will also have parameters that influence the final performance of the model.

Given this fact, we might also want to optimize the choice of parameters set prior to training, so-called hyperparameters instead of just finding the best model. Therefore, a model is evaluated using either three separate data sets (for training, validation, and testing), or cross-validation followed by a testing phase on a separate data set.

The principle is the same in both cases, however: In a loop, train the model with a set of hyperparameters, and evaluate the current model using the validation set (or via cross-validation), before modifying the hyperparameters. After the best-performing hyperparameters have been found, evaluate that model against the final testing set. Results from this final evaluation are then used to compare the different algorithms against each other.

The performance of a model with respect to the underlying problem is assessed through multiple metrics based on the confusion matrix as shown below. The most commonly used metrics are:

As with any metric, the reliability of the evaluation depends on the distribution of the classes (e.g. SPAM or HAM) within the data set, and no one metric will perfectly capture the model performance.

Specific to our SPAM example is, that it is much worse for the SPAM filter to falsely classify legitimate email as SPAM. Therefore, any algorithm that will have a high false positive rate will be out of the game quick.

Confusion Matrix Condition True Condition Negative
Predicted True True positive False positive
Predicted False False negative True negative

Back to Digital Assistants

Once the model is complete and training has concluded, the algorithm will tend to be surprisingly small and require only limited resources to run. Even old smart phones would be capable of running a decent-sized neural network once the training stage has completed. However, in the case of spoken language, our learning algorithm will likely have to continue learning in order to be able to deal with the ever changing nature of human language (or the economy).

Therefore, all of the aforementioned processes will need to be run periodically or continually while the learning algorithm is in a production environment. This requires vast amounts of computer resources to maintain, and it’s impossible to fit this all within a smart phone or even a dedicated consumer device. Unfortunately, this also means that learning algorithms effectively enforce some sort of cloud-based architecture, and privacy issues are a direct consequence of how the learning algorithm is kept up-to-date.

About the Author

Eleanore Young

Eleanore Young has completed her master degree in electrical engineering and information technology in 2014 at ETH Zurich. Her areas of focus include computer architectures, operating systems and applied research.

Links

You want to evaluate or develop an AI?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Passwordless Authentication

Passwordless Authentication

Tomaso Vasella

Data Markets

Data Markets

Marc Ruef

Transport Layer Security

Transport Layer Security

Andrea Hauser

Diversify AI

Diversify AI

Marisa Tschopp

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Künstliche Intelligenz - Grundzüge von lernenden Algorithmen

Künstliche Intelligenz

Grundzüge von lernenden Algorithmen

Eleanore Young
von Eleanore Young
am 07. September 2017
Lesezeit: 12 Minuten

Keypoints

  • Künstliche Intelligenz erfordert die Fähigkeit zu Lernen
  • Durch Neuronale Netze wird diese Lernfähigkeit automatisierbar
  • Verschiedene Modelle stehen hierfür zur Verfügung
  • Jedes bringt andere Vor- und Nachteile mit

Mit dem Aufkommen von Digital Assistants bringen Kundinnen nicht nur eine Flut an Privatsphäreproblemen mit nach Hause, sondern auch ein Produkt jahrzehntelanger Forschung auf dem Gebiet der künstlichen Intelligenz. Es stimmt natürlich, dass der Begriff künstliche Intelligenz die zugrundeliegenden Konzepte und Technologien nur sehr vage beschreibt; zumal sich dessen Bedeutung über die letzten zwanzig Jahre mehrmals verschoben hat. Trotzdem stimmen viele Menschen damit überein, dass Dienste wie Alexa und Cortana dem Konzept des künstlichen Intellekts bisher am nächsten gekommen sind.

Diese Geräte besitzen eine nicht im Ansatz zu Menschen vergleichbaren Intellekt und dennoch gelingt es ihnen bereits mehrere gesprochene und geschriebene Sprachen zu verstehen, Gesichter zu unterscheiden und daraufhin angemessen auf Befehle oder Fragen zu reagieren. Doch, wie funktionieren Prozesse, die solche Fähigkeiten ermöglichen?

Künstliche Intelligenz

Im rudimentärsten Sinn des Begriffs künstliche Intelligenz bezieht sich dieser auf die Gegebenheit, dass Computer neue Fähigkeiten lernen können, ohne dass sie explizit dafür programmiert wurden. Dies bedeutet wiederum, dass solche Geräte erst trainiert werden müssen, bevor sie in Produktion einsetzbar sind.

Techniken der Informatik, die lernfähig sind, gehören zur diversen Gruppe der Regressionsalgorithmen (auch bekannt als Machine Learning oder Big Data). Das Prinzip dieser Algorithmen ist, eine mathematische Funktion zu bilden, die das betrachtete Problem bestmöglich modellieren. Das Gedächtnis dieser Algorithmen besteht damit aus Variablen, die in einem Feedback Loop kontinuierlich verändert werden.

Um ihre Aufgabe erfüllen zu können, verwenden Digital Assistants stets eine Kombination mehrerer solcher Algorithmen und Daten zu verändern, zu klassifizieren oder vorherzusagen. Beispielsweise würde ein Digital Assistant erst ein Recurrent Neural Network verwenden, um gesprochene Sprache in das geschriebene Äquivalent zu übersetzen und anschliessend ein auf einer Bayesian Inference Engine oder einem Random Forests Algorithmus basierendes Expert System zu verwenden, um das Geschriebene in semantische Konstrukte zu überführen, die als Befehle oder Fragen interpretiert werden können.

Seit ca. 2010 haben sogenannte Artificial Neural Networks im Vergleich zu anderen Regressionsalgorithmen sehr stark an Beliebtheit zugenommen, da sie relevante Charakteristika automatisch aus den Ursprungsdaten herauslesen können. Dies bedeutet einerseits, dass Entwicklerinnen das behandelte Problem nicht vollständig charakterisieren müssen, die Netzwerke sind jedoch meist unmöglich nachzuvollziehen und benötigen oft bedeutend längere Trainingszeiten.

Ferner neigen Artificial Neural Networks zu Bias und Overfitting, wenn die Trainingdaten nicht für beeinflussende Faktoren korrigiert wurden. Eine gute Illustration des Phänomens bietet das berüchtigte Panzerexperiment. Die Konsequenzen von Bias sind jedoch auch unter problematischeren Umständen ersichtlich; besonders dann, wenn über Trainingdaten menschliche Vorurteile und Stereotypen in das Netzwerk einfliessen.

Das Lernen verstehen lernen

Um nachvollziehen zu können, wie lernende Algorithmen im Prinzip funktionieren, müssen wir uns eines einfacheren Beispiels als Sprach- oder semantische Analyse bedienen. Anstelle davon erstellen wir deshalb ein System, das legitime E-Mails von SPAM unterscheiden kann.

Ganz oberflächlich betrachtet, wird ein solches System eine Serie an E-Mails als Eingabe verarbeiten, um im Anschluss für jedes dieser E-Mails eine Einteilung in SPAM oder legitim (sog. HAM) auszugeben. Diese Problemstellung gehört zur Gruppe der binären Klassifizierungen, weil die Ausgabe des Algorithmus nur zwei Werte annehmen kann.

Die Eingabe besteht aus einer Serie von Schriftzeichen unterschiedlicher Länge. Mathematisch ausgedrückt, lässt sich die Eingabe x als eine N x F Matrix beschreiben. N bezeichnet die Anzahl E-Mail Nachrichten und F bezeichnet die Anzahl Eingabecharakteristika, oder Features. Die Ausgabe y besteht damit aus einem N-dimensionalen Vektor von 0 und 1.

Feature Extraction

Die mathematische Definition stellt uns jedoch vor ein Problem: Unsere Ursprungsdaten bestehen aus einer Kollektion von E-Mails und nicht einer Matrix von rationalen Zahlen.

Um dahin zu gelangen, müssen wir eine sogenannte Feature Extraction durchführen. In diesem Prozess reduzieren wir eine Serie von Textbotschaften unterschiedlicher Länge in eine Serie von F-dimensionalen Vektoren. Dafür gibt es jedoch nicht eine klare Lösung und verständlicherweise hängt die Leistungsfähigkeit unseres Algorithmus stark davon ab, wie wir die Ursprungsdaten als Matrix repräsentieren.

Eine Möglichkeit wäre, die Frequenz der einzelnen Zeichen zu zählen (z.B. A, , oder <). Im Zeichensatz UTF-8 hätten wir dann 256 Features. Eine weitere Möglichkeit wäre, die Frequenz von N-Grams (eine generalisierte Form eines Worts) zu zählen. Die schlussendliche Zahl der Features ist dann gleich der Zahl einzigartiger N-Grams über alle E-Mails hinweg. Der Erfahrung nach macht es bedeutend mehr Sinn, die Frequenz der N-Grams anstelle einzelner Symbole zu zählen.

Feature Selection

Wir müssen jedoch beachten, dass gewisse N-Grams so häufig sind, dass sie keine relevanten Information enthalten (z.B. Wörter wie the oder a in Englisch). Falls wir diese N-Grams nicht aus dem Raum unserer Features entfernen, ist der Algorithmus anfälliger für Underfitting und ist weniger effizient aufgrund der hohen Zahl an Features.

Schlussendlich versuchen wir jene Features zu finden, die statistisch betrachtet am meisten Varianz erklären. Diesen Prozess bezeichnet man als Feature Selection:

Ausgehend von einer Auswahl an Features transformiere die Daten derart, dass die minimale Anzahl resultierender Features den zugrundeliegenden Zusammenhang am besten beschreiben.

Dies ist der Bereich, in welchem Artificial Neural Networks besonders gut sind, da sie automatisch Feature Selection betreiben können (vorausgesetzt das Netzwerk ist für das Problem angelegt). In unserem SPAM Beispiel würden wir die häufigsten N-Grams mittels Term Frequency – Inverse Document Frequency (Tf-Idf) herausfiltern. Diese statistische Technik priorisiert häufige Wörter in einzelnen Dokumenten, während sie die Relevanz von gesamthaft häufigen Wörtern minimiert.

Die Auswahl eines Modells

Ausgehend von unserer Problemstellung ist es am besten, wenn wir mehrere verschiedene Algorithmen, oder Modelle auswerten, da wir nicht wirklich wissen, welche mehrdimensionale Kurve der zugrundeliegende Zusammenhang beschreibt. Der Zusammenhang zwischen der Frequenz der N-Grams und der Legitimität eines E-Mails könnte linear, polynomial, oder gar stark non-linear sein. Zum Beispiel ist es anzunehmen, dass E-Mails mit komplexem HTML Code als Inhalt sehr wahrscheinlich SPAM sind. Es könnte jedoch genau so gut auch sein, dass ein solches E-Mail von der Marketingabteilung der eigenen Firma ist, wenn es Wörter wie Rückmeldung oder Vorabversion enthält. Es scheint wahrscheinlich, dass wir mit einem linearen Modell die meisten Viagra SPAM E-Mails erwischen. Um jedoch komplexere oder gar gezielte SPAM Nachrichten zu erfassen, bedarf es fast mit Sicherheit eines non-linearen Modells.

In unserem Beispiel würden wir am ehesten mit gekennzeichneten Daten arbeiten, das heisst, dass jede E-Mail in den Trainingdaten bereits in SPAM oder HAM eingeteilt wurde. Dementsprechend würden wir uns eines Supervised Learning Algorithmus bedienen. Zum Beispiel:

Letzteres ist eigentlich eine Klasse an Algorithmen, auch bekannt als Artificial Neural Networks, weil sie ursprünglich dafür gedacht waren, das Nervensystem von Wirbeltieren nachzubilden.

Modelle bewerten

Jeder Algorithmus besitzt ein oder mehrere Parameter, die entweder während dem Trainingprozess angepasst, oder vor dem Training gewählt werden. Jegliche Vorverarbeitungsschritte wie Feature Selection werden ihrerseits auch durch Parameter beeinflusst.

Jene Parameter, die ausserhalb des Trainingprozess gewählt werden, nennt man Hyperparameter. Daher beinhaltet die Evaluation von Modellen jeweils entweder drei separate Datensätze (für Training, Validierung und Testen), oder ein Cross-Validation Schritt gefolgt von einem separaten Datensatz zum Testen.

Das Prinzip ist jedoch bei beiden Ansätzen dasselbe: In einer Schlaufe wird das Modell trainiert, bevor es validiert wird und die Hyperparameter angepasst werden. Nachdem die besten Hyperparameter gefunden wurden, wird das resultierende Modell anhand des Testdatensatz bewertet und mit den anderen Algorithmen verglichen.

Die Leistungsfähigkeit eines Modells in Bezug auf den zu beschreibenden Zusammenhang wird mittels mehreren Metriken auf Basis einer Confusion Matrix überprüft. Die am häufigsten verwendeten Metriken sind:

Die Verlässlichkeit jeder Metrik hängt von der Verteilung der Klassen (z.B. SPAM oder HAM) in den Trainingdaten ab und keine einzelne Metrik vermag die Leistungsfähigkeit eines Modells perfekt abbilden.

Zu beachten ist, dass es, spezifisch für unser Beispiel, bedeutend schwerwiegender ist, wenn ein SPAM Filter eine legitime Nachricht fälschlicherweise als SPAM einstuft. Deshalb sollten Algorithmen mit einer hohen Falschpositivrate nicht beachtet werden.

Confusion Matrix Condition True Condition Negative
Predicted True True positive False positive
Predicted False False negative True negative

Zurück zu Digital Assistants

Sobald der Evaluationsprozess abgeschlossen wurde, ist ein Modell meist erstaunlich klein und benötigt nur wenige Ressourcen im Betrieb. Sogar alte Smart Phones könnten ein einigermassen grosses neuronales Netz laufen lassen. Im Falle von gesprochener Sprache müsste der Algorithmus höchstwahrscheinlich kontinuierlich lernen, da sich unsere Sprache (und die Wirtschaft) stets ändert.

Dementsprechend müssten alle vorhergenannte Prozesse dauernd laufen, während der Algorithmus in Gebrauch ist. Dies erfordert sehr grosse Rechenleistung, die kein Smart Phone oder gar dediziertes Nutzergerät aufbringen kann. Leider bedeutet dies auch, dass Algorithmen den Gebrauch einer Cloudarchitektur effektiv erfordern und Privatsphäreprobleme sind eine direkte Konsequenz der Art und Weise, wie die Algorithmen aktuell gehalten werden.

Über die Autorin

Eleanore Young

Eleanore Young hat ihren Master in Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnologie im Jahr 2014 an der ETH Zürich abgeschlossen. Zu ihren Fachgebieten gehören Rechnerarchitekturen, Betriebssysteme sowie angewandte Forschung.

Links

Sie wollen eine KI evaluieren oder entwickeln?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Crypto-Malware

Crypto-Malware

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv