BloodHound - Sniffing out domain admins

BloodHound

Sniffing out domain admins

Michael Schneider
by Michael Schneider
on November 02, 2017
time to read: 10 minutes

Active Directory (AD) is the central administrative point for access data, roles and rights. Along with the Windows infrastructure, other applications are integrated via single sign-on. Anyone with administrative access to AD can control access to applications and their data and issue Kerberos tickets, which allow access to information. An intruder (offense) in the internal network will therefore attempt to gain privileged rights in AD. Meanwhile, the relevant IT department (defense) will work hard to prevent precisely this from happening. Domain users already have extensive read rights in AD and are able to access plenty of information, including attributes of users and groups, access rights (ACL) and group policies. These standard rights make it harder to protect AD, because the intruder can already get hold of plenty of information in this way.

Introducing BloodHound

On August 4, 2016, Defcon 24 saw the introduction of the BloodHound tool in the talk Six Degrees of Domain Admin by the developers and penetration testers Andy Robbins, Will Schroeder and Rohan Vazarkar, with version 1.0 appearing two days later. This tool makes use of precisely this configuration of open read rights in Active Directory. With the ‘Ingestor’, AD objects are read and then displayed graphically. The tool takes the data retrieved and generates a list of users and groups, their rights and the systems they are presently logged into. These connections are extremely valuable to intruders, allowing them to find pathways to members of the Domain Admins group and perhaps attack them. But BloodHound is also highly useful in defending against such attacks, as it can be used to identify any vulnerabilities and fix them.

Version 1.4 of BloodHound was released a little over a year later, in October 2017. This version comes with a number of improvements. BloodHound now displays object properties, such as user name, last password change and time of login. In addition, the ingestor previously based on PowerShell v2 was completely reworked and rewritten in C#. This new C# ingestor is called Sharp Hound and is available as a binary file or PowerShell script. With the PowerShell script, the binary is unpacked and executed at run time. In a blog post entitled SharpHound: Evolution of the BloodHound Ingestor, Rohan Vazarkar describes how SharpHound has been reworked and its new functions.

Collecting data

First, SharpHound retrieves information from Active Directory and stores it in the backend. BloodHound stores data with Neo4j. The backend can be installed on Windows, Linux or MacOS. By default, SharpHound generates CSV files, which are imported into the backend. The parameters --Uri and --UserPass are used to write the data collected directly to the Neo4j instance. This is useful if SharpHound is being run on multiple systems, or if there is a loop that regularly reads sessions (parameter -c SessionLoop). Depending on the AD topology and network segmentation, SharpHound’s analysis may be incomplete, as it may not be able to access the server, preventing enumeration of sessions. Where possible, SharpHound should be run on multiple systems and network segments in order to cover any blind spots.

SharpHound always reads trusts, sessions, local admin and group membership. Further attributes can be added with the parameter -CollectionMethod. For the initial data collection we recommend adding logged on, ACL and object props to the collection. The logged on attribute requires administrative rights to the target system in order to read the users. An intruder with domain user rights will not be able to access this data. SharpHound creates a cache file called BloodHound.bin to speed up execution for multiple queries.

For the intruder, the --Stealth and --ExcludeDC options are of interest. The latter prevents session information from being queried by domain controllers (DCs). This prevents Microsoft ATA from detecting scans, because ATA only monitors DCs in this context.

Visualization of AD objects

BloodHound shows the information collected. Context-related information for the respective object is found under Node Info:

Object properties for user adm_mreynolds

You can navigate further from any given node, for instance, to see the groups to which a user belongs, or for which systems the user has local administrator rights. Here there is a distinction between directly allocated and inherited rights.

Version 1.4 offers an additional function that shows which users or groups have DCSync rights.

Overview of DCSync rights

DCSync rights allow objects to be replicated. An intruder can use them to obtain access data for the account krbtgt using Mimikatz.

Pathways to the domain admin

We set BloodHound on the path of members of the group Domain Admins in our lab lab.scip.ch to find out how an intruder can obtain domain admin privileges. In the first example, the domain admin adm_hwashburne is logged onto the computer client02.

Path to domain admin - user adm_jcobb

The user adm_jcobb, who holds local administrator rights to all workstations in the domain as a member of the IT Supporter group (G-IT-ADM-Support), would be able to obtain domain admin credentials. Here intruders could also exploit the service user for the workstation anti-virus software (srv_antivirus). For security reasons, accounts with domain admin rights should not log in on workstations or other systems that are not extra well-secured.

In the second example, there is a backup job running on the computer file01, executed by the service user srv_backup. This user has domain admin rights.

path to domain admin - user adm_zwashburne

The user adm_zwashburne, an IT staff member and administrator of member servers, would then have the ability to gain access data. This case raises the question of whether backup service users really need domain admin rights, or if dedicated rights might suffice instead.

In the third example, a domain user may gain domain admin rights directly. The user rtam is a developer and has gained administrator rights to the application server app01. The domain admin adm_hwashburne is currently logged on to this server.

path to domain admin - user rtam

The rights of the account rtam can be directly escalated to those of a domain admin. This is an unsecured allocation of rights. A normal user account should never have administrator rights on a server. Separate accounts should always be used – normal accounts for basic tasks and special accounts with administrative privileges. Developers and other user groups should have no other special rights, even when it comes to exceptions or – as in this case – individual servers. This improper configuration could allow an intruder to take control of domains.

Conclusion

These examples illustrate benefits for offense and defense in equal measure. The offense approach found a number of interesting targets that can be exploited to gain additional rights. BloodHound can be used to collect data and effectively identify such attack routes, without having to manually test systems with targeted procedures.

On the defense side, a number of potential vulnerabilities were discovered, allowing appropriate countermeasures to be taken. For instance, it is a good idea to create a policy that prevents domain admin accounts from being used to log in from workstations.

I can highly recommend running BloodHound on your AD infrastructure and studying the most direct route to the domain admin. Happy hunting!

About the Author

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider has been in IT since 2000. Since 2010 he is focused on information security. He is an expert at penetration testing, hardening and the detection of vulnerabilities in operating systems. He is well-known for a variety of tools written in PowerShell to find, exploit, and mitigate weaknesses. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Are you interested in a Penetration Test?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

HardeningKitty Score

HardeningKitty Score

Michael Schneider

HTTP Response Header

HTTP Response Header

Michael Schneider

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

BloodHound - Auf der Jagd nach Domain-Admins

BloodHound

Auf der Jagd nach Domain-Admins

Michael Schneider
von Michael Schneider
am 02. November 2017
Lesezeit: 10 Minuten

Das Active Directory (AD) ist die zentrale Verwaltung von Zugangsdaten, Rollen und Berechtigungen. Neben der Windows-Infrastruktur werden weitere Anwendungen mittels Single Sign-on angebunden. Wer administrativen Zugang zum AD hat, kontrolliert Zugänge zu Anwendungen und deren Daten und kann sich Kerberos-Tickets ausstellen, die Zugriff auf Informationen erlauben. Ein Angreifer (Offense) im internen Netz wird daher versuchen privilegierte Berechtigungen im AD zu erlangen. Handumkehrt wird die zuständige IT-Abteilung (Defense) bemüht sein, genau dies zu verhindern. Ein Domänen-Benutzer verfügt bereits über umfangreiche Lese-Rechte im AD und kann bereits viele Informationen auslesen, unter anderem Eigenschaften von Benutzern, Gruppen, Zugriffsrechte (ACL) oder Group Policies. Diese Standard-Rechte erschweren die Verteidigung des ADs, da sich ein Angreifer dadurch viele Informationen beschaffen kann.

Vorstellung von BloodHound

Am 4. August 2016 wurde an der Defcon 24 anlässlich des Talks Six Degrees of Domain Admin von den Entwicklern und Penetration Testern Andy Robbins, Will Schroeder und Rohan Vazarkar das Tool BloodHound vorgestellt und zwei Tage drauf in der Version 1.0 veröffentlicht. Dieses Tool macht sich diese Konstellation der offenen Leserechte in einem Active Directory zu Nutze. Mittels eines sogenannten Ingestor werden Objektes des AD ausgelesen und anschliessend grafisch dargestellt. Das Tool generiert aus den abgefragten Daten eine Übersicht über Benutzer und Gruppen, welche Rechte diese haben und auf welchen Systemen diese angemeldet sind. Für einen Angreifer sind solche Zusammenhänge Gold wert. Er ist damit in der Lage, Wege zu Mitgliedern der Gruppe Domain Admins zu finden und gegebenenfalls diese anzugreifen. Doch auch für die Defense ist BloodHound von hohem Nutzen, da damit allfällige Schwächen identifiziert und anschliessend behoben werden können.

Etwa ein Jahr später wurde im Oktober 2017 die Version 1.4 von BloodHound veröffentlicht. Diese Version bringt verschiedene Verbesserungen mit sich. BloodHound zeigt nun Eigenschaften von Objekten, wie Benutzername, letzte Änderung des Passworts oder Zeitpunkt des Logins, an. Zudem wurde der bisher auf PowerShell v2 basierende Ingestor von Grund auf überarbeitet und mit C# neu geschrieben. Der neue C#-Ingestor heisst Sharp Hound und liegt als Binary oder PowerShell-Skript vor. Mit dem PowerShell-Skript wird das Binary zur Laufzeit entpackt und ausführt. Rohan Vazarkar beschreibt in seinem Blog-Post SharpHound: Evolution of the BloodHound Ingestor die Überarbeitung und neuen Funktionen von SharpHound.

Sammeln von Daten

Zunächst werden Informationen des Active Directory mit SharpHound ausgelesen und im Backend gespeichert. Als Datenspeicher setzt Bloodhound Neo4j ein. Das Backend kann unter Windows, Linux oder macOS installiert werden. SharpHound generiert standardmässig CSV-Dateien, die ins Backend importiert werden. Mittels der Parameter --Uri und --UserPass werden die gesammelten Daten direkt in die Neo4j-Instanz geschrieben. Dies ist nützlich, wenn SharpHound auf verschiedenen Systemen ausgeführt wird oder einer Schleife läuft, um regelmässig Sessions auszulesen (Parameter -c SessionLoop). Je nach AD-Topologie und Netzwerk-Segmentierung ist die Auswertung von SharpHound unvollständig, da beispielsweise der Zugriff auf Server nicht möglich ist und damit Sessions nicht enumeriert werden. Falls möglich sollte SharpHound auf verschiedenen Systemen und Netzwerksegmente ausgeführt werden, um auch ansonsten tote Winkel zu erreichen.

SharpHound liest grundsätzlich Trusts, Sessions, Local Admin und Group Membership aus. Über den Parameter -CollectionMethod kann dies erweitert werden. Wir empfehlen für die initiale Datensammlung zusätzlich Logged On, ACL und Object Props zu sammeln. Bei Logged On sind administrative Rechte auf dem Zielsystem nötig, um die Benutzer auszulesen. Ein Angreifer, mit den Rechten eines Domain User, kann nicht an diese Daten gelangen. SharpHound legt eine Cache-Datei namens BloodHound.bin an, diese beschleunigt die Ausführung bei mehrmaligen Abfragen.

Nützlich für Angreifer sind die Optionen --Stealth und --ExcludeDC. Letztere verhindert, dass Session-Informationen von Domain Controllern (DC) abgefragt werden. Dies verhindert die Entdeckung eines Scans durch Microsoft ATA, da ATA in diesem Kontext nur DCs überwacht.

Visualisierung von AD-Objekten

BloodHound stellt die gesammelten Daten dar, unter Node Info werden kontextbezogen Informationen zum jeweiligen Objekt bereitgestellt:

Objekt-Eigenschaften User adm_mreynolds

Von einer Node kann weiter navigiert werden, beispielweise in welchen Gruppen ein Benutzer Mitglied ist oder auf welchen Systemen der Benutzer lokale Administratoren-Rechte besitzt. Dabei wird unterschieden, ob diese Rechte direkt vergeben oder via Vererbung erlangt werden.

Mit der Version 1.4 gab es eine weitere Funktion, die anzeigt welche Benutzer oder Gruppen über DCSync-Rechte verfügen.

Übersicht DCSync-Rechte

Die DCSync-Rechte erlauben es, Objekte zu replizieren. Ein Angreifer kann dies Nutzen, um mit Mimikatz an die Zugangsdaten des Accounts krbtgt zu gelangen.

Wege zum Domain-Admin

Wir haben BloodHound in unserem Lab lab.scip.ch auf die Mitglieder der Gruppe Domain Admins angesetzt, um zu eruieren, wie sich ein Angreifer Domain-Admin-Privilegien beschaffen könnte. Im ersten Beispiel ist der Domain-Admin adm_hwashburne auf dem Computer client02 angemeldet.

Weg zu Domain-Admin - User adm_jcobb

Der Benutzer adm_jcobb, der als Mitglied der IT-Supporter-Gruppe (G-IT-ADM-Support) lokale Administratorenrechte auf allen Workstations der Domain besitzt, wäre so in der Lage, an Domain-Admin-Zugangsdaten zu gelangen. Ebenso könnten Angreifer den Service-Benutzer für die Workstation-Antivirensoftware (srv_antivirus) dazu missbrauchen. Aus Sicherheitsgründen sollte sich ein Account mit Domain-Admin-Rechten nicht auf einer Workstation oder anderen nicht spezifisch gehärteten Systemen anmelden.

Beim zweiten Beispiel läuft auf dem Computer file01 ein Backup-Job, der durch den Service-Benutzer srv_backup ausgeführt wird. Dieser Benutzer verfügt über Domain-Admin-Rechte.

Weg zu Domain-Admin - User adm_zwashburne

Der Benutzer adm_zwashburne, ein Mitglied der IT und Administrator von Member-Servern, hätte somit die Möglichkeit an Domain-Admin-Zugangsdaten zu gelangen. In diesem Fall stellt sich die Frage, ob der Backup-Servicebenutzer wirklich Domain-Admin-Rechte benötigt oder dedizierte Rechte nicht ausreichen.

Im dritten Beispiel besteht die Möglichkeit, dass ein Domänenbenutzer auf direktem Weg Domain-Admin-Rechte erlangen kann. Der Benutzer rtam ist Entwickler und hat auf dem Applikationsserver app01 Administratorenrechte erhalten. Gerade auf diesem Server ist der Domain-Admin adm_hwashburne angemeldet.

Weg zu Domain-Admin - User rtam

Die Rechte des Accounts rtam können direkt auf die Stufe eines Domain-Admins eskaliert werden. Es handelt es sich hier um eine unsichere Rechtevergabe. Ein normaler Benutzeraccount sollte nie über Administratorenrechte auf einem Server verfügen. Es sollten stets getrennte Accounts eingesetzt werden: Normale Accounts zur grundlegende Arbeiten und solche, die über administrative Privilegien verfügen. Für Entwickler oder andere Benutzergruppen sollten zudem keine Sonderrechte gelten, auch wenn es sich nur um eine Ausnahme respektive in diesem Fall um einen einzelnen Server handelt. Diese Fehlkonfiguration ermöglicht es, die Kontrolle über die Domäne zu übernehmen.

Fazit

Die Beispiele zeigen den Nutzen für Offense und Defense gleichermassen. Die Offense fand mehrere interessante Ziele, die zur Rechteerweiterung ausgenutzt werden können. Durch Datensammlung in BloodHound können solche Angriffswege effizient ermittelt werden, ohne Systeme manuell und ohne gezieltes Vorgehen zu untersuchen.

Die Defense spürte mehrere potentielle Schwachstellen auf und kann entsprechende Gegenmassnahmen einleiten. So sollte beispielsweise eine Policy definiert werden, die es verhindert, dass sich Domain-Admin-Accounts auf Workstations anmelden.

Ich kann es nur empfehlen BloodHound in der eigenen AD-Infrastruktur laufen zu lassen und zu analysieren, wie im eigenen Netzwerk der direkteste Weg zum Domain-Admin aussieht. Weidmannsheil!

Über den Autor

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider arbeitet seit dem Jahr 2000 in der IT. Im Jahr 2010 hat er sich auf die Informationssicherheit spezialisiert. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören das Penetration Testing, Hardening und das Aufspüren von Schwachstellen in Betriebssystemen. Er ist bekannt für eine Vielzahl in PowerShell geschrieber Tools zum Finden, Ausnutzen und Beheben von Schwachstellen. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Haben Sie Interesse an einem Penetration Test?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
HardeningKitty

HardeningKitty

Michael Schneider

KleptoKitty

KleptoKitty

Michael Schneider

Linux Hardening

Linux Hardening

Michael Schneider

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv