More Data, More Responsbility - Analysing the Strava Heatmap

More Data, More Responsbility

Analysing the Strava Heatmap

Stefan Friedli
by Stefan Friedli
on February 08, 2018
time to read: 6 minutes

Keypoints

  • Strava published a heatmap containing the movement information of thousands of their users
  • The data exposed various classified and secret army infrastructure elements
  • Strava refuses to acknowledge the issue and take responsibility and points out their privacy settings

A public heatmap published by the makers of fitness tracking app “Strava” causes an uproar because the data published allows the identification of secret military bases and other critical infrastructure elements. A critical assessment of the controversy.

Fitness has ascended into a secondary religion over the past years, at least according to various Swiss media outlets. Maybe an over-generalization that rings at least partially true considering the masses of runners, bikers and rowers that are drawn to the big outdoors on sunny and rainy days alike. Most of them looking for a balance to their workdays, which is traditionally somewhat lacking in movement.

Making progress is a primary goal of most casual athletes: A higher step count, lower heartrate and, first and foremost, better splits are highly coveted metrics for runners to see if they are actually increasing their own performance. They still exist, the ascetic kind of person who just runs, Rocky-style, without caring much about duration or length, but they are definitely a minority. Most casual athletes measure their workouts using sports watches or similar gadgets made by Garmin, Fitbit, or Nike. Or directly by smartphone. The options are overwhelming, the business with fitness accessories is booming.

Strava Toplists

Once data has been captured, it needs to be analyzed. A variety of apps, such as Runkeepers, Fitbit or Nike’s Running Club are competing for casual athletes’ attention here. Another popular choice is Strava, who has garnered quite a bit of attention over the last couple of days. Strava, located in San Francisco, markets itself as the “Social Network for Athletes” and pursues this promise vigilantly. People running the same segments repeatedly can compare themselves to other people active on these routes. After adding friends, they can complement each other on successful workouts or add comments. A nicely made animation titled “Flyby” even allows it to identify other Strava users that were encountered – or sometimes even better – overtaken on the morning bike ride.

When looking at the data in context of a single run or ride, it is not irrelevant, but hardly of large significance for a large percentage of users. But the more data can be correlated, the more potential for abuse arises. A female runner wrote about her concerns of strangers following her regular routes in 2017. The issue was considered an isolated case and was dismissed by Strava with the advice to adjust privacy settings.

The “Global Heatmap” that Strava published recently made significantly more of a splash. Created from approximately a billion of workouts, roughly ten terabyte of raw data, Strava built an international heatmap showing popular spots to run, swim, and bike. Nathan Ruser, an analyst for UCA, quickly realized that this kind of “Big Data” would yield more than just athletic hotspots, including other areas of interest.

It becamse apparent very quickly that apps like Strava are not exclusively used by casual athletes in rather peaceful western countries, but also by servicemen and -women in war regions. Within a short amount of time, several secret or classified army bases have been identified, partially with correlating patrol or supply routes.

The area of the Pentagon

The public reaction was, as was to be expected, harsh: It was not deemed acceptable, that the life of soldiers would be exposed to new threats due to the irresponsible sharing of this dataset. Strava reacted in a statement and, again, pointed out that the sharing of said information is voluntary and could be deactivated by each individual user.

A statement that is not wrong, but does not relieve Strava of taking responsibility for handling the data entrusted to them in any context with care. When using a very liberal setting as a default, customers need to be informed about said option and the opt-out needs to be easy. With Strava, the opposite is the case: Privacy Settings are confusing at best and offer, all things consider, about six different settings of partial effectiveness. Even proficient users who think they have adjusted their settings properly might actually not have done so and regularly leak sensitive movement data. The standard setting defaults essentially to “Everyone sees everything”. Blaming an enduser for not being able to handle this challenge properly, is absurd.

In a time where the usage of increasingly complex technological tools is penetrating our lifes deeper and deeper, enterprises need to be held accountable under the threat of harsher consequences. The case of Strava illustrates, once again, how important the context of data is to assess their importance or criticality. It is an important lession, also for Swiss companies, to reconsider the secondary usage of the data entrusted to them.

Strava Flyby: Risk or Feature?

About the Author

Stefan Friedli

Stefan Friedli is a well-known face among the Infosec Community. As a speaker at international conferences, co-founder of the Penetration Testing Execution Standard (PTES) as well as a board member of the Swiss DEFCON groups chapters, he still contributes to push the community and the industry forward.

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Trustworthy AI

Trustworthy AI

Prisca Quadroni-Renella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Mehr Daten, mehr Verantwortung - Am Beispiel von Strava

Mehr Daten, mehr Verantwortung

Am Beispiel von Strava

Stefan Friedli
von Stefan Friedli
am 08. Februar 2018
Lesezeit: 6 Minuten

Keypoints

  • Strava veröffentlicht in einer Heatmap Bewegungsdaten von Tausenden von Benutzern
  • Die Bewegungsdaten enttarnen, unter anderem, klassifizierte Armeeeinrichtungen
  • Strava will keine Verantwortung übernehmen und verweist auf die eigenen Privacy Settings

Eine öffentliche Heatmap des Fitnesstrackers “Strava” sorgt für Aufruhr, weil die gesammelten Daten Rückschlüsse auf geheime Militäranlagen und andere heikle Infrastrukturelemente zulassen. Ein kritische Blick auf die Kontroverse.

Fitness ist in letzten Jahren zur Ersatzreligion aufgestiegen, so berichten es diese Tage verschiedene Schweizer Medien. Eine verallgemeinernde Aussage, deren teilweise Wahrheit man vermutlich nicht ganz abstreiten kann: Im Naherholungsgebiet rund um den Greifensee tummeln sich an sonnigen und regnerischen Tagen gleichermassen Läufer, Biker und Ruderer. Alle auf der Suche nach einem Ausgleich zum Arbeitsalltag, der in vielen Fällen doch eher bewegungsarm ausfällt.

Fortschritte zu machen ist ein primäres Ziel für viele Hobbysportler: Eine höhere Schrittfrequenz, tieferer Puls und vor allem bessere Split-Zeiten sind für Läufer wichtige Messdaten, um abzuschätzen ob die Bemühungen an der frischen Luft die eigene Leistungsfähigkeit effektiv erhöht. Es gibt sie zwar noch, die Asketen, die in bester “Rocky”-Manier einfach ihre Kilometer abspulen und sich nicht darum kümmern, ob sie nun schneller oder langsamer waren als das letzte Mal – aber sie sind selten geworden. Der typische Hobbysportler misst seine Workouts mittels Sportuhren oder ähnlichen Gadgets von Garmin, Fitbit oder Nike. Oder direkt per Smarthone. Die Optionen sind mannigfaltig, der Markt mit derartigen Gerätschaften boomt.

Strava Toplisten

Sind die Daten einmal erfasst, gilt es diese auszuwerten. Verschiedene Apps wie Runkeeper, Fitbit oder Nike’s Running Club buhlen hier um die Gunst der Hobbyathleten. Ein prominenter Anbieter ist auch Strava, der in den letzten Tagen für Schlagzeilen gesorgt hat. Strava, mit Sitz in San Francisco, vermarketet sich gezielt als das “Social Network für Athleten” und verfolgt diesen Ansatz konsequent: Wer regelmässig die selben Strecken läuft oder fährt, der kann sich in Toplisten mit anderen messen. Wer Freunde zu seiner Liste hinzufügt, kann diesen zu einem gelungenen Workout gratulieren und Kommentare hinzufügen. Eine hübsch gemacht Animation mit dem Titel “Flyby” erlaubt es sogar zu sehen, welche anderen Strava-Nutzer man bei der morgendlichen Rundfahrt gekreuzt oder – manchmal fast interessanter – überholt hat.

Betrachtet man diese Daten isoliert, also im Kontext eines einzelnen Laufes oder einer Velofahrt, so sind diese sicherlich nicht belanglos, aber kaum Grund für massive Bedenken der meisten Nutzer. Je mehr diese Daten aber korreliert werden, desto kritischer wird der Datenschutz-Aspekte: Eine Läuferin schrieb bereits in 2017 über ihre Bedenken, dass scheinbar Fremde ihre üblichen Laufrunden auskundschaften könnten. Die Angelegenheit wurde damals als Einzelfall weitgehend ignoriert, mit Hinweis auf die Einstellung zur Privatsphäre.

Deutlich weitere Wellen geschlagen hat nun die sogenannte “Global Heatmap”, die Strava jüngst der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht hat. Aus über eine Millarde geloggter Aktivitäten, rund zehn Terabyte Rohdaten, hat Strava eine internationale Heatmap gebaut, die aufzeigen soll, wo die beliebtesten Strecken und Ausgangsorte für sportliche Aktivitäten liegen. Ein Analyst der UCA namens Nathan Ruser witterte rasch, dass diese Art von “Big Data”-Auswertung nicht nur sportliche Hotspots zu Tage fördern würde, sondern auch andere interessante Lokalitäten.

So stellte sich rasch heraus, dass Apps wie Strava nicht nur von Hobbysportlern in weitgehend konfliktfreien westlichen Ländern, sondern auch von Soldaten in Kriesengebieten eingesetzt wird. Innert kürzesten Zeit wurden auf der Activity Map verschiedene, teils geheime oder undokumentierte, Armeestützpunkte identifiziert, teils direkt korrelierend mit Patrouillenrouten oder anderen kritischen Aspekten.

Die Gegend rund um das Pentagon

Die öffentliche Reaktion fiel erwartungsgemäss heftig aus: Es könne nicht angehen, dass die Leben von Soldaten durch derartige Bewegungsdaten aufs Spiel gesetzt würden. Strava reagierte mit einem Statement und machte darauf aufmerksam, dass das Freigeben dieser Bewegungsdaten nicht zwingend sei und deaktiviert werden könne.

Das ist nicht falsch, entbindet Strava aber nicht von der Verantwortung, mit den ihnen vorliegenden Daten sinngerecht umzugehen. Wer eine sehr liberale Sharing-Option als Standardeinstellung ausliefert, sollte seine Kunden sehr gezielt auf diese hinweisen – und den Opt-Out einfach machen. Bei Strava ist das kaum der Fall: Die Privacy Settings sind bestenfalls verwirrend und kommen, betrachtet man alle Kombinationsmöglichkeiten, in ca. sechs unterschiedlich ausgeprägten Stufen. Sogar Nutzer, die glauben ihre Einstellungen “sicherer” gemacht zu haben können unter Umständen immer noch kritische Bewegungsdaten preisgeben. Die Standardeinstellungen entsprechend weitgehend einem “Alle sehen alles”-Modell. Einen Endbenutzer ohne technische Expertise dafür verantwortlich zu machen, hier nicht die notwendigen Schritte treffen zu können ist absurd.

In einer Zeit, in der die Nutzung von zunehemend komplexerer und tiefgreifender technologischer Mittel immer mehr unseren Alltag penetriert, müssen Unternehmen strikter und unter Androhung harscherer Konsequenzen in die Verantwortung genommen werden. Der Fall Strava zeigt einmal mehr eindrücklich auf, wie wichtig der Kontext von Informationen für die Einschätzung derer Wichtigkeit oder Wert sein kann – eine wichtige Lektion auch für Firmen hierzulande, die gerne den Sekundärnutzen der ihnen zur Verfügung gestellten Daten abschätzen.

Strava Flyby Funktion: Risiko oder Feature?

Über den Autor

Stefan Friedli

Stefan Friedli gehört zu den bekannten Gesichtern der Infosec Community. Als Referent an internationalen Konferenzen, Mitbegründer des Penetration Testing Execution Standard (PTES) und Vorstandsmitglied des Schweizer DEFCON Group Chapters trägt er aktiv zum Fortschritt des Segmentes bei.

Links

Herausforderung Datenschutz-Grundverordnung DSGVO?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv