Excel Forensics - Detecting Activities without Track Changes

Excel Forensics

Detecting Activities without Track Changes

Marc Ruef
by Marc Ruef
on May 03, 2018
time to read: 6 minutes

Keypoints

  • Forensic investigations traditionally focus on the file system
  • Manipulation of Office documents may also be significant
  • The use of the Track Changes function is one preferred method
  • Analysis of the Excel format also reveals chronological changes to data
  • This makes it possible to detect and trace actions

Forensic investigation of manipulated files traditionally focuses on fragments in the file system. But modern file formats can also contain data that may offer insights into activities and users. During a customer-specific project, we discovered a new approach to this in the case of Excel documents.

The case

The customer creates an Excel document in the XLSX format. This file is located on a file server, which means it can be edited by multiple users.

One of these legitimate users has illegitimately manipulated the file content. This has caused damage, requiring us to find out who was behind the malicious manipulation.

Forensic investigation

The customer provided us with the file for analysis. Since the malicious manipulation there had been a number of legitimate modifications to the file content. In addition, the illegitimate manipulation was ultimately reversed (overwritten). An intrusion of this sort is not an ideal starting point for a forensic investigation.

Traditional approach: Track Changes

The traditional approach is to check the data generated when using the Track Changes function. This function can be enabled in Excel (and other Office products) to record each change made to the file content in Office. All changes can be viewed, accepted or rejected.

The disadvantage of this approach is that this function must be deliberately enabled. It is not activated by default and can also be disabled by the user at a later stage.

In our case, Track Changes was not enabled, so we were unable to gather any useful data on this level.

Advanced alternatives: shared strings

Excel documents saved in XLSX format are XML files based on the XML spreadsheet format and are packed in a ZIP archive. So when you change the file extension from .xlsx to .zip, it can be unpacked in the usual way (using 7zip, for instance). The archive contains individual files and subdirectories.

Content of an XLSX file

The XML documents are stored in the xl/ subdirectory, which contains a file called sharedStrings.xml. This file contains all of the values found at least once in a cell in the Excel document. If they occur multiple times, they can be referenced in the worksheets under xl/worksheets/. This referential usage saves resources, much like a relational database.

What is interesting about this file is that the shared strings it contains are recorded in chronological order. So if the value Test 1 is entered into a cell and then Test 2 in another, both of these values will be stored in precisely this order.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<sst xmlns="http://schemas.openxmlformats.org/spreadsheetml/2006/main" count="3" uniqueCount="3"><si><t>The first entry</t></si><si><t>The second entry</t></si><si><t>The third entry</t></si></sst>

This means you can trace the order in which data was entered. Overwritten cells are also replaced in shared strings, and deleted cells are deleted. It is not possible to inject tags, as special characters (e.g. chevrons) are HTML-encoded.

Action in Excel Effect in sharedStrings.xml
Fill cell New entry at the end of the list
Overwrite cell Replace existing entry in the same position
Delete cell Existing entry deleted without replacement

In this particular case, we were able to use individual data to identify who entered data before and after the malicious manipulation, greatly narrowing down the number of potential culprits.

Conclusion

Good forensic investigators have to be creative with the means at their disposal. Modern computer systems offer numerous data sources that can be used for the purposes of analysis. This can be crucial, as the culprits are often unaware that this is possible. That was the case here, where analyzing the circumstances made a major contribution to the progress of the investigations.

About the Author

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef has been working in information security since the late 1990s. He is well-known for his many publications and books. The last one called The Art of Penetration Testing is discussing security testing in detail. He is a lecturer at several universities, like ETH, HWZ, HSLU and IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

MITRE ATT&CK

MITRE ATT&CK

Marc Ruef

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Excel Forensik - Aktivitäten ohne Track Changes erkennen

Excel Forensik

Aktivitäten ohne Track Changes erkennen

Marc Ruef
von Marc Ruef
am 03. Mai 2018
Lesezeit: 7 Minuten

Keypoints

  • Forensische Untersuchungen fokussieren sich traditionell auf das Dateisystem
  • Manipulationen an Office-Dokumenten können ebenfalls von Wichtigkeit sein
  • Die aktivierte Funktion Track-Changes wird bevorzugt herangezogen
  • Die Analyse des Excel-Dateiformats zeigt zusätzlich eine chronologische Anpassung von Daten auf
  • Dadurch werden Abläufe erkennbar und nachvollziehbar

Die forensische Untersuchung von manipulierten Dateien konzentriert sich traditionell auf Fragmente auf dem Dateisystem. Moderne Dateiformate können jedoch ihrerseits Daten enthalten, die Rückschlüsse auf Aktivitäten und Benutzer geben können. Im Rahmen eines kundenspezifischen Projekts haben wir einen neuartigen Ansatz gefunden, wie dies bei Excel-Dokumenten umgesetzt werden kann.

Der Fall

Der Kunde benutzt ein Excel-Dokument des Formats XLSX, um eine Dokumentation zu erstellen. Diese Datei befindet sich auf einem Dateiserver und kann deshalb durch verschiedene Benutzer bearbeitet werden.

Einer der legitimen Benutzer hat eine illegitime Manipulation des Dateiinhalts vorgenommen. Diese hat zu einem Schaden geführt, weshalb der Auftrag darin bestand herauszufinden, wer diese böswillige Anpassung vorgenommen hat.

Forensische Untersuchung

Der Kunde hat uns die Datei zur Verfügung gestellt, um eine Analyse durchführen zu können. Seit der böswilligen Manipulation wurden verschiedene legitimen Modifikationen am Dateiinhalt vorgenommen. Zudem wurde die illegitime Manipulation in einem letzten Schritt rückgängig gemacht (überschrieben). Diese Intrusivität ist eine suboptimale Ausgangslage für eine forensische Untersuchung.

Traditioneller Ansatz: Track Changes

Als traditioneller Ansatz wird die Prüfung der durch die Funktion Track Changes angelegten Daten angesehen. Diese Funktion kann in Excel (und anderen Office-Produkten) aktiviert werden, um Veränderungen zu protokollieren. Jede Anpassung des Dateiinhalts über Office wird dokumentiert, kann eingesehen, akzeptiert oder rückgängig gemacht werden.

Der Nachteil dieses Ansatzes ist, dass die Funktion explizit aktiviert werden muss. Sie ist standardmässig nicht aktiviert oder kann durch den Benutzer nachträglich wieder abgeschaltet werden.

In unserem Fall war Track Changes nicht aktiviert, weshalb auf dieser Ebene keine verwertbaren Daten zusammengetragen werden konnten.

Erweiterte Möglichkeiten: Shared Strings

Excel-Dokumente, die im XLSX-Format gespeichert werden, bestehen aus XML-Dateien auf der Basis des XML Spreadsheet Format, die ihrerseits in einem ZIP-Archiv gepackt sind. Wenn man also die Dateiendung von .xlsx zu .zip umbenennt, kann sie regulär entpackt werden (z.B. mittels 7zip). Darin finden sich nun einzelne Dateien und Unterverzeichnisse.

Inhalt einer XLSX-Datei

Im Unterverzeichnis xl/ sind die XML-Dokumente abgelegt. Darin findet sich eine Datei namens sharedStrings.xml. In dieser sind alle Werte enthalten, die mindestens einmal in einer Zelle im Excel-Dokument vorkommen. Falls sie mehrfach vorkommen, können sie nämlich in den Worksheets in xl/worksheets/ referenziert werden. Durch diese referenzielle Nutzung lassen sich, ähnlich wie bei relationalen Datenbanken, Ressourcen sparen.

Das Spannende an dieser Datei ist, dass die abgelegten Shared Strings in chronologischer Reihenfolge vermerkt werden. Wenn also in einer Zelle der Wert Test 1 und danach in einer anderen Test 2 eingegeben wird, sind diese beiden Werte genau in dieser Reihenfolge gespeichert.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<sst xmlns="http://schemas.openxmlformats.org/spreadsheetml/2006/main" count="3" uniqueCount="3"><si><t>Die erste Eingabe</t></si><si><t>Die zweite Eingabe</t></si><si><t>Die dritte Eingabe</t></si></sst>

Dadurch wird es also möglich nachzuvollziehen, in welcher Reihenfolge welche Daten eingegeben wurden. Überschriebene Zellen werden auch in Shared Strings ersetzt. Und gelöschte Zellen gelöscht. Das Injizieren von Tags ist nicht möglich, da ein HTML-Encoding von Sonderzeichen (z.B. spitze Klammern) durchgesetzt wird.

Aktion in Excel Effekt in sharedStrings.xml
Zelle ausfüllen Neuer Eintrag am Schluss der Liste
Zelle überschreiben Bestehenden Eintrag an gleicher Stelle ersetzen
Zelle löschen Bestehenden Eintrag ersatzlos löschen

In diesem spezifischen Fall war es anhand der individuellen Daten möglich zu erkennen, wer vor und wer nach nach der böswilligen Manipulation Daten eingegeben hat. Dadurch konnte der Kreis möglicher Täter enorm eingeschränkt werden.

Fazit

Ein guter Forensiker muss kreativ mit den ihm zur Verfügung stehenden Mitteln umgehen können. Moderne Computersystemen bieten eine Vielzahl an Datenquellen, die für eine Auswertung herhalten können. Dies kann ein entscheidender Vorteil sein, sind diese Möglichkeiten nämlich den Tätern oftmals nicht bekannt. So auch in diesem Fall, in dem durch das Analysieren der Umstände die Ermittlungen massgeblich vorwärts gebracht werden konnten.

Über den Autor

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Cybersecurity-Bereich aktiv. Er hat vor allem im deutschsprachigen Raum aufgrund der Vielzahl durch ihn veröffentlichten Fachpublikationen und Bücher – dazu gehört besonders Die Kunst des Penetration Testing – Bekanntheit erlangt. Er ist Dozent an verschiedenen Hochschulen, darunter ETH, HWZ, HSLU und IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

3D Printing

3D Printing

Marc Ruef

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv