Consciousness and Artificial Intelligence - Between Empirical Science, Spirituality and Philosophy

Consciousness and Artificial Intelligence

Between Empirical Science, Spirituality and Philosophy

Marisa Tschopp
by Marisa Tschopp
on July 05, 2018
time to read: 18 minutes

Keypoints

  • Awake consciousness comprises the complexities of perception, attention and functions of information processing
  • Artificial intelligence integrates machine consciousness research regarding existence and framework development
  • Processes, functions, benefits as well as ethical and legal implications are in the center of scientific discourse
  • Demystifying consciousness of humans and machines can yield great benefits for society, for example in the field of healthcare or jurisdiction

What is human consciousness? Can machines be conscious? The new research area of machine consciousness wants to shed light on this enduring myth, integrating all these ethical and social implications that come along. Various scientific disciplines join the debate, from philosophy to physics, contributing valuable insights to the puzzling and fuzzy question, which societal status machines with intelligent systems have now and in future generations.

The Myth of Consciousness – an Insoluble Problem?

The neuroscientific perspective was in the center of the previous review of the human-machine comparison, focusing on the architecture of human mental processes and which parallels exist to synthetically reconstructed cognitive processes, and further who benefits from whom. The plea is clear: The approach must be scientific, to make professional and realistic conclusions. All forms of polemics, idealism and opportunism are counterproductive for a discourse about the mega topic AI.

When it comes to cognition, a scientific approach seems quite natural, as cognitive neuro sciences have gained great momentum and is now widely accepted in academia, due to a focus on empirical, quantitative methodologies. Research and development have made great progress reconstructing human neuronal structures, yet in the end one question remains: what brings life to this physiology? How does the nervous system manage to create consciousness through its functionalities? A very old, traditional myth of humanity, the classic mind-body problem, which keeps fascinating humanity for a long time now. The fire about the mind-body debate is rekindled, when it comes to the question, if consciousness can be attributed to machines, the more they resemble human architectures.

Soul and Sensation

Scientist working in empirical research fear and prefer to avoid the topic of consciousness. “Real” scientists avoid setting off into the unknown fields of consciousness research, as one has to deal with questions, which cannot be answered quantitatively nowadays and answers that touch upon very unscientific issues. From Freud to God, and one has to deal with them in a way, which must be free of judgement.

Recently, consciousness research has found its way back into academia, for one reason being the tremendous developments in neuro- and computer sciences. There is a strong legitimation, however, machine or artificial consciousness research is still in its infancy. Yet media has covered heated debates about the legal status of machines, for example when looking at the abuse of machines, as seen in the following video by Boston Dynamics, which gave rise to sharp criticism by some robo-activists:

State of The Art Research: Human Consciousness

Serious consciousness research is a balancing act between humanities, theology and natural sciences, and has also found entry into psychology as an empirical science. Not long ago, the influence of cognitive processes on human behavior have been the big mystery, which has changed drastically. Concerning consciousness, mystery is still the name of the game. Clearly, no acceptable framework exists by now, only many ideas, for example the materialistically coined idea, that the brain creates consciousness as a form of illusion.

Zimbardo and Gerrig define consciousness as a state of recognizing inner states and the external environment (2008). Fundamental areas of research in psychology are:

Focus of this review are content and functions of consciousness, as the latter seem less relevant within the human machine context. Looking at the topic of content, a variety of complex constructs such as thoughts, feelings or perception at a specific point of time, are within the scope of research. Four different approaches are distinguished: preconscious memory content, unnoted information, and unconscious processes that influence the respective content of human awareness. Further unconscious processes without any active control, such as regulating the nervous system, are part of consciousness research.

The role of consciousness can be explained through the lens of the evolutionary perspective as in the theorem “survival of the fittest”. The underlying rationale is that consciousness was created by evolution to ensure the survival of the own species. Creating consciousness featured new skills such as restrictive reception of information, selective memory and planning function, also called executive control, with the objective to interrupt action and consider alternatives and consequences (Zimbardo and Gerrig, 2008).

Looking for physical explanations of consciousness, David Chalmers, Professor at the New York University, sees consciousness as some kind of anomaly in sciences: We experience nothing better than our own consciousness, yet there is no objective explanation for it.

In his book, The Conscious Mind: In Search of a Fundamental Theory, Chalmers not only works on a theory towards human consciousness, but also discusses the chances and conditions if and how machines can be conscious entities. Frankly, not easy to read, yet he tries to integrate philosophical as well as technical aspects into his reasoning to suit the needs of his heterogeneous readership. However, the topic of machine consciousness is hard to grasp at first, it affords quite intense examination from various perspectives.

Furthermore, using the example of Information Integration Theory of Consciousness (or Theory Phi according to Tononi, 2004), he explains that a system with a high degree of complex information processing analogously is conscious, which consequently also accounts for AI. However, this raises several questions: is there a collective consciousness? Does Canada have a consciousness? How do disruptive theories about consciousness look like? Radical, fundamental or universal? To answer these questions, frameworks of human consciousness must be created first. He is convinced, that humanity will have a definite model of consciousness at some point of time, but this requires open-minded researchers with radical ideas, courage, and maybe a hint of insanity, who are willing to engage in constructive controversy.

Graziano and Webb (2014) propose a rather mechanistic theory of consciousness (The Attention Schema Theory), based on studies in cognitive psychology and systems neuro sciences, published in the International Journal of Machine Consciousness. At the heart of the theory stands the processing of information and that consciousness is a tool constructed by the brain to process information successfully (attention as a method of data handling). The legitimization of the control function of attention as a central regulation mechanism, are described by the authors from an evolutionary perspective as well, as already explained above. At the end of the article, as with most articles discussing the topic of consciousness, it ends with the justified speculation, if these characteristics or properties can be transferred to machines.

State of the Art – Machine Consciousness

Scientific research on the topic Machine Consciousness (also called Artificial Consciousness or Digital Sentience), has approached the topic with diverse frameworks of multidisciplinary perspectives and wants to answer questions, comprising goal, sense and purpose of machine consciousness, as well as critique, social and ethical implications. This area of research is in a pre-paradigmatic stadium and hence in a state of exploration, where radical exclusion procedures are counterproductive (Gamez 2008).

Gamez differentiates four distinct areas of research on machine consciousness, which move along the continuum of human-machine-comparison: from reproduction/simulation of human behavior and architecture to the creation of real consciousness as a biological phenomenon:

If you look at the example of the well-known Chinese Room Thought Experiment by J. Searle, this would be attributed to the area (MC4) Phenomenally Conscious Machines. As a harsh opponent of conscious machines, Searle arguments, that a machine will never have a mind or consciousness, because “understanding” is just simulated. The logic of computers follows a pure formal structure (syntax), which orders symbols according to clear rules and hence only emulates understanding. In contrast to humans, with a mind and consciousness, who are able to attribute meaning and content to words and language (semantics).

The Turing Test on the other side (according to Alan Turing), which also tests, if a machine can think and act like a human, is satisfied with a mere simulation of human behavior, as long as these procedures are good enough to produce the correct results (for further explanation: this means, a Turing Test should merely test whether a machine is distinguishable from a human being, neglecting the role and methods of the actual inner processes). At this point an important overlap to other issues come into play, namely the distinction between weak AI and strong AI. A strong AI would correspond to the (MC4) area. Weak AI and the topic of Artificial General Intelligence, a term coined by Goertzel and Pennachin (2007), try to replicate human intelligence fully (MC1-3).

However, an entire replication, implies full understanding: _If we don’t understand how human consciousness is produced, then it makes little sense to attempt to make a robot phenomenally conscious. (Gamez. S. 892, 2008)

So, generally speaking, it would make sense to first understand the one thing before applying it to other complex systems. But history indicates the contrary: A progressive approach can be successful and radical ideas from different disciplines have led to huge insights which are beneficial across disciplines, as described in the last article regarding the Human Brain Project. Gamez keeps scientist on board with his fundamental argument that, there is no legit reason, why the physical structure of a computer is less likely to create consciousness, than the physical structures of the brain, keeping in mind the prerequisite that consciousness is a biological phenomenon and not a spiritual or an illusion (2007).

Neuroscientists will never fully understand how the brain works without understanding consciousness, and engineers will never build fully capable computers without designing them into some version of the same tool. (Graziano & Webb, S. 1, 2014)

Discussion

So, what? That is the question all scientists should bear in mind. What are the benefits of researching consciousness, no matter if human or machine?

From a mechanistic perspective, all functions known by now which are attributed to consciousness, are evenly beneficial for human as well as for artificial intelligence. A scheme for regulating and simplifying information (instead of accurate aggregation) can be built in, for increasing efficiency in information processing and energy saving. Another function, which has not been discussed so far, is social cognition. In this context, social cognition means that humans attribute consciousness to other humans, which can be seen as an evidence for the existence of their own consciousness. This can be transferred to machines, so that the design of a machine incorporates the capability to predict behavior of others. This is especially important in social contexts, where intelligent machines interact with other human beings, for example as a soldier in a military unit or as a tour guide in a museum.

In conclusion it can make sense to pro-actively integrate machine consciousness in the design processes, to benefit from its functions:

The naïve approach of waiting to see if computers become conscious as they become more complicated has not yet yielded a satisfactory result. It may be more effective to design a machine in such a way that it concludes it has consciousness and can report that conclusion. The machine could use that self-model to regulate its own data flow and to understand the behavior of others. (Graziano and Webb, S. 11, 2014)

Or, do we simply have to accept, as Searle cynically states it, that machines have a consciousness just like humans know they have a consciousness, but cannot really prove it?

If so, how should a machine look like, if it is conscious? Aleksander and Dunmall (2003) define five prerequisites, which are needed to create a machine with consciousness:

Some examples, how machine consciousness is studied by using robots are, CRONOS; Cicerobot or Cyberchild, which integrate several aspects from the environment, physiology and internal processes.

Last, but not least: All researchers analyzing machine consciousness will be confronted with legal and ethical questions and imiplications sooner or later. This can happen in various scenarios, like the animal protection movement has confronted research and practice as a consequence of the acknowledgement of animal consciousness. The apocalyptic rise-of-the-robots discussions are as relevant as the issue of the legal status of a machine as a natural person or an object. The current issue about the responsibility within self-driving cars reflects the core of the ethical debate.

Whereas in classical systems developers are held responsible, boundaries are blurred when self-learning systems learn from the environment or if machines are attributed some kind of consciousness (Gamez 2008). One must not forget, that it is not long ago that in ancient Rome, slaves did not have a person status but were treated as objects (in Latin res) in front of the law. However, it seems quite unrealistic that a movement like #robotlivesmatter will gain serious importance. It is highly advisable though to integrate these topics in every stakeholder analysis, even if it sounds quite abstruse, because all of a sudden a small, unnoticed movement not taken seriously can have devastating consequences for a company or a state. For an in-depth discussion about the determination of the legal state of machines Calverley (2005) is recommended.

Conclusion and Outlook

Machine consciousness is a new, complex and interdisciplinary research area, giving a huge headache to many. It is tightly interwoven with AI and although it would be easier trying to neglect this topic, it is an indispensable issue for everyone who wants to approach AI seriously and from a systemic perspective.

It has aroused interest from many disciplines, such as philosophy, psychology, neuro and computer sciences and even physics. With their distinct and unique approaches every discipline contributes to decipher the mystery of consciousness and demystify what is incomprehensible so far.

It is hard to predict how far, the research field of machine consciousness will establish itself in science, but certainly there is no rational reason to stop research endeavors within the next 10-20 years. This is quite reasonable because even if there are no developments in the area of machine consciousness, or it is proven that machine consciousness does not existent, it will definitely contribute to the knowledge and frameworks of human consciousness. This will hopefully lead to beneficial developments in the field of health as well as politics and jurisdiction. More knowledge about the benefits and functions of human consciousness, will lead to building better machines and systems, which in turn will serve humanity for our and future generations.

References

Aleksander, I., & Dunmall, B. (2003). Axioms and tests for the presence of minimal consciousness in agents. In O. Holland (Ed.), Machine consciousness. Exeter: Imprint Academic.

Calverley, D. J. (2005). Towards a method for determining the legal status of a conscious machine. In Chrisley, R., Clowes, R., & Torrance, S. (Eds.), Proceedings of the AISB05 symposium on next generation approaches to machine consciousness, Hatfield, UK.

Chalmers, D. J. (1996). The Conscious Mind: In Search of a Fundamental Theory. Oxford University Press.

Gamez, D. (2008). Progress in Machine Consciousness. Consiousness and Cognition, 17, 887-910

Goertzel, B., & Pennachin, C. (Eds.). (2007). Artificial general intelligence. Berlin: Springer

Graziano, M. S. A., and Webb, T. W. (2014). A mechanistic theory of consciousness. Int. J. Mach. Conscious. 06, 163.

Tononi, G. (2004). An Information Integration Theory of Consciousness. BMC Neurosci,5, 42.

Zimbardo, P., Gerrig, R., & Graf, R. (2008). Psychologie. München: Pearson Education.

About the Author

Marisa Tschopp

Marisa Tschopp has studied Organizational Psychology at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University in Munich. She is conducting research about Artificial Intelligence from a humanities perspective, focusing on psychological and ethical aspects. She held different talks like for TEDx and is also the ambassador for the Women in AI (WAI) initiative in Switzerland. (ORCID 0000-0001-5221-5327)

Links

You want to evaluate or develop an A.I.?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Diversify AI

Diversify AI

Marisa Tschopp

Anthropomorphism

Anthropomorphism

Marisa Tschopp

AI and Leadership

AI and Leadership

Marisa Tschopp

You want more?

Further articles available here

You want to evaluate or develop an A.I.?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Bewusstsein und Künstliche Intelligenz - Eine Gratwanderung zwischen empirischer Wissenschaft, Spiritualität und Philosophie

Bewusstsein und Künstliche Intelligenz

Eine Gratwanderung zwischen empirischer Wissenschaft, Spiritualität und Philosophie

Marisa Tschopp
von Marisa Tschopp
am 05. Juli 2018
Lesezeit: 18 Minuten

Keypoints

  • Bewusstsein im Wachzustand umfasst ein komplexes Forschungsgebiet rund um Wahrnehmung, Aufmerksamkeit und Funktionen zur Informationsverarbeitung
  • Künstliche Intelligenz wird im Rahmen des Forschungsgebietes Maschinenbewusstsein auf dessen Existenz und Modell untersucht
  • Prozesse, Funktionen, Vorteile als auch ethisch/rechtliche Implikationen sind im Zentrum der wissenschaftlichen Diskussion
  • Entmystifizierung des Bewusstseins bei Mensch und Maschine, kann zu weitreichenden gesellschaftlichen Vorteilen, z.B. in den Bereichen Medizin oder Gesetzgebung, führen

Was ist menschliches Bewusstsein? Hat eine Maschine ein Bewusstsein? Das neue Forschungsgebiet Maschinenbewusstsein, versucht dieses Rätsel zu entmystifizieren, zusammen mit all jenen ethischen und sozialen Implikationen, die damit einhergehen. Dabei mischen die unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen von der Philosophie zur Neurowissenschaft und Physik mit und liefern wertvolle Beiträge auf die kopfzerbrechende, heikle Frage, welchen gesellschaftlichen Status Maschinen mit intelligenten Systemen in unserer Zeit und künftigen Generationen einnehmen werden.

Der Mythos Bewusstsein – ein unlösbares Problem?

Die neurowissenschaftliche Perspektive war im Fokus des vorhergehenden Reviews des Mensch-Maschine Vergleichs, wobei es um die Architektur menschlicher mentaler Prozesse ging, welche Parallelen zu künstlich geschaffenen, kognitiven Fähigkeiten bestehen und wer von wem profitiert. Das Plädoyer ist deutlich: Der Zugang muss zwingend wissenschaftlich sein, um klare, professionelle als auch realistische Aussagen zu treffen. Jede Form von Polemik, Idealismus also auch Opportunismus, sind für eine neutrale Auseinandersetzung mit dem Mega-Thema kontraproduktiv.

Beim Thema Kognition ist der wissenschaftliche Ton verhältnismässig leicht anzuschlagen, da die Akzeptanz der Methodik und Diagnostik hier am grössten ist, da empirisch (daten- und evidenzbasiert, quantitativ) vorgegangen wird. Die Forschung und Entwicklung in der synthetischen Rekonstruktion menschlicher neuronaler Strukturen hat erstaunliche Fortschritte gemacht. Doch am Ende des Reviews lautete die Frage, was verleiht dieser Physiologie “Leben”? Wie schafft es das Gehirn, über diese Funktionalität Bewusstsein zu schaffen? Ein uraltes, traditionsreiches Rätsel der Menschheit, über Beschaffenheit von Geist und Körper. Die Debatte um Körper und Geist erfährt neue Aufmerksamkeit, wenn es um die Frage geht, ob KI-basierte Systeme Bewusstsein zugeschrieben werden kann, je mehr sie sich den menschlichen Architekturen annähern.

Bewusstsein und Seele

Wissenschaftler in der empirischen Forschung fürchten das Thema Bewusstsein. Wer sich als “echter” Wissenschaftler in diese Gefilde begibt, muss sich Fragen stellen, die mit quantitativen Methoden derzeit eher nicht zu beantworten sind, denn es muss sich mit “unwissenschaftlichen” Themen, von Freud bis Gott, urteilsfrei auseinandergesetzt werden.

Neuerdings hat das Thema Bewusstsein jedoch wieder Eingang in die akademische Forschung erhalten, nicht zuletzt wegen der Fortschritte in der Neurowissenschaft als auch in der Informatik. Der Zusammenhang liegt also auf der Hand, wobei die Verbreitung und Etablierung einer Forschung zu Machine oder Artificial Consciousness noch in den Kinderschuhen steckt. Doch auch in den Alltagsmedien finden schon hitzige, juristische Debatten statt, inwiefern Maschinen einen Personen- oder Objektstatus haben und welche Rechte damit einhergehen. So zum Beispiel, ob ein Roboter misshandelt werden darf, wie im Video von Boston Dynamics zu sehen ist, welches von dem ein oder anderen Robo-Aktivisten scharf kritisiert worden ist.

Stand der Forschung: Menschliches Bewusstsein

Seriöse Forschung zum Thema Bewusstsein ist eine Gratwanderung zwischen Geisteswissenschaften, Philosophie und Naturwissenschaften und hat sich auch in der Psychologie als empirische Wissenschaft etabliert. Einst waren die Einflüsse kognitiver Prozesse auf das Verhalten noch das grosse Mysterium, was sich drastisch verändert hat. Was das Bewusstsein betrifft, herrscht nach wie vor das Mysterium. Es gibt ganz klar keine akzeptable Theorie, lediglich viele Ideen, wie zum Beispiel die materialistisch geprägte Idee, dass das Gehirn das Bewusstsein als eine Art Illusion kreiert.

Zimbardo & Gerrig definieren Bewusstsein als ein Zustand des Erkennens von inneren Ereignissen und der äusseren Umwelt (2008). Grundlegende Themenbereiche, die im Rahmen der Untersuchung des Bewusstseins in der Psychologie erforscht werden, umfassen:

Im Fokus des vorliegenden Reviews stehen die Inhalte als auch die Funktionen des Bewusstseins, da die letzteren weniger relevant im Mensch-Maschine Kontext erscheinen. Betrachtet man die Inhalte des Bewusstseins, so spielen eine Vielzahl von komplexen Konstrukten eine Rolle, wie Gedanken, Gefühle, oder Wahrnehmung zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt.

Dabei werden verschiedene Zugänge unterschieden, nämlich vorbewusste Gedächtnisinhalte, unbeachtete Informationen und unbewusste Vorgänge, die die jeweiligen Bewusstseinsinhalte bestimmen. Auch unbewusste Prozesse ohne bewusste Kontrolle, wie die Regulierung des Nervensystems, sind Teil der Forschung.

Die Funktion des Bewusstseins kann aus evolutionspsychologischer Sicht mit dem Prinzip des “survival of the fittest” beschrieben werden. Die Annahme lautet, dass das Bewusstsein aus der Evolution hervorging, um das Überleben der eigenen Spezies zu sichern. Mit dem Bewusstsein wurde sowohl eine restriktive Aufnahmefunktion geschaffen, als auch lebenswichtige selektive Speicher- und Planungsfunktionen, auch genannt exekutive Kontrollfunktion, mit dem Ziel Handlungen abbrechen zu können, um Alternativen und Konsequenzen abzuwägen (Zimbardo & Gerrig, 2008).

Auf dem Weg nach physischen Erklärungen des Bewusstseins, sieht David Chalmers, Professor an der New York Universität, das Thema als eine Art Anomalie der Wissenschaft: Nichts erleben wir besser als unser eigenes Bewusstsein, doch gibt es keine objektive Erklärung dafür.

In seinem Buch The Conscious Mind: In Search of a Fundamental Theory beschreibt Chalmers nicht nur mögliche Modelle zum menschlichen Bewusstsein, sondern diskutiert auch darüber, ob Maschinen Bewusstsein haben oder erlangen können. Eine nicht unbedingt leicht zu verstehende Lektüre, jedoch versucht er sowohl die philosophischen als auch technischen Ansätze für das vermutlich äusserst heterogene Leserpublikum zu integrieren. Doch das Thema Maschinenbewusstsein, ist auf den ersten Blick, und auch auf den zweiten, ein sehr schwer zu erfassender Bereich.

Des Weiteren beschreibt er am Beispiel der Information Integration Theory of Consciousness (oder Theorie Phi nach Tononi, 2004), dass ein System mit hohem Grad an komplexer Informationsverarbeitung auch entsprechend ein Bewusstsein hat, das betrifft also auch KI. Doch dies wirft weitere Fragen auf: Gibt es ein kollektives Bewusstsein? Hat Kanada ein Bewusstsein? Wie müssten die disruptiven Ideen aussehen? Radikal, fundamental oder universal? Um diese Fragen zu beantworten, müssen zuerst Modelle zum menschlichen Bewusstsein entwickelt werden. Er ist überzeugt, dass die Menschheit an irgendeinem Punkt Bewusstsein verstehen wird, aber dazu braucht es offene Menschen mit radikalen Ideen, Furchtlosigkeit und vielleicht eine Prise Wahnsinn, die bereit sind, sich auf einen konstruktiven Diskurs einzulassen.

Graziano und Webb (2014) schlagen eine mechanistische Theorie des Bewusstseins vor (The Attention Schema Theory), welche auf Studien der kognitiven Psychologie und System-Neurowissenschaften basiert, welche im International Journal of Machine Consciousness publiziert wurde. Hier steht das Verarbeiten von Informationen im Vordergrund und, dass das Bewusstsein lediglich ein vom Gehirn konstruiertes Werkzeug ist, um diese Prozesse erfolgreich durchzuführen (Aufmerksamkeit als Mittel der Datenhandhabung). Die Legitimierung der Kontrollfunktionen der Aufmerksamkeit als zentraler Regulierungsmechanismus beschreiben die Autoren aus evolutionspsychologischer Sicht, analog wie oben bereits erklärt. Am Ende wird, wie bei den meisten Arbeiten zum Thema Bewusstsein, zurecht spekuliert, inwiefern diese Eigenschaften auf Maschinen übertragen werden können.

Stand der Forschung: Machine Consciousness – Maschinenbewusstsein

Die Forschung zum Thema Machine Consiousness (seltener Artificial Consiousness oder Digital Sentience), hat sich mit unterschiedlichen Modellen aus multidisziplinären Perspektiven dem Thema genähert und versucht Fragen zu beantworten, welche das Ziel, Sinn und Zweck eines Maschinenbewusstseins umfassen, sowie Kritik, soziale und ethische Implikationen. Die Forschung zum Thema befindet sich noch im prä-paradigmatischen Stadium und somit einer Phase der Exploration, bei der radikale Ausschlussverfahren kontraproduktiv sind (Gamez, 2008).

Gamez differenziert vier unterschiedliche Bereiche der Maschinenbewusstseinsforschung, welche sich entlang des Mensch-Maschine-Vergleichs Kontinuums bewegen: Von der Reproduktion/Simulation menschlichen Verhaltens und Architektur bis zur Schaffung wahren Bewusstseins aus der Maschine selbst heraus als biologisches Phänomen:

Nehmen wir das Beispiel des bekannten Chinese Room Gedankenexperiments von J.Searle, so betrifft es das Gebiet (MC4) Phenomenally Conscious Machines. Als Gegner von bewussten Maschinen argumentiert Searle mit seinem Gedankenexperiment, dass eine Maschine niemals Bewusstsein oder einen Geist hat, da “Verstehen” nur simuliert wird. Die Computer-Logik ist eine rein formale Struktur (Syntax), die Symbole nach Regeln ordnet und dadurch simuliert zu verstehen. Dazu im Gegensatz steht der Mensch mit Geist und Bewusstsein, der den Wörtern und Sprache tatsächlich Bedeutung und Inhalt zuschreiben kann (Semantik).

Betrachtet man auf der anderen Seite den Turing Test (nach Alan Turing), der ebenfalls messen soll, ob eine Maschine wie ein Mensch denken kann, reicht für Turing eine Simulation völlig aus, wenn sie gut genug ist, das gleiche Ergebnis zu produzieren (zur Erklärung: das heisst, im Turing Test wird gemessen, ob eine Maschine von einem Mensch unterschieden werden kann, dabei spielt die Art und Weise der inneren Prozessen keine Rolle). Hier taucht eine wichtige Überlappung zu anderen Nomenklaturen auf, nämlich die Unterscheidung von schwacher und starker KI. Eine starke KI, oft auch genannt Artificial General Intelligence (oder AGI), ein Begriff geprägt von Goertzel und Pennachin (2007), würde dann in etwa (MC4) entsprechen. Schwache KI hingegen, wollen menschliche Intelligenz lediglich simulieren (MC1-3).

If we don’t understand how human consciousness is produced, then it makes little sense to attempt to make a robot phenomenally conscious. (Gamez. S. 892, 2008)

Prinzipiell wäre es zwar logisch, erst das eine zu verstehen, bis es zum nächst komplexeren geht. Jedoch hat die Vergangenheit gezeigt, dass ein progressives Vorgehen Erfolg bringt und radikale Ideen in den unterschiedlichen Disziplinen zu Insights geführt haben, die dann wieder andere Disziplinen befruchtet haben (wie im letzten Bericht am Human Brain Project aufgezeigt). Gamez hält die Forscher mit seinem grundlegenden Argument bei der Stange, dass es keinen Grund gäbe, warum die physische Anordnung in einem Computer weniger fähig sein soll, ein Bewusstsein zu kreieren, als die physische Anordnung in einem Gehirn; allerdings unter der Prämisse, dass Bewusstsein ein biologisches Phänomen ist und kein Spirituelles oder eine Illusion (2007).

Neuroscientists will never fully understand how the brain works without understanding consciousness, and engineers will never build fully capable computers without designing them into some version of the same tool. (Graziano & Webb, S. 1, 2014)

Diskussion

“So what?”, lautet die Frage, die sich jeder Forscher stellen sollte. Welchen Nutzen hat das Erforschen des Bewusstseins egal, ob menschlich oder maschinell?

Aus mechanistischer Perspektive sind all jene Funktionen, welche dem Bewusstsein zugeschrieben werden, ebenso nützlich für künstliche Intelligenz wie für die menschliche. So kann beispielsweise ein Schema zur Regulierung und Simplifizierung von Informationen (statt akkurate Aggregation) durchaus eingebaut werden für eine effizientere Verarbeitung, Einsparung von Energie.

Eine weitere Funktion, welche bis jetzt nicht genauer erklärt wurde, ist die soziale Kognition. In diesem Kontext bedeutet es, dass wir anderen Menschen Bewusstsein zuordnen, was Menschen als einen “Beweis” verwenden, für die Existenz des eigenen Bewusstsein. Dies könnte auf Maschinen übertragen werden, so dass das Design einer Maschine, die Fähigkeit enthält, das Verhalten anderer vorherzusagen. Dies ist vor allem im sozialen Kontext wichtig, wenn intelligente Maschinen mit anderen Menschen interagieren z.B. als Soldat in einer Einheit oder als Tourguide in einem Museum.

Zusammenfassend kann es sinnvoll sein, Maschinenbewusstsein pro-aktiv im Gestaltungsprozess einzubinden, um von den Funktionen zu profitieren:

The naïve approach of waiting to see if computers become conscious as they become more complicated has not yet yielded a satisfactory result. It may be more effective to design a machine in such a way that it concludes it has consciousness and can report that conclusion. The machine could use that self-model to regulate its own data flow and to understand the behavior of others. (Graziano & Webb, S. 11, 2014)

Oder müssen wir einfach akzeptieren, wie Searle mit einem Hauch Zynismus sagt, dass Maschinen ein Bewusstsein haben so wie wir wissen, aber nicht wirklich beweisen können, dass Menschen ein Bewusstsein haben?

Wenn ja, wie müsste eine Maschine aussehen, die Bewusstsein hat? Aleksander und Dunmall (2003) definieren fünf Voraussetzungen, welche nötig wären für eine Maschine mit Bewusstsein:

Einige Beispiele, wie Bewusstsein mithilfe von Robotern untersucht werden soll sind: CRONOS, Cicerobot oder Cyberchild, welche unterschiedliche Aspekt aus Umwelt, Physiologie und interne Prozesse integriert, um so Maschinenbewusstsein zu studieren.

Last, but not least: Wer sich mit Maschinenbewusstsein auseinandersetzt, sieht sich früher oder später mit legalen und ethischen Fragstellung konfrontiert. Dies kann auf verschiedenste Weise geschehen, ähnlich wie die Tierschutzbewegung Forschung und Praxis konfrontierte, als Folge der Anerkennung tierischen Bewusstseins. Dabei sind die apokalyptischen Rise-of-the-Robots Fragestellungen genauso relevant wie die Frage nach dem rechtlichen Status einer Maschine als natürliche Person oder Gegenstand. So verhält es sich aktuell bei der Debatte um das Thema Verantwortung bei selbstfahrende Autos.

Während bei klassischen Systemen die Programmierer in die Verantwortung gezogen wurden, schwinden und vernebeln sich die Grenzen bei aus der Umwelt selbst-lernenden Systemen oder wenn Maschinen eine Form von Bewusstsein zugeschrieben würde (Gamez, 2008). Man bedenke, es ist noch nicht so lange her, als im alten Rom Sklaven keinen Personenstatus hatten und vor dem Gesetz als res (Sache) behandelt wurden. Es scheint allerdings unrealistisch, dass sich eine Bewegung wie #robotlivesmatter ernsthaft durchsetzen wird. Jedoch sollte dies in jeder Stakeholderanalyse enthalten sein, auch wenn es vorerst noch extrem abstrus klingt, denn plötzlich kann so eine nicht ernstgenommen Bewegung ernsthafte Konsequenzen für eine Firma oder einen Staat haben. Für eine detaillierte Auseinandersetzung zur Determinierung des legalen Status bewusster Maschine, wird auf Calverley verwiesen (2005).

Fazit und Ausblick

Maschinenbewusstsein ist ein neues, komplexes, interdisziplinäres Forschungsgebiet, das vielen unglaubliches Kopfzerbrechen bereitet. Es ist eng mit KI verwoben, und auch wenn es lieber gemieden werden möchte, ist es unumgänglich für jeden, der sich systemisch, also möglichst umfassend und ernsthaft mit dem Thema KI auseinandersetzen möchte.

Maschinenbewusstsein hat das Interesse von vielen Seiten geweckt, darunter die Philosophie, Psychologie, Neurowissenschaften, Informatik und sogar die Physik. Jede Disziplin trägt mit ihrer völlig unterschiedlichen Herangehensweise dazu bei, das Mysterium um das Thema Bewusstsein zu entschlüsseln und das derzeit Unfassbare zu entmystifizieren.

Ob und inwieweit sich das Gebiet Maschinenbewusstsein etablieren wird, ist nicht vorhersehbar. Jedoch wird es sicher die nächsten 10 bis 20 Jahre weiter erforscht werden, was durchaus ein sinnvolles Vorhaben darstellt. Denn selbst wenn es keine Fortschritte im Bereich Maschinenbewusstsein gibt oder bewiesen wird, dass es keines gibt, wird dennoch in jedem Fall zu erwarten sein, dass das Wissen über das menschliche Bewusstsein erweitert wird, dies in der Hoffnung wertvolle Beiträge z.B. im Bereich Medizin/Gesundheit sowie Politik und Gesetzgebung zu leisten: Mehr wissen über den Nutzen und Vorteile des menschlichen Bewusstseins, soll dazu führen, bessere Maschinen und Systeme zu bauen, welche wiederum dem Wohle der Menschen in unserer Gesellschaft und künftiger Generationen dienen sollen.

Quellenverzeichnis

Aleksander, I., and Dunmall, B. (2003). Axioms and tests for the presence of minimal consciousness in agents. In O. Holland (Ed.), Machine consciousness. Exeter: Imprint Academic.

Calverley, D. J. (2005). Towards a method for determining the legal status of a conscious machine. In Chrisley, R., Clowes, R., & Torrance, S. (Eds.), Proceedings of the AISB05 symposium on next generation approaches to machine consciousness, Hatfield, UK.

Chalmers, D. J. (1996). The Conscious Mind: In Search of a Fundamental Theory. Oxford University Press.

Gamez, D. (2008). Progress in Machine Consciousness. Consiousness and Cognition, 17, 887-910

Goertzel, B., and Pennachin, C. (Eds.). (2007). Artificial general intelligence. Berlin: Springer

Graziano, M. S. A., and Webb, T. W. (2014). A mechanistic theory of consciousness. Int. J. Mach. Conscious. 06, 163.

Tononi, G. (2004). An Information Integration Theory of Consciousness. BMC Neurosci,5, 42.

Zimbardo, P., Gerrig, R., and Graf, R. (2008). Psychologie. München: Pearson Education.

Über die Autorin

Marisa Tschopp

Marisa Tschopp hat ihren Master in Wirtschaftspsychologie an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in München absolviert. Sie ist aktiv in der Forschung zu Künstlicher Intelligenz aus Humanperspektive, wobei sie sich auf psychologische und ethische Aspekte fokussiert. Sie hat unter anderem schon Vorträge an TEDx Events gehalten und vertritt zudem die Schweiz als Ambassador in der Women in AI (WAI) Initiative. (ORCID 0000-0001-5221-5327)

Links

Sie wollen eine KI evaluieren oder entwickeln?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Sprechen statt Tippen

Sprechen statt Tippen

Marisa Tschopp

Voice User Interfaces

Voice User Interfaces

Marisa Tschopp

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie wollen eine KI evaluieren oder entwickeln?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv