Privileged Windows Accounts - The Concrete Danger of Critical Components

Privileged Windows Accounts

The Concrete Danger of Critical Components

Dominik Altermatt
by Dominik Altermatt
on September 20, 2018
time to read: 10 minutes

Keypoints

This concrete threat comes from privileged Windows accounts

  • Privileged Windows accounts are critical components
  • Companies continue to neglect the issue
  • Windows 10 and Server 2016 offer many new features to deal with it
  • "Old habits" can present a risk
  • Privileged account management should be prioritized if not already in place

Privileged accounts are regarded as critical components in IT infrastructure. Those who fail to address the major risks or adequately protect their privileged Windows accounts – domain administrators, for instance – are exposing their infrastructure to the growing threat of cybercrime. But we are still seeing negligent behavior in the field. Where particularly privileged accounts are exposed, an attacker often needs to do little more than compromise the “right” client to gain control over a complete infrastructure.

In theory, protecting privileged accounts is not complicated, with just a few principles to bear in mind. In practice, however, various factors have to be taken into account to ensure adequate handling and management. Here there are several quite practical measures for minimizing certain risks, and these are very quick and easy to implement. This article discusses these measures while also looking at some more advanced concepts around the issue.

Exposed privileged accounts

When are privileged accounts exposed? A simple way of answering this would be to say that the “nearer” a privileged account is to the internet, the more exposed it is. So logging on to a standard client with domain administrator rights exposes this account. The view of an attack is usually from the outside in, for example:

A common assumption in IT security is that a client has been compromised. Below is a rough sketch of how an attacker might proceed:

  1. Access to a system through infection from malware (social engineering, spear phishing) or direct physical access (e.g. internal/external staff), mostly with non-privileged users
  2. Privilege escalation to local administrator rights by exploiting vulnerabilities or other techniques
  3. Creation of NTLM hashes, or reading hashes of users logged into the system (Mimikatz, responder.py, network sniffing e.g. with ettercap)
  4. Lateral movement with the collected hashes or tickets (pass the hash or pass the ticket, etc.) to launch attacks on other systems (Bloodhound)
  5. Repeating steps 3 & 4 until the attacker gains the rights required for the target network
  6. Attack on the target system (e.g. payment server) and carrying out malicious actions (e.g. making fraudulent payments)

The above steps can be very slow to execute. Attackers must go about their work cautiously and “silently” to avoid detection. The first five steps of the attack may take several months.

Below are some examples of exposed privileged accounts from real-life practice:

Defensive techniques

Below are just some of the concepts and practices that may serve as a starting point or give you some ideas for securing your own privileged accounts.

“Privileged accounts” not only include administrators and domain administrators, but also many service users as well as standard accounts with access to sensitive data (executives and management, finance department, etc.).

Processes and internal directives

The following principles and concepts should be included in security policies for identity and access management (IAM) in general and in privileged account management (PAM) in particular:

If your goal is to implement a usable security policy for access management, you can try access controls AC2, AC3, AC5 and AC6 from the catalog of the NIST Cybersecurity Framework.

Where internal directives and policies are already in place, these must be implemented and enforced – otherwise “security” only exists on paper. Consequently, they should always include processes for the enforcement and monitoring of directives as well as resources for implementation and operation.

One unpleasant necessity is defining what to do in the event of violations. You may have IT staff who have become accustomed to their domain administrator rights over the years and are reluctant to give them up or who don’t wish to work with multiple accounts. But “old habits” like this can greatly increase the risk and the exposure of privileged accounts.

Windows Active Directory

Microsoft offers comprehensive and practical documentation under the title Best Practices for Securing Active Directory. It includes several chapters that address securing of accounts and privileged accounts.

You can find further Microsoft resources under the following links:

We recommend studying these resources. The Microsoft documents touch on a number of intriguing issues:

This Microsoft documentation is highly comprehensive and wide-ranging, so here are just a few tips you can implement straight away (quick wins). The Microsoft guidelines linked above can be implemented in detail in a later phase.

Consistent process compliance

Password policy

Very strong password policy (complex, non-dictionary passwords, min. 24 characters), for the following users/groups at least:

Client and server hardening

The following group policy logon rights restrictions prevent many lateral movement techniques:

Further hardening guides:

Use of the Bloodhound tool for AD. This allows you to quickly gain an overview of which users are logged into which system with which rights. This allows you to detect potential attack vectors and any non-compliance with internal directives as well as vulnerabilities that need to be patched.

Logging and monitoring

Finally, there’s the issue of logging and monitoring of privileged accounts:

Not included in the above list is network segmentation, at least between the client and server population. If this isn’t already in place, it can take some effort to implement. But isolating servers from clients exposed to the internet is one of the fundamental pillars of a modern security concept.

Conclusion

In current practice, privileged users are not sufficiently protected across the board, making it easier for attackers to gain access to the infrastructure in question. If the system further lacks appropriate security logging and monitoring, instances of compromise may go undetected for a long time. In some cases, the entire infrastructure may be recklessly exposed.

Microsoft has responded to the common attack vectors with its current software and addressed them in comprehensive documentation. The company also provides functions and tools that make it harder to exploit privileged accounts, for instance. However, some companies are still unaware of the risks and solutions. While the topics covered here are not exhaustive, the concepts and tools can serve as a starting point and offer up some ideas for common AD environments.

About the Author

Dominik Altermatt

Dominik Altermatt is working since 2003 in the IT business and was responsible for Data Leakage Prevention at a Swiss bank for many years. Besides traditional penetration testing he is also focusing on the introduction and improvement of IT security management processes. (ORCID 0000-0003-4575-4597)

Links

You want to bring your logging and monitoring to the next level?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Privilegierte Windows Accounts - Die konkrete Gefahr der kritischen Komponente

Privilegierte Windows Accounts

Die konkrete Gefahr der kritischen Komponente

Dominik Altermatt
von Dominik Altermatt
am 20. September 2018
Lesezeit: 10 Minuten

Keypoints

Diese konkrete Gefahr geht von priveligierten Windows-Konten aus

  • Privilegierte Windows Accounts sind eine kritische Komponente
  • Noch vernachlässigen Unternehmen das Thema
  • Mit Windows 10 und Server 2016 sind viele neue Features zum Thema verfügbar
  • "Alte Gewohnheiten" stellen ein Risiko dar
  • Privileged Account Management, wenn nicht vorhanden, gilt es zu priorisieren

Privilegierte Accounts sind als kritisch zu betrachtende Komponente einer IT-Infrastruktur anzusehen. Wer sich nicht mit den eminenten Risiken des Themas beschäftigt und seine privilegierten Windows Accounts, wie zum Beispiel Domain Administratoren, nicht adäquat schützt, exponiert seine Infrastruktur den wachsenden Bedrohungen von Cybercrime. Die Praxis zeigt, dass fahrlässiges Verhalten doch immer wieder anzutreffen ist. Sind gerade hoch privilegierte Accounts exponiert, reicht es oft schon aus, dass ein Angreifer den “richtigen” Client kompromittiert, um die Kontrolle über eine komplette Infrastruktur zu erlangen.

Privilegierte Accounts zu schützen ist in der Theorie nicht kompliziert, einige wenige Prinzipen sind zu beachten. In der Praxis sind dann doch viele unterschiedliche Faktoren mit einzubeziehen, um adäquates Handling und Management sicherzustellen. Dabei gibt es einige ganz praktische Massnahmen, welche gewisse Risiken minimieren, die sehr schnell und einfach implementiert werden können. In diesem Artikel sollen eben solche aber auch tiefgreifenderen Konzepte vorgestellt werden.

Exponierte privilegierte Accounts

Wann sind privilegierte Accounts exponiert? Eine Art dies einfach zu erklären wäre: umso “näher” ein privilegierter Account dem Internet ist, umso exponierter ist er. Also mit Domain-Administrator-Rechten auf einem Standard-Client einzuloggen exponiert diesen Account. Die Sicht eines Angriffes ist meist auch von aussen nach innen, also zum Beispiel:

Eine gängige Annahme in der IT-Security ist, dass stehts von einem kompromittierten Client ausgegangen werden muss. Folgend eine grobe Beschreibung von möglichen Aktionen eines Angreifers:

  1. Zugriff auf ein System mittels Infizierung durch Schadsoftware (Social Engineering, Spear-Phishing) oder direkten physischen Zugriff (z.B. internen/externe Mitarbeiter), meist mit nicht-privilegierten Benutzer
  2. Privilege Escalation zu lokalen Administrator-Rechten mittels Ausnutzen von Schwachstellen oder anderen Techniken
  3. Beschaffung von NTML Hashes, respektive Auslesen der Hashes der auf dem System eingeloggten Benutzen (Mimikatz, responder.py, Network Sniffing z.B. mit ettercap)
  4. Lateral Movement mit den zusammengetragenen Hashes oder Tickets (Pass the Hash oder Pass-the-Ticket, etc.) um Zugriff auf weitere Systeme zu erlangen (Bloodhound)
  5. Wiederholen von Schritt 3 & 4 bis für das Angriffsziel geeignete Rechte im Netzwerk erlangt werden konnten
  6. Zugriff auf das Zielsystem (z.B. Zahlungsserver) und Ausführen bösartiger Aktionen (z.B. betrügerische Zahlung ausführen)

Obige beschrieben Punkte können sehr langsam von statten gehen. Angreifer müssen vorsichtig und “lautlos” vorgehen, um eine allfällige Detektion zu verhindern. Für Schritt 1-5 des Angriffspfads können gut mehrere Monate aufgewendet werden.

Folgend einige Beispiele von exponierten privilegierten Accounts aus der Praxis:

Defensive Techniken

Folgend nun einige Konzepte und Praktiken, die als Startpunkt oder Inspiration zur Sicherung der eigenen privilegierten Accounts dienen.

Mit privilegierten Accounts sind nicht nur Administratoren und Domain-Administratoren gemeint. Dazu gehören viele der Service Benutzer sowie Standard Accounts mit Zugriff auf sensitive Daten (Geschäftsleitung und Management, Finanzabteilungen, etc.).

Prozesse und interne Weisungen

Folgende Prinzipen und Konzepte sollten sich in den Security Policies für Identify and Access Management (IAM) grundsätzlich und Privileged Account Management (PAM) im Spezifischen wiederfinden:

Wer einen umgänglichen Anforderungskatalog für seine Security Policies bezüglich Access Management sucht, kann sich bei den Access Controls AC2, AC3, AC5 und AC6 aus dem Katalog des NIST Cybersecurity Framework bedienen.

Sind interne Weisungen und Policies vorhandenen, müssen diese auch um- und durchgesetzt werden können, ansonsten existiert die “Sicherheit” nur auf dem Papier. Daher gehören auch Prozesse zur Durchsetzung und Kontrolle der Weisungen wie auch Ressourcen für die Implementation und Betrieb stets dazu.

Unangenehm aber nötig ist die Definition über die Handhabung bei Verstössen gegen die Weisung. Es kommt vor, dass sich der eine oder andere IT-Mitarbeiter über die Jahre an Domain-Administrator-Rechte seines normalen Accounts gewöhnt hat und diese nicht gerne abgeben bez. nicht mit mehreren Accounts arbeiten möchte. Nichts destotrotz wird mit den “alten Gewohnheiten” das Risiko respektive die Exponierung von privilegierten Accounts teilweise massiv erhöht.

Windows Active Directory

Microsoft bietet eine umfassende und praktische Dokumentation mit dem Titel Best Practices for Securing Active Directory an. Darin finden sich diverse Kapitel, welche sich mit der Sicherung von Accounts und privilegierten Accounts beschäftigen.

Weitere Microsoft Ressourcen finden sich unter folgenden Links:

Das Studium dieser Lektüre ist empfehlenswert. Unter anderen sind folgende Themen aus den Microsoft-Unterlagen spannend:

Da die Dokumentation von Microsoft sehr umfangreich und weitreichend ist, anbei einige wenige Punkte, die gleich Umgesetzt werde können (Quickwins). In späteren Umsetzungsphasen können den obigen verlinkten Anleitungen von Microsoft im Detail umgesetzt werden.

Konsequente Einhaltung der Prozesse

Passwort Policy

Sehr starke Passwort Policy (komplexe und keine sprechenden Passwörter, min. 24 Zeichen), für mindestens folgenden Benutzer/Gruppen:

Client und Server Hardening

Folgende Group Policy Logon Rights Restrictions verhindern viele der Lateral Movement Techniken:

Weitere Hardening Guides:

Einsatz des Tools Bloodhound für AD. Damit lässt sich in kurzer Zeit ein Bild darüber verschaffen welche Benutzer mit welchen Rechten auf welchem System eingeloggt sind. Damit lassen sich mögliche Angriffspfade und ein entsprechendes Nichteinhalten von internen Richtlinien erkennen, sowie das Erkennen von Schwachstellen an denen nachgebessert werden kann.

Logging und Monitoring

Zu Letzt das Thema Logging und Monitoring von privilegierten Account:

Nicht in der obigen Liste geführt wird Netzwerksegmentierung, mindestens zwischen der Client- und Server-Population. Falls nicht vorhanden, ist einiges an Aufwand nötig um dies umzusetzen. Jedoch gehört die Abschottung von den Servern zu den am Internet exponierten Clients zu den Grundpfeilern eines modernen Security-Konzepts.

Fazit

Priviligierte Benutzer werden in der Praxis noch nicht flächendeckend und ausreichend geschützt. Dadurch werden Angriffe auf eine entsprechende Infrastruktur vereinfacht. Fehlt dazu noch eine adäquates Security Logging und Monitoring, kann eine allfällige Kompromittierung für lange Zeit nicht erkannt werden. Unter Umständen wird so die gesamte Infrastruktur teils fahrlässig exponiert.

Microsoft hat mit ihrer aktuellen Software auf die gängigen Angriffs-Pfade reagiert und umfangreiche Dokumentationen dazu erstellt sowie Funktionen und Tools bereitgestellt, um unter anderem den Missbrauch von privilegierten Accounts zu erschweren. Jedoch sind die Risiken und Lösungen doch noch in einigen Unternehmen nicht bekannt. Abschliessend sind die hier vorgestellten Punkte nicht, aber die Konzepte und Tools können in den gängigen AD-Umgebungen als Startpunkt und Inspiration dienen.

Über den Autor

Dominik Altermatt

Dominik Altermatt arbeitet seit 2003 in der IT-Branche. Unter anderem hat er sich mehrere Jahre mit Data Leakage Prevention bei einer Grossbank beschäftigt. Heute liegen seine Schwerpunkte neben klassischen Penetration Tests bei der Einführung und der Weiterentwicklung von IT-Security-Management-Prozessen. (ORCID 0000-0003-4575-4597)

Links

Sie wollen Ihr Log und Monitoring auf das nächste Level bringen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Traffic-Analyse mit Windows-Boardmitteln

Traffic-Analyse mit Windows-Boardmitteln

Dominik Altermatt

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security

Dominik Altermatt

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv