Security Predictions - Dumb or Priceless? A closer look

Security Predictions

Dumb or Priceless? A closer look

Stefan Friedli
by Stefan Friedli
on December 13, 2018
time to read: 8 minutes

Keypoints

This is how you deal with predictions

  • Humans wanted to know the future for a very long time now. It's a compelling ability granting us unique advantages
  • Especially in information security, where dealing with risk is so crucial, making predictions is a natural thing
  • The quality of predictions varies greatly, but even the best predictions are irrelevant when individual requirements and circumstances are not factored in.

Predicting the future has fascinated humans for a very long time. Knowing what is ahead is compelling and our minds tend to get excited about the vast array of possibilities. Knowing next week’s lottery numbers, for example, would be a quite profitable way to harness this ability. A substantial part of the time-travel fantasy trope is based on the ability to know, and potentially change, the future that seems very much set in stone.

One of the many aspects of knowing the future is the prospect of being able to deal with risks in a much more prepared and organized way. Had we known that the Swiss railway system would deal with significant outages in the Berne area this summer and when exactly these would occur, many of us could have prepared accordingly and saved substantial amounts of time and avoided quite a bit of discomfort. However, as platforms full of waiting passengers illustrated quite well, that is not how unexpected events work.

This example does, however, illustrate quite well, why predictions in the space of information security are popular and have become a staple of magazines and blogs across the globe. In fact, our very own Marc Ruef will post the predictions our very own research team has developed over the past weeks just next week. But of course the infosec community is eager to know the future. One of the core assignments a CISO has to manage, is to deal with emerging risks and threats. Preferably before they hit. A delicate task, to say the very least.

Predictions: Caveat Emptor

Having established that addressing future challenges is a part of the many responsibilities we bear as information security professionals, it is easy to see why predictions are popular. But we should also address the way these predictions are established.

Much like the weather forecast, predictions in the information security space can be created on a sliding scale from “somewhat hard science” to “pure folklore”. It is unfortunately not rare for major publications to publish somewhat random Buzzfeed-esque listicles that provide little to no value, rehash old buzzwords and try to give a new spin to very old issues. Sometimes, generic advice is thrown as sort of a “call to action” to create the illusion of additional value that is, more often than not, inexistent.

As an example, Dark Reading recently published their CISO Resolutions for 2019. To be fair, the article is not labelled as a prediction as much as it is marketed as a whimsical “to-do list for security leaders”, but it does essentially boil down to the same concept.

Deconstructing Predictions and Resolutions

It is easy to be a critic and to tear apart the six resolutions formulated in these slides. But instead, let’s go through these points critically, but constructive, and see what we can gain.

What we can learn from other people’s predictions

So quite evidently, there is quite a bit to talk about even with those fairly broad and basic predictions. In order to gain anything from any predictions made by a 3rd party, there is a need of reflection and adaptation to the unique circumstances of the environment the reader is involved with. Blanket statements such as “we need to focus on container security” do not create value, but distract from the real challenges ahead. But with these caveats in mind, predictions can be a good starting point to strategize, reflect and see where your priorities should lay in the upcoming months of the new year.

About the Author

Stefan Friedli

Stefan Friedli is a well-known face among the Infosec Community. As a speaker at international conferences, co-founder of the Penetration Testing Execution Standard (PTES) as well as a board member of the Swiss DEFCON groups chapters, he still contributes to push the community and the industry forward.

Links

General Data Protection Regulation GDPR is a Challenge?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

Online Tracking

Online Tracking

Ralph Meier

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Andrea Hauser

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Security-Prognosen - Harmloser Nonsens oder unverzichtbare Information

Security-Prognosen

Harmloser Nonsens oder unverzichtbare Information

Stefan Friedli
von Stefan Friedli
am 13. Dezember 2018
Lesezeit: 8 Minuten

Keypoints

So sinnvoll sind Forecasts wirklich

  • Es liegt in der menschlichen Natur, die Zukunft vorhersagen zu wollen
  • Speziell im Bereich der Informationssicherheit, wo der Umgang mit Risiken unabdingbar ist, sind Vorhersagen und Prognosen eine natürliche Erscheinung
  • Die Qualität der Vorhersagen variiert massiv, aber sogar die besten Vorhersagen müssen in den Kontext des einzelnen Umfelds gestellt werden, um einen Wert zu generieren

Die Fähigkeit, die Zukunft vorherzusagen, beschäftigt und fasziniert die Menschheit seit langer, langer Zeit. Die Vorstellung, zu wissen was in der Zukunft passieren wird, begeistert uns und verleiht unserer Fantasie Flügel. Was wäre wenn wir die Lottozahlen von kommender Woche kennen würden, zum Beispiel? Ein substantieller Teil des Zeitreise-Themas, das oftmals in Fantasieliteratur behandelt wird, widmet sich der Idee die Zukunft zu kennen und – unter Umständen – mit diesem Wissen zu verändern.

Einer der vielen nützlichen Aspekte, die das Kennen der Zukunft mit sich bringen würde, ist das Umschiffen von Risiken auf eine sehr souveräne und wohlorganisierte Art und Weise. Wer gewusst hätte, dass das Schweizer Bahnsystem rund um den Bahnhof Bern dieses Jahr mit vielen substantiellen Problemen zu kämpfen haben wird und wann diese auftreten würden, der hätte unter Umständen viel Zeit und noch mehr Nerven gespart. Und dennoch: Bilder von vollen Bahnperrons sind uns in guter Erinnerung. Solche Ereignisse erwarten uns unvermittelt, unvorhergesehen.

Dieses Beispiel zeigt aber auch auf, warum Vorhersagen im Bereich der Informationssicherheit grosse Beliebtheit geniessen und daher auch mit schöner Regelmässigkeit von Blogs und Magazinen erstellt und propagiert werden. Unsere eigene Forschungsabteilung unter der Führung von Marc Ruef wird in der kommenden Woche ihre eigenen Vorhersagen veröffentlichen, die über die letzten Wochen und Monate entwickelt wurden. Aber ja, natürlich ist die Informationssicherheits-Community daran interessiert, die Zukunft zu kennen. Eine der Kernaufgaben eines CISOs ist es, aufkeimende Risiken und Bedrohungen zu erkennen und zu adressieren. Bevorzugterweise, bevor sie zu einem Problem werden. Eine anspruchsvolle Aufgabe.

Vorhersagen: Caveat Emptor

Unter der etablierten Prämisse, dass das Adressieren zukünftiger Herausforderungen zu den vielen Verantwortlichkeiten unseres Berufsstandes zählt, ist es nachvollziehbar, warum soviele Prognosen angestellt werden. Wir sollten uns aber auch darauf fokussieren, wie es zu diesen jeweiligen Annahmen kommt.

In vielerlei Hinsicht ähnlich wie ein Wetterbericht können Prognosen und Vorhersagen im Informatonssicherheits-Bereich auf einer Skala von wissenschaftlich bis zu Muotathaler Wetterschmöcker eingeordnet werden. Leider ist es nicht selten, dass grössere Fachpublikationen sehr Buzzfeed-eske Listicles veröffentlich, in denen alte Buzzwords mit einem neuen Anstrich als die Herausforderungen des kommenden Kalenderjahres verkauft werden.

Als Beispiel agieren kann hier zum Beispiel die jüngst veröffentlichte Liste CISO Resolutions for 2019 von Dark Reading. Um komplett fair zu sein: Es handelt sich hier mehr um “gute Vorsätze” als um effektive Vorhersagen, in letzter Konsequenz ist die Absicht hier aber identisch.

Eingehende Betrachtung von Vorhersagen und “Vorsätzen”

Es wäre nur zu einfach, diese sechs Punkte des Artikels einfach für irrelevant zu erklären. Kritiker, so stellt es sich heraus, haben einen vergleichweise einfachen Job. In diesem Sinne soll an dieser Stelle ein konstruktiverer Ansatz zur Anwendung kommen: Eine kritisch-konstruktive Einschätzung, ob diese Vorsätze einer Führungskraft im kommenden Jahr effektiv helfen würden.

Was können wir von den Vorhersagen anderer lernen?

Es ist durchaus offensichtlich, dass es viel Diskussionsstoff gibt, sogar bei diesen ziemlich generischen, breit gehaltenen Vorhersagen für das kommende Jahr. Um eine Wertschöpfung aus derartigen Aussagen Dritter zu generieren, braucht es eine Reflektion und eine Anpassung an das individuelle Umfeld, in der sich der Leser in seiner Funktion befindet. Allgemeine Phrasendrescherei, die den Fokus auf eine spezifische Technologie zu forcieren versucht, sollte vermieden und gemieden werden. Aber mit diesen Gedanken im Hinterkopf kann es durchaus ein guter Startpunkt sein, die omnipräsenten Vorhersagen als Grundlage für die Strategie und die Aktionspläne des kommenden Jahres 2019 zu nutzen.

Über den Autor

Stefan Friedli

Stefan Friedli gehört zu den bekannten Gesichtern der Infosec Community. Als Referent an internationalen Konferenzen, Mitbegründer des Penetration Testing Execution Standard (PTES) und Vorstandsmitglied des Schweizer DEFCON Group Chapters trägt er aktiv zum Fortschritt des Segmentes bei.

Links

Herausforderung Datenschutz-Grundverordnung DSGVO?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv