Incident Response Playbooks – Indispensable in Future Crisis situations

Incident Response Playbooks

Indispensable in Future Crisis situations

Tomaso Vasella
by Tomaso Vasella
on January 03, 2019
time to read: 10 minutes

Keypoints

This is how you tackle attacks with professionalism

  • Without a predefined playbook, a speedy and effective response to cybersecurity incidents is almost impossible
  • Playbooks are detailed, practical guides designed for specific situations
  • Playbooks focus on dealing with the consequences of an incident and not its causes

Cybersecurity events have unfortunately become part of everyday life and must simply be accepted as common occurrences. Even large, high-tech companies with lots of financial resources are not always up to the task of properly managing the number and complexity of attacks. This is why experts recognized long ago that for most organizations, it is simply a matter of time before they are faced with a successful cyberattack.

Once an incident has occurred, it is already too late to establish the necessary processes, resources and communication strategies for a successful incident response. Without appropriate plans in place, attacks might even go unnoticed, or the response might not employ the proper resources and channels, resulting in much greater damage than if thorough precautions had been taken from the outset. All of this demonstrates that a strong security strategy must include solid basic security and effective detection mechanisms as well as careful preparation for potential incidents.

What is an Incident Response Playbook?

When it comes to incident response and recovery, a distinction can be made between general aspects that apply to the organization as a whole and specific procedures to be implemented in certain situations. The incident response process itself is usually more overarching in scope, whereas incident response playbooks are detailed procedures planned out in advance to deal with certain incidents or problems. Typical situations addressed in playbooks, for example, include the handling of malware, phishing emails, and how to respond to DDoS attacks. In other words, incident response playbooks are subject-specific practical guides that describe the concrete steps to be taken in response to certain types of attacks or incidents.

Incident response playbooks are designed to swiftly facilitate effective and appropriate action during an incident in order to minimize the negative impact of cybersecurity incidents. In other words, they are a type of emergency plan and must be highly practical. As with any other critical incident, it is necessary to take measures ahead of time to identify the procedures, responsibilities, communication channels and resources that will be deployed. After all, when things heat up during a cybersecurity incident, you can’t afford to discuss basic decisions or lose valuable time searching for phone numbers or passwords.

An incident response playbook is activated by a suspected or actual incident, contains the relevant procedures and defines the desired result. It should meet the following criteria:

Structure and Content of Playbooks

When responding to a cybersecurity incident, there is often an asymmetry between the attacker and the defender: the defender does not (yet) know the attacker’s motives, the extent of the breach is unknown, the consequences cannot yet be assessed, etc. In other words, it is a very acute but reactive situation. You have to know what resources are available, who has the authority to make decisions, and what the consequences of these decisions may be. And, if possible, all of this should be documented and practiced before an incident occurs.

First and foremost, playbooks need to be practical. So there should be flexibility in terms of the structure and content, according to the particular application area. One tried and tested method is a structure based on the Hacker Tools, Techniques, Exploits, and Incident Handling course offered by the SANS Institute:

  1. Preparation
  2. Identification, detection
  3. Analysis
  4. Containment
  5. Eradication, remediation
  6. Recovery
  7. Lessons learned

These categories have proven effective in practice and, of course, can be simplified or combined into fewer phases depending on the situation.

1. Preparation

The goal is to prepare all resources and processes needed to manage cybersecurity incidents. This means that many of the preparations are of a general nature and can be applied to all kinds of cybersecurity incidents. This might include process definitions, assembling the incident response team, central points of contact, detection and alarm channels, etc. It makes sense to manage this relevant but generally applicable information centrally.

This section of the playbook should therefore only include information relevant to the specific playbook application. A playbook for a DDoS attack, for example, would include detailed information about the mitigation procedures that had been prepared and would list the services that had been coordinated with the provider. In contrast, a malware playbook would contain information about the various mechanisms for protecting against, detecting, and analyzing malware incidents.

2. Detection

When an incident is identified or there are any other critical indicators, it is time to bring in the playbook. This section of the playbook describes the detection mechanisms that have been implemented and appropriate reporting channels for the playbook scenarios. Usually, these are alarms in a monitoring or alert system such as an IDS or SIEM. Reports from users or third parties should also be considered, however.

The more specific and accurate the detection of an incident is, the more precise and efficient the response can be. In practice, a correlation between multiple indicators is often needed for reliable detection, and the line between detection and the subsequent analysis is often blurry.

3. Analysis

The goal of the analysis is to identify the actual and potential effects of the incident. In other words, it is less about the cause and more about the consequences, because these are what determine the next steps in the playbook.

Perhaps the most important step in this phase is determining the criticality and business impact of the incident, as these aspects will affect the course of action. This usually occurs based on simple criteria presented in a table or decision flowchart correlating the criticality (usually three or four levels) with certain situations, systems, or processes. Typical questions here, for instance, are whether customer data has been affected, a breach of confidential data has occurred, or core business processes have been compromised. During this phase, there should also be a decision as to whether or not to collect evidence and whether this evidence needs to be admissible in court.

4. Containment

The purpose of containment is to prevent damage as quickly and effectively as possible while also limiting its impact and further escalation. This part of a playbook consists of a list of technical and organizational measures to be taken. These are often in the form of an immediate solution; the permanent solution to the problem is usually implemented later after more detailed planning and in cooperation with other teams.

In the case of a malware playbook, this might entail scanning and isolating affected systems in the network. In the case of a phishing attack, it might involve sending out a blanket warning to potential recipients.

5. Eradication, remediation

The solution should, on the one hand, fully eliminate the cause of the damage after it has been disabled in the previous phase. On the other hand, it should also eliminate the underlying problem that made the attack possible in the first place. This often involves turning the immediate solution into a more permanent, operationally viable solution. Remediation is usually a difficult task and can require one or a whole range of measures whose effectiveness is measured over time. The specific steps greatly depend on the focus of the playbook and the cause of the problem. They may range from installing patches to fully reconfiguring entire infrastructures.

6. Recovery

Here the task is to restore normal operations for systems and infrastructure components. Logging, monitoring, and alerts should therefore be adjusted based on new information to ensure containment and remediation are actually successful while at the same time enabling the detection of any signs of new incidents early on.

After an incident, it can take time to restore normal operations. Using this time to plan ahead enables a swift, focused recovery effort. It is extremely important to closely monitor and document activities during this phase to learn through experience just how much time is required for recovery. Ultimately, this knowledge helps to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of the recovery phase.

7. Lessons learned

This final step is often neglected, perhaps due to the sense of relief after an incident has been resolved or because time is of the essence. But there are lessons to be learned from every incident, and it is very important to prioritize this phase appropriately, to reflect, and to document the experience. A good way to prepare for future incidents is by preparing an in-depth report detailing all of the observations and actions taken. Important questions that should be asked here:

*What parts of the experience are worth sharing with a wider audience?

Ultimately, incorporating this knowledge into a continuous improvement process is very worthwhile. In doing so, both the playbook and the incident response process as a whole should be taken into account.

Which playbooks are needed?

Each organization is exposed to specific risks and has its own processes and organizational particularities. Playbooks are concrete, practical and, by definition, individual. In other words, the topics and content of the playbook have to be tailored to the specific organization. However, there are some main starting points for developing your own collection of playbooks:

Conclusion

Every organization will be forced to deal with a cybersecurity incident sooner or later. In addition to solid basic security and appropriate mechanisms for detection, careful preparation for security incidents can make all the difference between an optimal damage control strategy and potentially fatal consequences. Incident response playbooks lay out specific, practical procedures for responding to cybersecurity incidents, making them an essential component of the incident response and recovery process.

Find out more

About the Author

Tomaso Vasella

Tomaso Vasella has a Master in Organic Chemistry at ETH Zürich. He is working in the cybersecurity field since 1999 and worked as a consultant, engineer, auditor and business developer. (ORCID 0000-0002-0216-1268)

Links

You want to bring your logging and monitoring to the next level?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Passwordless Authentication

Passwordless Authentication

Tomaso Vasella

Data Leakage Prevention

Data Leakage Prevention

Tomaso Vasella

Webscraping with Powershell

Webscraping with Powershell

Tomaso Vasella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Incident Response Playbooks - Unverzichtbare Hilfsmittel für künftige Krisen

Incident Response Playbooks

Unverzichtbare Hilfsmittel für künftige Krisen

Tomaso Vasella
von Tomaso Vasella
am 03. Januar 2019
Lesezeit: 11 Minuten

Keypoints

So gehen Sie professionell mit Angriffen um

  • Ohne vordefinierte Playbooks ist die rasche und wirksame Reaktion auf Cybersecurity-Vorfälle kaum möglich
  • Playbooks sind themenspezifische, detaillierte und praxisbezogene Anleitungen
  • Playbooks fokussieren auf den Umgang mit den Konsequenzen eines Vorfalls, nicht auf dessen Ursache

Cybersecurity-Vorfälle gehören inzwischen leider zum Alltag und müssen heute schlicht als Teil der Normalität betrachtet werden. Auch grosse, technisch fortgeschrittene und kapitalkräftige Unternehmen sind nicht immer in der Lage, der Anzahl und Komplexität der Angriffe angemessen zu begegnen. Es ist deshalb in Fachkreisen längst als Tatsache anerkannt, dass ein erfolgreicher Cyberangriff für die allermeisten Organisationen nur eine Frage der Zeit ist.

Wenn ein Vorfall eintritt, ist es zu spät, die nötigen Abläufe, Hilfsmittel und Kommunikationsstrategien für eine erfolgreiche Incident Response zu etablieren. Ohne einen geeigneten Plan könnten Angriffe vielleicht gar nicht entdeckt werden oder die Reaktion darauf bedient sich nicht der geeigneten Mittel und Wege, mit dem Resultat eines viel grösseren Schadensausmasses, als es bei einer gründlichen Vorbereitung der Fall gewesen wäre. Vor diesem Hintergrund ist es einleuchtend, dass neben einem soliden Grundschutz und effektiven Detektionsfähigkeiten auch die sorgfältige Vorbereitung auf mögliche Vorfälle zu einer guten Sicherheitsstrategie gehören muss.

Was sind Incident Response Playbooks?

Bezüglich Incident Response und Recovery lässt sich zwischen allgemeinen, häufig für die gesamte Organisation geltenden Gesichtspunkten und spezifischen, auf bestimmte Situationen zugeschnittenen Verfahren unterscheiden. Der Incident Response Prozess selbst wird in der Regel übergeordnet festgelegt, während Incident Response Playbooks vorgefertigte Ablaufdefinitionen sind, die das detaillierte Vorgehen beim Auftreten bestimmter Vorfälle oder Probleme beschreiben. Typische Themen für Playbooks sind etwa der Umgang mit einem Malware-Befall, das Vorgehen beim Empfang von Phishing-Mails oder die Massnahmen, die bei einem DDoS-Angriff ergriffen werden. Incident Response Playbooks sind demnach themenspezifische Praxisanleitungen, die das praktische Vorgehen zur Incident Response auf vordefinierte Angriffe bzw. Vorfälle festlegen.

Incident Response Playbooks sollen es erleichtern, bei einem Vorfall möglichst rasch effektive und sinnvolle Aktionen ausführen zu können, um die negativen Auswirkungen von Cybersecurity-Vorfällen so klein wie möglich zu halten. Sie haben damit den Charakter von Notfallplänen und müssen sehr praxisbezogen sein. Wie bei anderen kritischen Vorfällen auch, müssen die Abläufe, Verantwortungen, Kommunikationswege und eingesetzten Werkzeuge im Voraus festgelegt werden, denn während der heissen Phase eines Cybersecurity Incidents kann man es sich nicht leisten, Grundsatzentscheide zu diskutieren oder etwa wertvolle Zeit mit dem Suchen von Telefonnummern oder Passwörtern zu verlieren.

Incident Response Playbooks werden durch einen auslösenden Umstand (vermuteter oder festgestellter Vorfall) aktiviert, beinhalten entsprechende Prozessschritte und definieren einen Endzustand. Sie sollten folgende Merkmale aufweisen:

Struktur und Inhalt von Playbooks

Bei der Reaktion auf einen Cybersecurity Incident gibt es oft eine Asymmetrie zwischen Angreifer und Verteidiger: Der Verteidiger kennt die Motivation und die Ziele des Angreifers (noch) nicht, das Ausmass der Kompromittierung ist nicht bekannt, die Auswirkungen können noch nicht abgeschätzt werden und so weiter. Es handelt sich also um eine sehr akute, aber reaktive Situation. Man muss wissen, welche Mittel nun zur Verfügung stehen, zu welchen Entscheidungen man autorisiert ist und was deren Auswirkungen sein können. All dies sollte soweit wie möglich schon vor einem Incident definiert und geübt sein.

Playbooks müssen in erster Linie praxistauglich sein. Freiheit bei der Wahl des Aufbaus und Inhalts gemäss den Gegebenheiten des Anwendungsbereichs ist deshalb sinnvoll. Eine Struktur angelehnt am Vorgehen für das Incident Handling gemäss dem SANS Institut hat sich bewährt:

  1. Vorbereitung (Preparation)
  2. Detektion (Identification, Detection)
  3. Analyse (Analysis)
  4. Eindämmung (Containment)
  5. Behebung (Eradication, Remediation)
  6. Wiederherstellung (Recovery)
  7. Erfahrungen und Verbesserungen (Lessons Learned)

Diese Aufteilung der Inhalte ist als bewährte Praxis zu betrachten und kann situativ natürlich auch vereinfacht oder in weniger Phasen untergebracht werden.

1. Vorbereitung

Die Vorbereitungen dienen der Bereitstellung aller Mittel und Abläufe, die zur Bewältigung von Cybersecurity Incidents notwendig sind. Deshalb sind viele der Vorbereitungsarbeiten allgemeiner Natur mit Resultaten, die für alle Arten von Cybersecurity Incidents Gültigkeit haben, wie etwa Ablaufdefinitionen, Aufbau des Incident Response Teams, zentrale Anlaufstellen, Detektions- und Alarmierungswege usw. Solche relevanten, aber allgemeingültigen Informationen werden sinnvollerweise zentral verwaltet.

Dieser Abschnitt der Playbooks sollte deshalb nur diejenigen Informationen über die getroffenen Vorbereitungen beinhalten, die spezifisch für das jeweilige Playbook-Thema relevant sind. Ein Playbook für einen DDOS-Angriff würde hier unter anderem detaillierte Angaben über die vorbereiteten Mitigationsmassnahmen enthalten und mit dem Provider vereinbarte Services benennen, während ein Malware-Playbook Informationen über den eingesetzten Malware-Schutz und Detektions- und Analysemöglichkeiten enthält.

2. Detektion

Die Detektion eines Incidents oder eines dringlichen Hinweises darauf ist der Auslöser für das Playbook. In diesem Abschnitt des Playbooks werden die vorhandenen Detektionsmechanismen und Meldewege gemäss Playbook-Thema beschrieben. Meistens sind dies Alarme von einem Monitoring- oder Alarmierungssystem wie einem IDS oder SIEM, es sollten aber auch Meldungen von Benutzern oder externen Stellen in Betracht gezogen werden.

Je spezifischer und genauer die Detektion eines Vorfalls ausfällt, desto zielgerichteter und effizienter kann darauf reagiert werden. In der Praxis ist oft die Korrelation vieler Indizien notwendig, um zu einer genauen Detektion zu gelangen und der Übergang zwischen Detektion und nachfolgender Analyse ist oft fliessend.

3. Analyse

Die Analyse verfolgt das Ziel, die tatsächlichen und noch möglichen Auswirkungen des Vorfalls zu bestimmen. Es wird also nicht so sehr auf die Ursache fokussiert, als vielmehr auf die Konsequenzen, denn diese bestimmen die weiteren Schritte innerhalb des Playbooks.

Der vielleicht wichtigste Schritt in dieser Phase ist die Bestimmung der Kritikalität und der geschäftlichen Auswirkungen (Business Impact) des Vorfalls, da diese Einfluss auf das weitere Vorgehen haben. Üblicherweise geschieht dies anhand einfacher Kriterien mit Hilfe einer Tabelle oder eines Entscheidungsbaums, der die Kritikalität (in der Regel drei oder vier Stufen) mit bestimmten Umständen, Systemen oder Prozessen in Bezug setzt. Typische Fragestellungen sind hier etwa, ob Kundendaten betroffen sind, ein Abfluss vertraulicher Daten stattgefunden hat oder geschäftliche Kernprozesse beeinträchtigt sind. Ausserdem sollte in dieser Phase auch über das Sammeln von Beweismaterial entschieden werden und ob es gerichtlich verwendbar sein muss.

4. Eindämmung

Die Eindämmung bezweckt ein möglichst rasches und wirkungsvolles Unterbinden der schädlichen Vorgänge und ihrer Auswirkungen sowie das Verhindern weiterer Ausbreitung. Dieser Teil eines Playbooks besteht aus der Auflistung der zu ergreifenden technischen und organisatorischen Massnahmen. Diese haben oft den Charakter einer Sofortlösung; die dauerhafte Lösung des Problems wird in der Regel später, nach eingehender Planung und zusammen mit anderen Teams in Angriff genommen.

Beim Beispiel eines Malware-Playbooks könnte dies das Vorgehen zum Scannen und Isolieren betroffener Systeme vom Netzwerk sein oder bei einem Phishing-Angriff eine flächendeckende Vorwarnung der möglichen Empfänger.

5. Behebung

Mit der Behebung soll einerseits der schadenverursachende Umstand vollständig entfernt werden, nachdem er in der vorgängigen Phase unschädlich gemacht wurde. Andererseits soll das zugrunde liegende Problem eliminiert werden, das den erfolgreichen Angriff überhaupt ermöglichte, häufig indem die Sofortlösung in eine permanente und betrieblich vertretbare Lösung überführt wird. Die Behebung ist meistens keine einfache Aufgabe und kann eine oder eine ganze Reihe von Massnahmen umfassen, deren Effektivität über die Zeit gemessen werden muss. Die spezifischen Schritte sind stark vom Thema des Playbooks und der Problemursache abhängig und können vom Einspielen von Patches bis zum vollständig neuen Aufsetzen ganzer Infrastrukturen reichen.

6. Wiederherstellung

Hier geht es darum die Systeme und Infrastrukturkomponenten wieder in den regulären Betrieb zu überführen. Dabei sollte auch die Überwachung (Logging, Monitoring, Alarmierung) anhand der gemachten Erkenntnisse angepasst werden, um einerseits sicher zu stellen, dass die Eindämmung und Behebung tatsächlich erfolgreich waren und andererseits um Indizien für erneute Incidents frühzeitig zu erkennen.

Die Rückkehr zum Normalbetrieb nach einem Incident nimmt Zeit in Anspruch. Die Verwendung dieser Zeit im Voraus zu planen erlaubt eine rasche und zielgerichtete Wiederherstellung. Dabei ist es enorm wichtig, die Aktivitäten in dieser Phase genau zu überwachen und zu protokollieren, um einen Erfahrungswert für die zur Wiederherstellung erforderliche Zeit zu gewinnen. Schliesslich wird mit diesen Informationen eine Verbesserung der Recovery-Phase hinsichtlich Effektivität und Effizienz ermöglicht.

7. Erfahrungen und Verbesserungen (Lessons Learned)

Nicht selten wird dieser letzte Schritt vernachlässigt, sei es aus Erleichterung über den überstandenen Vorfall oder aus daraus folgendem Zeitmangel. Dennoch: Jeder Vorfall ist ein Lehrbeispiel und es ist sehr wichtig, dieser Phase die nötige Priorität zuzuweisen, zurück zu schauen und die gemachten Erfahrungen zu dokumentieren. Einen detaillierten Rapport zu erstellen mit allen Beobachtungen und Massnahmen ist eine gute Vorbereitung auf künftige Ereignisse. Wichtige Fragen, die man sich hierbei stellen sollte:

Schliesslich ist es sehr lohnend, diese gesammelten Erkenntnisse in einen kontinuierlichen Verbesserungsprozess einfliessen zu lassen und dabei nicht nur das Playbook, sondern den gesamten Incident Response Prozess zu berücksichtigen.

Welche Playbooks braucht es?

Jede Organisation ist spezifischen Risiken ausgesetzt und besitzt ihre eigenen Prozesse und organisatorischen Gegebenheiten. Playbooks sind konkret und praxisbezogen und damit notwendigerweise individuell, die Themen und Inhalte der Playbooks müssen also auf die jeweilige Organisation zugeschnitten sein. Dennoch lassen sich einige grundsätzliche Themen identifizieren, die als Ausgangspunkte für einen eigenen Playbook-Katalog dienen können:

Fazit

Jede Organisation wird sich früher oder später mit einem Cybersecurity-Vorfall auseinandersetzen müssen. Neben einem guten Grundschutz und geeigneten Detektionsmechanismen kann eine sorgfältige Vorbereitung auf Sicherheitsvorfälle den entscheidenden Unterschied zwischen optimaler Schadensbegrenzung und existenzbedrohenden Konsequenzen ausmachen. Incident Response Playbooks definieren die konkreten praktischen Abläufe zur Reaktion auf Cybersecurity-Incidents und sind damit ein essentieller Bestandteil des Incident Response und Recovery Prozesses.

Weiterführende Informationen

Über den Autor

Tomaso Vasella

Tomaso Vasella hat seinen Master in Organic Chemistry an der ETH Zürich abgeschlossen und ist seit 1999 im Bereich Cybersecurity aktiv. Positionen als Berater, Engineer, Auditor und Business Developer zählen zu seinen Erfahrungen. (ORCID 0000-0002-0216-1268)

Links

Sie wollen Ihr Log und Monitoring auf das nächste Level bringen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Offerten erstellen

Offerten erstellen

Tomaso Vasella

Microsoft Teams Security

Microsoft Teams Security

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv