Social Engineering – Spotlight on LinkedIn

Social Engineering

Spotlight on LinkedIn

Valérie Kastner
by Valérie Kastner
on February 21, 2019
time to read: 8 minutes

Keypoints

How hackers use LinkedIn to launch attacks

  • There are a lot of fake profiles on LinkedIn, and anyone can become a potential target
  • Automated tools such as ScrapedIn find out who works for a company in a matter of seconds
  • Techniques like Google Dorking take the smallest bits of information that lead to something much bigger
  • The right security settings give your LinkedIn account better protection against social engineering attacks

The goal of social engineering is to exploit human weaknesses. According to the Swiss Confederation’s Reporting and Analysis Center for Information Assurance (MELANI), social engineering is one of the most successful hacking methods being used today. All of us have had our own experiences with it in one way or another, whether it is a phone call from a person pretending to be a Microsoft support representative and asking us to give them our password, a PayPal phishing email (littered with spelling and grammar mistakes) or someone who simply asks us to hold the door open for them because they have supposedly forgotten their badge. Social engineering is all around us. With so much talk about big data, we are becoming increasingly aware of how much personal data and information can be collected about us. This does not necessarily have to be done passively using a person’s customer loyalty card; people often volunteer this information themselves. A LinkedIn profile is a good example. This article offers some insights into social engineering attacks and suggests some possible prevention methods.

Battle of the sexes

Imagine you want to get your hands on some information about a person in a professional context. What would you do first? Create a profile on LinkedIn perhaps? But it is pretty unlikely that you would use your real name; you would opt to set up a fake profile instead. Hence, several questions may arise: What name would you choose? What would be your gender? And your career path?

Social change and progressive ideas notwithstanding, certain prejudices may persist for a reason. As a test, we created two identical profiles, using the same age, work experience, training and education and interests for both. The only differences were the picture, name and gender. To take advantage of LinkedIn’s full search functionality, you need at least 10 contacts. For this reason, we sent contact requests to various people in the person’s purported career network.

The male profile was able to add a total of 13 contacts in four hours and was already blocked to some extent, only contact requests with email verification were still allowed. Apparently too many recipients had flagged our test profile as unknown. The female profile led to a different outcome: within five minutes, it had already added more than 13 contacts and, by the end of the test, it had even passed the 300 mark. Unknown professional contacts sent direct messages thanking the virtual person for reaching out and offered their professional assistance if needed. Additionally our profile started to appear in search results.

Identifying a company’s employees

What does your profile benefit from when having multiple contacts? As the total number of contacts increases, a profile is more likely to be seen as authentic and gains credibility. Hence, it will not be questioned as much anymore. Possibly you would be less skeptical of a request with 14 shared contacts, as you may have met the person in the hallway, during a workshop or it might have been a fleeting acquaintance. Having a large number of contacts in your network is a major advantage, as various second or third-degree connections will be displayed with more detailed information. As a result, attackers are able to gather information about you without being directly connected. Particularly for the purpose of company-related social engineering, each name and employee is highly valuable, as they give leads to who makes up a team and they help identifying potential victims. Furthermore, various OSINT tools enable attackers further to single out certain key individuals.

However, carrying out all those searches and creating an Excel sheet of all employees is a lot of effort and who would bother with that? Almost no-one, but it does not matter, because there are a lot of open-source tools to perform these tasks for you. The tool ScrapedIn, for example, takes just seconds to generate an automatic Excel report containing the desired LinkedIn details, such as name, position, location and other details on the search query.

ScrapedIn intercepts data

A case of targeted information acquisition

The more information a profile discloses, the bigger the attack surface. Profiles contain plenty of information that an attacker may collect and exploit for their own ends. A person’s educational background can often be especially useful for obtaining private information about them. Employees in leadership roles are generally expected to meet high requirements, with a university degree being a must-have for many employers.

The year of graduation can help an attacker to track down the employee’s master’s thesis or dissertation. ETH Zurich offers its own search feature , precisely for this purpose. The work might include sensitive personal information, such as the author’s full name, date of birth and nationality. In the best-case scenario, the acknowledgements will be publicly available. In addition to professors and fellow students, the authors often express their gratitude to people close to them, offering the attacker more potential victims. In the acknowledgments, the person might thank their significant other, future spouse, best friend or parents.

With Google Dorking a whole range of potentially lucrative search combinations can be tested. The information collected may be used to launch more sophisticated attacks, such as spear phishing or vishing. The more specific and believable a situation appears to be, the more willingly a person to volunteers sensitive information. Not all phishing emails are replete with mistakes and other red flags – the really good ones are not as easy to recognize.

The right settings for your LinkedIn profile

LinkedIn has various settings that help improve the security of your profile. With very little effort, you may drop off the list of potential victims of automated scans, as your last name will be hidden, or you won’t even show up in the results generated by Google, Bing and other search engines.

Here are some settings to help you prevent social engineering attacks:

But one of the most important rules of all to follow is: never add anyone to your network unless you actually know them.

Conclusion

LinkedIn offers a variety of career benefits. Simply having an account is not a risk as long as the profile does not contain any business secrets or obvious infringements of others’ privacy.

An attacker may well be able to collect a lot of information about you, but you still have to actually click on the link in a phishing email. However, attackers with many pieces of information may be more convincing and disguise their attack better. This is why we recommend only making information public when necessary and using the most restrictive settings possible. Most importantly, remind yourself to take your time making decisions and to maintain a healthy level of skepticism and caution, this often promises more happy endings than your account security settings.

About the Author

Valérie Kastner

Valérie Kastner studies Business Economics with focus on Risk & Insurance at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences. After several years in underwriting and technical center for insurances, she has been working in IT security since 2018 with a focus on Web Application Security Testing and Social Engineering. (ORCID 0000-0002-9214-572X)

Links

You want to test the awareness of your users?

Let our Red Team conduct a professional social engineering test!

×
Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

Online Tracking

Online Tracking

Ralph Meier

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Andrea Hauser

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Social Engineering - LinkedIn im Fokus

Social Engineering

LinkedIn im Fokus

Valérie Kastner
von Valérie Kastner
am 21. Februar 2019
Lesezeit: 8 Minuten

Keypoints

So nutzen Hacker LinkedIn für ihre Angriffe

  • Es existieren viele Fake-Profile auf LinkedIn und jedermann kann ein mögliches Ziel darstellen
  • Automatisierte Tools wie ScrapedIn eruieren innert Sekunden Mitarbeiter einer Firma
  • Mit Methoden wie Google Dorking führen kleinste Informationen zu wesentlich mehr
  • Mit den richtigen Sicherheitseinstellungen ist ein LinkedIn Account besser vor Social Engineering Angriffen geschützt

Social Engineering zielt auf die Schwachstelle Mensch ab. Gemäss MELANI, der Melde- und Analysestelle Informationssicherung des Bundes, ist Social Engineering unter den erfolgreichsten Angriffsmöglichkeiten anzusiedeln. Wir alle haben auf dem einen oder anderen Weg bereits eigene Erfahrungen damit sammeln können: Sei es mit Anrufen von einem vermeintlichen Microsoft-Angestellten, der gerne unser Passwort hätte, einem Paypal-Phishing-Mail mit entsprechenden Grammatikfehlern oder sei es durch jemanden, dem wir bloss die Türe aufhalten sollten, da er seinen Badge vergessen habe. Social Engineering ist allgegenwärtig. Mit den Worten Big Data in aller Munde wird dem Einzelnen zunehmend bewusst, wie viele Daten und Informationen über einen selbst gesammelt werden können. Dies muss aber nicht zwangsläufig passiv mit der Cumulus-Karte der Migros erfolgen: Oftmals geben Menschen Informationen aktiv selbst preis. Ein Beispiel dafür ist ein Profil auf LinkedIn. Dieser Artikel behandelt einige Erkenntnisse aus Social Engineering Angriffen sowie mögliche Präventionsmassnahmen.

Mann gegen Frau

Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie müssten sich Informationen über eine Person im beruflichen Kontext beschaffen. Was wäre Ihr erster Schritt? Vielleicht das Erstellen eines Profils auf LinkedIn? Aber höchst wahrscheinlich keines mit Ihrem richtigen Namen, sondern ein Fake-Profil. Die ersten Entscheidungen stünden somit bereits an: Welchen Namen wählen Sie? Welches Geschlecht? Welchen beruflichen Werdegang?

Trotz des gesellschaftlichen Fortschritts und dem modernen Denken, zeichnet sich ab, dass gewisse Vorurteile nicht umsonst bis heute existieren. Zum Test wurden 2 identische Profile erstellt. Sowohl Alter, Arbeitserfahrungen, die Ausbildung und die Interessen wurden auf beiden Profilen identisch angegeben. Die einzigen Unterschiede waren die Bilder, die Namen und das Geschlecht. Um jedoch die Suchfunktion von LinkedIn weitergehend zu nutzen, sind mindestens 10 Kontakte notwendig. Infolgedessen wurden Personen aus dem vermeintlichen Arbeitsumfeld als Kontakte angefragt.

Das männliche Profil erreichte nach 4 Stunden insgesamt 13 Kontakte und wurde bereits teilweise gesperrt, sodass nur noch Kontaktanfragen mit einer Email-Verifizierung stattfinden konnten. Offenbar hatten zu viele Empfänger unser Testprofil als nicht bekannt klassifiziert. Anders verhielt es sich beim weiblichen Profil. Innert 5 Minuten hatte dieses bereits die 13 Kontakte übertroffen, zum Ende des Tests sogar die 300er Marke überstiegen. Fremde Arbeitskontakte bedankten sich mittels Message für das Vernetzen und boten berufliche Hilfe an, sofern welche benötigt würde. Nach kurzer Zeit wurde ausserdem sogar bereits nach unserem Fake-Profil gesucht.

Identifizierung von Mitarbeitern einer Firma

Wie genau aber werden nun diese Kontakte genutzt? Ein Profil gewinnt mit zunehmender Anzahl Kontakte an Glaubwürdigkeit und wird auch kaum mehr im selben Masse hinterfragt. Wenn Sie eine Anfrage erhalten mit 14 gemeinsamen Kontakten, ist die Skepsis niedriger. Man hat sich vielleicht auf dem Flur getroffen, bei einer Schulung oder bei einem anderen Event. Viele Kontakte in einem Netzwerk zu besitzen ist von grossem Vorteil. Diverse Profile zweiten oder dritten Grades werden detaillierter und mit mehr Informationen angezeigt. Ein Angreifer ist in der Lage Informationen über Sie zu gewinnen, ohne mit Ihnen vernetzt zu sein. Gerade im Kontext von firmenbezogenem Social Engineering, ist jeder Name und jeder Mitarbeiter enorm wertvoll. Teamzusammensetzungen können nachkonstruiert und potentielle Opfer identifiziert werden, sowie man mit OSINT-Recherchen zu einzelnen Schlüsselpersonen beginnen kann.

Aber wer macht sich diese Mühe? Diverse Suchen zu starten und einzelne Mitarbeiter in ein Excel abzutippen? Kaum jemand, denn zahlreiche Tools sind open-source verfügbar und übernehmen diese lästigen Arbeiten. Beispielsweise steht mit der Zuhilfenahme des Tools ScrapedIn innert Sekunden ein automatischer Excel-Report bereit, welcher gewünschte LinkedIn-Details wie Name, Funktion, Ort und weitere Angaben zur Suchanfrage enthält.

ScrapedIn greift Daten ab

Beispiel von gezielter Informationsgewinnung

Je mehr Informationen auf einem Profil zur Verfügung stehen, desto grösser ist die Angriffsfläche. Es gibt viele Informationen, die ein Angreifer aus einem Profil herauslesen und weiterverwenden kann. Insbesondere Ausbildungsangaben können in vielen Fällen sehr nützlich sein, um private Informationen über eine Person zu gewinnen. An einen führenden Mitarbeiter werden oftmals hohe Anforderungen gestellt, ein abgeschlossenes Studium gehört unterdessen an vielen Orten zu einem must-have.

Mit der Jahresangabe des Studiumabschlusses, kann ein Angreifer die Master- oder Doktorarbeit des Angestellten ausfindig machen. Die ETH Zürich stellt hierzu eine eigene Suchfunktion bereit. Aus der Arbeit können sensitive Personendaten gewonnen werden, wie unter anderem der vollständige Name, das Geburtsdatum und die Nationalität. Im besten Fall kann das Acknowledgement öffentlich eingesehen werden. Nebst Professoren und Mitstudenten wird darin oftmals auch Personen aus dem persönlichen Umfeld gedankt. Damit erschliessen sich einem Angreifer potentiell neue Opfer. In einem Acknowledgement kann der Freundin und eventuell späteren Frau, dem besten Freund oder den Eltern gedankt werden.

Insbesondere mit Google Dorking können daraus zahlreiche und vielversprechende Suchkombinationen entstehen. Die gewonnenen Informationen können für weiterführende Angriffe wie Spear-Phishing oder Vishing genutzt werden. Je gezielter und glaubwürdiger eine Situation wirkt, desto wahrscheinlicher ist es, dass eine Person vertrauliche Informationen preisgibt. Nicht alle Phishing-Mails sind übersäht von Fehlern und Auffälligkeiten, die wirklich guten werden nicht so leicht erkannt.

Einstellungen für LinkedIn richtig setzen

LinkedIn bietet einige Einstellungen an, die es Ihnen ermöglicht Ihr Profil besser zu schützen. Mit einem geringen Aufwand können Sie so gerade bei einem automatisierten Scan aus der Opferliste fallen, da Ihr Nachname fehlt oder Sie in Suchmaschinen wie Google, Bing & Co. erst gar nicht auftauchen.

Im Folgenden finden Sie einige Einstellungen, welche einen Social Engineering-Angriff auf Sie erschweren können:

Als einer der wichtigsten Grundsätze gilt jedoch: Nehmen Sie keine Personen in Ihr Netzwerk auf, die Sie nicht kennen.

Fazit

In vielerlei Hinsicht bietet LinkedIn Vorteile im Berufsleben. Der Besitz eines Accounts selbst ist noch keine Gefahr, sofern das Profil keine Geschäftsgeheimnisse oder offensichtliche Verletzungen der Privatsphäre anderer beinhaltet.

Ist ein Angreifer in der Lage viele Informationen über Sie zu sammeln, müssen dennoch Sie selbst in einem Phishing-Email auf den dargebotenen Link klicken. Allerdings kann ein Angreifer mit mehr Informationen Sie erfolgreicher dazu verleiten und seinen Angriff besser tarnen. Aus diesem Grund wird empfohlen Informationen nur dann öffentlich verfügbar zu machen, wenn sie erforderlich sind und die Einstellungen so restriktiv wie möglich zu setzen. Lassen Sie sich aber vor allem für Entscheidungen Zeit, gesunde Skepsis und Vorsicht helfen Ihnen oftmals mehr als Sicherheitseinstellungen in Ihrem Account.

Über die Autorin

Valérie Kastner

Valérie Kastner studiert Betriebsökonomie mit Schwerpunkt Risk & Insurance an der Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften. Nach mehreren Jahren im Underwriting und Technical Center von Versicherungen, arbeitet sie seit 2018 im Bereich IT-Security mit Fokus auf Web Application Security Testing und Social Engineering. (ORCID 0000-0002-9214-572X)

Links

Sie wollen die Awareness Ihrer Benutzer prüfen?

Lassen Sie durch uns einen Social Engineering Test durchführen!

×
Social Engineering

Social Engineering

Valérie Kastner

Schwierigkeiten von Cyber-Versicherungen

Schwierigkeiten von Cyber-Versicherungen

Valérie Kastner

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv