OWASP ASVS Version 4 - New Release of the Application Security Verification Standard

OWASP ASVS Version 4

New Release of the Application Security Verification Standard

Mark Zeman
by Mark Zeman
on March 21, 2019
time to read: 6 minutes

Keypoints

This is what OWASP ASVS in version 4 has to offer

  • Complete overhaul of the document
  • More closely aligned with other standards like NIST SP 800-63
  • Renumbered and reorganized
  • Less overlap and duplication of controls
  • L1 almost completely blackbox testable

About two and a half years since the last release, the latest version of the Application Security Verification Standard (ASVS), version 4.0, was officially released on March 1.

The ASVS project always tries to draw lessons from the feedback of its community and industry and to include this in the standard. In particular, it is important to the heads of the ASVS project that the standard can be used for various use cases in the development of secure software.

In order to be useful not only for testing, but also as effective as possible in the development and design of software,some of the knowledge and ideas of the OWASP Proactive Controls were integrated into the ASVS. The Proactive Controls are basic high-level strategies that can help write secure software. Taking development of the ASVS in this direction is certainly a good idea, since the idea of pushing left, i.e. considering security earlier in the development cycle, is becoming more and more widespread.

Security should influence a project very early. Quelle: Tanya Janca, OWASP

Providing additional resources to support this is certainly valuable. The easier it is to produce secure software, the more software developers are supported in doing so, the more secure and higher quality the software becomes. However, this also means that the supporting resources must not only be correct but also understandable.

Therefore, it was also a goal of the ASVS v4 to minimize overlaps or inconsistencies with other standards by either aligning the ASVS closely with them (NIST SP 800-63) or being a strict superset. For example, the ASVS covers everything that is included in the OWASP Top 10 2017 and more, so that the ASVS simply does not compete with the top 10. Compliance costs and effort should be reduced and no time wasted because unnecessary differences must be accepted as risks, thanks to this approach.

Structural rework and simplifications

The ASVS has grown since the original release in 2008 and was therefore not always as clear and straightforward as it could be. With version 4.0, the opportunity was taken to streamline the ASVS a bit.

This included restructuring the levels of the ASVS somewhat. There is no more Level 0, L1 now covers the absolute minimum and focuses even more on the OWASP Top 10 than before. In addition, L1 is almost completely covered by a blackbox penetration test, without access to source code or documentation. However, this is strongly discouraged in the ASVS, since this only serves to lower the quality of the results. I strongly agree with this recommendation, especially since there are actually requirements, even on L1, which can only be verified with access to documentation or interviews with developers.

Additionally, L1 is only sufficient to protect against opportunistic attackers. As soon as the threat model includes targeted attacks against the application, one should consider applying L2.

Reordering and renumbering

In the previous version of the ASVS, the chapters were not numbered consistently, as individual chapters had been removed from the ASVS. Since the numbering in Chapter 2 had to be revised anyway, in order to align the ASVS more closely with NIST SP 800-63, this was taken as an opportunity to renumber the complete ASVS.

The gaps in the numbering were closed and the chapters divided into smaller subchapters. Likewise, entries were split up and separated more cleanly. Entries which were related specifically to a single programming language were removed, as were overlapping entries or entries which represented little danger.

In this way, 19 chapters with around 180 entries became 14 chapters, 69 subchapters and 286 individual items. The subchapters are designed to help users of the ASVS pick the items that are relevant to them. For example, Chapter 13 covers APIs and Web Services: 13.1 covers generic requirements, 13.2 focuses on RESTful Web services, 13.3 SOAP-based, and 13.4 on GraphQL and other data layers. So if you do not use GraphQL, you can ignore 13.4 instead of having to hunt down the GraphQL requirements spread over several chapters and mark them as Not Applicable.

Next steps

The ASVS project has not yet reached some sort of “end”, where the ASVS merely needs to be adapted to new technologies occasionally. Next steps have already been planned and, in part, even been tackled.

Additional mappings will be created to combine the ASVS more effectively with other documents. In particular, a reference to the OWASP Testing Guide v4 is to be established, so that the ASVS is even better suited to serve as the basis for tests and reviews. It is also being discussed whether a Common Weakness Scoring System (CWSS) rating is to be created for each entry in the ASVS, which would help prioritize and classify the individual entries in an even more granular fashion.

About the Author

Mark Zeman

Mark Zeman has a Master of Science in Engineering with focus on Information and Communication Technologies at the FHNW. He was able to transform his passion of information security to his focus since 2017. During his bachelor studies he worked for an email security company. (ORCID 0000-0003-0085-2097)

Links

Are you interested in a Penetration Test?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
totemomail

totemomail

Mark Zeman

1080p? 4K? UHD? HDR?

1080p? 4K? UHD? HDR?

Mark Zeman

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

OWASP ASVS Version 4 - Neuer Release des Application Security Verification Standards

OWASP ASVS Version 4

Neuer Release des Application Security Verification Standards

Mark Zeman
von Mark Zeman
am 21. März 2019
Lesezeit: 6 Minuten

Keypoints

Das bringt OWASP ASVS in Version 4

  • Komplette Überarbeitetung des Standards
  • Näher an anderen Standards wie NIST SP 800-63
  • Neu durchnummeriert und organisiert
  • Weniger überlappende oder duplizierte Punkte
  • L1 fast komplett Blackbox-testbar
  • Mehr Erklärungen pro Kapitel

Etwa zweieinhalb Jahre nach dem letzten Release war es am 1. März soweit und die neuste Version des Application Security Verification Standards (ASVS), Version 4.0, wurde offiziell veröffentlicht.

Das ASVS-Projekt versucht immer Lektionen aus dem Feedback seiner Community und der Industrie zu ziehen und dies in den Standard einzubauen. Insbesondere ist den Leitern des ASVS-Projekts dabei wichtig, dass der Standard für verschiedene Use Cases in der Entwicklung sicherer Software einsetzbar ist.

Um nicht nur für das Testing nützlich zu sein, sondern bereits in der Entwicklung und beim Design von Software möglichst effektiv zu sein, wurde daher darauf geachtet, die Erkenntnisse und Ideen der OWASP Proactive Controls in den ASVS einzubauen. Die Proactive Controls sind grundlegende Strategien, welche auf einem hohen Level helfen, sichere Software zu schreiben. Den ASVS auch in diese Richtung weiterzuentwickeln ist sicherlich sinnvoll, da die Idee des Shift Left, also die Sicherheit früher im Entwicklungszyklus zu beachten, immer stärker verbreitet ist.

Sicherheit sollte früh im Projekt einfliessen. Quelle: Tanya Janca, OWASP

Dafür weitere, unterstützende Ressourcen bereitzustellen, ist sicherlich wertvoll. Je leichter es ist, sichere Software zu produzieren, je mehr SoftwareentwicklerInnen dabei unterstützt werden, desto sicherer wird die Software und desto höher wird die Qualität. Dazu gehört aber auch, dass die unterstützenden Ressourcen nicht nur korrekt, sondern auch verständlich sind.

Darum war es auch ein Ziel des ASVS v4, Überlappungen oder Widersprüche zu anderen Standards zu minimieren, indem der ASVS sich eng an sie angleicht (NIST SP 800-63) oder eine Übermenge bildet. Der ASVS deckt beispielsweise alles ab, was in den OWASP Top 10 2017 enthalten ist und mehr, so dass der ASVS nicht einfach mit den Top 10 konkurrenziert. Dadurch sollen Kosten und Aufwand in Bezug auf Compliance reduziert werden und keine Zeit dadurch verloren gehen, dass unnötige Differenzen als Risiken akzeptiert werden müssen.

Strukturelle Überarbeitung und Vereinfachungen

Der ASVS ist seit der ursprünglichen Veröffentlichung 2008 gewachsen und war darum nicht immer so klar und zielstrebig, wie er sein konnte. Mit Version 4.0 wurde daher die Gelegenheit genutzt, um den ASVS etwas zu straffen.

Dazu wurden die Levels des ASVS auch etwas umstrukturiert. Es gibt kein Level 0 mehr, L1 deckt nun das absolute Minimum ab und konzentriert sich dabei noch mehr auf die OWASP Top 10 als zuvor. Zudem ist L1 fast komplett durch einen Blackbox Penetration Test abdeckbar, ohne Zugang zu Quellcode oder Dokumentation. Davon wird im ASVS allerdings dringend abgeraten, da dies nur die Qualität der Resultate senkt. Dieser Empfehlung schliessen wir uns auch klar an, zumal es sogar auf L1 eigentlich Anforderungen gibt, welche nur mit Zugang zu Dokumentation oder Interviews mit Entwicklern wirklich überprüft werden können.

L1 ist auch nur ausreichend, um gegen opportunistische Angreifer geschützt zu sein. Sobald das Bedrohungsmodell gezielte Angriffe gegen die Applikation vorsieht, sollte man L2 in Betracht ziehen.

Neuordnung und Renummerierung

In der vorherigen Version des ASVS waren die Kapitel nicht durchgängig nummeriert, da einzelne Kapitel aus dem ASVS entfernt worden waren. Da die Nummerierung in Kapitel 2 sowieso überarbeitet werden musste, um den ASVS näher an NIST SP 800-63 heranzubringen, wurde das gleich zum Anlass genommen, den kompletten ASVS neu durchzunummerieren.

Dabei wurden Lücken in der Nummerierung geschlossen und die Kapitel in kleinere Unterkapitel unterteilt. Ebenso wurden Einträge aufgesplittet und sauberer getrennt. Einträge, welche sich nur auf eine einzelne Programmiersprache bezogen, wurden abgeschafft, genauso wie überlappende Einträge oder Einträge, welche wenig Gefahr darstellten.

Aus 19 Kapiteln mit rund 180 Einträgen wurden so 14 Kapitel, 69 Unterkapitel und 286 einzelne Items. Die Unterkapitel dienen dazu, dass Nutzer des ASVS leichter die Elemente aussuchen können, welche für sie relevant sind. Beispielsweise behandelt Kapitel 13 APIs und Web Services: 13.1 behandelt generische Anforderungen, 13.2 fokussiert auf RESTful Webservices, 13.3 SOAP-basierte und 13.4 auf GraphQL und andere Datenschichten. Wer also GraphQL nicht einsetzt, kann 13.4 ignorieren, statt sich über verschiedene Kapitel die Anforderungen an GraphQL suchen zu müssen, um sie als Nicht Anwendbar zu markieren.

Geplante nächste Schritte

Das ASVS-Projekt ist aber noch nicht am Ende angelangt, wo der ASVS nur noch gelegentlich an neue Technologien angepasst werden muss. Nächste Schritte sind bereits geplant und teilweise sogar angegangen worden.

Dabei werden weitere Mappings erstellt, um den ASVS effektiver mit anderen Dokumenten kombinieren zu können. Insbesondere soll der Bezug zum OWASP Testing Guide v4 hergestellt werden, damit der ASVS noch besser geeignet ist, als Grundlage für Tests und Reviews zu dienen. Zudem wird geprüft, ob für jeden Eintrag im ASVS eine Common Weakness Scoring System (CWSS) Bewertung erstellt werden soll. Das würde helfen, die einzelnen Einträge noch granularer zu priorisieren und einzuordnen.

Über den Autor

Mark Zeman

Mark Zeman hat seinen Master of Science in Engineering mit Vertiefung Information and Communication Technologies an der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz absolviert. Seit 2017 hat er seine Passion im Bereich Information Security zu seinem Fokus gemacht. Unter anderem hat er schon während seinem Bachelorstudium bei einer Email-Sicherheitsfirma gearbeitet. (ORCID 0000-0003-0085-2097)

Links

Haben Sie Interesse an einem Penetration Test?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
1080p? 4K? UHD? HDR?

1080p? 4K? UHD? HDR?

Mark Zeman

Standard-Datenschutzmodell der Datenschutzbehörden Deutschlands

Standard-Datenschutzmodell der Datenschutzbehörden Deutschlands

Mark Zeman

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv