Symmetric Encryption – An Introduction

Symmetric Encryption

An Introduction

Dominik Altermatt
by Dominik Altermatt
on August 15, 2019
time to read: 16 minutes

Keypoints

This is how Symmetric Encryption really works

  • Many people place their trust in information provided by third parties when it comes to encryption
  • It's more common to take the apparent ins and outs at face value than to actually personally know them
  • It seems sensible to periodically process certain basic information
  • If in doubt, consult competent experts

Encryption: it’s everywhere nowadays and is an integral feature of practically every IT product or service. But IT experts and even security experts are scared off by the mathematics behind it and rely on information provided by third parties when choosing their latest encryption technology. So, how much of an understanding of encryption do IT experts really need to have nowadays?

It would appear that people are all too quick to place their trust in information provided by third parties, which goes hand-in-hand with a certain amount of risk. They naturally jump at the chance to choose the simplest solution and are building up more trust than knowledge on encryption as a subject.

Particularly when new claims are made regarding the strength of encryption solutions, there may be unfounded pressure to migrate to what is currently the strongest encryption technology, even though this might not be a vital requirement at the time in question. Having said that, there’s nothing wrong with heeding third-party information and opting for the strongest encryption solution. It’s decidedly better than simply sweeping the issue of encryption under the rug. However, you do need to be familiar with some encryption concepts so you can base your understanding of the issue’s constantly changing situation on slightly more conscious choices as opposed to trust.

If you have specific questions about encryption algorithms’ or implementation solutions’ cryptographic strengths and weaknesses in the likes of environments with limited resources, you should consult experienced cryptologists beforehand. And another golden rule before we get into the nitty-gritty: you should only seek to implement your own cryptographic methods for practice purposes. Cryptographic methods in productive systems should only be implemented by experienced and recognized cryptologists.

This article will use some current examples to describe various terms and concepts of symmetric encryption. While the concepts mentioned aren’t to be construed as recommendations, they should effectively introduce a few terms, including the likes of AE, MAC and mode of operation.

The mathematics behind cryptographic methods and how they are effectively implemented are only touched on slightly or left out entirely. Some of the concepts presented here are greatly simplified. The illustrations used should help readers to understand the concepts better; a key for the symbols used in the illustrations can be found at the end of the article.

Symmetric methods

In principle, the modern symmetric encryption methods are technical further developments of classic mechanisms. The Caesar cipher (which dates back to approximately 50 years B.C.) is a simple substitution method and a solution that is often cited as one of the classic methods.

Scholars suggest that stone tablets from Mesopotamia recording a craftsman’s formula for pottery glaze, dating back to 2000 years B.C. and written in cuneiform script, are the first signs of encryption being used to protect information. It is believed that the tablets were encrypted to protect the potter’s formula from being stolen for commercial reasons.

The symmetry is derived from the fact that the same secret key K is used for encryption and decryption, as shown in the figure below. (A key of the symbols used can be found attached to this article.)

Symmetric encryption

At present, symmetric methods are still the first choice for encrypting larger volumes of data, due to the simple fact that they usually deliver better results. Generally speaking, a distinction is also made between hardware-based and software-based encryption, but in most cases the differences in performance become progressively smaller.

However, since the same secret key is used for encryption and decryption, a pure symmetric method is unsuitable for encrypted communication. After all, how should the sender disclose the secret key to the recipient in the first place (key distribution problem)? While messengers and sealed letters could still be used in the past, this solution didn’t scale up well.

And that’s why asymmetric methods (typically used to exchange the secret key for symmetric methods, resulting in a hybrid method) were introduced.

Block and stream ciphers

Block cipher

Up to a defined block size, the plaintext block P is encrypted with the key K and block cipher BC to produce ciphertext C, as shown in the figure below. In the case of the AES, the block size is 128 bits, for example.

Block cipher

Blockwise processing requires another component to be functional; the additional high-level issues with this are:

  1. How can any size of data block (e.g. larger or smaller than 128 bits in the case of the AES) be encrypted?
  2. How can it be ensured that no patterns can be found for cryptoanalysis in the ciphertext blocks? (The penguin problem, for example.)

The answer to the above questions is what is known as the “mode of operation” for block ciphers. This is why the claim that something is encrypted with AES is usually incomplete – the mode of operation should be specified too. Why? Because the mode of operation isn’t just a function for processing any size of plaintext, it incorporates security features too.

A block cipher's mode of operation

The phrase Everybody knows ECB mode is bad because we can see the penguin is an impressive example of security features that should be “added” “outside” of the actual encryption algorithm.

The ECB mode of operation, which is the simplest of the modes of operation, ensures that any length of plaintext can be encrypted with a block cipher. The plaintext is formatted to the required block size and each block is encrypted one after the other using a BC algorithm, as shown above.

The figure below illustrates the penguin problem, recreated with the scip logo: The scip logo is encrypted with the 128-bit AES-ECB method; AES-CBC is also shown by way of comparison.

The AES penguin problem

The conclusion that can be drawn from the penguin problem is that identical plaintext blocks produce identical ciphertext blocks. So, if P1 and P3 are identical, then C1 and C3 are identical too. Certain information can thus be extracted from the ciphertext. A degree of randomness is needed to overcome this issue.

Mode of operation

The encryption algorithm makes transformation secure, but only exactly for a 128-bit block in the case of AES with a 128-bit block size and without a mode of operation.

On the one hand, the basic modes are intended to ensure that any length of plaintext can be encrypted and, to put it in simple terms, that no patterns can be identified in the ciphertext. Even if the same plaintext is encrypted several times over with the same key, a “different” ciphertext should “be created” each time.

CBC (cipher block chaining mode)

Randomization methods are used to prevent patterns from emerging, making an encryption algorithm like the AES cryptographically stronger when used in combination with a mode of operation (except ECB). As shown in the example above, ECB (the electronic codebook) should no longer be used.

CBC (cipher block chaining mode), shown in the figure below, works in a similar way to ECB, but chains each block to the previous one. For the first block, what is known as a “randomized initialization vector” (IV) is used to add a degree of randomization. This ensures that identical plaintext blocks are not encrypted into identical ciphertext blocks. Even if the encryption is invoked twice for the same plaintext and key, the ciphertext will be different each time due to the randomized IV and chaining.

Cipher block chaining mode

CTS (padding and ciphertext stealing)

Another method known as “padding” is necessary for the CBC mode. If the plaintext is not a multiple of the block size, e.g. if the plaintext is 132 bits long, a first 128-bit block can be generated, but a 128-bit block is also required for the remaining 4 bits of plaintext, so 124 bits must be added to the 4 bits to produce 128 bits. One effect of padding is that the ciphertext is always slightly longer than the plaintext.

Another method used to create the required block size is CTS. While it may well be slightly more complicated, it makes sure that ciphertext and plaintext are the same length. In simple terms, this is done by stealing the number of bits needed for padding purposes from the penultimate cipher block and filling up the last plaintext block before it is encrypted with the amount of bits needed.

CTR (counter mode)

CTR (counter mode), shown the figure below, practically turns a block cipher into a stream cipher. A counter (each block of a message must not have the same counter value) and nonce (number used only once; doesn’t have to be random, but unique by key K/Message) as IV are encrypted by block ciphers to form a kind of key stream (KS). The key stream is then encrypted one bit at a time via XOR, with plaintext turning into ciphertext (more on this under “Stream ciphers”). This eliminates the need for padding methods for block ciphers with CTS mode.

Counter mode

GCM (Galois/counter mode)

GCM (Galois/counter mode) is essentially based on CTR, but integrates the message authentication code (MAC) function. This is to ensure that, during decryption, it can be checked whether the data has been deliberately or unintentionally modified while encrypted (data authenticity and integrity), resulting in authenticated encryption (AE).

The authenticity of unencrypted data, such as header data (associated data), is also authenticated with the GCM’s MAC function, resulting in authenticated encryption with associated data (AEAD).

The Wegman-Carter MAC method, which is based on the hashing method GHASH, is used to verify whether data has changed. After encryption (encrypt-then-authenticate), the MAC method generates an authentication tag, which can also be calculated during decryption. If they match, it can be assumed that the data has not been changed. The GCM can also be used to authenticate unencrypted data; this is known as the GMAC (Galois message authentication code).

Galois/counter mode

CCM (counter mode with CBC-MAC)

As its name implies, CCM (counter mode with CBC-MAC) is based on the CTR mode and uses CBC as the MAC method. Unlike GCM, authentication is performed first, followed by encryption (authenticate-then-encrypt).

XTS (XEX-based tweaked codebook mode)

XTS (XEX-based tweaked codebook mode with ciphertext stealing) is a mode designed to encrypt data on a disk. Disk encryption increases the demands placed on a secure encryption concept. Subdivision into sectors on the disks in particular has a major influence here, since each sector is to be encrypted and decrypted securely, individually and at a high performance level. The term “tweaked” or “tweakable encryption” (TE) comes into play here.

TE is used in disk encryption to include the sector in the encryption process. This enables encryption of an entire disk with the same key, but a sector-specific value is used as a kind of additional key (the tweak). Stream ciphers (as well as block ciphers with counter mode) are unsuitable for disk encryption for specific reasons.

The basic mode for XTS is XEX (XOR-encrypt-XOR), which uses three keys for encryption, so one of these keys can be the tweak value. In an XEX implementation without a tweak, this is achieved with key whitening, or the keys K1 and K2 are derived from the key K.

XEX-based tweaked codebook mode

Stream ciphers

As its name implies, the stream cipher encrypts a stream of data, i.e. plaintext one bit at a time. This is done by encrypting each bit from the plaintext P with one bit from what is known as the “key stream” KS to create the ciphertext C. The key stream is generated from a secret key K and a nonce N using stream ciphers SC; see the figure below. To be specific, a pseudo-randomized stream of bits is generated for the key and the nonce using a stream cipher algorithm.

Stream cipher

Historically, stream ciphers were considered to deliver better results in hardware-based encryption, because they used fewer resources (number of logic gates). Today, the comparison with block ciphers has put this into perspective to a certain extent, since nowadays block ciphers also have lean hardware implementations and, not least, because the available resources in the hardware chips are constantly increasing.

Stream ciphers should not use the same KS twice (or the same nonce with the same key). What’s more, the KS itself should be prevented from repeating after a certain period.

The length of the KS (a type of KS block size) is therefore fixed, e.g. ChaCha20; this is 512 bit. So, if a plaintext larger than 512 bit is to be encrypted, it must be possible to invoke a new instance of the encryption algorithm. A new invocation is to be randomized, since the same key is used for it.

Stateful and counter-based

Stream ciphers can be roughly divided into two types. A stateful stream cipher (e.g. RC4) generates a secret internal state using a key, a nonce and an algorithm. The state is used as the starting point for creating the KS. An update function is used to change the state over time so as to pseudo-randomize KS generation.

Stream cipher update

A counter-based stream cipher (e.g. Slasa20/ChaCha) rectifies randomization in a relatively simple way: with a counter for each KS period, similar to the counter mode for block ciphers.

Stream cipher update with counter

What about AE in stream ciphers? Stream ciphers that are recommended at present do not come with an integrated AE function, as is the case with the block cipher modes of operation. However, a general MAC method, such as ChaCha20, Poly1305 (encrypt-then-MAC) can naturally be implemented too.

Conclusion

The following summary can be provided to give a basic understanding of symmetric encryption. The symmetric block cipher algorithms consist of an encryption algorithm and a secret key, which can be used to securely transform plaintext with a fixed block size into a ciphertext of the same block size. By using a mode of operation, any size of plaintext can be encrypted by invoking the algorithm several times. To ensure that no patterns are created if the algorithm is invoked repeatedly, the mode of operation should create a degree of randomness (randomized IV, nonce IV, chaining, etc.). Furthermore, modes of operation can include MAC methods (AE, AEAD) to verify data integrity and thus incorporate additional security features.

Symmetric stream ciphers consist of an encryption algorithm, a nonce IV and a secret key, which is used to generate a key stream. The key stream is linked to form a ciphertext using XOR and plaintext. The key stream can only be a certain length. This is why the process is invoked several times, even for stream ciphers, to encrypt plaintext longer than a key stream. The mode of operation necessary for this already forms part of the stream cipher. While currently recommended stream ciphers (BSI, ECRYPT) do not offer integrated AE, stream ciphers can be combined with general MAC methods.

If you’d like to go one step further, Serious Cryptography by Jean-Philippe Aumasson (ISBN 978-1-59327-826-7) is well worth a read.

Key for the illustrations

Symbol Description
K Secret key
K1–K2 Derived from K; key parts
P Plaintext
P1–P3 Plaintext blocks
C Ciphertext
C1–C3 Ciphertext blocks
BC Block cipher
SC Stream cipher
IV Initialization vector
N Nonce; number only used once
Ctr Counter
T Tag; authentication tag
KS Key stream
XOR gate

About the Author

Dominik Altermatt

Dominik Altermatt is working since 2003 in the IT business and was responsible for Data Leakage Prevention at a Swiss bank for many years. Besides traditional penetration testing he is also focusing on the introduction and improvement of IT security management processes. (ORCID 0000-0003-4575-4597)

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Traffic Analysis with Windows Built-In Tools

Traffic Analysis with Windows Built-In Tools

Dominik Altermatt

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Symmetrische Verschlüsselung - Eine Einführung

Symmetrische Verschlüsselung

Eine Einführung

Dominik Altermatt
von Dominik Altermatt
am 15. August 2019
Lesezeit: 16 Minuten

Keypoints

So funktioniert symmetrische Verschlüsselung

  • Viele vertrauen in Bezug auf Verschlüsselung auf Aussagen von Dritten
  • Oft wird mehr "vertraut" als "gewusst"
  • Periodische Aufarbeitung von gewissen Grundlagen erscheint sinnvoll
  • Bei Zweifeln: Kompetente Experten aufsuchen

Verschlüsselung ist heute allgegenwärtig und kommt in praktisch jedem IT-Produkt oder Service zum Tragen. Doch lassen sich IT-Experten und auch Security-Experten von der zugrundeliegenden Mathematik abschrecken und verlassen sich auf Aussagen von Dritten, um die aktuelle Verschelüsslungstechnologie zu wählen. Welches Mass an Verständnis bezüglich Verschlüsselung ist nun adäquat für IT-Experten?

Es erscheint der Eindruck, dass oft allzu schnell auf die Aussagen Dritter gesetzt wird. Dies birgt gewisse Risiken, in dem Sinne, dass es sich schnell zu einfach gemacht wird und über die Zeit hinweg mehr Vertrauen als Wissen zur Thematik Verschlüsselung entstehen.

Gerade wenn neue Aussagen über die Stärke von Verschlüsselungen publiziert werden, kann unbegründeter Druck entstehen, auf die aktuell stärkste Verschlüsselungstechnologie zu wechseln zu müssen, obwohl dies evtl. zur gegebenen Zeit nicht zwingend notwendig ist. Sich an die Aussagen von Dritten zu halten und jeweils die stärkste Verschlüsselung zu wählen ist nicht falsch und entschieden besser, als sich mit der Thematik gar nicht auseinander zu setzen. Trotzdem sollten einige Konzepte der Verschlüsselung bekannt sein, um die sich stetig verändernde Situation der Thematik auf etwas bewussteren Entscheidungen anstatt Vertrauen zu stützen.

Für spezifische Fragen über die kryptographischen Stärken und Schwächen von Verschlüsselungs-Algorithmen respektive Implementationen, z.B. in Umgebungen mit begrenzten Ressourcen, sollten von vornhinein erfahrenen Kryptologen beigezogen werden. Und eine weitere goldene Regel vor weg: Eine eigene Implementation von kryptographischen Verfahren sollte man nur zu Übungszwecken anstreben. Kryptographische Verfahren in produktiven Systemen sollten nur durch erfahrene und ausgewiesene Kryptologen implementiert werden.

In diesem Artikel soll anhand einiger aktuellen Beispiele auf verschiedene Begriffe und Konzepte der symmetrischen Verschlüsselung eingegangen werden. Die erwähnten Konzepte sind nicht als Empfehlung zu verstehen, sondern sollen effektiv einige der Begriffe wie AE, MAC oder Mode of Operation vorstellen.

Die Mathematik und effektive Implementation von kryptographischen Verfahren werden nur angestreift oder ganz weggelassen. Die dazu vorgestellten Konzepte werden teils stark vereinfacht. Die verwendeten Illustrationen sollen helfen die Konzepte besser zu verstehen, am Ende des Artikels ist eine entsprechende Legende zu finden.

Symmetrische Verfahren

Die modernen symmetrischen Verschlüsselungsverfahren sind die im Prinzip die technische Weiterentwicklung der klassischen Mechanismen. Unter den klassischen Verfahren wird gerne die Cäsar-Verschlüsselung (ca. 50 v. Chr.) genannt, welche ein einfaches Substitutions-Verfahren darstellt.

Ein erstes Zeugnis von Verschlüsselung, wie von Forschern vermutet wird, ist die verschlüsselte Anleitung zu einer Tonglasur, geschrieben in Keilschrift auf einer Steintafel 2000 Jahre vor Christus aus Mesopotamien. Man geht davon aus, dass die Anleitung verschlüsselt wurde, um sich gegen Industriespionage zu schützen.

Die Symmetrie wird aus der Tatsache, dass für die Ver- und Entschlüsselung denselben geheimen Schlüssel K verwendet wird, abgeleitet, wie in der folgenden Abbildung dargestellt. (Eine Legende der genutzten Symbole findet sich im Anhang dieses Artikels.)

Symmetrische Verschlüsselung

Die symmetrischen Verfahren bleiben aktuell die erste Wahl für die Verschlüsselung von grösseren Datenvolumen, schlicht weil diese meist performanter sind. Auch wird grundsätzlich zwischen Hardware und Software Implementation von Verschlüsselung unterschieden, jedoch auch da werden in den meisten Anwendungsfälle die Performanceunterschiede stetig kleiner.

Die Tatsache jedoch, dass derselbe Geheim-Schlüssel für Ver- und Entschlüsselung verwendet wird, macht ein reines symmetrisches Verfahren ungeeignet für eine verschlüsselte Kommunikation. Denn wie sollte der geheime Schlüssel initial zwischen Sender und Empfänger ausgetauscht werden (Schlüsselverteilungsproblem)? In früheren Zeiten ging dies noch mit Boten und versiegelten Briefen, jedoch skalierte dies schlecht.

Daher wurde asymmetrische Verfahren eingeführt, welche typischerweise Anwendung für den Austauschen des Geheimschlüssels von symmetrischen Verfahren finden, was in einem hybriden Verfahren resultiert.

Block- und Stromchiffre

Blockchiffre

Klartext-Block P, zu einer definierten Blockgrösse, wird mit dem Schlüssel K und Blockchiffre BC zu einem Geheimtext C verschlüsselt, wie in der folgenden Abbildung dargestellt. Z.B. bei AES ist die Blockgrösse 128 Bit.

Blockchiffre

Die blockweise Verarbeitung verlangt eine weitere Komponente, um funktional zu sein, die High-Level Fragestellungen dazu sind:

  1. Wie Können Daten-Blöcke beliebiger Grösse (z.B. bei AES grösser oder kleiner als 128 Bit) verschlüsselt werden?
  2. Wie kann sichergestellt werden, dass in den Blöcken der Geheimtexts kein Pattern für die Kryptoanalyse gefunden werden können? (z.B. Pinguin-Problem)

Die obigen Fragen werden mit dem sogenannten Betriebsmodus (Mode of Operations) für Blockchiffren gelöst. Darum ist die Aussage, dass etwas mit AES verschlüsselt wurde ist, meist nicht komplett – es soll der Betriebsmodus mit angegeben werden. Warum? Da der Betriebsmodus nicht nur eine Funktion für die verarbeiten von Klartexten beliebiger Grösse ist, sondern auch Security-Features miteinbringt.

Betriebsmodus einer Blockchiffre

Ein eindrückliches Beispiel für Security-Features, welche “ausserhalb” des eigentlichen Verschlüsselungs-Algorithmus “hinzugefügt” werden sollte, ist unter der Phrase Everybody knows ECB mode is bad because we can see the penguin.

Der ECB-Betriebsmodus, der einfachste der Betriebs-Modi, sorgt dafür, dass ein Klartext beliebiger länge mit einer Blockchiffre verschlüsselt werden kann, dabei wird der Klartext in die nötige Blockgrösse formatiert und jeder Block nacheinander mittels BC-Algorithmus verschlüsselt, wie zuvor gezeigt.

Die nachfolgende Abbildung zeigt das Pinguin-Problem nachgebaut mit dem scip Logo: Das scip Logo verschlüsselt mit AES-ECB 128bit und als Vergleich noch einmal mit AES-CBC.

Das AES Pinguin-Problem

Die Konklusion aus dem Pinguin-Problem ist, dass identische Klartext-Blöcke identische Geheimtext-Blöcke produzieren. Also wenn P1 und P3 identisch sind, dann sind auch C1 und C3 identisch. Damit lassen sich gewisse Informationen aus dem Geheimtext gewinnen. Eine Art von Zufälligkeit ist von Nöten, um dem beizukommen.

Betriebsmodus

Der Verschlüsselungsalgorithmus stellt eine sichere Transformation her. Bei AES mit Blockgrösse 128 Bit ohne Betriebsmodus also nur genau für einen 128 Bit Block.

Die Basis-Modi sollen einerseits sicherstellen, dass Klartext beliebiger länger verschlüsselt werden kann und einfach ausgedrückt, dass keine Muster im Geheimtext erkannt werde können. Auch wenn mehrmals derselbe Klartext mit demselben Schlüssel verschlüsselt wird, sollte jedes Mal eine “anderer” Geheimtext “entstehen”.

CBC (Cipher Block Chaining Mode)

Um zu verhindern, dass Pattern entstehen, werden Methoden der Randomisierung angewandt. Damit wird eine Verschlüsselungalgorithmus wie AES in Kombination mit einem Betriebsmodus (ausser ECB) kryptographisch stärker. ECB (The Electronic Codebook) sollte, wie das obige Beispiel zeigt, nicht mehr verwendet werden.

CBC (Cipher Block Chaining Mode), siehe nachfolgende Abbildung, funktioniert ähnlich wie ECB, verknüpft (chaining) aber jeden Block mit dem vorhergehenden. Für den ersten Block wird ein sogenannter randomisierter Initialisierungs-Vektor (IV) hergenommen, um so eine Art von Randomisierung hinzuzufügen. Dies sorgt dafür, dass identische Klartext-Blöcke nicht in identischen Geheimtext-Blöcke verschlüsselt werden. Auch wenn die Verschlüsselung zweimal für denselben Klartext und Schlüssel aufgerufen wird, wird durch den randomisierten IV und das Chaining der Geheimtext jedes Mal anders ausfallen.

Cipher Block Chaining Mode

CTS (Padding und Chiffretext Stealing)

Für den CBC-Modus ist ein weiteres Verfahren namens Padding notwendig. Ist der Klartext kein Vielfaches der Blockgrösse, also ist z.B. der Klartext 132 Bit lang, kann ein erster 128 Bit Block erzeugt werden, für die übrigen 4 Bit Klartext wird aber ebenfalls ein 128 Bit Block benötigt, so müssen die 4 Bit mit 124 Bit auf 128 Bit aufgefüllt werden. Ein Effekt des Paddings ist, dass der Geheimtext immer etwas länger ist als der Klartext.

Eine weitere Methode, um die nötige Blockgrösse herzustellen, ist das CTS. Es ist etwas komplizierter, jedoch stellt es sicher, dass Geheimtext und Klartext gleich lang sind. Dies indem es, vereinfacht gesagt, die nötige Menge an Bits für das Padding vom zweitletzten Chiffreblock wegnimmt (stiehlt) und damit den letzten Klartext-Block auffüllt, bevor dieser mit der Menge benötigter Bits verschlüsselt wird.

CTR (Counter Mode)

CTR (Counter Mode), siehe die nachfolgende Abbildung, macht aus einer Blockchiffre praktisch eine Stromchiffre. Ein Counter (jeder Block einer Message darf nicht denselben Counter-Wert haben) und Nonce (Number used only once, muss nicht zufällig aber einzigartig per Schlüssel K/Message sein) als IV werden mittels Blockchiffre zu einer Art Schlüsselstrom (KS) verschlüsselt. Der Schlüsselstrom wird anschliessend via XOR mit dem Klartext in den Geheimtext bitweise verschlüsselt (mehr dazu unter Stromchiffren). Damit entfällt das Bedürfnis von Paddingverfahren für Blockchiffren mit CTS-Modus.

Counter Mode

GCM (Galois/Counter Mode)

GCM (Galois/Counter Mode) basiert im Grunde auf CTR, integriert jedoch die Funktion Message Authentication (MAC). Dies soll sicherstellen, dass während der Entschlüsselung überprüft werden kann, ob die Daten im verschlüsselten Zustand, gewollt oder ungewollt, verändert wurden (Authentizität und Integrität der Daten), was in einer Authenticated Encryption (AE) resultiert.

Auch die Authentizität von nicht verschlüsselten Daten, wie Headerdaten (Associated Data) werden mit der MAC-Funktion von GCM authentisiert, was in Autenticated Encryption with Associated Data (AEAD) resultiert.

Die Verifizierung, ob sich Daten verändert haben, wird mit dem Wegman-Carter MAC Verfahren erreicht, das auf dem Hashingverfahren namens GHASH basiert. Das MAC-Verfahren erzeugt nach der Verschlüsselung (Encrypt-then-Authenticate) einen Authentication-Tag, welcher bei der Entschlüsselung ebenfalls berechnet werden kann. Stimmen diese überein, kann davon ausgegangen werden, dass die Daten nicht verändert wurden. GCM kann übrigens auch für die Authentisierung von nicht verschlüsselten Daten verwendet werden, dies wird dann GMAC (Galois Message Authentication Code) genannt.

Galois/Counter Mode

CCM (Counter Modus with CBC-MAC)

CCM (Counter Modus with CBC-MAC) basiert wie der Name schon sagt auf dem CTR Modus und verwendet CBC als MAC Verfahren. Dabei wird im Gegensatz zu GCM erst authentisiert und dann verschlüsselt (Authenticate-then-Encrypt).

XTS (XEX-based Tweaked-Codebook Mode)

XTS (XEX-based Tweaked-Codebook Mode with Ciphertext Stealing) ist ein Modus, welcher für die Verschlüsselung von Daten auf einer Disk ausgelegt ist. Die Disk-Verschlüsselung stellt erweiterte Anforderungen an ein sicheres Verschlüsselungs-Konzept. Besonders die Unterteilung in Sektoren auf den Disks haben dazu einen grossen Einfluss, da jeder Sektor sicher, einzeln und performant ver- und entschlüsselt werden soll. Dazu kommt der Begriff Tweaked ins Spiel, respektive Tweakable Encryption (TE).

TE wird bei der Disk-Verschlüsselung benutzt, um den Sektor in das Verschlüsselungsverfahren mit ein zu beziehen. Damit kann eine ganze Disk mit demselben Schlüssel, aber eine Sektorspezifischen Wert als eine Art zusätzlichem Schlüssel (dem Tweak) verschlüsselt werden. Stromchiffren (wie auch Blockchiffre mit Counter Mode) sind aus gewissen Gründen für die Disk-Verschlüsselung ungeeignet.

Der Basis Mode für XTS ist XEX (XOR-encrypt-XOR), was für die Verschlüsselung gleich drei Schlüssel verwendet, einer dieser Schlüssel kann daher der Tweak-Wert sein. Bei einer XEX-Implementation ohne Tweak wird dies mit Key Whitening erreicht, respektive werden vom dem Schlüssel K die Schlüssel K1 und K2 abgeleitet.

XEX-based Tweaked-Codebook Mode

Stromchiffren

Eine Stromchiffre, wie der Name andeutet, verschlüsselt einen Strom von Daten, also Bit für Bit eines Klartexts. Dies, indem jedes Bit aus dem Klartext P mittels eins Bits aus dem sogenannten Schlüsselstrom KS zu dem Geheimtext C verschlüsselt wird. Der Schlüsselstrom wird aus einem geheimen Schlüssel K sowie aus einem Nonce N mittel der Stromchiffre SC generiert, siehe die nachfolgende Abbildung. Konkret wird dem Schlüssel und dem Nonce mittels einem Stromchiffre-Algorithmus ein pseudo-randomisierter Strom von Bits generiert.

Stromchiffre

Historisch wurden Stromchiffren als performanter bei Hardware-Implementationen gehandelt, da sie mit weniger Ressourcen (Anzahl Logik-Gatter) auskahmen. Heute hat sich dies zu einem gewissen Masse gegenüber den Blockchiffren relativiert, da diese heute ebenfalls schlanke Hardware Implementationen aufweisen und auch nicht zuletzt, weil die verfügbaren Ressourcen in den Hardwarechips stetig zunehmen.

Stromchiffren sollten denselben KS nicht zweimal einsetzen (respektive dasselbe Nonce mit demselben Schlüssel). Weiter sollte verhindert werden, dass der KS selbst sich nicht nach einer gewissen Periode wiederholt.

Die Länge des KS (eine Art Blockgrösse des KS) ist also fest definiert, z.B. ChaCha20 ist dies 512 Bytes. Dass hiesst, wenn ein Klartext grösser als 512 Bytes verschlüsselt werden soll, muss eine neue Instanz des Verschlüsselung-Algorithmus aufgerufen werden können. Dabei soll ein erneuter Aufruf randomisiert werden, da derselbe Schlüssel dafür verwendet wird.

Stateful und Counter-Based

Stromchiffren können grob in zwei Typen unterschieden werden. Eine Stateful Stromchiffre (z.B. RC4) erzeugt einen geheimen internen Zustand mittels Schlüssel, Nonce und Algorithmus. Der Zustand dient als Ausgangslage für die Erzeugung des KS. Mittels einer Update-Funktion wird der Zustand über die Zeit verändert, um so die Erzeugung KS zu pseudo-randomisieren.

Update der Stromchiffre

Eine counter-basierte Stromchiffre (z.B. Slasa20/ChaCha) löst die Randomisierung relativ simpel mit einem Counter für jede KS Periode, ähnlich wie der Counter-Mode für Blockchiffren.

Update der Stromchiffre mit Counter

Wie sieht es mit AE bei Stromchiffren aus? Aktuell empfohlene Stromchiffren kommen nicht mit einer integrierten AE-Funktion daher, wie bei den Blockchiffre Betriebsmodi. Aber natürlich kann zusätzlich ein generelles MAC-Verfahren implementiert werden, z.B. ChaCha20, Poly1305 (Encrypt-then-Mac).

Fazit

Für das Basis-Verständnis zu symmetrischer Verschlüsselung kann folgendes zusammengefasst werden: Die symmetrischen Blockchiffre-Algorithmen bestehen aus einem Verschlüsselungsalgorithmus und einem geheimen Schlüssel, womit ein Klartext einer festen Blockgrösse in einen Geheimtext derselben Blockgrösse sicher transformieren kann. Durch den Einsatz eines Betriebsmodus können Klartexte beliebiger Grösse mittels mehrmaligen Aufrufens des Algorithmus verschlüsselt werden. Damit bei mehrmaligen Aufrufen keine Pattern entstehen, sollte der Betriebsmodus eine Art von Zufälligkeit (randomisierter IV, Noce IV, Chaining, …) erzeugen. Weiter können Betriebsmodi MAC-Verfahren (AE, AEAD) für die Verifikation der Integrität der Daten beinhalten und so weitere Security-Features einbauen.

Die symmetrischen Stromchiffren bestehen aus einem Verschlüsselung-Algorithmus, einem Nonce IV und geheimen Schlüssel, womit ein Schlüsselstrom erzeugt wird. Der Schlüsselstrom wird mittels XOR und Klartext zu einem Geheimtext verknüpft. Der Schlüsselstrom kann nur eine bestimme Länge haben. Daher wird auch bei Stromchiffren mehrmals der Vorgang aufgerufen, um Klartexte, welche länger als ein Schlüsselstrom sind, zu verschlüsseln. Der dafür notwendige Betriebsmodus ist bereits Teil der Stromchiffre. Aktuell empfohlene (BSI, ECRYPT) Stromchiffren bieten keine integrierte AE an, jedoch können Stromchiffren mit generellen MAC-Verfahren kombiniert werden.

Wer einen Schritt weiter gehen möchte, dem sei das Buch Serious Cryptography von Jean-Philippe Aumasson (ISBN 978-1-59327-826-7) empfohlen.

Legende Illustrationen

Symbol Beschreibung
K geheimer Schlüssel
K1-K2 Von K abgeleitet Schlüsselteile
P Plaintext, Klartext
P1-P3 Plaintext-Blöcke
C Chiffretext, Geheimtext
C1-C3 Chiffretext-Blöcke
BC Blockchiffre
SC Stromchiffre
IV Initialisierungs Vektor
N Nonce, Numnber only used once
Ctr Counter
T Tag, Authentication Tag
KS Schlüsselstrom
XOR-Gatter

Über den Autor

Dominik Altermatt

Dominik Altermatt arbeitet seit 2003 in der IT-Branche. Unter anderem hat er sich mehrere Jahre mit Data Leakage Prevention bei einer Grossbank beschäftigt. Heute liegen seine Schwerpunkte neben klassischen Penetration Tests bei der Einführung und der Weiterentwicklung von IT-Security-Management-Prozessen. (ORCID 0000-0003-4575-4597)

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Traffic-Analyse mit Windows-Boardmitteln

Traffic-Analyse mit Windows-Boardmitteln

Dominik Altermatt

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security

Dominik Altermatt

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv