iPhone Siri Self-Reference Exploiting - An Esoteric Vulnerability with no CVE

iPhone Siri Self-Reference Exploiting

An Esoteric Vulnerability with no CVE

Marc Ruef
by Marc Ruef
on October 10, 2019
time to read: 9 minutes

Keypoints

The strange way Siri can be used to attack your iPhone

  • We accidentally discovered a vulnerability in Apple iPhones
  • For certain videos, Siri responds even though she is not actually summoned
  • At first, we suspected a special effect in the resonating body
  • But it could also have been related to audio processing in quiet environments
  • Apple sees no risk and has not accepted it as a vulnerability
  • However, it looks like the problem has been quietly fixed in iOS 13

Over the course of almost 25 years now, I have found numerous vulnerabilities in products both familiar and less so. In this respect, I follow the guidelines of our company, which aim for cooperation with manufacturers and coordinated disclosure together with them. This article looks at a curious vulnerability in iPhones, for which Apple was disinclined to cooperate.

It happened when playing a YouTube video on an iPhone XS with iOS 12.3.1; suddenly, Siri piped up. It was as if she had heard the command Hey, Siri and responded. But there was no such command in the video. At first, we thought it might be a coincidence.

A few weeks later, the same happened again with another video. This time, the device was being held, and the effect was also observed in a device lying on a surface. And there was no command for Siri in the second video, either. It looked like we had a self-reference attack on our hands.

Analysis of the vulnerability

The first time the effect manifested, the phone was being held horizontally in the crook of the neck. The video that triggered it was 10 Game Company Decisions That BACKFIRED BADLY at the 7:30 mark. When we went to reproduce the vulnerability, this would prove to be a key part of the puzzle. Only when the device was correctly positioned was the command for Siri successfully executed.

So we initially suspected that the position and/or the distance could be significant. We figured that the echo of the sound within and outside the housing was responsible for the command.

When the problem recurred a few weeks later, it was under slightly different circumstances. This time, the trigger video was Terminator T-900 Explained at the 3:38 mark. And the effect did not occur in the same lying position. Instead, it could (also) be observed when the device was held in someone’s hands horizontally. It would become apparent that it could also be placed on the table.

The interesting thing here was that it only occurred when the volume level was at 1 or 2. As soon as the device was turned up, there was no command to Siri. One reason for this could be that voice recognition works differently with lower-volume sources. This may strengthen frequencies or independently fill in gaps, which may give rise to the Siri command.

Possibility of attack

Self-referencing entries are nothing new, as we have shown with gesture recognition in Samsung smart TVs. There it is possible to make the device start filming through a reflection of an entry that impacts itself.

In this respect, Siri was interesting insofar as a corresponding audio construct might be able to control the virtual assistant under certain circumstances. This would open up numerous things that could be executed through Siri. These range from displaying information about the storage of content, through to changing settings.

Contacting Apple

In accordance with the responsible disclosure process, we made prior email contact with Apple on July 10, 2019 and told them about our discovery. We included both test cases (incl. links to the videos).

During some experimental testing, we were able to let YouTube videos call Siri on the same device. This should usually not be possible. (…) It looks like some resonance disturbance (within the case) is responsible for this effect. An attacker might be able to create a video which controls a device.

The next day, the Apple Security Team replied. They indicated that the facts were correct, but they did not consider it a risk:

After examining your report, we do not see any actual security implications. “Hey Siri” is meant to make your voice more recognizable for Siri, not limit access to Siri for only your voice.

Here it became apparent that they had not understood the attack vector and the associated possibilities.

If the manufacturer does not want to acknowledge or fix a vulnerability, we will aim to disclose it. The public pressure that results can usually force a correction. And so, in this case, we assigned a CVE through MITRE. But MITRE then pointed out that Apple itself was a CNA (CVE Numbering Authority), and only it was authorized to generate CVEs for Apple products and that consequently MITRE was not able to assign a CVE.

This indirectly indicated that allowing manufacturers themselves to function as CNAs meant relinquishing a key element of vulnerability disclosure. This left us with no choice but to make our own disclosure without a CVE.

And then iOS 13 appeared. And on the same device, the effects of the two videos can no longer be reproduced. In the security advisories published since the discovery, there are no indications of the effect, nor of any measures that might have been introduced. We must therefore assume that Apple unknowingly or even secretly solved the problem. So we recommend updating to iOS 13. Unfortunately, this is already the second cooperation relating to disclosure of an Apple vulnerability where there were unnecessary complications.

Conclusion

The vulnerability we found is curious and exotic. And the story of its discovery shows once again that some vulnerabilities can be found by accident. We are still unable to conclusively account for the effect. Whether it was due to acoustic reflections or the resonance in the housing, we don’t know.

In any case, Apple’s lack of cooperation proved disappointing. And the fact that the problem suddenly no longer exists in newer versions of iOS, but with no commentary to be found anywhere, leaves a bad taste in the mouth. This is precisely the type of behavior that the No More Free Bugs movement was highlighting ten years ago, and which even now can lead some people to decide they’re better off forgoing the thankless conflict of responsible disclosure.

About the Author

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef has been working in information security since the late 1990s. He is well-known for his many publications and books. The last one called The Art of Penetration Testing is discussing security testing in detail. He is a lecturer at several universities, like ETH, HWZ, HSLU and IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

You want to evaluate or develop an AI?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Data Markets

Data Markets

Marc Ruef

Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

MITRE ATT&CK

MITRE ATT&CK

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

iPhone Siri Self-Reference Exploiting - Eine esoterische Schwachstelle ohne CVE

iPhone Siri Self-Reference Exploiting

Eine esoterische Schwachstelle ohne CVE

Marc Ruef
von Marc Ruef
am 10. Oktober 2019
Lesezeit: 9 Minuten

Keypoints

So kurios lässt sich Ihr iPhone über Siri angreifen

  • Per Zufall haben wir eine Schwachstelle in Apple iPhones entdeckt
  • Bei gewissen Videos wird Siri initiiert, obwohl nie ein richtiger Aufruf stattgefunden hat
  • Ursprünglich wurde ein spezieller Effekt im Resonanzkörper vermutet
  • Vielleicht hat dies aber auch mit der Audioverarbeitung von in leisen Umgebungen zu tun
  • Apple sah kein Risiko und hat die Schwachstelle als solche deshalb nicht akzeptiert
  • Es macht dennoch den Anschein, als sei das Problem in iOS 13 kommentarlos behoben worden

In bald 25 Jahren habe ich eine Vielzahl an Schwachstellen in bekannten und weniger bekannten Produkten gefunden. Dabei folge ich dem Leitfaden unseres Unternehmens, dass eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Hersteller und dadurch eine koordinierte Veröffentlichung angestrebt wird. Dieser Beitrag diskutiert eine kuriose Schwachstelle in iPhones, bei der Apple nicht zu einer Zusammenarbeit gewillt war.

Als Youtube auf einem iPhone XS mit iOS 12.3.1 genutzt wurde, wurde plötzlich Siri aufgerufen. Es schien, als hätte Siri den Aufruf Hey, Siri gehört und darauf reagiert. Im gesehenen Video war aber kein entsprechender Aufruf enthalten. Zuerst gingen wir davon aus, dass es sich um einen Zufall handeln sollte.

Mehrere Wochen später trat dieser Effekt erneut bei einem anderen Video auf. Dieses Mal wurde das Gerät jedoch in der Hand gehalten und der Effekt konnte ebenfalls bei einem liegenden Gerät beobachtet werden. Auch beim zweiten Video war kein Aufruf von Siri enthalten. Es schein, als wäre hier ein self-reference Angriff möglich.

Analyse der Schwachstelle

Das erste Mal ist der Effekt aufgetreten, als das Handy im Liegen an den Hals gehalten wurde. Das Auslöser-Video war 10 Game Company Decisions That BACKFIRED BADLY bei Position 7:30. Als es um die Reproduktion der Schwachstelle ging, sollte sich dies dann auch als zentrales Element erweisen. Nur wenn das Gerät richtig positioniert war, wurde der Aufruf von Siri erfolgreich umgesetzt.

Die erste Vermutung war, dass die Position bzw. der Abstand wichtig sein sollte. Es wurde davon ausgegangen, dass die Reflektion des Schalls ausserhalb und innerhalb des Gehäuses für den Aufruf verantwortlich war.

Als das Problem einige Wochen später wieder auftrat, waren die Gegebenheiten ein bisschen anders. Dieses Mal war das Auslöser-Video Terminator T-900 Explained bei Position 3:38. Und der Effekt trat nicht in der gleichen liegenden Position auf. Stattdessen war dieser (auch) zu beobachten, wenn das Gerät im Querformat in den Händen gehalten wurde. Es sollte sich herausstellen, dass es auch auf den Tisch gelegt werden konnte.

Interessanterweise trat der Effekt nur dann auf, wenn die Laufstärke auf Position 1 oder 2 war. Sobald das Gerät lauter geschaltet wurde, blieb der Siri-Aufruf aus. Ein Grund für diese Eigenschaft könnte sein, dass die Stimmerkennung bei leisen Quellen anders funktioniert. Dass eventuell Frequenzen verstärkt oder Lücken selbstständig gefüllt werden, wodurch der vermeintliche Siri-Aufruf zustande kommt.

Möglichkeiten eines Angriffs

Selbstreferenzierende Eingaben sind nichts neues, wie wir schon am Beispiel der Gestenerkennung von Samsung Smart-TVs aufgezeigt haben. Dort wurde es möglich, dass eine Filmaufnahme dank einer Reflektion eine Eingabe auf sich selbst auswirkt.

Im Zusammenhang mit Siri wird dies dahingehend spannend, weil ein entsprechendes Audio-Konstrukt unter Umständen Siri steuern kann. Dadurch können sämtliche Möglichkeiten erschlossen werden, die mit Siri aufgetan werden. Dies reicht von der Anzeige von Informationen über das Speichern von Inhalten bis hin zu Anpassungen von Einstellungen.

Kontaktaufnahme zu Apple

Um dem Responsible Disclosure Prozess zu folgen, haben wir Apple vorgängig am 10. Juli 2019 per Email über unsere Entdeckung informiert. Wir haben die beiden Testcases (inkl. Links zu den Videos) mitgeschickt.

During some experimental testing we were able to let YouTube videos call Siri on the same device. This should usually not be possible. (…) It looks like some resonance disturbance (within the case) is responsible for this effect. An attacker might be able to create a video with controls a device.

Tags darauf hat das Apple Security Team geantwortet. Dieses weist darauf hin, dass der Sachverhalt zwar existiert, aber nicht als Risiko gewertet wird:

After examining your report we do not see any actual security implications. “Hey Siri” is meant to make your voice more recognizable for Siri, not limit access to Siri for only your voice.

Hier zeichnet sich ab, dass der Angriffsvektor und die damit einhergehenden Möglichkeiten nicht verstanden wurden.

Falls der Hersteller eine Schwachstelle nicht anerkennen oder beheben will, streben wir eine Veröffentlichung an. Durch den öffentlichen Druck können wir in der Regel eine Behebung erzwingen. In diesem Fall waren wir entsprechend um die Zuweisung einer CVE durch MITRE bemüht. MITRE wies uns aber darauf hin, dass Apple selber eine CNA (CVE Numbering Authority) sei, nur sie zur Generierung von CVEs für Apple-Produkte berechtigt sind und uns deshalb MITRE keine CVE zuweisen kann.

Indirekt zeigt dies auf, dass durch die Möglichkeit der Hersteller, selber als CNA zu fungieren, ein wichtiges Element bei der Veröffentlichung von Schwachstellen aus der Hand gegeben wurde. Uns blieb somit nur die Möglichkeit, eine eigenständige Veröffentlichung ohne CVE anzustreben.

Mittlerweile ist iOS 13 erschienen. Und auf dem selben Gerät können die Effekte der beiden Videos nicht mehr nachvollzogen werden. In den seit der Entdeckung veröffentlichten Security Advisories finden sich keine Hinweise auf den Effekt und etwaig etablierte Massnahmen. Wir müssen deshalb davon ausgehen, dass Apple das Problem unwissentlich oder gar heimlich gelöst hat. Wir empfehlen entsprechend ein Update auf iOS 13. Dies ist leider schon die zweite Zusammenarbeit in Bezug auf die Veröffentlichung einer Schwachstelle mit Apple, bei der es zu unnötigen Reibungspunkten gekommen ist.

Fazit

Die gefundene Schwachstelle ist kurios und exotisch. Und die Geschichte, wie diese gefunden wurde zeigt einmal mehr, dass manche Schwachstellen durch Zufall gefunden werden können. Der Grund für den Effekt konnten wir bis heute nicht zweifelsfrei ausmachen. Ob es nun auf akkustische Reflektionen oder die Resonanz im Gehäuse zurückzuführen ist, ist uns nicht bekannt.

Die fehlende Kooperationsbereitschaft von Apple hat jedenfalls enttäuscht. Und dass das Problem bei neueren Versionen von iOS plötzlich nicht mehr existiert, aber nirgends ein Vermerk dazu zu finden ist, hinterlässt einen fahlen Beigeschmack. Dies ist genau das Verhalten, das die No More Free Bugs Bewegung vor 10 Jahren befeuert hat und auch heute noch dazu führen kann, dass der eine oder andere lieber auf die undankbaren Reibungen von Responsible Disclosure verzichtet.

Über den Autor

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Cybersecurity-Bereich aktiv. Er hat vor allem im deutschsprachigen Raum aufgrund der Vielzahl durch ihn veröffentlichten Fachpublikationen und Bücher – dazu gehört besonders Die Kunst des Penetration Testing – Bekanntheit erlangt. Er ist Dozent an verschiedenen Hochschulen, darunter ETH, HWZ, HSLU und IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

Sie wollen eine KI evaluieren oder entwickeln?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

3D Printing

3D Printing

Marc Ruef

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv