The Difficulties of Cyber Insurance - Personal Thoughts on a Product in a Rapidly Growing Market

The Difficulties of Cyber Insurance

Personal Thoughts on a Product in a Rapidly Growing Market

Valérie Kastner
by Valérie Kastner
on January 02, 2020
time to read: 6 minutes

Keypoints

What cyber insurance is all about

  • In the growth market of cyber insurance, the risks are as significant as the opportunities
  • A lack of claims history makes underwriting very challenging
  • We need to ask how reinsurers deal with accumulation risks and where there are opportunities for diversification
  • The Zurich vs. Mondelez court ruling could have a significant impact on this insurance class

The last few years have seen demand increase for a new growth market in the insurance sector: cyber insurance. Many insurers have jumped on the bandwagon in the meantime, with each of them taking a different approach. Some insurers are building up a completely separate Cyber Division, while others are integrating the product into their Property & Casualty Teams. Some are only insuring small businesses, while others are making the bold move of taking on titans. What is the right approach? What are the biggest challenges? Due to my personal experience in insurance underwriting, I have some questions myself. I will explain some of my own thoughts in more detail in the following article.

While I myself have never worked in the underwriting of cyber products or property/liability insurance, I can, however, see some difficulties that insurers could face in this respect. Underwriting often relies primarily on analyzing historical data. Based on the claims history, attempts are made to forecast potential future development. Whether this is done with simple calculations or using sophisticated simulations, such computations are carried out depending on the business area; sometimes, though, underwriters rely heavily on statistics.

Every underwriter knows that an experience rating isn’t “everything”. There is also what is known as a corresponding “exposure rating”. But what’s the best way forward when there’s no historical data available? No claims records are known? How is a relevant rate calculated in an insurance company?

What’s more, there’s the problem of asymmetric information. A company itself knows what measures have been taken with regard to IT security – for example, whether there’s a monitoring system or a separate SOC (security operations center) and whether backups are regularly created. The insurer does not. Questionnaires completed when an application is made can be used to try to reduce this risk. Nevertheless, it is difficult to prove later on in a claim that statements were not truthful, for instance. In large companies, it is also often difficult for the company itself to draw up an inventory of the infrastructure with the corresponding monetary values.

Let’s take a look at reinsurers. A primary insurer can reduce its risk by purchasing corresponding reinsurance products. Diversification is often one of the most important reinsurance concepts with regard to accumulation risks. Global activities should bring the portfolio into a certain balance. How likely is it that an earthquake in Japan will cause a great deal of damage and that a similar quake will occur in Switzerland at the same time? Not likely at all. But it is precisely this concept that might not work for cyber insurance. An immense attack is often global. This means that countries are affected simultaneously during a similar time window. So how can a reinsurer safeguard against this risk? Or how do they handle it? Cross-financing would be one option until a certain product is established and becomes profitable. For a product to be profitable, it must be calculated accordingly. The question of whether a “correct” rate can be calculated also arises here. Is the risk really tangible? After all, an excellent knowledge of IT is necessary first of all, but the mathematical skills to perform corresponding calculations and an understanding of insurance products are also required. Experts that tick all these boxes would be thin on the ground.

The possible consequences

Of course, the complexity of the insurance benefits also plays a decisive role. What exactly is insured? Only the replacement of equipment? Data recovery? Or also the profits lost due to business paralysis? What is the insurance limit?

Then there’s a difference between all-risk and named perils insurance policies. In the former case, everything is covered except exclusions outlined in the General Conditions of Insurance (GCI), while only the explicitly mentioned events are insured in the latter. The GCI are often overlooked, but they can be decisive for a match in a claim. What precautions does the policyholder have to take (e.g. due diligence obligations) and what are the exclusions?

It doesn’t hurt to have a certain amount of legal knowledge concerning the burden of proof either. The burden of proof often lies with anyone who derives an advantage from the claim. Especially in such a case, it can be decisive whether the insurance covers all risks or only named perils. The insurer is the party that derives an advantage from all-risk insurance and so should prove that a corresponding event is currently not insured (advantage = no claims payments). In the case of a named perils insurance policy, the policyholder is responsible for proving that the event that has just occurred is insured (advantage = claims payment).

Does cyber insurance have a future?

The NotPetya case in 2017 shows how difficult it is to calculate cyber insurance and how high a corresponding claim can be. A pending court ruling in the Zurich vs. Mondelez precedential case could have a significant impact on the future of cyber insurance. According to reports, Mondelez is seeking over $100 million in damages from Zurich. According to sources, the fact that Mondelez hasn’t purchased pure cyber insurance but property insurance with cyber protection included as additional coverage has to be put into perspective. Insurance company Zurich is claiming that a hostile or warlike action that is not covered under the GCI has taken place.

Generally speaking, we have to ask whether such economic giants are an insurance company’s target audience. On the one hand, they often have an appropriate budget available and could generate high premium income, but on the other, insurance companies must expect enormous losses, especially if and when a claim is made.

While smaller companies might be more “manageable” in this situation, they often don’t have quite as advanced an awareness of security and the risk is less tangible. Alternatively, they may also have the idea of it not being “worth it” for an attacker to attack such a “small” company.

Conclusion

In my opinion, cyber insurance will remain an issue in the years to come. But the way in which correspondingly larger claims develop will probably influence the range of policies on offer. The product itself may also change (having a greater focus on profitable target groups) or insurance benefits may be limited.

About the Author

Valérie Kastner

Valérie Kastner studies Business Economics with focus on Risk & Insurance at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences. After several years in underwriting and technical center for insurances, she has been working in IT security since 2018 with a focus on Web Application Security Testing and Social Engineering. (ORCID 0000-0002-9214-572X)

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Trustworthy AI

Trustworthy AI

Prisca Quadroni-Renella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Schwierigkeiten von Cyber-Versicherungen - Persönliche Gedanken zu einem Produkt in einem stark wachsenden Markt

Schwierigkeiten von Cyber-Versicherungen

Persönliche Gedanken zu einem Produkt in einem stark wachsenden Markt

Valérie Kastner
von Valérie Kastner
am 02. Januar 2020
Lesezeit: 6 Minuten

Keypoints

Das bedeuten Cyber-Versicherungen

  • Der Wachstumsmarkt Cyber-Versicherungen bietet hohe Chancen als auch hohe Risiken
  • Aufgrund von mangelnder Schadenshistorie ist das Underwriting sehr gefordert
  • Es stellt sich die Frage, wie Rückversicherer mit Kumulrisken umgehen und wo Diversifizierungs-Chancen bestehen
  • Das Gerichtsurteil von Zurich vs. Mondelez könnte diesen Versicherungszweig wesentlich beeinflussen

In den letzten paar Jahren wurden Stimmen lauter zu einem neuen Wachstumsmarkt im Versicherungsbereich: Die Cyber-Versicherung. Viele Versicherer springen unterdessen auf den Zug auf, wobei gefühlt jeder einen anderen Ansatz wählt. Einige Versicherer bauen einen komplett eigenen Cyber-Bereich auf, andere integrieren das Produkt in ihre Property&Casualty-Teams. Einige versichern nur Kleinbetriebe, andere wagen sich an Giganten. Was ist der richtige Ansatz? Was sind die grössten Herausforderungen? Durch meine persönliche Erfahrung in Versicherungen im Bereich Underwriting stellen sich mir selbst einige Fragen. Im folgenden Artikel werde ich einige meiner eigenen Gedanken genauer erläutern.

Selbst habe ich bisher noch nie im Underwriting von Cyber-Produkten oder Sach-/Haftpflichtversicherungen gearbeitet. Dennoch sehe ich hier einige Schwierigkeiten, die sich Versicherern stellen könnten. Oftmals verlässt man sich im Underwriting vorwiegend auf historische Daten, welche man analysiert. Anhand der Schadenshistorie wird versucht, ein möglicher zukünftiger Verlauf zu prognostizieren. Sei dies mit einfachen Berechnungen oder anhand von anspruchsvollen Simulationen. Solche werden je nach Geschäftsbereich durchgeführt, teilweise verlässt man sich aber auch in hohem Masse auf Statistiken.

Jeder Underwriter weiss, dass experience-rating nicht “alles” ist. Es gibt auch noch ein entsprechendes exposure-rating. Doch wie soll man vorgehen, wenn noch gar keine historischen Daten vorhanden sind? Kein Schadensverlauf bekannt ist? Wie wird ein entsprechender Tarif in einer Versicherung kalkuliert?

Zusätzlich stellt sich das Problem der asymmetrischen Information. Eine Firma selbst weiss, welche Massnahmen Sie bezüglich IT-Sicherheit getroffen haben, ob sie beispielsweise über eine Überwachung bzw. ein eigenes SOC (Security Operations Center) verfügen und regelmässig Backups erstellen. Der Versicherer nicht. Anhand von Fragebögen bei einem Antrag kann versucht werden, dieses Risiko zu vermindern. Dennoch ist es schwierig später in einem Schadenfall zu beweisen, dass Aussagen beispielsweise nicht wahrheitsgetreu waren. In Grossbetrieben ist es ausserdem für die Firma selbst oftmals auch schwierig, ein Inventar der Infrastruktur aufzustellen, mit entsprechenden Geldwerten.

Werfen wir einen Blick auf Rückversicherer. Ein Erstversicherer kann sein Risiko mindern, in dem er entsprechende Rückversicherungsprodukte erwirbt. Oftmals ist eines der wichtigsten Konzepte von Rückversicherungen in Bezug auf Kumulrisiken dasjenige der Diversifikation. Globale Tätigkeiten sollen das Portfolio in ein gewisses Gleichgewicht bringen. Wie wahrscheinlich ist es, dass in Japan ein Erdbeben zahlreiche Schäden verursacht, und gleichzeitig in der Schweiz auch ein derartiges Beben stattfindet? Minimal. Gerade dieses Konzept könnte aber bei Cyber-Versicherungen nicht greifen. Ein immenser Angriff ist häufig global. Lände sind deshalb gleichzeitig betroffen während eines ähnlichen Zeitfensters. Wie kann ein Rückversicherer dieses Risiko also abfedern? Oder wie gehen sie damit um? Querfinanzierungen wäre eine Möglichkeit, bis ein gewisses Produkt etabliert ist und rentabel verläuft. Damit ein Produkt rentiert, muss es entsprechend kalkuliert werden. Die Frage stellt sich auch hier, ob ein “korrekter” Tarif errechnet werden kann. Ist das Risiko wirklich greifbar? Denn einerseits ist ein hohes Wissen in der Informatik notwendig, jedoch auch die mathematischen Fähigkeiten für eine entsprechende Kalkulation, wie andererseits auch das Verständnis in Bezug auf Versicherungsprodukte. Entsprechende Experten dürften schwer zu finden sein.

Die möglichen Konsequenzen

Natürlich ist die Komplexität der Versicherungsleistungen ebenfalls entscheidend. Was ist genau versichert? Nur der Ersatz von Geräten? Die Wiederherstellung von Daten? Oder ebenfalls die entgangenen Gewinne aufgrund einer Lahmlegung eines Betriebs? Wie hoch ist das Versicherungslimit?

Dann gibt es noch einen Unterschied zwischen einer All-Risk-Versicherung vs. named perils. Bei der einen ist alles eingeschlossen abgesehen von Ausschlüssen in den AVB, bei der anderen sind nur die explizit erwähnten Ereignisse versichert. Gerne übersehen sind die AVB (Allgemeine Versicherungsbestimmungen). Diese können in einem Schadenfall jedoch match-entscheidend sein. Welche Vorkehrungen hat der Versicherungsnehmer zu treffen (z.B. Sorgfaltspflichten) und welche Ausschlüsse sind darin manifestiert?

Ein gewisses rechtliches Know-How bezüglich Beweislast schadet ebenfalls nicht. Oftmals gilt: Wer einen Vorteil aus der Forderung ableitet, steht in der Beweispflicht. Insbesondere in solch einem Fall kann es entscheiden sein, ob die Versicherung nun all risk oder nur named perils beinhaltet. Bei all risk, leitet der Versicherer einen Vorteil daraus ab. Er sollte beweisen, dass ein entsprechendes Ereignis gerade nicht versichert ist (Vorteil = keine Schadenszahlungen). Bei named perils liegt es am Versicherungsnehmer zu beweisen, dass gerade das eingetroffene Ereignis versichert ist (Vorteil = Schadenszahlung).

Haben Cyber-Versicherungen eine Zukunft?

Wie schwierig es ist eine Cyber-Versicherung zu kalkulieren und wie hoch ein entsprechender Schaden sein kann, zeigt der Fall Notpetya im Jahr 2017. Ein entsprechend ausstehendes Gerichtsurteil beim Präzedenzfall Zürich vs. Mondelez könnte einen wesentlichen Einfluss auf die Zukunft von Cyber-Versicherungen haben. Gemäss Berichten wird dabei um über 100 Mio. $ gekämpft. Zu relativieren ist, dass gemäss Quellen es sich nicht um eine reine Cyber-Versicherung handelt, welche Mondelez erworben hat, sondern um eine Sachversicherung mit inkludiertem Cyber-Schutz als Zusatzdeckung. Die Zürich Versicherung plädiert dabei auf eine feindliche und kriegerische Handlung, welche gemäss AVB nicht gedeckt ist.

Allgemein ist sich die Frage zu stellen: Sind solche Wirtschaftsgiganten das Zielpublikum einer Versicherung? Einerseits haben sie oftmals ein entsprechendes Budget zur Verfügung und könnten hohe Prämieneinnahmen generieren, andererseits ist gerade in einem Schadenfall mit enormen Verlusten zu rechnen.

Kleinere Unternehmen wären hier eventuell “überschaubarer”, jedoch ist dort die Security-Awareness oftmals noch nicht ganz so weit und das Risiko weniger greifbar. Oder man spielt mit dem Gedanken, dass es sich für einen Angreifer nicht “lohnt”, eine solch “kleine” Firma anzugreifen.

Fazit

Cyber-Versicherungen werden meiner Meinung nach in den kommenden Jahren weiterhin ein Thema bleiben. Der Verlauf von entsprechend grösseren Schadenfällen werden jedoch wohl das Angebot entsprechend beeinflussen. Möglicherweise wird sich auch das Produkt selbst verändern (mehr ausgerichtet auf rentable Zielgruppen) oder nur beschränkte Versicherungsleistungen.

Über die Autorin

Valérie Kastner

Valérie Kastner studiert Betriebsökonomie mit Schwerpunkt Risk & Insurance an der Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften. Nach mehreren Jahren im Underwriting und Technical Center von Versicherungen, arbeitet sie seit 2018 im Bereich IT-Security mit Fokus auf Web Application Security Testing und Social Engineering. (ORCID 0000-0002-9214-572X)

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Social Engineering

Social Engineering

Valérie Kastner

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv