Policy Analyzer - Analyzing and Comparing Group Policy Objects

Policy Analyzer

Analyzing and Comparing Group Policy Objects

Andrea Hauser
by Andrea Hauser
on March 05, 2020
time to read: 8 minutes

Keypoints

How to analyze group policies in Windows

  • Policy Analyzer is a tool in the Microsoft Security Compliance Toolkit
  • It allows users to analyze and compare Group Policy Objects
  • Comparisons can be executed across several GPOs or for an individual system
  • A Policy Rules file was created for the Windows 10 hardening checklist

I recently had to read and evaluate about 300 group policy and registry settings in a project. As I didn’t want to have to check every single setting, I looked for a tool that could help me with that and came across Policy Analyzer by Microsoft.

Policy Analyzer is one of the tools that Microsoft offers in its Security Compliance Toolkit. In this article, I would like to talk about where Policy Analyzer can be used and how you can create your own Policy Rules file. You can use Policy Rules files to create your own security baselines and easily check whether a system complies with the specified security baselines.

Introducing the Policy Analyzer tool

Policy Analyzer is a tool that allows users to analyze and compare GPOs, which can be imported from different sources. It enables you to compare the GPOs applicable in the company with Microsoft’s security baselines, or to compare older backups of a GPO with the current one to show the differences. You can also compare different GPOs defined in the company with one another to detect discrepancies and duplicates.

On the other hand, a defined GPO baseline can be reconciled with local policies and registries effectively implemented in a system. The “Comparing a baseline with a client’s local settings” use case is analyzed next. As an example, a client is to be compared with the Windows 10 1909 baseline.

Once Policy Analyzer has been downloaded, it can be executed without requiring installation. To compare a GPO baseline with a local system, the GPOs have to be imported first of all. This is done by clicking Add. You can then choose the Add files from GPO(s) option.

Policy Analyzer Importer, Add files from GPO

The security baseline used in this example is a Windows 10 version 1909 and Windows Server version 1909 security baseline. It can be downloaded from the same address as Policy Analyzer. Since this baseline contains both server and client settings, the server-specific settings must be removed in the Importer by selecting all undesired settings and then tapping the Delete button.

Policy Analyzer Importer; prior to removal of unnecessary Group Policy Objects

Once the unnecessary GPOs have been removed, the rest can be imported with Import…. This step creates a Policy Rules file that all the relevant GPO settings are stored in.

Subsequently, or for later use, the GPOs no longer have to be added manually, as the newly created Policy Rules file can be used instead. You should therefore choose a meaningful name for the Policy Rules file because it is also displayed on Policy Analyzer’s main screen.

The setup of the Policy Rules file and how to create your own rules are discussed in detail later. To effectively compare the prepared GPOs with a client’s local settings, the baseline defined in this way and the Compare local registry and Local policy checkboxes above it can be selected. Click View / Compare to show the results in Policy Viewer. A new Policy Rules file that contains all settings for the local policy is created at the same time. However, the Policy Rules file generated during this process must be handled with care, because settings that can only be found in the registry are not stored in this file. It is not clear why this is the case, as it would be easy to do so.

Windows security baseline GPOs compared with the local system

In Policy Viewer, one policy is displayed per row, whereby the value of the local policy is displayed followed by the value from the local registry and finally the value from the defined baseline, which is called windows_10_hardening in the example. If the values are identical, they are displayed in white. As soon as there are any differences, they are highlighted in yellow. Values that are not available are indicated by the color gray. This makes it easy to analyze the differences from a specified security baseline. If a specific setting is chosen, a more detailed explanation of the potential settings in question is displayed in the bottom part of the window (if available).

Result of comparing the local system with the security baseline

To make searching through and filtering everything easier and to save the entire hit list, the settings read can be exported in Excel format.

Result of comparing the local system with the security baseline

Policy Rules

As already mentioned, Policy Analyzer works with Policy Rules files, which contain XML structured as follows.

<PolicyRules>

   <ComputerConfig>
      <Key></Key>
      <Value></Value>
      <RegType></RegType>
      <RegData></RegData>
      <SourceFile></SourceFile>
      <PolicyName></PolicyName>
   </ComputerConfig>

   <UserConfig>
      <Key></Key>
      <Value></Value>
      <RegType></RegType>
      <RegData></RegData>
      <SourceFile></SourceFile>
      <PolicyName></PolicyName>
   </UserConfig>

   <SecurityTemplate Section="">
      <LineItem></LineItem>
      <SourceFile></SourceFile>
      <PolicyName></PolicyName>
   </SecurityTemplate>

   <AuditSubcategory>
      <GUID></GUID>
      <Name></Name>
      <Setting></Setting>
      <SourceFile></SourceFile>
      <PolicyName></PolicyName>
   </AuditSubcategory>

</PolicyRules>

Here, settings that use a registry key are mapped under ComputerConfig and UserConfig. SecurityTemplate and AuditSubcategory can be used to map settings that are not stored in the registry. Once you know these XML elements, you can already create your own policy rules.

I did just that and created a Policy Rules file for the Windows 10 hardening checklist. So all it takes is one click to compare all the settings on the Windows 10 hardening checklist that are covered by the group policy or the registry settings.

Conclusion

Policy Analyzer is a good tool for comparing existing GPOs and comparing local settings with a defined baseline. Manually creating Policy Rules files is very time-consuming. An existing GPO should be used as a basis and extended to keep the effort to a minimum.

About the Author

Andrea Hauser

Andrea Hauser graduated with a Bachelor of Science FHO in information technology at the University of Applied Sciences Rapperswil. She is focusing her offensive work on web application security testing and the realization of social engineering campaigns. Her research focus is creating and analyzing deepfakes. (ORCID 0000-0002-5161-8658)

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

Transport Layer Security

Transport Layer Security

Andrea Hauser

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Andrea Hauser

IT Security Tips

IT Security Tips

Andrea Hauser

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Policy Analyzer - Analysieren und Vergleichen von Group Policy Objekten

Policy Analyzer

Analysieren und Vergleichen von Group Policy Objekten

Andrea Hauser
von Andrea Hauser
am 05. März 2020
Lesezeit: 8 Minuten

Keypoints

So analysieren Sie Group Policies in Windows

  • Der Policy Analyzer ist ein Tool aus dem Microsoft Security Compliance Toolkit
  • Damit ist es möglich Group Policy Objekte zu analysieren und vergleichen
  • Vergleiche sind über mehrere unterschiedliche GPOs oder für ein einzelnes System möglich
  • Es wurde eine PolicyRules-Datei für die Windows 10 Hardening Checkliste erstellt

Vor kurzem musste ich in einem Projekt zirka 300 Group Policy sowie Registry Einstellungen auslesen und bewerten. Damit ich nicht jede Einstellung einzeln manuell nachschauen musste, machte ich mich auf die Suche nach einem Tool, das mich dabei unterstützen kann. Fündig wurde ich mit dem Policy Analyzer von Microsoft.

Der Policy Analyzer ist eines der Tools, welches Microsoft in seinem Security Compliance Toolkit anbietet. In diesem Artikel möchte ich die Anwendungsbereiche des Policy Analyzers aufzeigen sowie die Erstellung einer eigenen PolicyRule-Datei besprechen. Mit PolicyRule-Dateien können eigene Security Baselines festgelegt werden und einfach auf einem System überprüft werden, ob die vorgegebenen Security Baselines eingehalten werden.

Vorstellung des Tools Policy Analyzer

Der Policy Analyzer ist ein Tool, das es erlaubt, GPOs zu analysieren und zu vergleichen. Die GPOs können von unterschiedlichen Quellen importiert werden. Damit können einerseits die im Unternehmen geltenden GPOs mit den Security Baselines von Microsoft verglichen werden oder es können ältere Backups einer GPO mit der aktuellen GPO verglichen werden, um Unterschiede aufzuzeigen. Oder es können unterschiedliche im Unterhemen definierte GPOs verglichen werden, um Unstimmigkeiten und Duplikate zu erkennen.

Andererseits kann eine definierte GPO Baseline mit den effektiv auf einem System umgesetzten lokalen Policies und Registries abgeglichen werden. Im weiteren Verlauf des Artikels wird der Use Case “Vergleichen einer Baseline mit den lokalen Einstellungen eines Clients” weiterverfolgt. Als Beispiel soll ein Client gegenüber der Windows 10 1909 Baseline verglichen werden.

Nachdem der Policy Analyzer heruntergeladen wurde, kann dieser ohne Installation ausgeführt werden. Um eine GPO Baseline gegen das lokale System vergleichen zu können, müssen zuerst die GPOs importiert werden. Dies kann durch das Hinzufügen mit dem Add Button gemacht werden. Danach kann die Option Add Files from GPO(s) ausgewählt werden.

Policy Analyzer Importer, Add Files from GPO

Bei der in diesem Beispiel verwendeten Security Baseline handelt es sich um die Windows 10 Version 1909 and Windows Server Version 1909 Security Baseline. Diese kann am selben Ort heruntergeladen werden wie der Policy Analyzer. Da sich in dieser Baseline sowohl Server wie auch Client Einstellungen befinden, müssen im Importer die serverspezifischen Einstellungen entfernt werden. Dies kann man durch markieren aller ungewünschten Einstellungen und anschliessendem Delete Taste drücken geschehen.

Policy Analyzer Importer; Vor entfernen der unnötigen Group Policy Objects

Nachdem die unnötigen GPOs entfernt wurden, kann der Rest mit Import… importiert werden. Dieser Schritt erstellt eine PolicyRules-Datei. Darin werden sämtliche relevanten GPO Einstellungen abgespeichert.

Im weiteren Verlauf bzw. bei späterer Verwendung müssen die GPOs nicht mehr manuell hinzugefügt werden, sondern es kann die neu erstellte PolicyRules-Datei verwendet werden. Dementsprechend sollte ein sprechender Name für die PolicyRules-Datei gewählt werden, denn dieser Name wird auch im Hauptfenster des Policy Analyzers angezeigt.

Wie die PolicyRule-Datei aufgesetzt ist und wie eigene Rules erstellt werden könne, wird später noch detailliert behandelt. Um nun die aufbereiteten GPOs effektiv gegen die lokalen Einstellungen eines Clients zu vergleichen, kann im Hauptfenster die eben definierte Baseline und oberhalb davon die Bereiche Compare local registry sowie Local policy angewählt werden. Mit dem Klick auf View / Compare werden im Policy Viewer die Resultate aufgeführt. Gleichzeitig wird eine neue PolicyRules-Datei erstellt, die sämtliche Einstellungen zur Local policy beinhalt. Die so generierte PolicyRule-Datei ist allerdings mit Vorsicht weiterzuverwenden, da die Einstellungen, die sich nur in der Registry befinden in dieser Datei nicht mit abgespeichert werden. Warum dies der Fall ist, ist nicht klar, da dies ohne weiteres ebenfalls möglich wäre.

Windows Security Baseline GPOs vergleich mit lokalem System

Im Policy Viewer wird pro Zeile eine Policy angezeigt, dabei wird der Wert der Local Policy danach der Wert aus der Local Registry und schlussendlich der Wert aus der definierten Baseline, im Beispiel windows_10_hardening genannt, angezeigt. Wenn die Werte gleich sind, werden sie weiss dargestellt. Sobald es Unterschiede gibt, werden diese mit gelber Markierung hervorgehoben. Werte, die nicht vorhanden sind, werden grau dargestellt. Damit lässt sich eine Auswertung der Unterschiede zu einer vorgegebenen Security Baseline einfach umsetzen. Wenn eine spezifische Einstellung ausgewählt wird, wird im unteren Bereich des Fensters jeweils (falls vorhanden) eine genauere Erklärung zu den jeweiligen möglichen Einstellungen angezeigt.

Resultatvergleich lokales System zu Security Baseline

Um das ganze einfacher zu durchsuchen und filtern sowie um die vollständigen Resultate zu speichern, können die ausgelesenen Einstellungen als Excel exportiert werden.

Resultat vergleich lokales System zu Security Baseline

Policy Rules

Wie bereits erwähnt, arbeitet der Policy Analyzer mit PolicyRules-Dateien. Eine PolicyRules-Datei beinhaltet XML mit dem folgenden Aufbau.

<PolicyRules>

   <ComputerConfig>
      <Key></Key>
      <Value></Value>
      <RegType></RegType>
      <RegData></RegData>
      <SourceFile></SourceFile>
      <PolicyName></PolicyName>
   </ComputerConfig>

   <UserConfig>
      <Key></Key>
      <Value></Value>
      <RegType></RegType>
      <RegData></RegData>
      <SourceFile></SourceFile>
      <PolicyName></PolicyName>
   </UserConfig>

   <SecurityTemplate Section="">
      <LineItem></LineItem>
      <SourceFile></SourceFile>
      <PolicyName></PolicyName>
   </SecurityTemplate>

   <AuditSubcategory>
      <GUID></GUID>
      <Name></Name>
      <Setting></Setting>
      <SourceFile></SourceFile>
      <PolicyName></PolicyName>
   </AuditSubcategory>

</PolicyRules>

Dabei werden unter ComputerConfig und UserConfig Einstellungen abgebildet, die einen Registry-Key verwenden. Mit SecurityTemplate und AuditSubcategory können Einstellungen abgebildet werden, die nicht in der Registry hinterlegt sind. Mit der Kenntnis dieser XML-Elemente ist es nun bereits möglich eigene Policy Rules zu erstellen.

Dies habe ich dann auch gemacht und eine PolicyRules-Datei für die Windows 10 Hardening Checkliste erstellt. Somit ist nun der Vergleich mit all den Einstellungen auf der Windows 10 Hardening Checkliste, die durch Group Policy oder Registry Einstellungen abgedeckt sind, auf einen Klick möglich.

Fazit

Zum Vergleichen bereits bestehender GPOs sowie dem Vergleichen von lokalen Einstellungen zu einer definierten Baseline ist Policy Analyzer ein gutes Tool. Das manuelle Erstellen von PolicyRules-Dateien ist aufwendig. Um den Aufwand möglichst klein zu halten, sollte eine bereits vorhanden GPO als Basis genommen werden und diese erweitert werden.

Über die Autorin

Andrea Hauser

Andrea Hauser hat ihren Bachelor of Science FHO in Informatik an der Hochschule für Technik Rapperswil abgeschlossen. Sie setzt sich im offensiven Bereich in erster Linie mit Web Application Security Testing und der Umsetzung von Social Engineering Kampagnen auseinander. Zudem ist sie in der Forschung zum Thema Deepfakes tätig. (ORCID 0000-0002-5161-8658)

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
GraphQL

GraphQL

Andrea Hauser

Server-Side-Request-Forgery

Server-Side-Request-Forgery

Andrea Hauser

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv