Severities and Risks - Relations and Differences

Severities and Risks

Relations and Differences

Tomaso Vasella
by Tomaso Vasella
on March 12, 2020
time to read: 10 minutes

Keypoints

Severities and Risks are not the same

  • Security tests identify weaknesses and assess them in terms of severities
  • The distinction between severities and risks is important and requires careful evaluation of the facts and the context
  • Severities reflect the quality and the effectiveness of the implemented security measures
  • Risks take the context of a weakness, the possible impact, threats and the probability of occurrence into account

Testing and assessing the security posture of IT systems is a major part of the activities of our Red Team. Applications, services and infrastructure components are analyzed from a security perspective and probed for weaknesses and depending on the nature of the assignment, identified weaknesses may be exploited subsequently. Usually, this results in a comprehensive report that describes all findings in detail and suggests suitable countermeasures.

An essential part of the report is the assessment of the detected vulnerabilities from a security perspective. But what is the meaning of these ratings and how is the recipient of the test results supposed to deal with these conclusions? This is a question that repeatedly leads to discussions and uncertainties, especially regarding the risk management process. These relationships and a pragmatic approach to handling the ratings of findings are discussed in this article.

Ratings of Weaknesses

The findings of security tests are typically rated using a scale with several levels as illustrated in the following example.

Example of Severities

These severities are a measure for the quality and the effectiveness of the implemented security controls for each test case. They range from controls cannot be circumvented to controls can be circumvented directly and confidentiality, integrity and availability cannot be guaranteed. Thus, the rating of a weakness reflects its severity or in other words, is a measure of the adequacy of the existing security controls. These ratings refer to the conducted test cases only, they usually do not include additional contextual factors.

Risks

Many definitions of the term risk exist. Two selected ones that are suitable in the context of cyber security are quoted below:

ISO/IEC 27005:

The potential that a given threat will exploit vulnerabilities of an asset or group of assets and thereby cause harm to the organization. It is measured in terms of a combination of the probability of occurrence of an event and its consequence.

NIST Glossary:

A measure of the extent to which an entity is threatened by a potential circumstance or event, and typically a function of: (i) the adverse impacts that would arise if the circumstance or event occurs; and (ii) the likelihood of occurrence.

So, a risk is more than just a rating of a weakness. Risks consider the context of a weakness and the possible adverse effects. In addition to the severity of a weakness and the extent of possible negative consequences, the rating of risks also includes relevant threats, existing risk-reducing measures and the likelihood or probability that the vulnerability will actually be exploited. For the qualitative rating of risks (e.g. low, medium, high) based on the impact and the probability of occurrence, a corresponding risk matrix is usually used, as shown in the following example.

Example of a risk matrix

Severity versus Risk

The severity of a weakness only changes if the test object itself is changed, for example by remediating the weakness by means of a bug fix or a configuration change. However, the context of a weakness, i.e. its environment is practically never constant over time. Therefore, a risk rating is a snapshot and can change over time, even if the severity of the underlying weakness doesn’t change.

An example: let’s assume that a penetration test identified a weakness in a network service and its exploitation easily allows for the unauthorized exfiltration of sensitive data from the affected system. Thus, the severity of this weakness would probably be rated das high or possibly even as emergency. However, the system is located in an internal, isolated network segment with strict access control and a very small number of users. Because of this, the probability that the weakness is actually exploited is much smaller than if the system were directly accessible from the Internet without additional protection. Therefore, the risk associated to this weakness would most likely not be rated as high but rather as medium or even as low because of the specific context. However, in case this system would be moved into a different, less protected network segment, the risk rating would increase correspondingly. This clearly shows that rating and managing risks is not a single, one-time action but must be carried out as part of a continuous risk management process.

The following table summarizes the most important differences between the terms severity and risk.

Severity Risk
Rating of a weakness of a test object without including its context Assessment of extent and probability considering the relevant context (threats, impact, existing controls, etc.)
Can change due to changes of the test object Can change due to changes of the test object or due to changes of the context
Provides information about the adequacy of the existing security controls Provides information about the possible extent of the impact and the probability that such impact will occur
Can be rated by an external tester Requires additional information about the context of the test object and therefore can usually not be assessed by an external tester

From Severities to Risks

As part of their risk management, organizations often also take cyber risks into account or are even obliged to do so by the law or by industry regulations. This often raises the question of how to deal with weaknesses and their ratings from a risk management perspective. In practice, the following pragmatic approach has worked well to compile a qualitative risk rating based on the severity of an underlying weakness:

The resulting risk is then looked up in the risk matrix. It is often worth to base the reflections about impact and probability on risk scenarios and to discuss these scenarios in the team. Risk scenarios are established by imagining the entire sequence of events of a certain attack and describing it with enough details to be able to explain the attack to others in an understandable and comprehensible way.

In practice, this process is often not as easy and straightforward to execute and lively discussions about probabilities and risk thresholds may arise. While impact ratings typically relate closely to severities, humans are inherently bad at estimating probabilities and our own intuition easily misleads us. In real life, we are dealing with frequencies, not probabilities, and it is well known that our perception tends to be unconsciously influenced (cognitive bias, see Logical Fallacies when Assessing Risks). Therefore, when managing cyber risks, it is all the more important to focus on the facts, to analyze the situation carefully and to be aware of the context under which the risks were rated. External experts can provide advice and explain the issues they identified in their tests. However, the actual risk assessment must be performed by the organization itself because in most cases, only the organization has sufficient context information.

The apparent discrepancy between the rating of a vulnerability and the rating of the corresponding risk that sometimes occurs can lead to discussions. Often, similar terms and colors are used to indicate severities and risks, for example red or high. It is possible that the severity of weakness is rated as high (red) while the associated risk is rated medium (yellow). This can trigger requests for explanations because supposedly the assessment of the security tester was altered during the risk management process while actually only the difference between severity and risk was overlooked. Again, this illustrates the need for concentrating on the facts and for ensuring transparency by using suitable methods for data presentation.

Conclusion

An external security test identifies weaknesses and rates them in terms of severity. The distinction between severities and risks is important and requires a careful examination of the relevant facts and the test cases. Rating risks based on identified weaknesses and their severities can only be conducted by considering the context of the weaknesses, a process that usually must be performed by the respective organization.

Finally, it must not be forgotten that both the results of security tests and the rating of the corresponding risks reflect the security state at the time of observation. Given today’s dynamic nature of cybersecurity, regular security checks and continuous risk management practice are therefore mandatory.

About the Author

Tomaso Vasella

Tomaso Vasella has a Master in Organic Chemistry at ETH Zürich. He is working in the cybersecurity field since 1999 and worked as a consultant, engineer, auditor and business developer. (ORCID 0000-0002-0216-1268)

Links

Are you interested in a Penetration Test?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Data Encryption in the Cloud

Data Encryption in the Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Preparing Offers

Preparing Offers

Tomaso Vasella

Microsoft Teams Security

Microsoft Teams Security

Tomaso Vasella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Schweregrade und Risiken - Zusammenhänge und Unterschiede

Schweregrade und Risiken

Zusammenhänge und Unterschiede

Tomaso Vasella
von Tomaso Vasella
am 12. März 2020
Lesezeit: 10 Minuten

Keypoints

Das unterscheidet Schweregrad von Risiko

  • Sicherheitstests identifizieren Schwachstellen und beurteilen diese anhand von Schweregraden
  • Die Unterscheidung zwischen Schweregraden und Risiken ist wichtig und setzt eine sorgfältige Betrachtung der Sachverhalte und des Kontexts voraus
  • Schweregrade widerspiegeln die Qualität und die Wirksamkeit des Sicherheitsdispositivs
  • Risiken berücksichtigen den Kontext einer Schwachstelle, die Bedrohungen, die möglichen Auswirkungen und die Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeit

Das Testen und Beurteilen des Sicherheitszustands von IT-Systemen macht einen grossen Teil der Arbeiten unseres Red Teams aus. Dabei werden Applikationen, Dienste und Infrastrukturkomponenten aus Sicherheitssicht analysiert und nach Schwachstellen untersucht, je nach Auftragsart mit anschliessendem Ausnutzen der gefundenen Schwachstellen. Das Resultat ist in der Regel ein ausführlicher Bericht, der alle Feststellungen detailliert beschreibt und geeignete Gegenmassnahmen vorschlägt.

Wesentlicher Bestandteil des Berichts sind die Bewertungen der gefundenen Schwachstellen aus Sicherheitssicht. Doch was ist die Bedeutung dieser Bewertungen und wie soll der Ergebnisempfänger damit umgehen? Eine Frage, die immer wieder zu Diskussionen und Unsicherheiten führt, besonders im Zusammenhang mit dem Risikomanagement. Diese Zusammenhänge und ein pragmatischer Ansatz für den Umgang mit den Bewertungen der Schwachstellen werden im Folgenden vorgestellt.

Bewertung von Schwachstellen

Die Einschätzung von Testresultaten bei Sicherheitsprüfungen erfolgt typischerweise anhand einer Skala mit mehreren Stufen, wie im folgenden Beispiel illustriert.

Beispiel von Schweregraden

Diese Schweregrade widerspiegeln pro Testfall die Qualität und die Wirksamkeit des Sicherheitsdispositivs. Sie reichen von Kontrollen können nicht umgangen werden bis zu Kontrollen können direkt umgangen werden, Vertraulichkeit, Integrität und Verfügbarkeit sind nicht gewährleistet. Die Einstufung gibt also den Schweregrad einer Schwachstelle wieder oder anders ausgedrückt, ist ein Mass für die Zulänglichkeit der vorhandenen Schutzmassnahmen. Diese Bewertungen beziehen sich nur auf die durchgeführten Testfälle und das festgestellte Verhalten der Prüfobjekte; sie beziehen meistens keine zusätzlichen umgebungsspezifischen Faktoren ein.

Risiken

Für den Begriff Risiko existieren viele Definitionen, von denen hier zwei für Cyber Security relevante herausgegriffen und im Original wiedergegeben sind.

ISO/IEC 27005:

The potential that a given threat will exploit vulnerabilities of an asset or group of assets and thereby cause harm to the organization. It is measured in terms of a combination of the probability of occurrence of an event and its consequence.

NIST Glossary:

A measure of the extent to which an entity is threatened by a potential circumstance or event, and typically a function of: (i) the adverse impacts that would arise if the circumstance or event occurs; and (ii) the likelihood of occurrence.

Ein Risiko ist also mehr als eine blosse Einstufung einer Schwachstelle. Risiken berücksichtigen den Kontext einer Schwachstelle und die möglichen Auswirkungen. In die Einstufung von Risiken fliessen neben dem Schweregrad einer Schwachstelle und dem Ausmass möglicher negativer Folgen auch die relevanten Bedrohungen, bereits vorhandene, risikomindernde Massnahmen und die Wahrscheinlichkeit ein, dass die Schwachstelle auch tatsächlich ausgenützt wird. Für die qualitative Einschätzung von Risiken (z.B. klein, mittel, gross) anhand des Schadensausmasses und der Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeit wird üblicherweise eine entsprechende Risikomatrix verwendet, wie im nachfolgenden Beispiel dargestellt.

Beispiel einer Risikomatrix

Schweregrad versus Risiko

Der Schweregrad einer Schwachstelle ändert sich nur, wenn das Prüfobjekt selbst verändert oder die Schwachstelle behoben wird, beispielsweise durch einen Bugfix oder eine Konfigurationsänderung. Hingegen ist der Kontext einer Schwachstelle, also die umgebungsspezifischen Faktoren, zeitlich praktisch nie konstant. Eine Risikoeinstufung ist deshalb eine Momentaufnahme und kann sich über die Zeit verändern, sogar auch ohne eine Änderung des Schweregrads der zugrunde liegenden Schwachstelle.

Dazu ein Beispiel: Nehmen wir an, im Rahmen eines Penetration Tests wurde eine Schwachstelle in einem Netzwerkdienst gefunden und es ist durch deren Ausnutzen leicht möglich, unautorisiert sensitive Daten aus dem betroffenen System zu exfiltrieren. Der Schweregrad dieser Schwachstelle wird damit wahrscheinlich als high oder vielleicht sogar als emergency eingestuft. Nun befindet sich dieses System aber in einem internen, isolierten Netzwerk mit strikter Zugangskontrolle und sehr kleinem Benutzerkreis. Die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass die Schwachstelle durch einen Übeltäter tatsächlich ausgenützt wird, ist deshalb viel kleiner, als wenn sich das System ungeschützt im Internet befände. Das mit dieser Schwachstelle verbundene Risiko würde damit wahrscheinlich nicht höchstmöglich eingeschätzt, sondern entsprechend des spezifischen Kontexts tiefer. Wird dieses System nun aber in einem anderen, weniger gut geschützten Netzwerksegment platziert, kann sich das Risiko entsprechend erhöhen. Damit wird klar, dass die Einschätzung von Risiken und der Umgang damit nicht ein einmaliger, abgeschlossener Vorgang ist, sondern im Rahmen eines kontinuierlichen Prozesses erfolgen muss.

Die nachfolgende Tabelle fasst die wichtigsten Unterschiede zwischen Schweregrad und Risiko zusammen.

Schweregrad Risiko
Einschätzung einer Schwachstelle eines Prüfobjekts ohne Einbezug des Kontexts Einschätzung von Ausmass und Wahrscheinlichkeit unter Einbezug des relevanten Kontexts (Bedrohungen, Auswirkungen, vorhandene Massnahmen, usw.)
Kann sich durch Veränderungen am Prüfobjekt ändernKann sich durch Veränderungen am Prüfobjekt oder durch Veränderungen des Kontexts ändern
Gibt Auskunft über die Zulänglichkeit der vorhandenen Sicherheitsmassnahmen Gibt Auskunft über das mögliche Schadensausmass und über die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass ein Schaden eintritt
Kann durch einen externen Tester geschätzt werden Erfordert zusätzliche, über das Prüfobjekt hinausgehende Informationen und kann in der Regel nicht durch einen externen Tester eingeschätzt werden

Vom Schweregrad zum Risiko

Im Rahmen des Risikomanagements berücksichtigen Organisationen häufig auch Cyberrisiken oder sind aus gesetzlichen oder regulatorischen Gründen dazu verpflichtet. Dabei stellt sich häufig die Frage, wie man aus Sicht des Risikomanagements mit Schwachstellen und ihren Einstufungen umgehen soll. Dabei hat sich folgender pragmatischer Ansatz bewährt, um von einem Schweregrad zu einer qualitativen Einschätzung eines Cyberrisikos zu gelangen:

Das resultierende Risiko ergibt sich dann anhand der Risikomatrix. Häufig lohnt es sich, die Überlegungen zum Schadensausmass und zur Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeit anhand von Risikoszenarien vorzunehmen und fachlich zu diskutieren. Man geht dabei in Gedanken den gesamten Ablauf eines bestimmten Angriffs durch und beschreibt diesen Vorgang mit genügend Details, um ihn auch Dritten verständlich und nachvollziehbar darlegen zu können.

In der Praxis ist der beschriebene Ablauf häufig nicht ganz so einfach und direkt umsetzbar und es können angeregte Diskussionen über Wahrscheinlichkeiten und Risikoschwellen entstehen. Der Mensch ist von Natur aus schlecht im Schätzen von Wahrscheinlichkeiten und die eigene Intuition führt uns dabei leicht in die Irre. In der erlebten Welt haben wir es mit Häufigkeiten zu tun, nicht mit Wahrscheinlichkeiten und unsere Wahrnehmung neigt dazu, sich unbewusst beeinflussen zu lassen (kognitive Verzerrung, siehe dazu auch Kognitive Fallgruben beim Beurteilen von Risiken). Umso wichtiger ist es, beim Management von Cyberrisiken auf die Fakten zu fokussieren, die Situation genau zu analysieren und sich des Kontexts der Risikoeinschätzung bewusst zu sein. Externe Experten können hierbei beratend zur Seite stehen und die identifizierten Sachverhalte nachvollziehbar erklären. Die tatsächliche Risikoschätzung muss aber in den allermeisten Fällen der Organisation selbst überlassen werden, denn nur sie verfügt über ausreichende Kontextinformationen.

Die manchmal auftretende scheinbare Diskrepanz zwischen der Einstufung einer Schwachstelle und dem entsprechenden Risiko führt regelmässig zu Diskussionen. Für Schweregrade und für Risiken werden häufig ähnliche Begriffe und Farben verwendet, beispielsweise rot oder hoch. Es kann durchaus vorkommen, dass eine Schwachstelle als hoch (rot) beurteilt wird, das damit verbundene Risiko aber als mittel (gelb) eingestuft wird. Dies kann zu Erklärungsbedarf führen, da vermeintlich die Beurteilung des Prüfers im Prozess der Risikoeinschätzung abgeändert wurde, tatsächlich aber nur der Unterschied zwischen Schweregrad und Risiko übersehen wurde. Auch hier muss darauf geachtet werden, durch geeignete Darstellungsweisen für Transparenz zu sorgen und die Fakten sprechen zu lassen.

Fazit

Ein externer Sicherheitstest fördert Schwachstellen zutage und beurteilt sie anhand von Schweregraden. Die Unterscheidung zwischen Schweregraden und Risiken ist wichtig und setzt eine sorgfältige Betrachtung der Sachverhalte und der Testfälle voraus. Die Beurteilung von Risiken anhand von Schwachstellen und Schweregraden kann nur unter Einbezug des Kontexts vorgenommen werden; ein Prozess, der in der Regel durch die jeweilige Organisation selbst durchgeführt werden muss.

Schliesslich darf man nicht vergessen, dass sowohl die Resultate von Sicherheitsprüfungen als auch die Beurteilung entsprechender Risiken immer eine Momentaufnahme sind. Angesichts der heutigen Dynamik in der Cybersecurity sind regelmässige Sicherheitsprüfungen und ein kontinuierliches Risikomanagement deshalb Pflicht.

Über den Autor

Tomaso Vasella

Tomaso Vasella hat seinen Master in Organic Chemistry an der ETH Zürich abgeschlossen und ist seit 1999 im Bereich Cybersecurity aktiv. Positionen als Berater, Engineer, Auditor und Business Developer zählen zu seinen Erfahrungen. (ORCID 0000-0002-0216-1268)

Links

Haben Sie Interesse an einem Penetration Test?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Offerten erstellen

Offerten erstellen

Tomaso Vasella

Microsoft Teams Security

Microsoft Teams Security

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv