SANS SEC503 Intrusion Detection In-Depth - A report on my personal experience

SANS SEC503 Intrusion Detection In-Depth

A report on my personal experience

Dominik Altermatt
by Dominik Altermatt
on March 19, 2020
time to read: 12 minutes

Keypoints

What SANS teaches you about intrusion detection

  • A high-quality course, to be recommended
  • A great deal of material is covered in a relatively short space of time
  • Firm foundations for analyzing packet captures
  • Threat modeling/analysis is somewhat neglected

A report on my personal experience of the SEC503: Intrusion Detection In-Depth course. I will reflect on how I absorbed the material taught using the advertised learning outcomes as a basis, before going on to provide a brief summary of the days spent on the course.

Extract from the course description on the SANS website.

You will learn:

Course Schedule

The content part of the course is held over a period of five days, running from 9:00 am to roughly 7:00 pm, using the classroom-style method of teaching. The obligatory challenge, where the students apply what they’ve learned to solve gamified tasks and compete as solo players or in teams to get the highest score, takes place on the sixth day.

The information is conveyed using a projector-based presentation and handed out to students as print-outs. In addition to the lunch break, there is one break in the morning and two in the afternoon.

Various hands-on exercises on the material just learned are held in between the blocks of theory and make the learning situation less monotonous. The instructor and students are also given repeated opportunities to exchange experiences. The last hour of the teaching day is reserved for more practical hands-on exercises.

All the exercises, the tools discussed and the scenarios are supplied on a Linux VM, which also contains a variety of data and packet captures as the basis for analyzing the tasks and challenges.

Syllabus from the SANS website:

Day Topic
Day 1/2 Fundamentals of Traffic Analysis
Day 3 Application Protocols
Day 4 Network Monitoring: Signatures vs. Behaviors
Day 5 Network Traffic Forensics
Day 6 Advanced IDS Capstone Event

Days 1 and 2 – Fundamental Network Analysis

The first two days will likely be rough reads one of the first slides shown at the start of the course. Over two days, this message is followed by just under 360(!) slides about the basics of packets and headers, as well as an introduction to some tools.

Basic terms such as “bits”, “nibbles” and “bytes”, and decimal, binary and hexadecimal systems, are explained. The instructor talks through the structures of protocol headers. The individual header fields and options of link layer, IPv4 and IPv6 are addressed, as are the common protocols (such as TCP, UDP and ARP).

Short assignments that the students solve in plenary sessions, including the likes of reading an IP header represented in hexadecimal format and identifying its attributes (e.g. IP version, length of the header, time to live) using a tcpdump output, are held repeatedly in between the topics.

Students are shown Wireshark in greater detail relatively quickly; it is one of the first tools to be introduced. Some slides contain explanations of the software, a few useful features (primarily in Wireshark’s Statistics and Analyze tool menus) and how to use display filters.

Students are also taught about the potential tcpdump BPF filter syntax. The instructor also outlines the fundamentals and some specific information about the precise application (using bit masks, for example).

The bit masks are needed for the likes of correctly identifying the TCP flags. Because the first two bits of the “higher-order” nibble in the byte TCP header offset[13] are two ECN bits as opposed to TCP flags, they have to be masked with tcpdump by applying BPFs. (You’ll be able to understand the last sentence easily once you’ve attended the course.)

Intrusion detection is occasionally raised as a topic when using a few examples to explain the basic material

Day 3 – Application Protocols

Having spent the first two days dealing with the fundamentals, the content slowly switches towards intrusion detection. But the third day features even more fundamental topics. A brief foray into the topic of Scapy, a tool for creating your own packets (to test an IDS installation, for example), is presented with live demos. Additional Wireshark features – such as extracting files from Wireshark, or composing SMTP messages – are explored.

Snort and how to write Snort alerts are examined. Detailed explanations are provided of how the Snort alert’s content search function can be used, including how to write efficient rules.

This is followed by yet more foundation-level information about application protocols such as SMB, DNS or SMTP, as well as relevant detection opportunities with Snort or BPF/tcpdump. While these basics aren’t covered as extensively as the deeper protocols handled on the first and second days, they are nevertheless loosely peppered with intrusion detection-related special features and deal with the presented tools (processing, filtering, detecting).

The third day’s block of theory is rounded off by the basic principles of IDS/IPS evasion. Examples are used to show possible ways of bypassing the IDS/IPS system.

Day 4 – Network Monitoring

The fourth day starts with higher-level and fundamental concepts relating to IDS/IPS. Students are told how and where sensors can be positioned and what problems to expect. This is followed by a brief detour into TLS. But most of the day is spent dealing with the tool Zeek. The fundamentals of how Zeek works are presented, and students quickly get to grips with analyzing log files that Zeek generates. At this point at the latest, it is highly advantageous to have some knowledge of bashing (e.g. the commands cat, cut, awk, grep, wc and uniq) to manipulate data.

One of Zeek’s powerful features is its scripting. The instructor teaches the basic principles of Zeek scripting, and students work through a variety of short exercises. A brief aside covering threat modeling breaks the monotony of the topic. Phishing is used as an example to illustrate how analyzing threats helps with defining Zeek scripts well in the context of (in this case, behavior-based) intrusion detection.

Day 5 – Forensics in the Network

The fifth day is started by briefly introducing the topic of forensic analysis, before switching to flows and how the tool SiLK can be used to analyze NetFlow data. The tools examined with respect to SiLK are mainly rwfilter, rwcut and rwstats. Details of the methodology used, such as alert-driven vs data-driven sensors, or the analysis potential of alerts or events generated from them, are also provided in between the topics. Finally, the potential data visualization options are discussed to enable (better) reading of information/anomalies from the data.

A large chunk of the fifth day is devoted to machine learning. The mathematical principles of ML are discussed in very sparse detail. A Python code is provided using a Jupyter Notebook setup, and students work through topical examples. High-level machine learning is addressed, as are how the ML algorithm used can be trimmed for better results and why the choice and formatting of the dataset isn’t entirely trivial for the ML’s learning stage.

Day 6 – The Challenge

The last day is set aside exclusively for the challenge.

Conclusion

The six days spent on this course are intense due to the roughly 700+ slides and additional accompanying text – not to mention the exercises. Anyone who has some prior knowledge of the basics of IT (specifically of networks) and some experience with bashing is clearly at an advantage.

While the first few days could be viewed as repeating material that people are taught as IT students or trainees, someone learning these concepts for the first time might well reach their limits and not benefit ideally from the wealth of the information conveyed. Not least because the course moves at a relatively quick pace.

Students must understand the basics if they are to use the analysis tools and techniques presented. The promoted learning outcome covers the following:

TCP/IP and common application protocols to gain insight about your network traffic, enabling you to distinguish normal from abnormal traffic

The gradual introduction to analyzing network packet captures with the presented tools appears to be a sound and well-structured concept. The fundamentals of using the tools and their basic features to analyze packets are explained very well.

The promoted learning outcomes cover the following:

How to analyze traffic traversing your site to avoid becoming another “Hacked!” headline

The benefits of using signature-based, flow, and hybrid traffic analysis frameworks to augment detection

Hands-on detection, analysis, and network forensic investigation with a variety of open-source tools

The sheer amount of material limits the time that can be spent on exercises quite a bit, which is why we couldn’t spend all the time that was effectively intended on them and certain exercises had to be left out.

If you attend the course with relevant knowledge of attack techniques/patterns, you can identify the potential of packet analysis immediately and now specifically apply the syntax of the tool in question.

In my opinion, not enough attention was paid to the topic of threat modeling and analysis in the context of IDS (intrusion detection systems). Methods and approaches for common and well-known attacks would have been exciting, as would concepts for recording “normal” states as a basis for detecting unknown attacks. The machine learning (ML) section could have been made a great deal shorter, because compared to the other tools presented, it does not offer any effective approaches for production (yet).

Conceptual and higher-level aspects also appeared to break up the monotony between the technical blocks of theory, which minimized the learning effect and students’ ability to grasp the concept as a whole somewhat. Although it wasn’t the main focus of the course, the conceptual information came across as slightly fragmented.

Specifically, the following advertised learning outcomes could have been addressed in greater depth and in a more structured way:

Admittedly, this does create a dilemma. It appears difficult to pack relevant points on the topic into a week-long course without having students constantly taking notes.

Nonetheless, I can wholeheartedly recommend the course. The documents, the exercises and the instructor are all excellent-quality.

About the Author

Dominik Altermatt

Dominik Altermatt is working since 2003 in the IT business and was responsible for Data Leakage Prevention at a Swiss bank for many years. Besides traditional penetration testing he is also focusing on the introduction and improvement of IT security management processes. (ORCID 0000-0003-4575-4597)

Links

You want to evaluate or develop an AI?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Traffic Analysis with Windows Built-In Tools

Traffic Analysis with Windows Built-In Tools

Dominik Altermatt

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

SANS SEC503 Intrusion Detection In-Depth - Ein persönlicher Erfahrungsbericht

SANS SEC503 Intrusion Detection In-Depth

Ein persönlicher Erfahrungsbericht

Dominik Altermatt
von Dominik Altermatt
am 19. März 2020
Lesezeit: 11 Minuten

Keypoints

Das lernen Sie bei SANS über Einbruchserkennung

  • Empfehlenswerter Kurs in hoher Qualität
  • Sehr viel Stoff in relativ kurzer Zeit
  • Solide Grundlagen für die Packet-Captures Analyse
  • Threat-Modelling/ -Analyse kommt etwas zu kurz

Ein Persönlicher Erfahrungsbericht über den Kurs SEC503: Intrusion Detection In-Depth. Anhand der ausgeschrieben Learnings des Kurses, wird reflektiert wie der vermittelte Stoff aufgenommen wurde. Danach eine kurze Zusammenfassung der Kurstage.

Auszug aus der Kursbeschreibung auf der SANS Webseite.

You Will Learn:

Kursablauf

Der Kurs findet an 5 Tagen von 9:00 bis ca 19:00 Uhr im Frontalunterricht statt. Am 6. Tag findet die obligate Challenge statt, wobei die Teilnehmer das Erlernte anhand von gamifizierten Aufgaben lösen und in Teams oder solo gegeneinander um den höchsten Score antreten.

Die Informationen werden anhand einer Präsentation am Beamter vermittelt, sowie in gedruckter Form an die Teilnehmer abgegeben. Neben der Mittagspause sind jeweils eine Pause am Morgen sowie zwei am Nachmittag vorgesehen.

Zwischen den Theorieblöcken lockern diverse Hands-on Übungen eben erlernter Materie die Situation auf. Auch finden sich immer wieder Momente für den Austausch von Erfahrungen zwischen Instruktor und Teilnehmern. Die letzte Stunde des Unterrichtstages ist jeweils für weiter praktische hands-on Übungen reserviert.

Alle Übungen, die besprochenen Tools sowie Szenarien werden auf einer Linux VM geliefert. Diese enthält ausserdem diverse Daten und Paket-Captures als Grundlage für die Analysen der Aufgaben und Challenges.

Ablauf aus der SANS Webseite:

Day Topic
Day 1/2 Fundamentals of Traffic Analysis
Day 3 Application Protocols
Day 4 Network Monitoring: Signatures vs. Behaviors
Day 5 Network Traffic Forensics
Day 6 Advanced IDS Capstone Event

Tag 1 & 2 – Grundlegende Netzwerkanalysen

The first two days will likely be rough steht auf einer der ersten Slides am Kursbeginn. Danach folgen knapp 360(!) Slides über Paket- und Header-Grundlagen sowie die Vorstellung einiger Tools auf 2 Tage verteilt.

Grundlagenbegriffe wie Bits, Nibbles and Bytes sowie dezimale, binäre und hexadezimale Systemen werden erläutert. Strukturen von Protokoll-Headern werden durchgegangen. Spezifisch wird auf die einzelne Header-Felder und -Optionen von Link-Layer und IPv4 und IPv6 sowie den gängigen Protokollen (z.B. TCP, UDP, ARP) eingegangen.

Dazwischen immer wieder kurze Aufgaben, welche die Teilnehmen im Plenum lösen, z.B. das Lesen eines IP-Headers in einer hexadezimalen Repräsentation und die Identifikation von dessen Eigenschaften (z.B. IP-Version, Länge des Headers, Time To Live) anhand eines tcpdump Outputs.

Wireshark wird relativ rasch als eines der ersten Tools eingehender vorgestellt. Auf einigen Slides wird die Software erklärt und wenige aber nützlich Features (vor allem in den Wireshark Tool Menüs Statistics und Analyze) sowie die Anwendung von Display-Filters werden erläutert.

Weiter wird erklärt wie für tcpdump BPF-Filter geschrieben werden können. Dazu werden Grundlagen und einige spezifischen Informationen zur konkreten Anwendung erklärt. Zum Beispiel die Anwendung von Bit-Masken.

Die Bit-Masken werden z.B. für die korrekte Identifikation von den TCP-Flags benötigt. Da die ersten 2 Bits des “higher-order”-Nibble im Byte TCP-Header Offset[13] keine TCP-Flags sondern zwei ECN Bits sind, müssen diese bei der Anwendungen von BPF-Filtern mit tcpdump maskiert werden. (Nach dem Besuch des Kurses, kann der letzte Satz problemlos verstanden werden.)

Die Thematik Intrusion Detection wird zwischendurch an wenigen Beispielen für die Erläuterung der Grundlagenmaterie angeschnitten

Tag 3 – Applikationsprotokolle

Nach den ersten zwei Grundlagentagen transformierte sich der Content langsam in Richtung Intrusion Detection. Der dritte Tag weist aber weitere Grundlagen Themen auf. Ein kurzer Abstecher mit Scapy für das Erzeugen von eigenen Paketen (z.B. um eine IDS Installation zu testen) wird mit Live-Demos präsentiert. Weitere Features für Wireshark werden vorgestellt, z.B. das Extrahieren von Dateien aus Wireshark oder das Zusammensetzen von SMTP Nachrichten.

Snort und das Schreiben von Snort-Alerts werden vorgestellt. Detailliert wird erklärt, wie die Content-Search Funktion der Snort-Alerts eingesetzt werden kann und wie damit effiziente Rules geschrieben werden können.

Danach kommen weitere Grundlagen zu Applikations-Protokollen wie SMB, DNS oder SMTP sowie entsprechenden Detektions-Möglichkeiten mit Snort oder BPF-Filter/tcpdump. Die Grundlagen werden nicht so extensiv wie bei den tieferen Protokollen von Tag 1 & 2 behandelt. Trotzdem lose gespickt mit Besonderheiten im Kontext der Intrusion Detection und im Umgang (Verarbeitung, Filterung, Detektion) mit den vorgestellten Tools.

Der Theorieblock des dritten Tages wird mit Grundlagen zum Thema IDS/IPS Evasion abgeschlossen. Anhand einiger Beispielen wird gezeigt, wie man IDS/IPS System umgehen könnte.

Tag 4 – Netzwerkmonitoring

Der vierte Tag startet mit übergeordneten und grundlegenden Konzepten zu IDS/IPS. Wie und wo können Sensoren platziert werden und mit welchen Problemen man zu rechnen hat. Danach ein Abstecher zum Thema TLS. Der Grossteil des Tages wurde jedoch mit dem Tool Zeek verbracht. Es werden Grundlagen zur Funktionsweise von Zeek vorgestellt. Rasch wurde mit der Analyse von durch Zeek geneierte Logfiles begonnen. Spähtestens hier sind gewisse Bash-Kenntnisse (z.B. die Befehle cat, cut, awk, grep, wc, uniq) zur Manipulation von Daten von grossem Vorteil.

Eines der mächtigen Features von Zeek, ist die Möglichkeit Zeek-Scripting zu nutzen. Dazu werden Grundlagen vermitteln und diverse kleiner Übungen durchgespielt. Die Thematik wird mit einem kleinen Einschub durch das Thema Threat Modeling aufgelockert. Anhand eines Beispiels (Phishing) wird aufgezeigt, wie man durch Threat-Analyse zu einer guten Definition für Zeek-Scripts im Kontext von (in diesem Falle verhaltensbasierten) Intrusion Detection kommt.

Tag 5 – Forensik im Netzwerk

Am fünften Tag wurde kurz mit dem Thema forensische Analyse gestartet. Dann der Wechsel zu Flows und wie mittels dem Tool SiLK Netflow-Daten analysiert werden können. Bezüglich SilK wird vor allem der Umgang mit den tools rwfilter, rwcut und rwstats aufgezeigt. Dazwischen auch methodologische Hinweise z.B. Alert-vs Data-Driven Sensors, respektive des Analysepotentials daraus generierten Alerts oder Events. Abschliessend werden auch Möglichkeiten der Visualisierung von Daten diskutiert, um damit Informationen/Anomalien aus den Daten (besser) lesen zu können.

Ein grosser Block des fünften Tags widmet sich dem Thema Maschine Learning. Dazu wird sehr oberflächlich über die mathematischen Grundlagen von ML diskutiert. Mittels einem Jupyter Notebook Setup wird einem Python Code zur Verfügung gestellt und Beispiele zum Thema werden durchgegangen. High-Level wird darauf eingegangen, wie der eingesetzt ML-Algorithmus für bessere Resultate getrimmt werden kann sowie warum die Wahl und Formatierung des Datensets für die ML-Lernphase nicht ganz trivial ist.

Tag 6 – Die Challenge

Der letzte Tag ist ausschliesslich für die Challenge reserviert.

Fazit

Die 6 Tage in diesem Kurs sind intensiv. Dies allein schon durch die ca. 700+ Slides inkl. zusätzlichem Begleit-Text, exklusive Übungen. Wer etwas an Vorkenntnissen von Informatikgrundlagen (spezifisch zum Thema Netzwerk) sowie etwas Übung mit Bash mit sich bringt, ist klar im Vorteil.

Die ersten Tage können als Repetition von Stoff aus dem Informatik-Studium oder Lehre gesehen werden. Wer hingegen diese Konzepte das erste Mal erlernt, kann wohl an seine Grenzen kommen und nicht ideal von der Fülle der vermittelten Informationen profitieren. Nicht zuletzt, weil das Kurstempo relativ hoch getaktet ist.

Das Verständnis der Grundlagen ist essenziell für die Nutzung der vorgestellten Analyse-Tools und -Techniken. Dies deckt das angepriesene Learning:

TCP/IP and common application protocols to gain insight about your network traffic, enabling you to distinguish normal from abnormal traffic

Die schrittweise Heranführung an die Analyse von Netzwerk-Paket-Captures mit den vorgestellten Tools, erscheint als ein solides und gut strukturiertes Konzept. Die grundsätzliche Verwendung der eingesetzten Tools sowie die Anwendung deren Basis-Features für eine Paket-Analyse werden sehr gut erklärt.

Dies decken die angepriesenen Learnings:

How to analyze traffic traversing your site to avoid becoming another “Hacked!” headline

The benefits of using signature-based, flow, and hybrid traffic analysis frameworks to augment detection

Hands-on detection, analysis, and network forensic investigation with a variety of open-source tools

Die Menge des Stoffes begrenzt die Zeit für Übungen relativ stark. So konnte nicht die effektiv vorgesehen Zeit aufgewendet und gewisse Übungen mussten ausgelassen werden.

Bringt man entsprechendes Wissen über Angriffstechniken/Muster mit, kann man das Potential der Analyse von Paketen sofort erkennen und nun den Syntax der entsprechenden Tools konkret anwenden.

Meiner Meinung zu kurz kam das Thema Threat-Modelling und Analyse im Kontext von IDS (Intrusion Detection Systeme). Dazu wären Methoden und Ansätze für gängige und bekannte Angriffe spannend gewesen sowie Konzepte zur Erfassung von “Normal”-Zuständen als Basis für die Detektion von unbekannten Angriffen. Dafür könnte man das Thema rund um Maschine Learning (ML) stark verkürzen, da es im Vergleich zu den anderen vorgestellten Tools (noch) keine effektiven Ansätze für die Produktion bietet.

Weiter erschienen konzeptionelle und übergeordnete Aspekte als Auflockerung zwischen den technischen Blöcken. Dies mindert etwas den Lerneffekt und die Auffassung der Konzepte als Ganzes. Obwohl nicht im Haupt-Fokus des Kurses, kommen die konzeptionelle Information etwas zerstückelt daher.

Konkret könnte auf die folgendes beworbenen Learnings vertiefter und strukturierter eingegangen werden:

Zugegeben, dabei entsteht ein Dilemma. Relevante Punkte zum Thema in eine Kurs-Woche zu packen ohne “Abschreiber” zu machen, erscheint schwierig.

Nichtsdestotrotz kann der Kurs wärmsten empfohlen werden. Qualität der Unterlagen, Übungen sowie des Instruktors sind auf einem sehr hohen Niveau.

Über den Autor

Dominik Altermatt

Dominik Altermatt arbeitet seit 2003 in der IT-Branche. Unter anderem hat er sich mehrere Jahre mit Data Leakage Prevention bei einer Grossbank beschäftigt. Heute liegen seine Schwerpunkte neben klassischen Penetration Tests bei der Einführung und der Weiterentwicklung von IT-Security-Management-Prozessen. (ORCID 0000-0003-4575-4597)

Links

Sie wollen die Awareness Ihrer Benutzer prüfen?

Lassen Sie durch uns einen Social Engineering Test durchführen!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Traffic-Analyse mit Windows-Boardmitteln

Traffic-Analyse mit Windows-Boardmitteln

Dominik Altermatt

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security

Dominik Altermatt

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv