Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security - Securing Virtual Meetings

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security

Securing Virtual Meetings

Dominik Altermatt
by Dominik Altermatt
on May 14, 2020
time to read: 8 minutes

Keypoints

This is how you secure Cisco WebEx

  • Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, many meetings, lectures, and training sessions are held online
  • WebEx Online Meeting is another free alternative
  • the default settings are not advantageous or even somewhat misleading
  • however, basic security features such as meeting passwords and attendee registration can be configured

Another tool for virtual meetings in the times of Covid-19 is WebEx Online Meeting by Cisco. Following the contributions to Zoom and Microsoft Teams, this article explains what security features WebEx offers and how to use them. The article refers to the version of WebEx Online Meetings, which can be downloaded at webex.com for free.

In the free version, with a current special offer, 100 participants can participate in virtual meetings for an unlimited time and use various collaboration features such as chat, file and whiteboard sharing. More details about the features and also the premium versions can be found on the pricing page of WebEx.

Sign Up

If you want to host meetings, you must create an account with Cisco WebEx. To do this, you need to enter a mail address to which you have access, as well as name and location.

After initial verification of the mail the user is asked to define a password respecting the following requirements:

The following must not be part of the password:

It would be better to use 10 characters or more as well as special characters. WebEx checks the requirements when passwords are entered and always does so as specified.

An interesting aspect of this is that the following words, for example, are recognized with regard to the requirements “easy to guess”: webex, cisco, pass (as in password). However, words that are seen in our analysis of public leaks are not recognized. For example status, dragon or even liverpool. By the way, WebEx defines the username as a complete mail address, so when you choose vontestaccount@xxx.xxxx, part of the password can use testaccount (which is not recommended).

Adhoc Meetings

Adhoc meetings can be set up using Personal Room. To participate, enter the appropriate host user ID on the Meetings Page of WebEx.

Adhoc Meeting as Personal Room

However, this variant is not recommended because it cannot be secured with a password. Only entering after starting the meeting can be prevented after a defined period of time; by default this is set to 10 minutes. Instead, scheduled meetings should be implemented.

Set up a scheduled meeting

Protect Meeting with Password

When you set up a meeting, WebEx insists on defining a password for the meeting. WebEx also suggests a password consisting of 11 characters with numbers, upper and lower case letters. Other variants can be generated via the refresh button.

Protecting a scheduled meeting with a password

You can also set your own password, with the following requirements:

A somewhat stricter password policy would also be desirable here, so that weak passwords such as 1111 are not possible. In addition, the word Cisco is now permitted here, for example. This would mean that different libraries of “easy to guess passwords” are used for account passwords and meeting passwords.

Although a password is generated by default when the meeting is created, this does not mean that the participants have to enter the password. Since the link sent to participants by mail already contain the “password” in the form of an ID, this offers the possibility to forward the link and thus invite people who can participate without entering the password. However, this can be remedied.

If you set up a meeting, there are unfortunately some hidden settings to find. Under Schedule a meeting / Show advanced options / Scheduling options / Exclude password. To do this, the password must be explicitly sent to the participant.

Exclude the password in mails sent to participants

Require Attendee Registration

This setting is generally useful, since participants must now be explicitly confirmed by the host before they can join the meeting. The feature is activated with the checkbox at Require attendee registration under Registration.

Require registration of all attendees

The meeting overview in the main menu can then be used to confirm the registrations of invited participants under the respective meeting entry.

Manage registration of a scheduled meeting

The registration process is a bit cumbersome. An initial mail for the registration, then another mail for the effective participation in the meeting.

Participant Privileges

Among the participant privileges all rights should be withdrawn that are not explicitly required. These can also be adjusted under the Attende privileges when creating scheduled meetings.

Manage privileges attendes

Details of different privileges

Locking a Meeting

The blocking of meetings, respectively the refusal of access after the start of an online meeting, is set to 10 minutes by default for adhoc meetings and can be viewed under Preferences / My Personal Room / Automatic lock.

Unfortunately, there is no such setting for scheduled meetings when creating the meeting. However, after starting a meeting, the corresponding function can be activated in the menu.

Subsequent locking of a scheduled meeting

Save as Template

Last but not least, the configured security settings should be saved as a template to be secured for future meetings. Saved templates can be selected right above when creating a meeting.

Save settings as template

Conclusion

The free version of WebEx Online Meetings comes across as a bit simple. No password can be set for ad hoc meetings. The default settings for scheduled meetings give the impression that a password is required to join, but this is not true; participants can join without entering a password using the link provided. However, WebEx provides appropriate settings to secure your online meetings. Ideally, these would already be available as standard settings. With the Save As Template function, however, you can do this yourself.

About the Author

Dominik Altermatt

Dominik Altermatt is working since 2003 in the IT business and was responsible for Data Leakage Prevention at a Swiss bank for many years. Besides traditional penetration testing he is also focusing on the introduction and improvement of IT security management processes. (ORCID 0000-0003-4575-4597)

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security - Absichern von Virtuellen Meetings

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security

Absichern von Virtuellen Meetings

Dominik Altermatt
von Dominik Altermatt
am 14. Mai 2020
Lesezeit: 8 Minuten

Keypoints

So sichern Sie Cisco WebEx Meetings ab

  • Aufgrund der COVID-19 Pandemie finden viele Sitzungen, Vorträge und Schulungen online statt
  • WebEx Online Meeting stellt eine weiter kostenlose Alternative dafür dar
  • Die Standard Einstellungen sind nicht vorteilhaft oder sogar etwas irreführend
  • Basis Security-Funktionen wie Meeting-Passwörter und Teilnehmer-Registration sind jedoch konfigurierbar

Eine weiteres Tool für virtuelle Meetings in den Zeiten von Covid-19 ist WebEx Online Meeting von Cisco. Nach den Beiträgen zu Zoom und Microsoft Teams wird im Folgenden erklärt, welche Security-Features WebEx bietet und wie man diese kontrollieren kann. Der Artikel bezieht sich auf die kostenlos verfügbare Version WebEx Online Meetings, welche unter webex.com genutzt werden kann.

In der kostenlosen Version können mit einem aktuellen Special Offer 100 Teilnehmer für eine unbegrenzte Zeit an virtuellen Meetings teilnehmen und diverse Kollaboration-Features wie Chat, File- und Whiteboard-Sharing etc. nutzen. Genauere Details zu den Features und auch den premium Versionen können auf der Pricing-Seite von WebEx gefunden werden.

Sign Up

Wer Meetings hosten möchte, muss ein Account bei Cisco WebEx erstellen. Dazu muss eine Mailadresse, auf welche man Zugriff hat, sowie Namen und Standort angeben werden.

Mittels initialer Mail wird der Benutzer aufgefordert ein Passwort mit folgenden Anforderungen zu definieren:

Folgendes darf nicht enthalten sein:

Besser würden hier 10 Zeichen oder mehr sowie auch Sonderzeichen verwendet werden. WebEx überprüft bei der Eingabe der Passwörter die gestellten Anforderungen und dies grundsätzlich wie angegeben.

Spanend hierzu ist, dass bezüglich der Anforderungen “Leicht zu erratende Wörter” z.B. folgende Wörter erkannt werden: webex, cisco, pass (wie in Password). Jedoch werden Wörter, welche aus unseren Analysen, aus öffentlichen Leaks, häufig in Passwörtern gesehen werden, nicht erkannt. Zum Beispiel Status, Dragon oder auch Liverpool. Übrigens wird der Benutzername bei WebEx als komplette Mailadresse definiert, somit kann bei der Wahl vontestaccount@xxx.xxxx ein Teil des Passworts testaccount nutzen (was nicht zu empfehlen ist).

Adhoc-Meetings

Adhoc-Meetings können mittels “Persönlichem Raum” aufgesetzt werden. Die Teilnahme erfolgt über die Eingabe der entsprechenden Benutzer-ID des Gastgebers auf der Meetings-Seite von WebEx.

Adhoc Meeting als Persönlicher Raum

Diese Variante ist jedoch nicht zu empfehlen, da sie nicht mit einem Passwort abgesichert werden kann. Einzig der Eintritt nach Starten des Meetings kann nach einer definierten Zeitperiode verhindert werden; standardmässig ist diese auf 10 Minuten gesetzt. Stattdessen sollten geplante Meetings umgesetzt werden.

Geplantes Meeting aufsetzen

Meeting mit Kennwort schützen

Setzt man konkret ein Meeting auf, besteht WebEx drauf eine Passwort für das Meeting zu definieren. Ausserdem schlägt WebEx gleich ein Passwort vor, welches aus 11 Zeichen mit Zahlen, Gross- und Klein-Buchstaben besteht. Per Refresh-Button können andere Varianten generiert werden.

Geplantes Meeting mit Passwort schützen

Auch ein eigenes Passwort, mit folgenden Anforderungen, kann gesetzt werden:

Auch hier wäre eine etwas schärfere Passwort-Policy wünschenswert, damit schwache Passwörter wie 1111 nicht möglich sind. Ausserdem ist hier nun z.B. das Wort Cisco erlaubt. Dies würde bedeuten, dass unterschiedliche Bibliotheken von “leicht zu erratenden Schüsselwörter” bei Account-Passwort und Meeting-Passwort verwendet werden.

Obwohl hier standardmässig ein Passwort beim Erstellen des Meetings generiert wird, heisst dies nicht, dass die Teilnehmer das Passwort auch eingeben müssen. Da der Link, den die Teilnehmer per Mail erhalten, bereits das “Passwort” in Form einer ID enthält, bietet dies die Möglichkeit den Link weiter zu senden und so Personen einzuladen, welche ohne Eingabe des Passworts teilnehmen können. Dem kann aber Abhilfe geschaffen werden.

Setzt man eine Meeting auf, sind leider etwas versteckt, die entsprechenden Einstellungen zu finden. Unter Ein Meeting Aufsetzen / Erweiterte Optionen anzeigen / Ansetzoptionen / Passwort entfernen. Damit muss aber das Passwort explizit dem Teilnehmer übermittelt werden.

Geplantes Meeting ohne Passwort in Mail verschicken

Meeting mit Teilnehmer-Registration

Diese Einstellung ist grundsätzlich sinnvoll, da nun Teilnehmer explizit durch den Gastgeber bestätigt werden müssen, bevor diese am Meeting teilnehmen können. Das Feature wird aktiviert mit der Checkbox bei Teilnehmer-Registrierung anfordern unter Registrierung.

Geplantes Meeting setzt Registrierung voraus

Über die Meeting-Übersicht im Hauptmenu können anschliessend, unter dem jeweiligen Meeting-Eintrag, die Registrationen der eingeladenen Teilnehmer bestätigt werden.

Registrierung eines geplanten Meetings verwalten

Die Registration verläuft etwas umständlich. Eine initiale Mail für die Registration, danach eine weitere Mail für die effektive Teilnahme am Meeting.

Teilnehmer-Privilegien

Unter den Teilnehmer-Privilegien sollten alle Rechte entzogen werden, die nicht explizite benötigt werden. Diese können ebenfalls unter den Ansetzoptionen beim Erstellen von geplanten Meetings angepasst werden.

Teilnehmer-Privilegien eines geplanten Meetings verwalten

Details der Teilnehmer-Privilegien

Meeting Sperren

Das Sperren von Meetings, respektive die Zutritts-Verweigerungen nach dem Start eines Online Meetings, ist bei Adhoc-Meetings standardmässig auf 10 Minuten gesetzt und kann unter Einstellungen / Mein persönlicher Raum / Automatische Sperre eingesehen werden.

Für geplante Meetings existiert leider keine solche Einstellung beim Erstellen des Meetings. Jedoch kann nach dem Start eines Meetings die entsprechende Funktion im Menu aktiviert werden.

Nachträgliches Sperren eines geplanten Meetings

Als Vorlage speichern

Zu guter Letzt sollten die konfigurierten Security-Einstellungen als Template gespeichert werden um für zukünftige Meetings ebenfalls abgesichert zu sein. Gespeicherte Vorlagen können oben Rechtes beim Erstellen eines Meetings ausgewählt werden.

Einstellungen als Vorlage speichern

Fazit

Die gratis Version von WebEx Online Meetings kommt etwas unbedarft daher. Für Adhoc-Meetings kann kein Passwort gesetzt werden. Die Standard Einstellungen für geplante Meetings erzeugt den Eindruck, dass ein Passwort für die Teilnahme nötig ist, dies stimmt jedoch so nicht, den Teilnehmer können mittels des zugestellten Links ohne Eingabe des Passworts teilnehmen. Jedoch bietet WebEx entsprechende Einstellungen, um seine Online-Meetings abzusichern. Idealerweise wäre diese bereits als Standard-Einstellungen vorhanden. Mit der Speichern-Als-Vorlage-Funktion kann dies jedoch selbst nachgeholt werden.

Über den Autor

Dominik Altermatt

Dominik Altermatt arbeitet seit 2003 in der IT-Branche. Unter anderem hat er sich mehrere Jahre mit Data Leakage Prevention bei einer Grossbank beschäftigt. Heute liegen seine Schwerpunkte neben klassischen Penetration Tests bei der Einführung und der Weiterentwicklung von IT-Security-Management-Prozessen. (ORCID 0000-0003-4575-4597)

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Traffic-Analyse mit Windows-Boardmitteln

Traffic-Analyse mit Windows-Boardmitteln

Dominik Altermatt

SANS SEC503 Intrusion Detection In-Depth

SANS SEC503 Intrusion Detection In-Depth

Dominik Altermatt

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv