GraphQL - Attack possibilities and countermeasures

GraphQL

Attack possibilities and countermeasures

Andrea Hauser
by Andrea Hauser
on October 01, 2020
time to read: 11 minutes

Keypoints

This how secure GraphQL really is

  • GraphQL offers an alternative to REST APIs
  • Each new technology brings new stumbling blocks for developers
  • GraphQL specific attacks include introspection queries and batching attacks
  • Awareness of such vulnerabilities can prevent them during development

GraphQL is an alternative to REST-API. GraphQL is a data query and manipulation language. Compared to REST-APIs, GraphQL allows a client to query only the exact data needed. But with new technologies, new ways of attack are constantly emerging. In this article some problems of GraphQL are shown and how they can be solved.

In order to understand ways to attack GraphQL implementations, you must first understand the basics of GraphQL itself. GraphQL offers a way to query data and get real-time updates. In this article queries and manipulations are discussed.

Querying data looks like this:

query{
  human(id: "1000") {
    name
    height
  }
}

This query for the person with the ID 1000 is then answered as follows:

{
  "data": {
    "human": {
      "name": "Luke Skywalker",
      "height": 1.72
    }
  }
}

It is noticeable that the received data has the same structure as the issued query. The data in the example above is displayed nicely, but the whole thing looks usually a bit less nice in the request body of the POST request:

{"operationName":null,"variables":{},"query":"{\n  human(id: \"1000\") {\n    name\n    height\n  }\n}\n"}

And the response body looks like this:

{"data":{"human":{"name":"Luke Skywalker","height":1.72}}}

The example for mutations will introduce variables at the same time. The mutation itself looks like this:

mutation ($ep: Episode!, $review: ReviewInput!) {
  createReview(episode: $ep, review: $review) {
    stars
    commentary
  }
}

At the same time the variables $ep and $review must be defined, this is done as follows:

{
  "ep": "JEDI",
  "review": {
    "stars": 5,
    "commentary": "This is a great movie!"
  }
}

In the POST request body the whole thing looks like this:

{"operationName":null,"variables":{"ep":"JEDI","review":{"stars":5,"commentary":"This is a great movie!"}},"query":"mutation ($ep: Episode!, $review: ReviewInput!) {\n  createReview(episode: $ep, review: $review) {\n    stars\n    commentary\n  }\n}\n"}

The response to this mutation is as follows:

{
  "data": {
    "createReview": {
      "stars": 5,
      "commentary": "Test is a great movie!"
    }
  }
}

Besides the effective creation of the review with createReview(...), this example also asks for the result of the action just performed. These are stars and commentary in the curly brackets after createReview(...). Querying the result of the mutation is not very interesting in this example, but if there was a mutation like login(username,password), the result could be the login status and the authentication token.

This covers the most important basics which are necessary for further understanding. The basic examples of GraphQL used in this article come directly from graphql.org. For further examples and explanations it is recommended to use them directly, because the documentation available there is comprehensive and understandable.

Attack possibilities

The next sections each deal with concrete attack possibilities on a GraphQL endpoint.

Identification of GraphQL endpoints

In the simplest cases, the GraphQL endpoint is addressed with the URL /graphql. However, the endpoint can be freely chosen by developers. If the request does not go to /graphql or something similar, the POST request body must be examined more closely. If it contains keywords like query or mutation or has many characters like \n in it, it can also be a GraphQL endpoint. How POST Request and Response Bodies look like in detail has already been discussed in the introduction.

Another way to identify GraphQL endpoints is to deliberately provoke error messages. If the following is sent to a GraphQL endpoint query={} and the response contains something in this direction "Syntax Error: Expected Name, found }" it can be assumed that it is a GraphQL endpoint.

It is also important to note that GraphQL endpoints can be addressed via both GET and POST requests. Both variants should always be tried.

Debug URLs

If not properly disabled, appending ?debug=1 to the URL can enable descriptive error messages and stacktraces. For attacks on GraphQL endpoints, these stacktraces can make debugging of failed attacks much easier. It should be ensured that in production environments no technical error messages can be viewed and the debug URL has been disabled.

Introspection

Introspection queries are queries that allow you to query the entire schema of an application; that is, to list all possible queries and mutations as well as all defined types. The default setups of GraphQL do not prevent introspection queries. The information that can be obtained by an introspection query makes the work of an attacker easier. A comprehensive introspection query looks like this:

query IntrospectionQuery {
  __schema {
    queryType { name }
    mutationType { name }
    subscriptionType { name }
    types {
      ...FullType
    }
    directives {
      name
      description
      locations
      args {
        ...InputValue
      }
    }
  }
}
fragment FullType on __Type {
  kind
  name
  description
  fields(includeDeprecated: true) {
    name
    description
    args {
      ...InputValue
    }
    type {
      ...TypeRef
    }
    isDeprecated
    deprecationReason
  }
  inputFields {
    ...InputValue
  }
  interfaces {
    ...TypeRef
  }
  enumValues(includeDeprecated: true) {
    name
    description
    isDeprecated
    deprecationReason
  }
  possibleTypes {
    ...TypeRef
  }
}
fragment InputValue on __InputValue {
  name
  description
  type { ...TypeRef }
  defaultValue
}
fragment TypeRef on __Type {
  kind
  name
  ofType {
    kind
    name
    ofType {
      kind
      name
      ofType {
        kind
        name
        ofType {
          kind
          name
          ofType {
            kind
            name
            ofType {
              kind
              name
              ofType {
                kind
                name
              }
            }
          }
        }
      }
    }
  }
}

The Response to such an introspection query is usually very large, processing it manually and extracting the exciting information from it is very time-consuming. There are tools like GraphQL Voyager, which can visualize the results of introspection queries. Such visualizations can then be evaluated and the exciting areas can be approached more specifically. However, it may also be that this visualization makes it clear that data fields can be accessed that should not be public.

In order to prevent the simple and complete evaluation of the entire schema, Introspection should be deactivated in the productive environment. Deactivating GraphQL Introspection varies in simplicity depending on the language used. For PHP, for example, Introspection can be deactivated as follows:

<?php
use GraphQL\GraphQL;
use GraphQL\Validator\Rules\DisableIntrospection;
use GraphQL\Validator\DocumentValidator;

DocumentValidator::addRule(new DisableIntrospection());

The exact details for other implementation languages used can be found most easily in the documentation of the implementation itself.

GraphiQL

Besides Introspection itself, developers can also use GraphiQL. GraphiQL is the GraphQL IDE. The IDE can be reached for example under endpoints like /graphiql, /graphql/console or /__graphql. This makes the same information available as with Introspection, but in a nice and readable form.

Appearance of the GraphQL IDE GraphiQL

GraphiQL should only be used in development or test environments that are not available to the public.

Denial of Service

If queries are written incorrectly, loops between two queries may occur. These can then be nested further and further into each other and thus lead to overloading of the server and thus to denial of service. As an example an application is presented, which lists authors and their works. With a query an author can be queried, the result contains his works. In addition, there is a query where the author of a work can be queried. These two queries can be nested as deeply as desired.

query {
  author(id:1) {
    books {
      author {
        books {
          author {
            books {
              author {
                …
              }
            }
          }
        }
      }
    }
  }
}

There are different approaches how to solve this problem. On the one hand depth limiting can be implemented. A maximum limit is set for how deep queries may be nested within each other. On the other hand, a maximum limit can be set for the execution time of a query and the execution of a query is aborted after this limit.

Batching Attacks

In the GraphQL documentation batching is described as follows:

Without additional consideration, a naive GraphQL service could be very “chatty” or repeatedly load data from your databases. This is commonly solved by a batching technique, where multiple requests for data from a backend are collected over a short period of time and then dispatched in a single request to an underlying database or microservice.

This means that a request can contain several mutations at once, which are then processed one by one. This allows, for example, brute force attacks on login procedures and two-factor mechanisms with tokens. Since only a single large POST request is required for this, it is possible that such a brute force attack is not recognized by classic WAFs. To prevent such attacks, brute force attacks must be recognized and handled in the business logic.

Classical Attacks

Besides all the GraphQL specific vulnerabilities, it should not be forgotten that the internal services and databases behind the GraphQL API may suffer from classic vulnerabilities from the OWASP Top 10 or similar. GraphQL also does not implement _authentication and authorization, the implementation of these concepts is left to the developers in the backend and should also always be checked whenever a GraphQL-API is encountered.

Conclusion

With every new technology there are more pitfalls for developers. The attacks listed here and their countermeasures can be used as a first step to implement a more secure GraphQL application.

About the Author

Andrea Hauser

Andrea Hauser graduated with a Bachelor of Science FHO in information technology at the University of Applied Sciences Rapperswil. She is focusing her offensive work on web application security testing and the realization of social engineering campaigns. Her research focus is creating and analyzing deepfakes. (ORCID 0000-0002-5161-8658)

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

Transport Layer Security

Transport Layer Security

Andrea Hauser

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Andrea Hauser

IT Security Tips

IT Security Tips

Andrea Hauser

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

GraphQL - Angriffsmöglichkeiten und Gegenmassnahmen

GraphQL

Angriffsmöglichkeiten und Gegenmassnahmen

Andrea Hauser
von Andrea Hauser
am 01. Oktober 2020
Lesezeit: 12 Minuten

Keypoints

So sicher ist GraphQL

  • GraphQL bietet eine Alternative zu REST-APIs
  • Jede neue Technologie bringt neue Stolpersteine für Entwickler mit sich
  • GraphQL spezifische Angriffe sind unter anderem Introspection-Queries und Batching-Attacken
  • Durch das Bewusstsein für solchen Schwachstellen können diese bereits in der Entwicklung verhindert werden

GraphQL ist eine Alternative zu REST-API. Bei GraphQL handelt es sich um eine Datenabfrage- und manipulationssprache. Im Vergleich zu REST-APIs ist es mit GraphQL für einen Client möglich nur die genau benötigten Daten abzufragen. Doch mit neuen Technologien entstehen auch immer neue Angriffswege. In diesem Artikel werden einige Probleme von GraphQL aufgezeigt und festgehalten, wie diese behoben werden können.

Um Angriffswege auf GraphQL-Implementationen zu verstehen, müssen zuerst die Grundlagen von GraphQL selbst verstanden werden. GraphQL bietet eine Möglichkeit Daten abzufragen zu manipulieren sowie das Erhalten von Echtzeit-Updates. In diesem Artikel werden Abfragen und Manipulationen behandelt.

Das Abfragen von Daten sieht folgendermassen aus:

query{
  human(id: "1000") {
    name
    height
  }
}

Diese Abfrage für die Person mit der ID 1000 wird dann beispielsweise wie folgt beantwortet:

{
  "data": {
    "human": {
      "name": "Luke Skywalker",
      "height": 1.72
    }
  }
}

Dabei fällt auf, dass die erhaltenen Daten die gleiche Struktur haben, wie die ausgestellte Query. Die Daten im oberen Beispiel sind schön dargestellt, allerdings sieht das Ganze im Request-Body des POST-Requests meist etwas weniger schön aus:

{"operationName":null,"variables":{},"query":"{\n  human(id: \"1000\") {\n    name\n    height\n  }\n}\n"}

Und der Response-Body sieht wie folgt aus:

{"data":{"human":{"name":"Luke Skywalker","height":1.72}}}

Mit dem Beispiel für Mutationen werden gleichzeitig Variablen einführen. Dabei sieht die Mutation selbst wie folgt aus:

mutation ($ep: Episode!, $review: ReviewInput!) {
  createReview(episode: $ep, review: $review) {
    stars
    commentary
  }
}

Gleichzeitig müssen dafür allerdings noch die Variablen $ep und $review definiert werden, dies geschieht wie folgt:

{
  "ep": "JEDI",
  "review": {
    "stars": 5,
    "commentary": "This is a great movie!"
  }
}

Im POST-Request-Body sieht das Ganze dann wie folgt aus:

{"operationName":null,"variables":{"ep":"JEDI","review":{"stars":5,"commentary":"This is a great movie!"}},"query":"mutation ($ep: Episode!, $review: ReviewInput!) {\n  createReview(episode: $ep, review: $review) {\n    stars\n    commentary\n  }\n}\n"}

Die Response auf diese Mutation sieht wie folgt aus:

{
  "data": {
    "createReview": {
      "stars": 5,
      "commentary": "Test is a great movie!"
    }
  }
}

Neben der effektiven Kreierung des Reviews mit createReview(...) wird in diesem Beispiel zudem noch das Resultat der eben durchgeführten Aktion abgefragt. Dabei handelt es sich um stars und commentary in den geschweiften Klammern nach createReview(...). Die Abfrage des Resultats der Mutation ist in diesem Beispiel nicht sehr spannend, wenn an dieser Stelle jedoch eine Mutation wie login(username,password) wäre, könnte dort als Resultat zum Beispiel der Login-Status und das Authentication-Token abgefragt werden.

Damit sind die wichtigsten Grundlagen abgedeckt, die für das weitere Verständnis notwendig sind. Die in diesem Artikel verwendeten Grundlagenbeispiele von GraphQL stammen direkt von graphql.org. Für weiterführende Beispiele und Erklärungen wird empfohlen direkt darauf zurückzugreifen, denn die dort vorhandene Dokumentation ist umfangreich und verständlich.

Angriffsmöglichkeiten

Die nächsten Abschnitte behandeln jeweils konkrete Angriffsmöglichkeiten auf einen GraphQL-Endpunkt.

Identifikation von GraphQL-Endpunkten

In den einfachsten Fällen wird der GraphQL-Endpunkt mit der URL /graphql angesprochen. Der Endpunkt kann allerdings durch Entwickler frei gewählt werden. Wenn der Request nicht an /graphql oder etwas ähnliches geht, muss der POST Request Body genauer untersucht werden. Wenn sich darin Schlüsselwörter wie query oder mutation befinden oder es viele Zeichen wie \n darin hat, kann es sich ebenfalls um einen GraphQL-Endpunkt handeln. Wie POST Request und Response Bodies im Detail aussehen, wurde bereits in der Einführung angesprochen.

Eine weitere Möglichkeit GraphQL-Endpunkte zu identifizieren liegt darin, bewusst Fehlermeldungen zu provozieren. Wenn an einen GraphQL-Endpunkt das folgende geschickt wird query={} und die Antwort etwas in diese Richtung beinhaltet "Syntax Error: Expected Name, found }" kann davon ausgegangen werden, dass es sich um einen GraphQL-Endpunkt handeln.

Ebenfalls wichtig zu beachten ist, dass GraphQL-Endpunkte sowohl über GET wie auch POST Requests ansprechbar sein können. Es sollten immer beide Varianten versucht werden.

Debug URLs

Wenn nicht sauber deaktiviert, können durch das Anhängen von ?debug=1 in der URL deskriptive Fehlermeldungen sowie Stacktraces aktiviert werden. Bei Angriffen auf GraphQL-Endpunkte können diese Stacktraces das Debugging von fehlgeschlagenen Angriffen deutlich einfacher machen. Es sollte sichergestellt werden, dass in produktiven Umgebungen keine technischen Fehlermeldungen eingesehen werden können und die Debug URL deaktiviert wurde.

Introspection

Bei Introspection-Queries handelt es sich um Abfragen, die es einem Erlauben das gesamte Schema einer Applikation abzufragen; das heisst alle möglichen Queries und Mutationen sowie alle definierten Typen aufzulisten. Die Default-Setups von GraphQL verhindern Introspection-Queries nicht. Die Informationen, die durch eine Introspection-Query gewonnen werden können, erleichtern einem Angreifer die Arbeit. Eine umfassende Introspection-Query sieht wie folgt aus:

query IntrospectionQuery {
  __schema {
    queryType { name }
    mutationType { name }
    subscriptionType { name }
    types {
      ...FullType
    }
    directives {
      name
      description
      locations
      args {
        ...InputValue
      }
    }
  }
}
fragment FullType on __Type {
  kind
  name
  description
  fields(includeDeprecated: true) {
    name
    description
    args {
      ...InputValue
    }
    type {
      ...TypeRef
    }
    isDeprecated
    deprecationReason
  }
  inputFields {
    ...InputValue
  }
  interfaces {
    ...TypeRef
  }
  enumValues(includeDeprecated: true) {
    name
    description
    isDeprecated
    deprecationReason
  }
  possibleTypes {
    ...TypeRef
  }
}
fragment InputValue on __InputValue {
  name
  description
  type { ...TypeRef }
  defaultValue
}
fragment TypeRef on __Type {
  kind
  name
  ofType {
    kind
    name
    ofType {
      kind
      name
      ofType {
        kind
        name
        ofType {
          kind
          name
          ofType {
            kind
            name
            ofType {
              kind
              name
              ofType {
                kind
                name
              }
            }
          }
        }
      }
    }
  }
}

Die Response auf eine solche Introspection-Query ist meist sehr gross, diese manuell zu verarbeiten und die spannenden Informationen daraus zu gewinnen ist sehr aufwendig. Es gibt Tools wie zum Beispiel GraphQL Voyager, welche die Resultate von Introspection-Queries visualisieren können. Solche Visualisierungen können dann ausgewertet werden und die spannenden Bereiche gezielter angegangen werden. Es kann allerdings auch sein, dass durch diese Visualisierung klar wird, dass auf Datenfelder zugegriffen werden können, die nicht öffentlich sein sollten.

Um das einfache und vollständige Auswerten des gesamten Schemas zu verhindern, sollte Introspection in der produktiven Umgebung deaktiviert werden. Das Deaktivieren der GraphQL Introspection ist je nach eingesetzter Sprache unterschiedlich einfach. Für PHP zum Beispiel kann Introspection wie folgt deaktiviert werden:

<?php
use GraphQL\GraphQL;
use GraphQL\Validator\Rules\DisableIntrospection;
use GraphQL\Validator\DocumentValidator;

DocumentValidator::addRule(new DisableIntrospection());

Die genauen Details für weitere verwendete Implementationssprache können am einfachsten in der Dokumentation der Implementation selbst gefunden werden.

GraphiQL

Neben Introspection selbst können Entwickler auch GraphiQL nutzen. Bei GraphiQL handelt es sich um die GraphQL IDE. Die IDE ist zum Beispiel unter Endpunkten wie /graphiql, /graphql/console oder /__graphql erreichbar. Damit werden die gleichen Informationen wie mit Introspection verfügbar gemacht, allerdings in einer schönen beziehungsweise lesbaren Form.

Aussehen der GraphQL IDE GraphiQL

GraphiQL sollte lediglich in Entwicklungs- oder Testumgebungen eingesetzt werden, die nicht der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich sind.

Denial of Service

Wenn Queries falsch geschrieben werden, kann es zu Loops zwischen zwei Queries kommen. Diese können dann immer weiter ineinander verschachtelt werden und so zu einer Überlastung des Servers und damit zu Denial of Service führen. Als Beispiel wird eine Applikation vorgestellt, die Autoren und deren Werke aufführt. Mit einer Query kann ein Autor abgefragt werden, das Resultat beinhaltet seine Werke. Zudem besteht eine Query bei der von einem Werk der Autor abgefragt werden kann. Diese beiden Queries lassen sich beliebig tief ineinander verschachteln.

query {
  author(id:1) {
    books {
      author {
        books {
          author {
            books {
              author {
                …
              }
            }
          }
        }
      }
    }
  }
}

Es gibt unterschiedliche Ansätze, wie dieses Problem behoben werden kann. Einerseits kann Depth Limiting umgesetzt werden. Dabei wird eine maximale Limite festgelegt, wie tief Queries ineinander verschachtelt werden dürfen. Andererseits kann eine maximale Limite für die Ausführungszeit einer Query festgelegt werden und die Ausführung einer Query wird nach dieser Limite abgebrochen.

Batching Attacks

In der GraphQL-Dokumentation wird Batching wie folgt beschrieben:

Without additional consideration, a naive GraphQL service could be very “chatty” or repeatedly load data from your databases. This is commonly solved by a batching technique, where multiple requests for data from a backend are collected over a short period of time and then dispatched in a single request to an underlying database or microservice.

Dies bedeutet, dass in einer Request mehrere Mutationen auf einmal mitgegeben werden können, die danach eine nach der anderen abgearbeitet werden. Damit lassen sich zum Beispiel Brute-Force-Angriffe auf Login-Verfahren und Zweifaktor-Mechanismen mit Tokens durchführen. Da nur ein einziger grosser POST-Request dafür benötigt wird, kann es sein, dass ein solcher Brute-Force-Angriff durch klassische WAFs nicht erkannt wird. Um solche Angriffe zu verhindern müssen Brute-Force-Angriffe in der Business-Logik erkannt und behandelt werden.

Klassische Angriffe

Neben all den GraphQL spezifischen Schwachstellen soll nicht vergessen werden, dass die internen Services und Datenbanken, die hinter der GraphQL-API stecken, an klassischen Schwachstellen aus der OWASP Top 10 oder ähnlichem leiden können. GraphQL setzt zudem keine Authentisierung und Autorisierung um, die Implementierung dieser Konzepte ist den Entwicklern im Backend überlassen und sollten ebenfalls immer überprüft werden, wenn eine GraphQL-API angetroffen wird.

Fazit

Mit jeder neuen Technologie gibt es weitere Stolperfalle für Entwickler. Die hier aufgeführten Angriffe und deren Gegenmassnahmen können als erster Schritt für die Umsetzung einer sichereren GraphQL Applikation genutzt werden.

Über die Autorin

Andrea Hauser

Andrea Hauser hat ihren Bachelor of Science FHO in Informatik an der Hochschule für Technik Rapperswil abgeschlossen. Sie setzt sich im offensiven Bereich in erster Linie mit Web Application Security Testing und der Umsetzung von Social Engineering Kampagnen auseinander. Zudem ist sie in der Forschung zum Thema Deepfakes tätig. (ORCID 0000-0002-5161-8658)

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Server-Side-Request-Forgery

Server-Side-Request-Forgery

Andrea Hauser

Policy Analyzer

Policy Analyzer

Andrea Hauser

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv