SQLite forensic's notes - Make sure Delete is Delete

SQLite forensic's notes

Make sure Delete is Delete

Rocco Gagliardi
by Rocco Gagliardi
on August 19, 2021
time to read: 8 minutes

Keypoints

This is how SQLite Forensics work

  • SQLite is used everywhere
  • SQLite manages and guards our most sensitive data
  • Under certain conditions, it is possible to recover deleted records
  • Use special pragmas to make sure SQLite removes deleted data

This article originates from a grep on the wrong directory. Casually, I remembered having deleted that particular record in an SQLite DB and finding it in the grep results, even if surrounded by strange characters, left me surprised for a moment. We often don’t think deeply about how systems manage our data and assume that everything is much more complex and precise than it is (in this case: Delete is not delete).

SQLite was developed in early 2000 to eliminate the dependency of a simple but key application on an Informix DB server. Since then, having an SQL server on a personal computer or even on a PDA has become a fundamental part of the development of applications: Motorola, AOL, Symbian, up to Android and iOS, all store data in local SQLite databases.

And the information stored becomes more and more sensitive.

Why SQLite is important

SQLite is everywhere. It is in web browser, it is in phone, it is in car, and it is definitely in commercial planes. It is where iMessages and WhatsApp messages are stored, and if you do a find on your computer for *.db, you will be amazed at how many SQLite databases you find.

SQLite is the de facto standard technology to store structured information in a file on a local system. Any application that needs to maintain normalized data without resorting to heavy applications such as SQL servers, uses this file-based or in-memory, lightweight, compact and efficient structure. This has made the software a fundamental piece of many applications, manager and custodian of our most sensitive data.

SQLite Database Format

I don’t want to explain the inner workings of SQLite. The important things to remember:

Where is the Data

Being a local file-based database, the data can be retrieved using the standard interface provided by the SQLite daemon, without further authorization steps. But what happens with the deleted data? It depends. As we will see below, some parameters affect how data is removed from the database file. In general, and by default, however, the data remains in the file and the space is just marked free. It is therefore possible to go through the list of freeblocks and retrieve the deleted content, in some way.

The algorithms used to manage the information in the database are well known, therefore it is possible with minimal effort to program tools that retrieve the information. The problem lies, absurdly, in the simplicity of the structure itself. As mentioned, the data are easily traceable, and on each page, there are only records belonging to a specific table, but which one? If we have a database with several tables, and we delete some records, if there are any left on that page, we can be sure that the deleted data belongs to the table to which the remaining records belong, but otherwise, it is not possible to know which table they are to. In this case, it is customary to bet on membership based on the content and form of the record. This process, however, becomes more and more inaccurate as the size of the deleted blocks increases or the content is binary; for this reason, the data cannot always be reconstructed perfectly.

Accessing information is very simple. With few lines of code, is possible to dump the key parameters necessary to reconstruct deleted records:

rcc@vic:~/scip_Labs/labs.20210819_sqlite3_forensic/databases$ python3 info.py --database contacts-v1.db
Passed databasename is contacts-v1.db
Database contacts-v1.db exists and is a regular file.
Open database contacts-v1.db
Database version:         SQLite format 3
Page size (bytes):        4096
Database size (pages):    1929
Freelist first page nr:   25
------------
Address of the first freelist page:  b'\x00\x00\x00\x19'  ->  25
Number of freelist pages:            b'\x00\x00\x01\xe7'  ->  487
*** Read page nr:  25
   - Page header:   b'\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x01\xe6'
    Address of the next freelist trunk page :  b'\x00\x00\x00\x00'  ->  0
    Address of the next freelist leaf page  :  b'\x00\x00\x01\xe6'  ->  486
*** Read page nr:  486
   - Page header:   b'\r\x00\x00\x00Z\x00\xe2\x00'
    Address of the next freelist trunk page :  b'\r\x00\x00\x00'  ->  218103808
    Address of the next freelist leaf page  :  b'Z\x00\xe2\x00'  ->  1510007296
    Address of the next freelist page :  b'\r\x00\x00\x00'  ->  218103808
*** Read page nr:  218103808
   - Page header:   b''
    Address of the next freelist trunk page :  b''  ->  0
    Address of the next freelist leaf page  :  b''  ->  0
    This is the last freelist page.

Tools and Recovery Rates

There are standard tests to check the quality of a tool in restoring deleted records. Note, in any case, that even the best tools in the best conditions do not go beyond the recovery of 50% of deleted records, depending on the type of data stored (text or binary).

SQLite Pragmas

As mentioned, the data recovery success rate depends on the options that are in use. SQLite has some mechanisms to shrink or overwrites space that is no longer in use. If they are in use, the recovery of the deleted data is practically impossible.

The following options affect the behavior of the deleted records.

Vacuum

When auto-vacuum is disabled and data is deleted from a database, the database file remains the same size. Unused database file pages are added to a freelist and reused for subsequent inserts. When the auto-vacuum mode is 1 or full, the freelist pages are moved to the end of the database file and the database file is truncated to remove the freelist pages at every transaction commit. Note that auto-vacuuming must be turned on before any table is created.

Secure Delete On

When secure_delete is on, SQLite overwrites deleted content with zeros. This is the most secure option to make sure deleted records are not recoverable. We suggest to use this pragma whenever possible, even if it slightly impacts on performance.

Journal Mode

The journal mode, rollback or write-ahead, is used for atomic transactions. Both kinds of logs keep a history of the last actions performed in the database, therefore are a valuable source of data, in the case of forensic analysis. Many parameters can influence the logs (length, persistence, etc.), but in general, if they are present, the few tools based on log recovery perform much better than tools that analyze only the database; in some particular cases, the recovery of the deleted information was 100%.

Summary

SQLite allows us to store structured information without the need for a heavy system like a database. In any case, it is advisable, even if it is not possible to compare the security options between a database server and SQLite, to use some precautions to make the use of the application safer, for example by making sure that the deleted records are irrecoverable.

About the Author

Rocco Gagliardi

Rocco Gagliardi has been working in IT since the 1980s and specialized in IT security in the 1990s. His main focus lies in network routing, firewalling and log management.

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Microsoft365DSC

Microsoft365DSC

Rocco Gagliardi

Office 365 Teams Security

Office 365 Teams Security

Rocco Gagliardi

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

SQLite Forensik - Löschen sollte gelöscht sein

SQLite Forensik

Löschen sollte gelöscht sein

Rocco Gagliardi
von Rocco Gagliardi
am 19. August 2021
Lesezeit: 9 Minuten

Keypoints

So funktioniert SQLite-Forensik

  • SQLite wird überall verwendet
  • SQLite verwaltet und schützt unsere sensibelsten Daten
  • unter bestimmten Bedingungen ist es möglich, gelöschte Datensätze wiederherzustellen
  • mit speziellen Pragmas kann man sicherstellen, dass SQLite gelöschte Daten entfernt

Dieser Artikel stammt von einem grep auf das falsche Verzeichnis. Zufällig erinnerte ich mich daran, diesen bestimmten Datensatz in einer SQLite-DB gelöscht zu haben, und als ich ihn in den grep-Ergebnissen fand, auch wenn er von seltsamen Zeichen umgeben war, war ich einen Moment lang überrascht. Wir denken oft nicht darüber nach, wie Systeme unsere Daten verwalten, und nehmen an, dass alles viel komplexer und präziser ist, als es ist (in diesem Fall: Löschen ist nicht gleich löschen).

SQLite wurde Anfang 2000 entwickelt, um die Abhängigkeit einer einfachen, aber wichtigen Anwendung von einem Informix-DB-Server zu beseitigen. Seitdem ist ein SQL-Server auf einem Personal Computer oder sogar auf einem PDA zu einem grundlegenden Bestandteil der Anwendungsentwicklung geworden: Motorola, AOL, Symbian, bis hin zu Android und iOS, alle speichern Daten in lokalen SQLite-Datenbanken.

Und die gespeicherten Informationen werden immer sensibler.

Warum SQLite wichtig ist

SQLite ist überall. Es ist im Webbrowser, im Telefon, im Auto und definitiv auch in Verkehrsflugzeugen. In ihr werden iMessages und WhatsApp-Nachrichten gespeichert, und wenn Sie auf Ihrem Computer nach *.db suchen, werden Sie erstaunt sein, wie viele SQLite-Datenbanken Sie finden.

SQLite ist die De-facto-Standardtechnologie zur Speicherung strukturierter Informationen in einer Datei auf einem lokalen System. Jede Anwendung, die normalisierte Daten verwalten muss, ohne auf schwerfällige Anwendungen wie SQL-Server zurückgreifen zu müssen, verwendet diese dateibasierte oder speicherinterne, leichtgewichtige, kompakte und effiziente Struktur. Dies hat die Software zu einem grundlegenden Bestandteil vieler Anwendungen gemacht, Verwalter und Hüter unserer sensibelsten Daten.

SQLite-Datenbankformat

Ich möchte hier nicht das Innenleben von SQLite erklären. Die wichtigsten Dinge, die Sie sich merken sollten:

Wo sind die Daten?

Da es sich um eine lokale dateibasierte Datenbank handelt, können die Daten über die vom SQLite-Daemon bereitgestellte Standardschnittstelle ohne weitere Autorisierungsschritte abgerufen werden. Aber was passiert mit den gelöschten Daten? Das kommt darauf an. Wie wir weiter unten sehen werden, beeinflussen einige Parameter, wie die Daten aus der Datenbankdatei entfernt werden. Im Allgemeinen und standardmässig bleiben jedoch die Daten in der Datei und der Platz wird einfach als frei markiert. Es ist daher möglich, die Liste der Freeblocks zu durchsuchen und den gelöschten Inhalt auf irgendeine Weise wiederherzustellen.

Die Algorithmen, mit denen die Informationen in der Datenbank verwaltet werden, sind gut bekannt, so dass es mit minimalem Aufwand möglich ist, Werkzeuge zu programmieren, die die Informationen abrufen. Das Problem liegt absurderweise in der Einfachheit der Struktur selbst. Wie bereits erwähnt, sind die Daten leicht auffindbar, und auf jeder Seite gibt es nur Datensätze, die zu einer bestimmten Tabelle gehören, aber zu welcher? Wenn wir eine Datenbank mit mehreren Tabellen haben und einige Datensätze löschen, können wir sicher sein, dass die gelöschten Daten zu der Tabelle gehören, zu der auch die verbleibenden Datensätze gehören, aber ansonsten ist es nicht möglich zu wissen, zu welcher Tabelle sie gehören. In diesem Fall ist es üblich, anhand des Inhalts und der Form des Datensatzes auf die Zugehörigkeit zu wetten. Dieses Verfahren wird jedoch mit zunehmender Grösse der gelöschten Blöcke oder mit binärem Inhalt immer ungenauer, so dass die Daten nicht immer perfekt rekonstruiert werden können.

Der Zugriff auf die Informationen ist sehr einfach. Mit wenigen Zeilen Code ist es möglich, die für die Rekonstruktion der gelöschten Datensätze erforderlichen Schlüsselparameter auszulesen:

rcc@vic:~/scip_Labs/labs.20210819_sqlite3_forensic/databases$ python3 info.py --database contacts-v1.db
Passed databasename is contacts-v1.db
Database contacts-v1.db exists and is a regular file.
Open database contacts-v1.db
Database version:         SQLite format 3
Page size (bytes):        4096
Database size (pages):    1929
Freelist first page nr:   25
------------
Address of the first freelist page:  b'\x00\x00\x00\x19'  ->  25
Number of freelist pages:            b'\x00\x00\x01\xe7'  ->  487
*** Read page nr:  25
   - Page header:   b'\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x01\xe6'
    Address of the next freelist trunk page :  b'\x00\x00\x00\x00'  ->  0
    Address of the next freelist leaf page  :  b'\x00\x00\x01\xe6'  ->  486
*** Read page nr:  486
   - Page header:   b'\r\x00\x00\x00Z\x00\xe2\x00'
    Address of the next freelist trunk page :  b'\r\x00\x00\x00'  ->  218103808
    Address of the next freelist leaf page  :  b'Z\x00\xe2\x00'  ->  1510007296
    Address of the next freelist page :  b'\r\x00\x00\x00'  ->  218103808
*** Read page nr:  218103808
   - Page header:   b''
    Address of the next freelist trunk page :  b''  ->  0
    Address of the next freelist leaf page  :  b''  ->  0
    This is the last freelist page.

Tools und Wiederherstellungsraten

Es gibt Standardtests zur Überprüfung der Qualität eines Tools bei der Wiederherstellung gelöschter Datensätze. Beachten Sie auf jeden Fall, dass selbst die besten Tools unter den besten Bedingungen nicht über die Wiederherstellung von 50 % der gelöschten Datensätze hinausgehen, abhängig von der Art der gespeicherten Daten (Text oder Binärdaten).

SQLite-Pragmas

Wie bereits erwähnt, hängt die Erfolgsquote bei der Datenwiederherstellung von den verwendeten Optionen ab. SQLite verfügt über einige Mechanismen zum Schrumpfen oder Überschreiben von Speicherplatz, der nicht mehr verwendet wird. Wenn sie in Gebrauch sind, ist die Wiederherstellung der gelöschten Daten praktisch unmöglich.

Die folgenden Optionen beeinflussen das Verhalten der gelöschten Datensätze.

Vacuum

Wenn auto-vacuum deaktiviert ist und Daten aus einer Datenbank gelöscht werden, bleibt die Datenbankdatei in ihrer Grösse unverändert. Ungenutzte Seiten der Datenbankdatei werden einer freelist hinzugefügt und für nachfolgende Einfügungen wiederverwendet. Wenn der Auto-Vacuum-Modus 1 oder full ist, werden die Freelist-Seiten an das Ende der Datenbankdatei verschoben und die Datenbankdatei wird abgeschnitten, um die Freelist-Seiten bei jedem Transaktions-Commit zu entfernen. Beachten Sie, dass Auto-Vakuuming eingeschaltet sein muss, bevor eine Tabelle erstellt wird.

Sicheres Löschen ein

Wenn secure_delete eingeschaltet ist, überschreibt SQLite den gelöschten Inhalt mit Nullen. Dies ist die sicherste Option, um sicherzustellen, dass gelöschte Datensätze nicht wiederherstellbar sind. Wir empfehlen, dieses Pragma zu verwenden, wann immer dies möglich ist, auch wenn es sich leicht auf die Leistung auswirkt.

Journal-Modus

Der Journalmodus, Rollback oder Write-Ahead, wird für atomare Transaktionen verwendet. Beide Arten von Protokollen speichern eine Historie der letzten in der Datenbank durchgeführten Aktionen und sind daher eine wertvolle Datenquelle im Falle einer forensischen Analyse. Viele Parameter können die Logs beeinflussen (Länge, Persistenz, etc.), aber im Allgemeinen, wenn sie vorhanden sind, schneiden die wenigen Tools, die auf Log Recovery basieren, viel besser ab als Tools, die nur die Datenbank analysieren; in einigen besonderen Fällen war die Wiederherstellung der gelöschten Informationen 100%.

Zusammenfassung

SQLite ermöglicht es uns, strukturierte Informationen zu speichern, ohne ein schweres System wie eine Datenbank zu benötigen. Auch wenn es nicht möglich ist, die Sicherheitsoptionen zwischen einem Datenbankserver und SQLite zu vergleichen, ist es in jedem Fall ratsam, einige Vorkehrungen zu treffen, um die Nutzung der Anwendung sicherer zu machen, indem man beispielsweise sicherstellt, dass gelöschte Datensätze nicht wiederherstellbar sind.

Über den Autor

Rocco Gagliardi

Rocco Gagliardi ist seit den 1980er Jahren im Bereich der Informationstechnologie tätig. In den 1990er Jahren hat er sich ganz der Informationssicherheit verschrieben. Die Schwerpunkte seiner Arbeit liegen im Bereich Routing, Firewalling und Log Management.

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Microsoft365DSC

Microsoft365DSC

Rocco Gagliardi

Office 365 Teams Security

Office 365 Teams Security

Rocco Gagliardi

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv