Farewell NTLM - It is time to disable NTLM

Farewell NTLM

It is time to disable NTLM

Michael Schneider
by Michael Schneider
on September 09, 2021
time to read: 15 minutes

Keypoints

NTLM poses a security risk and should be disabled

  • Many vulnerabilities are based on NTLM
  • NTLM has been replaced by Kerberos and is used for backward compatibility and as fallback mechanism
  • Blocking NTLM can have an impact on services
  • Configuration errors and exceptions can be identified with an analysis over several months
  • NTLM can be blocked within the domain after exceptions have been defined

Security researchers have found many vulnerabilities in Microsoft products in recent months which, in the worst case, allow to escalate privileges from non-authenticated access to the domain administrator. These include ProxyLogon (CVE-2021-26855, CVE-2021-27065) and ProxyShell (CVE-2021-34473, CVE-2021-34523, CVE-2021-31207) by Orange Tsai, PetitPotam (VDB-179650) by topotam, and various vulnerabilities in insecurely configured Active Directory Certificate Services (ADCS) by Will Schroeder and Lee Christensen. A common denominator is the use or misuse of the New Technology LAN Manager (NTLM) authentication protocol.

Attackers try to force NLTM authentication of a user or machine in order to abuse it for their own purposes. This technique is called Coerced Authentication or Forced Authentication. This can be achieved via direct requests or indirectly via machine-in-the-middle attacks (MITM) as well as ARP or multicast poisoning. The tool Responder by Laurent Gaffie is a popular and reliable tool for the latter attack technique. Attackers can use the forced NTLM authentication to crack credentials from the challenge response hashes or relay them to another system. An overview of NTLM relay attacks is shown in Charlie Bromberg’s mind map and the attack techniques are documented on the NTLM relay attacks page.

NTLM relay attack mind map by thehacker.recipes

NTLM poses a security risk and should be disabled.

Introduction

The NTLM protocol is a challenge response authentication and uses different protocols for this. The term NTLM should not be mistaken for the hash function of Windows. Windows stores the hash of passwords locally in the SAM database and on domain controllers in the file ntds.dit and uses the hash function NTHash, which uses the algorithm MD4(UTF-16-LE(password)). NTHash is often incorrectly referred as NTLM.

NTLM uses the following protocols:

The functionality of the protocols is explained in detail in the article The NTLM Authentication Protocol and Security Support Provider. NTLMv2 is supported since Windows NT 4.0 SP4. The Kerberos protocol has been the primary and preferred authentication method in an Active Directory infrastructure since Windows 2000. However, NTLM is still active by default in Windows 10 and Windows Server 2019 for compatibility reasons. NTLM is used for authentication if no AD infrastructure is available, authentication with systems outside the domain takes place, systems are addressed via the IP address instead of hostnames or DNS, or no domain controller can be reached using Kerberos.

Disable NTLM

Backward compatibility and the use as fallback protocol makes it difficult to disable NTLM. Therefore, outages could occur if NTLM is disabled on all systems without any prior investigation. The “Microsoft veteran” and principal program manager in the area of Windows Server Engineering Ned Pyle already wrote back in 2009 in the TechNet article NTLM Blocking and You: Application Analysis and Auditing Methodologies in Windows 7 that blocking NTLM is not easy and requires an analysis and longer preparation.

Audit of NTLM

There are three group policies under the path Computer Configuration\Policies\Windows Settings\Security Settings\Local Policies\Security Options, and the recommended setting to perform an analysis is:

Setting Value
Network security: Restrict NTLM: Audit Incoming NTLM Traffic Enable auditing for all accounts
Network security: Restrict NTLM: Audit NTLM authentication in this domain Enable all
Network security: Restrict NTLM: Outgoing NTLM traffic to remote servers Audit all

The Audit NTLM authentication in this domain policy should only be applied to domain controllers, the other two can be applied to all systems. The NTLM audit events are logged to the event log Applications And Services Logs\Microsoft\Windows\NTLM\Operational.

Analysis

All events are ideally collected and analysed in a central logging/monitoring infrastructure. For example with Splunk, the following entry can be added to the SplunkForwarder configuration in inputs.conf:

[WinEvent Log://Microsoft-Windows-NTLM/Operational]
checkpointInterval = 5
current_only = 0
disabled = 0
start_from = oldest

The objective is to identify which systems use NTLM for authentication. NTLM is used in various protocols such as HTTP or SMB. The following Splunk query can be used to generate a list of IP addresses of target servers:

source="winEvent Log*" "LogName=Microsoft-Windows-NTLM/Operational"
| rex field=_raw "(?i)target\sserver:\s(?<IP>.*)" 
| dedup IP
| table IP

This list is a starting point for analysing which systems and applications use NTLM. For this purpose, the log data of clients and servers are correlated. In events with the event id 8003, the incoming authentication request is logged on the server. The user, domain and workstation can be extracted from this message. At the same time, the outgoing connection is logged on the client under the event id 8001. In the case of applications that do not communicate over SMB, the target server, and the process (Name of client process) can be identified.

In the following example, the user jdoe accesses a web application with activated Windows Authentication via IP address:

Message=NTLM client blocked audit: Audit outgoing NTLM authentication traffic that would be blocked.
Target server: HTTP/192.168.1.112
Supplied user: jdoe
Supplied domain: TEST
PID of client process: 5780
Name of client process: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft\Edge\Application\msedge.exe
LUID of client process: 0xBE4B5
User identity of client process: jdoe
Domain name of user identity of client process: TEST

The client client01 establishes a connection to the web server web01 via the URL https://192.168.1.112. Authentication is necessary for access and since the IP address is used, the web server and browser agree on the NTLM protocol. The user enters his domain credentials, the web server accepts it and validates the credentials with the help of a domain controller. Based on the analysis of the logs, it is evident that an outgoing NTLM connection to 192.168.1.112 is established on the client (event id 8001), the NTLM connection is received on the web server (event id 8002) and the web server forwards the credentials for validation to a DC (event id 8004).

The audit phase should be continued over several months. Within this phase, log data can already be analysed and possible misconfigurations corrected. An example of a misconfiguration is that an IP address has been configured for access instead of the NetBIOS server name or the fully qualified domain name (FQDN).

If the service or application does only support NTLM, it must be registered as exception. However, the objective is to have as few exceptions as possible.

At the end of the audit phase, an exception list should be available containing all systems that receive incoming NTLM connections and from which systems access must be possible. The completeness of the list is essential for the functionality of the infrastructure. As soon as NTLM is blocked and a system is not on the list, this application will no longer work.

Blocking NTLM

When NTLM is blocked, it is not completely disabled on a system because the local login process still uses NTLM. Even if NTLM is blocked, logging in with a local account is still possible.

There are three group policies for blocking NTLM under the path Computer Configuration\Policies\Windows Settings\Security Settings\Local Policies\Security Options, and the settings to block NTLM completely are:

Setting Value
Network security: Restrict NTLM: Incoming NTLM traffic Deny all accounts
Network security: Restrict NTLM: NTLM authentication in this domain Deny all
Network security: Restrict NTLM: Outgoing NTLM traffic to remote servers Deny all

The settings Incoming NTLM traffic and Outgoing NTLM traffic to remote servers can be configured on all systems. The setting NTLM authentication in this domain is relevant for domain controllers.

If exceptions for blocking are necessary, the settings are available under the path Computer Configuration\Policies\Windows Settings\Security Settings\Local Policies\Security Options:

The setting Add remote server exceptions for NTLM authentication defines which systems a client can still authenticate to via NTLM. The NetBIOS name, FQDN and IP address are accepted as valid values. The list of systems that continue to accept NTLM requests and are within the domain must be included in the Add server exceptions in this domain setting. This setting is maintained on domain controllers.

Example

NTLM is to be blocked in this environment. Incoming and outgoing NTLM connections can be blocked on all systems of a domain. On the domain controllers, the use of NTLM within the domain is additionally deactivated. An exception list is also maintained on the domain controllers. In addition, outgoing NTLM connections must be declared as exceptions on the involved systems. This list should be divided among the requirements and not distributed as a complete list.

A web application that uses an IIS web server with Windows Authentication was specified as an exception. The following systems are involved for this exception. The DC dc01 is an example for all domain controllers in the domain.

Hostname IP address
dc01 192.168.1.101
web01 192.168.1.112
client01 192.168.1.201

The restriction Outgoing NTLM traffic to remote servers only affects client01 in this example, as the outgoing NTLM connection to web01 is blocked there (Event ID 4001). Therefore, the IP address of web01 is included in the list of the setting Add remote server exceptions for NTLM authentication. Ideally, the exception list is only assigned to clients that need access to the web application.

Due to the setting Incoming NTLM traffic being set to the value Deny all accounts, the NTLM connection from client01 to web01 is blocked on the web server (Event ID 4002). According to the documentation of Microsoft, the exception list Add server exceptions in this domain can be used for Incoming NTLM traffic. However, this exception did not work in the test environment, so the setting Incoming NTLM traffic had to be configured to the value Allow all on web01.

To disable NTLM within the domain, the setting NTLM authentication in this domain is set to the value Deny all. The NTLM authentication request of the web server will be blocked on the DC (Event ID 4004). Therefore, web01 is added to the list of the Add server exceptions in this domain setting. In the test environment, the NetBIOS server name had to be configured; if the FQDN was used, the exception did not work.

The configuration for the systems including exceptions is as follows:

Hostname Setting Value
dc01 Incoming NTLM traffic Deny all accounts
dc01 NTLM authentication in this domain Deny all
dc01 Outgoing NTLM traffic to remote servers Deny all
dc01 Add server exceptions in this domain web01
web01 Incoming NTLM traffic Allow All
web01 Outgoing NTLM traffic to remote servers Deny all
client01 Incoming NTLM traffic Deny all accounts
client01 Outgoing NTLM traffic to remote servers Deny all
client01 Add remote server exceptions for NTLM authentication 192.168.1.112

Conclusion

The authentication protocol NTLM is outdated and insecure and was replaced by Kerberos. Since then, NTLM has continued to be supported for compatibility reasons and is still active in the current Windows version. NTLM is misused for many attacks and makes it easier for attackers to compromise an Active Directory infrastructure.

The task of blocking NTLM must be implemented in several steps. First, it must be determined which systems and services still use NTLM. The audit settings should be enabled, and the logs analysed over months with the goal of finding incorrect configurations and reducing NTLM use. For systems that continue to depend on NTLM, exception lists can be documented and configured. Afterwards, NTLM can be disabled within the domain.

The hurdle to block NTLM is high, it is not an easy task to achieve and there is a risk of failures. But given the many attacks and vulnerabilities in NTLM, the security benefit is so substantial that it is worth tackling the project. It is time to say goodbye to NTLM. Farewell.

About the Author

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider has been in IT since 2000. Since 2010 he is focused on information security. He is an expert at penetration testing, hardening and the detection of vulnerabilities in operating systems. He is well-known for a variety of tools written in PowerShell to find, exploit, and mitigate weaknesses. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

You want to test the security of your firewall?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
ContainerKitty

ContainerKitty

Michael Schneider

WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

HardeningKitty Score

HardeningKitty Score

Michael Schneider

HTTP Response Header

HTTP Response Header

Michael Schneider

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Lebewohl NTLM - Es ist Zeit, NTLM zu deaktivieren

Lebewohl NTLM

Es ist Zeit, NTLM zu deaktivieren

Michael Schneider
von Michael Schneider
am 09. September 2021
Lesezeit: 15 Minuten

Keypoints

Darum sollte das Sicherheitsrisiko NTLM deaktiviert werden

  • Viele Schwachstellen basieren auf NTLM
  • NTLM wurde durch Kerberos abgelöst und dient zur Abwärtskompatibilität und als Fallback-Mechanismus
  • Das Blockieren von NTLM kann Auswirkungen auf den Betrieb haben
  • Mit einer Auswertung über mehrere Monate können Konfigurationsfehler und Ausnahmen identifizieren werden
  • Nach der Definition von Ausnahmen kann NTLM innerhalb der Domäne blockiert werden

In den letzten Monaten fanden Security Researcher viele Schwachstellen in Microsoft Produkten, die es im schlimmsten Fall ermöglichen die Rechte von einem nicht-authentisierten Zugriff zum Domain Administrator zu eskalieren. Dazu gehören ProxyLogon (CVE-2021-26855, CVE-2021-27065) und ProxyShell (CVE-2021-34473, CVE-2021-34523, CVE-2021-31207) von Orange Tsai, PetitPotam (VDB-179650) von topotam, sowie unterschiedliche Schwachstellen in unsicher konfigurierten Active Directory Certificate Services (ADCS) von Will Schroeder und Lee Christensen. Ein gemeinsamer Nenner ist die Verwendung respektive der Missbrauch des Authentisierungsprotokolls New Technology LAN Manager (NTLM).

Angreifer versuchen eine NLTM-Authentisierung eines Benutzers oder Maschine zu erzwingen, um diese für ihre Zwecke zu missbrauchen. Diese Technik wird als Coerced Authentication oder Forced Authentication bezeichnet. Der Missbrauch kann über direkte Anfragen oder indirekt über Machine-in-the-Middle-Angriffe (MitM) sowie ARP oder Multicast Poisoning bewerkstelligt werden. Das Tool Responder von Laurent Gaffie ist für die letztere Angriffstechnik ein beliebtes und zuverlässiges Werkzeug für Angreifer. Angreifer können die erzwungene NTLM-Authentisierung nutzen, um Zugangsdaten aus Challenge-Response-Hashes zu errechnen, oder diese an ein anderes System weiterzuleiten. Eine Übersicht über NTLM-Relay-Angriffe zeigt das Mindmap von Charlie Bromberg und diese werden unter der Seite NTLM-Relay-Angriffe dokumentiert.

NTLM Relay Attack Mind Map von thehacker.recipes

NTLM stellt ein Sicherheitsrisiko in einer IT-Infrastruktur dar und sollte deaktiviert werden.

Einführung

Das Protokoll NTLM ist eine Challenge-Response-Authentisierung und verwendet dazu verschiedene Protokolle. Der Begriff NTLM sollte nicht mit der Hashfunktion von Windows verwechselt werden. Windows speichert den Hash von Passwörtern lokal in der SAM Datenbank und auf Domain Controllern in der Datei ntds.dit und verwendet die Hashfunktion NTHash, welche den Algorithmus MD4(UTF-16-LE(password)) nutzt. Der NTHash wird fälschlicherweise oft als NTLM bezeichnet.

NTLM setzt die folgenden Protokolle ein:

Die Funktionsweise der Protokolle werden im Artikel The NTLM Authentication Protocol and Security Support Provider ausführlich erklärt. NTLMv2 wird ab Windows NT 4.0 SP4 unterstützt. Seit Windows 2000 wird in einer Active-Directory-Infrastruktur das Protokoll Kerberos als primäre und bevorzugte Authentisierungsmethode eingesetzt. Aus Kompatibilitätsgründen ist NTLM jedoch in Windows 10 und Windows Server 2019 standardmässig aktiv. NTLM wird dann zur Authentisierung genutzt, wenn keine AD-Infrastruktur vorhanden ist, eine Authentisierung mit Systemen ausserhalb der Domäne stattfindet, Systeme über die IP-Adresse anstelle von Hostnamen oder DNS adressiert werden oder kein Domain Controller mittels Kerberos erreichbar ist.

NTLM deaktivieren

Die Abwärtskompatibilität und der Fallback-Einsatz erschwert es NTLM zu deaktivieren. Es kann daher zu Ausfällen kommen, wenn NTLM ohne jegliche Vorabklärung auf allen Systemen deaktiviert wird. Der “Microsoft Veteran” und Principal Program Manager im Bereich Windows Server Engineering Ned Pyle schrieb bereits 2009 im TechNet-Artikel NTLM Blocking and You: Application Analysis and Auditing Methodologies in Windows 7, dass das Blocken von NTLM nicht einfach sei und dazu eine Analyse und längere Vorbereitung notwendig ist.

Audit von NTLM

Es gibt drei Gruppenrichtlinien unter dem Pfad Computer Configuration\Policies\Windows Settings\Security Settings\Local Policies\Security Options, und die empfohlene Einstellung um eine Analyse durchzuführen lautet:

Einstellung Wert
Network security: Restrict NTLM: Audit Incoming NTLM Traffic Enable auditing for all accounts
Network security: Restrict NTLM: Audit NTLM authentication in this domain Enable all
Network security: Restrict NTLM: Outgoing NTLM traffic to remote servers Audit all

Die Richtlinie Audit NTLM authentication in this domain sollte nur auf Domain Controllern angewandt werden, die beiden Andern können auf allen Systemen appliziert werden. Die NTLM-Audit-Ereignisse werden in dem Event Log Applications And Services Logs\Microsoft\Windows\NTLM\Operational protokolliert.

Auswertung

Alle Ereignisse werden idealerweise in einer zentralen Log-/Monitoring-Infrastruktur gesammelt und ausgewertet. Bei Splunk kann beispielsweise die SplunkForwarder-Konfiguration in inputs.conf um den folgenden Eintrag erweitert werden:

[WinEvent Log://Microsoft-Windows-NTLM/Operational]
checkpointInterval = 5
current_only = 0
disabled = 0
start_from = oldest

Das Ziel ist es zu identifizieren, welche Systeme NTLM zur Authentisierung nutzen. NTLM wird in verschiedenen Protokollen wie HTTP oder SMB eingesetzt. Mit dem folgenden Splunk Query kann eine Liste von IP-Adressen von Zielservern generiert werden:

source="winEvent Log*" "LogName=Microsoft-Windows-NTLM/Operational"
| rex field=_raw "(?i)target\sserver:\s(?<IP>.*)" 
| dedup IP
| table IP

Diese Liste dient als Startpunkt für die Analyse, welche Systeme und Applikationen NTLM einsetzen. Dazu werden die Logdaten von Clients und Server korreliert. In Ereignissen mit der Event ID 8003 werden auf Server die durchgeführte Authentisierung protokolliert, daraus kann der Benutzer, Domain und die Workstation ausgelesen werden. Gleichzeitig wird auf dem Client unter der Event ID 8001 die ausgehende Verbindung aufgezeichnet. Daraus kann im Falle von Applikationen, die nicht über das SMB-Protokoll kommunizieren, das Zielsystem (Target server) und der Prozess (Name of client process) ausgelesen werden.

Im folgende Beispiel greift der Benutzer jdoe auf eine Webapplikation mit aktivierter Windows Authentication per IP-Adresse zu:

Message=NTLM client blocked audit: Audit outgoing NTLM authentication traffic that would be blocked.
Target server: HTTP/192.168.1.112
Supplied user: jdoe
Supplied domain: TEST
PID of client process: 5780
Name of client process: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft\Edge\Application\msedge.exe
LUID of client process: 0xBE4B5
User identity of client process: jdoe
Domain name of user identity of client process: TEST

Der Client client01 baut eine Verbindung über die URL https://192.168.1.112 zum Webserver web01 auf. Für den Zugriff ist eine Authentisierung notwendig und da die IP-Adresse verwendet wird, einigen sich Webserver und Browser auf das Protokoll NTLM. Der Benutzer gibt seine Domain-Zugangsdaten ein, der Webserver nimmt diese entgegen und validiert die Zugangsdaten mit der Hilfe eines Domain Controllers. Anhand der Analyse der Logs ist bekannt, dass auf dem Client eine ausgehende NTLM-Verbindung zu 192.168.1.112 aufgebaut wird (Event ID 8001), auf dem Webserver die NTLM-Verbindung eingeht (Event ID 8002) und dieser die Prüfung der Zugangsdaten an einen DC weiterleitet (Event ID 8004).

Die Auditphase sollte über mehrere Monate fortgeführt werden. Innerhalb dieser Phase können bereits Logdaten analysiert und mögliche Fehlkonfigurationen behoben werden. Ein Beispiel für eine Fehlkonfiguration ist, dass der Zugriff über eine IP-Adresse anstelle des NetBIOS-Servernamen oder des vollqualifizierten Domänennamens (Fully qualified domain name, kurz FQDN) konfiguriert wurde.

Wenn die Anwendung oder der Dienst nur NTLM unterstützt, muss dies als Ausnahme erfasst werden. Das Ziel ist es jedoch so wenig Ausnahmen wie möglich zu haben.

Zum Abschluss der Auditphase sollte eine Ausnahmeliste vorliegen, die alle Systeme enthält, die eingehende NTLM-Verbindungen erhalten und von welchen Systemen der Zugriff möglich sein muss. Die Vollständigkeit der Liste ist essentiell für den Betrieb der Infrastruktur. Sobald NTLM blockiert wird, und ein System befindet sich nicht auf der Liste, wird diese Anwendung nicht mehr funktionieren.

Blocken von NTLM

Wenn NTLM geblockt wird, ist es auf einem System nicht vollständig deaktiviert, da der lokale Anmeldungsprozess weiterhin NTLM verwendet. Auch wenn NTLM blockiert wird, bleibt die Anmeldung mit einem lokalen Konto möglich.

Es gibt drei Gruppenrichtlinien für das Blocken von NTLM unter dem Pfad Computer Configuration\Policies\Windows Settings\Security Settings\Local Policies\Security Options, und die Einstellungen um NTLM vollständig zu blockieren lauten:

Einstellung Wert
Network security: Restrict NTLM: Incoming NTLM traffic Deny all accounts
Network security: Restrict NTLM: NTLM authentication in this domain Deny all
Network security: Restrict NTLM: Outgoing NTLM traffic to remote servers Deny all

Die Einstellungen Incoming NTLM traffic und Outgoing NTLM traffic to remote servers können auf allen Systemen konfiguriert werden. Die Einstellung NTLM authentication in this domain ist für Domain Controller relevant.

Falls Ausnahmen für die Blockierung notwendig sind, stehen die Einstellungen unter dem Pfad Computer Configuration\Policies\Windows Settings\Security Settings\Local Policies\Security Options zur Verfügung:

Mit der Einstellung Add remote server exceptions for NTLM authentication wird definiert, auf welche Systeme ein Client sich weiterhin über NTLM authentisieren kann. Als gültige Werte werden der NetBIOS-Servername, FQDN und IP-Adressen akzeptiert. Die Liste der Systeme, die weiterhin NTLM-Anfragen entgegen nehmen und sich innerhalb der Domäne befinden, muss in die Einstellung Add server exceptions in this domain aufgenommen werden. Diese Einstellung wird auf Domain Controllern gepflegt.

Anwendungsbeispiel

In einer Umgebung soll NTLM geblockt werden. Grundsätzlich können ein- und ausgehende NTLM-Verbindungen auf allen Systemen einer Domäne blockiert werden. Auf den Domain Controllern wird die Verwendung von NTLM innerhalb der Domäne zusätzlich deaktiviert. Ebenso wird auf den Domain Controllern eine Ausnahmeliste gepflegt. Zusätzlich müssen ausgehende NTLM-Verbindungen als Ausnahme auf den betroffenen Systemen deklariert werden. Diese Liste sollte auf die Bedürfnisse aufgeteilt und nicht als Ganzes verteilt werden.

Als Ausnahme wurde eine Webapplikation definiert, die einen IIS-Webserver mit Windows Authentication einsetzt. Die Angaben der involvierten Systeme sind in der folgenden Tabelle aufgelistet. Der DC dc01 steht exemplarisch für alle Domain Controller in der Domäne.

Hostname IP-Adresse
dc01 192.168.1.101
web01 192.168.1.112
client01 192.168.1.201

Die Einschränkung Outgoing NTLM traffic to remote servers betrifft in diesem Beispiel nur client01, da dort die ausgehende NTLM-Verbindung zu web01 geblockt wird (Event ID 4001). Daher wird die IP-Adresse von web01 in die Liste der Einstellung Add remote server exceptions for NTLM authentication aufgenommen. Idealerweise wird die Ausnahmeliste nur Clients zugewiesen, die den Zugriff auf die Webapplikation benötigen.

Da die Einstellung Incoming NTLM traffic auf den Wert Deny all accounts gesetzt wurde, wird die NTLM-Verbindung von client01 zu web01 auf dem Webserver geblockt (Event ID 4002). Gemäss der Dokumentation von Microsoft kann für Incoming NTLM traffic die Ausnahmenliste von Add server exceptions in this domain verwendet werden. Diese Ausnahme hatte in der Testumgebung jedoch nicht funktioniert, sodass die Einstellung Incoming NTLM traffic auf web01 auf den Wert Allow all konfiguriert werden musste.

Um NTLM innerhalb der Domain zu deaktivieren, wird die Einstellung NTLM authentication in this domain auf den Wert Deny all gesetzt. In diesem Beispiel wird daher die NTLM-Authentisierungsanfrage des Webservers auf dem DC geblockt (Event ID 4004). Daher wird web01 in die Liste der Einstellung Add server exceptions in this domain aufgenommen. In der Testumgebung musste der NetBIOS-Servername eingetragen werden, wenn der FQDN verwendet wurde, hatte die Ausnahme nicht geklappt.

Die Konfiguration für die Systeme inklusive den Ausnahmen sieht wie folgt aus:

Hostname Einstellung Wert
dc01 Incoming NTLM traffic Deny all accounts
dc01 NTLM authentication in this domain Deny all
dc01 Outgoing NTLM traffic to remote servers Deny all
dc01 Add server exceptions in this domain web01
web01 Incoming NTLM traffic Allow All
web01 Outgoing NTLM traffic to remote servers Deny all
client01 Incoming NTLM traffic Deny all accounts
client01 Outgoing NTLM traffic to remote servers Deny all
client01 Add remote server exceptions for NTLM authentication 192.168.1.112

Fazit

Das Authentisierungsprotokoll NTLM ist veraltet und unsicher und wurde durch Kerberos abgelöst. Seither wird NTLM aus Kompatibilitätsgründen weiter unterstützt und ist auch in der aktuellen Version von Windows noch aktiv. NTLM wird zudem für viele Angriffe missbraucht und erleichtert Angreifern eine Active-Directory-Infrastruktur zu kompromittieren.

Die Aufgabe NTLM zu blockieren muss in mehreren Schritten durchgeführt werden. Zuerst muss festgestellt werden, welche Systeme und Dienste NTLM noch nutzen. Dazu sollten die Audit-Einstellungen aktiviert und die Logs über Monate ausgewertet werden mit dem Ziel fehlerhafte Konfigurationen zu finden und die NTLM-Nutzung reduzieren zu können. Danach müssen die Ausnahmen definiert und die Konfiguration spezifiziert werden. Danach kann NTLM innerhalb der Domäne geblockt werden.

Die Hürde NTLM zu blockieren ist hoch, es ist keine einfache Aufgabe dies umzusetzen und das Risiko von Ausfällen besteht. Aber angesichts der vielen Angriffe und Schwachstellen in NTLM ist der Sicherheitsgewinn so gross, dass es sich lohnt das Projekt anzugehen. Es ist Zeit sich von NTLM zu verabschieden. Lebewohl.

Über den Autor

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider arbeitet seit dem Jahr 2000 in der IT. Im Jahr 2010 hat er sich auf die Informationssicherheit spezialisiert. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören das Penetration Testing, Hardening und das Aufspüren von Schwachstellen in Betriebssystemen. Er ist bekannt für eine Vielzahl in PowerShell geschrieber Tools zum Finden, Ausnutzen und Beheben von Schwachstellen. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Sie wollen die Sicherheit Ihrer Firewall prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
ContainerKitty

ContainerKitty

Michael Schneider

WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

HardeningKitty Score

HardeningKitty Score

Michael Schneider

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv