CIS Controls - What is new in version 8

CIS Controls

What is new in version 8

Tomaso Vasella
by Tomaso Vasella
on October 07, 2021
time to read: 6 minutes

Keypoints

These are the Changes of CIS Controls v8

  • The CIS Controls (formerly known as CIS Critical Security Controls) are a collection of recommended security measures to defend against the most common and dangerous attacks
  • The current version 8 of the CIS Controls was published in May 2021
  • The CIS Controls comprise 18 Safeguards which are subdivided into three Implementation Groups (IG)
  • The implementation groups build on each other, serve to prioritize the implementation of the CIS Controls and take into account organizations of all sizes

Cybersecurity incidents are increasingly frequent and unfortunately must be considered part of normality by now. In recent years, there has been a strong professionalization of attackers and the number of targets that can be attacked continuously increases as digitalization progresses – a development that is likely to continue for the next years. At the same time awareness of the need for robust security measures is increasing, also in smaller organizations.

These developments also lead to an increasing number of security standards, regulations, guidelines and tools to help organizations of all sizes to assess risks correctly and to take effective measures for adequate protection. On the one hand, this is welcome, but on the other hand, there are now almost too many security standards, making it sometimes difficult to identify the essential or minimally necessary precautions, especially for smaller organizations (the referenced standards in the Secure Controls Framework illustrate this quite well).

CIS Controls

It is one of the primary objectives of the CIS Controls to address precisely this challenge and to provide guidance for all sizes of organizations and different security needs. The CIS controls are a collection of concrete, prioritized security measures (called safeguards) that serve to defend against the most common cyberattacks on systems and networks. Especially for organizations that do not yet have a security program in place, they provide valuable guidance and assistance to start their own security program. The CIS controls reference various recognized frameworks such as the NIST CSF, ISO 27000, PCI DSS, and others, and consist of concrete measures that can be implemented pragmatically. The CIS controls exist for many years already and are continuously evolving and adapting to new developments and insights.

The CIS controls in the current version 8 (formerly: CIS Critical Security Controls or CIS Top 20) were published in May 2021. They have been adapted to better keep up with modern systems and current software. The still ongoing shift to cloud computing, increasing mobility, teleworking and home office, and also changing attack tactics prompted the update. The following figure shows an overview of all 18 CIS controls.

Overview CIS Controls

Implementation Groups

Since version 7.1, the CIS controls define three Implementation Groups (IG) that build upon each other. These groups are primarily used to prioritize the implementation of the security measures, but also address different security needs. IG1, for example, groups together those measures that should be implemented by all organizations to achieve a minimal level of security and can be implemented with limited resources and little expertise.

An organization must decide for itself which other Implementation Groups should be implemented. This decision should include the following considerations:

Implementation Group 1

IG1 includes 56 measures to achieve a minimum level of information security. These measures include basic topics and precautions such as asset management and inventory, secure configurations, access controls, backup, and so on. They represent the absolute minimum set of security measures that every organization should implement and are accordingly also referred to as basic cyber hygiene.

Implementation Group 2

IG2 includes 74 additional measures and builds upon IG1. The goal of this Implementation Group is to support somewhat larger organizations that have to consider more complexity and that may have multiple departments with different risk profiles. Some of the measures require solutions and tools that are more likely to be deployed in large environments and may require specialists to configure and operate. Examples include automated solutions for hardware and software inventory, vulnerability management solutions, or centralized logging and monitoring.

Implementation Group 3

IG3 includes 23 additional measures and builds on IG2. They are designed to help larger organizations with more resources and security expertise achieve better protection, even against more sophisticated attacks. Topics covered by this group include improved detection capabilities for security-related events and more comprehensive security testing.

Changes in Version 8

The most obvious change compared to the previous version is the reduction to a total of 18 controls with 153 measures (version 7.1: 20 controls and 171 measures). On the one hand, this is due to a stronger focus on what is essential today; on the other hand, topics have been partially merged.

Changes since the last version

Service Provider Management (control 15) is a_ new _addition, which takes into account the still increasing importance of cloud computing and software-as-a-service and the importance of supply chain security. Also noticeable, but plausible, is the shift of the control Data Protection to the front to position 3 and the increase in the priorities of the topics Account Management and Access Control Management. In sum, the changes at the level of the controls are not very extensive. In contrast, over 200 changes were made at the level of the Safeguards. Organizations already using the CIS controls should therefore look at the changes in detail. CIS provides a comprehensive compilation of all changes since the last version on its website.

Summary

The latest CIS controls have been amended with current topics and continue the principles already known from previous versions. Even more attention has been paid to focusing on the essentials and to including organizations of all types and sizes. The concept of Implementation Groups emphasizes the notion of basic cyber hygiene even more in the current version and defines a minimum standard for information security that is achievable even for small organizations with limited budgets and resources. In view of the likely developments, it may be assumed that measures described as advanced today will only suffice to achieve a minimum level of information security in the future.

About the Author

Tomaso Vasella

Tomaso Vasella has a Master in Organic Chemistry at ETH Z├╝rich. He is working in the cybersecurity field since 1999 and worked as a consultant, engineer, auditor and business developer. (ORCID 0000-0002-0216-1268)

Links

You want to bring your logging and monitoring to the next level?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Passwordless Authentication

Passwordless Authentication

Tomaso Vasella

Data Leakage Prevention

Data Leakage Prevention

Tomaso Vasella

Webscraping with Powershell

Webscraping with Powershell

Tomaso Vasella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

CIS Controls - Was ist neu in Version 8

CIS Controls

Was ist neu in Version 8

Tomaso Vasella
von Tomaso Vasella
am 07. Oktober 2021
Lesezeit: 6 Minuten

Keypoints

Das sind die Neuerungen der CIS Controls v8

  • Die CIS Controls (ehemals CIS Critical Security Controls) sind eine Sammlung empfohlener Sicherheitsmassnahmen zur Abwehr der verbreitetsten und gefährlichsten Angriffe
  • Die aktuelle Version 8 der CIS Controls wurde im Mai 2021 veröffentlicht
  • Die CIS Controls umfassen 18 sogenannte Safeguards, die in drei Umsetzungsgruppen (Implementation Groups, IG) unterteilt sind
  • Die Implementation Groups bauen aufeinander auf, dienen der Priorisierung der Massnahmen und berücksichtigen verschiedene Organisationsgrössen

Cybersecurity-Vorfälle gehören inzwischen immer mehr zum Alltag und müssen leider schlicht als Teil der Normalität betrachtet werden. In den letzten Jahren hat eine starke Professionalisierung der Angreifer stattgefunden und die Zahl der Angriffsziele ist durch fortschreitende Digitalisierung stark gestiegen – eine Entwicklung, die auch in den kommenden Jahren anhalten dürfte. Gleichzeitig sind sich immer mehr und auch kleinere Organisationen der Bedrohungen und der Notwendigkeit robuster Sicherheitsmassnahmen bewusst.

Diese Entwicklungen führen auch zu einer zunehmenden Vielfalt von Sicherheitsstandards, Regulativen, Richtlinien und Hilfsmitteln, die Organisationen aller Grössen dabei helfen sollen, Risiken richtig einzuschätzen und wirksame Massnahmen für einen angemessenen Schutz zu ergreifen. Einerseits ist dies begrüssenswert, andererseits existieren inzwischen fast schon zu viele Sicherheitsstandards, so dass es gerade kleineren Organisationen schwerfallen kann, die essenziellen oder minimal nötigen Vorkehrungen herauszuschälen (zur Illustration können die referenzierten Standards im Secure Controls Framework dienen).

CIS-Kontrollen

Es ist eines der Hauptziele der CIS-Kontrollen, genau hier anzusetzen und für alle Organisationsgrössen und verschiedene Sicherheitsbedürfnisse eine Hilfestellung zur Verfügung zu stellen. Die CIS-Kontrollen sind eine Sammlung konkreter, priorisierter Sicherheitsmassnahmen (sogenannte Safeguards), die der Abwehr der häufigsten Cyberangriffe auf Systeme und Netzwerke dienen. Vor allem für Organisationen, die noch nicht über ein Sicherheitsprogramm verfügen, bieten sie eine wertvolle Orientierungs- und Starthilfe. Die CIS-Kontrollen referenzieren verschiedene anerkannte Frameworks wie das NIST CSF, ISO 27000, PCI DSS und weitere und bestehen aus konkreten, pragmatisch umsetzbaren Massnahmen. Die CIS-Kontrollen gibt es seit vielen Jahren und sie werden laufen weiterentwickelt und neuen Entwicklungen und Erkenntnissen angepasst.

Die CIS-Kontrollen in der aktuellen Version 8 (früher: CIS Critical Security Controls oder CIS Top 20) wurden im Mai 2021 veröffentlicht. Sie wurden angepasst, um besser mit modernen Systemen und aktueller Software Schritt zu halten. Die fortschreitende Umstellung auf Cloud Computing, zunehmende Mobilität, Telearbeit und Home-Office und auch veränderte Angriffstaktiken waren der Anlass für die Aktualisierung. Die nachfolgende Abbildung zeigt eine Übersicht über alle 18 CIS-Kontrollen.

Übersicht CIS-Kontrollen

Implementation Groups

Seit Version 7.1 definieren die CIS-Kontrollen drei aufeinander aufbauende, sogenannte Implementation Groups (IG). Diese Gruppen dienen vor allem der Priorisierung der Sicherheitsmassnahmen, richten sich aber auch an verschiedene Sicherheitsbedürfnisse. So fasst die IG1 diejenigen Massnahmen zusammen, die zu Erreichung eines grundlegenden Sicherheitsniveaus umgesetzt werden sollten und auch mit eingeschränkten Ressourcen und wenig Expertise erreicht werden können.

Welche weiteren Implementation Groups umgesetzt werden sollen, muss eine Organisation für sich selbst entscheiden. Diese Entscheidung sollte die folgenden Gesichtspunkte berücksichtigen:

Implementation Group 1

Die IG1 umfasst 56 Massnahmen zur Erreichung eines Minimalniveaus an Informationssicherheit. Diese Massnahmen beinhalten grundsätzliche Themen und Vorkehrungen wie Inventar, sichere Konfigurationen, Zugriffskontrollen, Backup usw. Sie stellen das absolute Minimum an Sicherheitsmassnahmen dar, die jede Organisation implementieren sollte und werden dementsprechend auch als Basic Cyber Hygiene bezeichnet.

Implementation Group 2

Die IG2 umfasst 74 weitere Massnahmen und baut auf der IG1 auf. Ziel dieser Implementation Group ist die Unterstützung von etwas grösseren Organisationen, die möglicherweise aus mehreren Abteilungen mit unterschiedlichen Risikoprofilen bestehen und etwas grössere Komplexität aufweisen. Einige der Massnahmen setzen Lösungen und Werkzeuge voraus, die eher in grossen Umgebungen eingesetzt werden und Spezialisten für die Konfiguration und den Betrieb erfordern können. Beispiele sind automatisierte Lösungen für die Inventarisierung von Hard- und Software, Lösungen für das Schwachstellenmanagement oder zentralisiertes Logging und Monitoring.

Implementation Group 3

Die IG3 umfasst 23 zusätzliche Massnahmen und baut auf der IG2 auf. Sie sind darauf ausgerichtet, auch grössere Organisationen mit mehr Ressourcen und Sicherheitsexpertise zu einem besseren Schutz auch gegen höher entwickelte Angriffe zu verhelfen. Themen dieser Gruppe sind unter anderem verbesserte Detektionsmöglichkeiten für sicherheitsrelevante Ereignisse und umfassenderes Security Testing.

Neuerungen in der Version 8

Die offensichtlichste Änderung gegenüber der Vorgängerversion ist die Reduktion auf insgesamt 18 Kontrollen mit 153 Massnahmen (Version 7.1: 20 Kontrollen und 171 Massnahmen). Dies ist einerseits einer stärkeren Fokussierung auf das heute wesentliche geschuldet, andererseits sind Themen teilweise zusammengefasst worden.

Änderungen seit der letzten Version

Neu ist das Service Provider Management (Kontrolle 15) hinzugekommen, was der immer noch zunehmenden Bedeutung des Cloud Computing und dem hohen Stellenwert der Sicherheit von Versorgungsketten Rechnung trägt. Auffallend, aber einleuchtend, ist auch die Verschiebung der Kontrolle “Data Protection” nach vorne auf Stelle 3 und die Erhöhung der Prioritäten der Themen “Account Management” und “Access Control Management”. Die Änderungen auf der Ebene der Kontrollen sind somit recht übersichtlich ausgefallen. Hingegen wurden auf der Ebene der Massnahmen über 200 Änderungen vorgenommen. Organisationen, die bereits die CIS-Kontrollen einsetzen, sollten sich deshalb im Detail mit den Neuerungen auseinandersetzen. Eine umfassende Zusammenstellung aller Änderungen seit der letzten Version stellt CIS auf ihrer Website zur Verfügung.

Zusammenfassung

Die jüngsten CIS-Kontrollen wurden um aktuelle Themen und Arbeitsweisen ergänzt und setzen die aus früheren Versionen bekannten Grundsätze konsequent fort. Es wurde noch mehr auf die Konzentration auf das Wesentliche und auf den Einbezug von Organisationen aller Arten und Grössen geachtet. Das Konzept der Implementation Groups betont den Begriff der “Cyber Hygiene” in der Version 8 noch stärker und definiert einen Minimalstandard für Informationssicherheit, der auch für kleine Organisationen mit eingeschränktem Budget und Ressourcen erreichbar ist. Angesichts der wahrscheinlichen Entwicklungen darf man annehmen, dass heute als fortgeschritten bezeichnete Massahmen künftig nur noch zur Erreichung eines Minimalniveaus an Informationssicherheit ausreichen werden.

Über den Autor

Tomaso Vasella

Tomaso Vasella hat seinen Master in Organic Chemistry an der ETH Zürich abgeschlossen und ist seit 1999 im Bereich Cybersecurity aktiv. Positionen als Berater, Engineer, Auditor und Business Developer zählen zu seinen Erfahrungen. (ORCID 0000-0002-0216-1268)

Links

Sie wollen Ihr Log und Monitoring auf das nächste Level bringen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Passwortlose Authentifizierung

Passwortlose Authentifizierung

Tomaso Vasella

Data Leakage Prevention

Data Leakage Prevention

Tomaso Vasella

Webscraping mit Powershell

Webscraping mit Powershell

Tomaso Vasella

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv