Attacks against Miracast - How Secure is the Wireless Future?

Attacks against Miracast

How Secure is the Wireless Future?

Ahmet Hrnjadovic
by Ahmet Hrnjadovic
on November 04, 2021
time to read: 9 minutes

Keypoints

These are the Risks of Miracast

  • Wirelessly communicating display data makes it susceptible to wireless attacks
  • Miracast uses RTSP/RTP for multimedia transfer
  • No prior security context on the application layer exists between source and display, making it susceptible to MITM
  • Layer 2 is often provided by Wi-Fi Direct with WPS

With wireless technologies evolving, increasingly more functionality can be handled wirelessly. When sending of data over the air, it can be intercepted by anyone in the vicinity, which brings about new attacking possibilities. This article examines avenues of attack on Wi-Fi Direct through example of Miracast, also called Wi-Fi Display.

Miracast can be used on wireless networks in infrastructure mode and via Wi-Fi Direct. This article is going to focus on its use over Wi-Fi Direct, which is often the preferred method of using Miracast. When using Wi-Fi Direct, latency and noise on the air is reduced since data is only transmitted once, and not twice as in infrastructure mode: Once to the access point (AP) and once again from the AP to the display. After layer 1/2 is established through Wi-Fi Direct, the endpoints can talk to each other via standard IPv4/IPv6 protocols.

Miracast uses RTSP in conjunction with RTP to stream data from the source to the display. RTSP is a control protocol used for initiating and directing the delivery of multimedia, and RTP is the application layer protocol used for its delivery. In the majority of cases, there is no prior security context, such as a PSK, or security anchor, such as a PKI, between the RTSP/RTP connection of source and display. Therefore, this connection is vulnerable to man-in-the-middle attacks (MITM). The only security there is, is provided by the layer 1/2 protocol, Wi-Fi Direct.

Breaking WPS

All Miracast devices we encountered during our research by default either uses no authentication at all or WPS PIN authentication. The Miracast device we encountered which gave inspiration to write this article used WPS for authentication by default. It displays a dynamic 4-digit WPS PIN on the screen which the client uses to authenticate. WPS is plagued by design and implementation flaws which often break its security.

In the case of our test device, the dynamic PIN did not refresh on failed authentication attempts. This simply allows brute-forcing the 4-digit PIN. Furthermore, the dynamic 4-digit PIN did not refresh after successful layer 2 authentication, but only after a RTSP/RTP session was established. This allows brute-forcing a PIN and reusing it later, such as in a rogue AP attack to MITM a legitimate connection. Even if such a major flaw didn’t exist, we were curious if the PIN could be retrieved through other means. One approach that came to mind was to set up a rogue access point and get an unsuspecting the client to connect to it. It turns out that the WPS specification has taken this attack scenario into account. However, there is significant room for potential implementation errors which could give us an advantage. From this point on the terms registrar and enrollee are used for the Miracast device receiving the connection and the source device respectively.

Specification Countermeasures

In order to prevent an attacker from creating a rogue registrar and being handed the PIN on a silver platter by the enrollee, the PIN is not exchanged in clear text. Furthermore, the enrollee and registrar both authenticate each other mutually. Even if the PIN is not exchanged in clear text, would it not be possible to brute force it since the algorithm the enrollee uses to get to whatever derivation is known? The specification thought of this as well. The PIN derivative which is transmitted is the HMAC-SHA-256 value of the PIN concatenated with a secret 128-bit nonce and other session data. Furthermore, the PIN is split in two and transmitted in two parts, which we need not worry about now and will only become important later. For now, the enrollee prepares two HMAC hashes which the specification calls E-Hash1 and E-Hash2.

E-Hash1 = HMAC(E-S1 || PSK1 || PKE || PKR)

E-Hash2 = HMAC(E-S2 || PSK2 || PKE || PKR)

The key for the HMAC is derived from session parameters (negotiated Diffie-Hellman secret, two nonces shared at session initiation and enrollee’s MAC address) which are known and shared between enrollee and registrar. E-S1 and E-S2 are two separate 128-bit nonces which only the enrollee knows for now. PSK1 and PSK2 are the first 128 bits of the HMAC-SHA-256 of the first and second half of the PIN respectively. PKE and PKR are the public keys of the enrollee and registrar respectively.

Because the authentication is mutual, the registrar also generates two HMAC hashes in the same fashion with his own two secret nonces R-S1 and R-S2

R-Hash1 = HMAC(R-S1 || PSK1 || PKE || PKR)

R-Hash2 = HMAC(R-S2 || PSK2 || PKE || PKR)

In a next step, the enrollee and registrar share their HMAC hashes with each other. The addition of the secret nonces when generating the HMAC hashes prevents us from being able to brute force the PIN range. However, at this point, neither party can verify that the other used the correct PIN to generate the HMAC, because of the same unknown secret nonce. So, in a next step, the enrollee and registrar share the nonces they used one half at a time. First, the enrollee shares his secret nonce used to generate the E-Hash1: E-S1. The registrar now has all the values needed to calculate the same E-Hash1 value by using the correct first half of the PIN. If it is correct, the registrar responds with the secret nonce RS-2. The enrollee verifies that the registrar knows the second half of the PIN and then proceeds to send the E-S2 nonce. By making both parties share their HMAC hashes before exchanging the secret nonces, they both need to commit to telling what they think the PIN is, before getting the chance to retrieve any information on the PIN. If the nonces later shared by any party show that a different PIN was used to generate the HMAC, the nonce exchange is halted prematurely, preventing the PIN from being leaked.

Vulnerabilities

Assuming the best-case scenario where an 8-digit pin is used, there should be a theoretical possibility range of 100,000,000 combinations. When the registrar is vulnerable to brute force attacks, we can retrieve the PIN in 231 days in the worst-case scenario with a pace of 5 PINs per second. However, by splitting the PIN up into two parts, each 4-digit part can be brute forced separately. This equates to 10’000 combinations per half or 33 minutes in the worst-case at 5 PINs per second. The second half of the PIN does not even have to be brute forced at the registrar, since it can be brute forced offline instantly after the registrar shares his R-S2 nonce. Registrars with static PINs are completely compromised by this. If the registrar uses a dynamic PIN, he should generate a new PIN on failed authentication attempts to prevent such attacks. The Miracast device we had access to did not refresh the dynamic PIN on failed authentication attempts.

Knowing the PIN exchange process, we can revisit our rogue AP idea. When the enrollee tries to authenticate with us, it will leak the first half of the PIN in every case, because the enrollee goes first with sharing a secret nonce. After receiving the nonce E-S1 and responding with our own R-S2, the enrollee will not carry on with sharing E-S2, as he will have seen that we are not in possession of the PIN. However, the first half of the PIN is all we need. We can connect with the real registrar and supply the correct first half of the PIN alongside a bogus second half. Because we can demonstrate that we know the first half of the PIN, the registrar will respond with the R-S2 nonce, allowing us to brute force the second half of the PIN offline practically instantly. Since we already “locked in” our answer for what we believe the second half of the PIN is with E-Hash2 before the nonce exchange began, we cannot complete this authentication successfully. However, we gained the ability to retrieve the entire PIN with only a single failed authentication attempt at the registrar. If the registrar is anything but super tight, this approach will retrieve the valid PIN and enable successful authentication at the registrar. This approach may be beneficial when targeting registrars with elevated security measures such as rate limiting or temporary lockouts to combat brute force attacks or when a dynamic PIN refreshes after a few failed login attempts. The only registrars who stand a chance here are those which use dynamic PINs and refresh the dynamic PIN on every failed authentication attempt.

Conclusion

WPS is plagued by design flaws. Even in the best-case scenarios where dynamic PINs are used, security-breaking implementation errors seem to be prevalent. Because WPS is the only protective mechanism for Miracast in many setups, the use of Miracast to share content of any sensitivity should be well considered. Motivated attackers who get into wireless transmission range of the Miracast setup have significant chances of success. This may be especially relevant for high-value targets such as businesses. Implementors should understand the threat model and common attacks against WPS to avoid releasing vulnerable implementations to the market. Here, the WPS specification provides sufficient guidance in security relevant areas.

About the Author

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

Ahmet Hrnjadovic is working in cybersecurity since 2017. There he is focused in topics like Linux, secure development and web application security testing. (ORCID 0000-0003-1320-8655)

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Monero

Monero

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

SSLv3 Attacks

SSLv3 Attacks

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

Third-Party Cookies

Third-Party Cookies

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

Qubes OS

Qubes OS

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Miracast Security - Wie sicher ist die drahtlose Zukunft?

Miracast Security

Wie sicher ist die drahtlose Zukunft?

Ahmet Hrnjadovic
von Ahmet Hrnjadovic
am 04. November 2021
Lesezeit: 9 Minuten

Keypoints

Diese Risiken bringt Miracast mit

  • Das drahtlose Kommunizieren von Display-Daten macht diese auf drahtlose Angriffe anfällig
  • Miracast verwendet RTSP/RTP für den Multimedia-Transfer
  • Da kein vorheriger Sicherheitskontext zwischen Bildquelle und Display vorhanden ist, ist die Verbindung anfällig auf MITM
  • Layer 2 wird oft durch Wi-Fi Direct mit WPS gestellt

Mit fortschreitender Entwicklung drahtloser Technologien können zunehmend mehr Funktionalitäten darüber gehandhabt werden. Wenn Daten drahtlos verschickt werden, können sie in ihrer Rohform von jedem in der Umgebung abgehört werden, was neue Bedrohungen mit sich bringt. Dieser Artikel beleuchtet Angriffsmöglichkeiten auf Wi-Fi Direct am Beispiel eines Miracast-Geräts, auch Wi-Fi Display genannt.

Miracast kann auf drahtlosen Netzwerken im Infrastructure Modus und via Wi-Fi Direct verwendet werden. Dieser Artikel beschäftigt sich mit der Verwendung über Wi-Fi Direct, welches oft die bevorzugte Methode ist, Miracast zu verwenden. Über Wi-Fi Direct werden Latenzzeiten und drahtlose Interferenz verringert, da Daten nur einmal verschickt werden und nicht zweimal wie im Infrastructure-Modus (zuerst vom Client zum Access Point und danach vom Access Point zum Display). Nachdem die Layer 1/2 Verbindung über Wi-Fi Direct etabliert ist, können die Endpunkte normal miteinander kommunizieren über Standardprotokolle wie IPv4/IPv6.

Miracast verwendet RTSP zusammen mit RTP um Daten von der Quelle zum Display zu streamen. RTSP ist ein Control-Protokoll, welches zur Initiierung und der Verwaltung von Datenströmen verwendet wird. RTP ist das Application-Layer-Protokoll, welches die Datenströme transportiert. In den meisten Fällen gibt es keinen vorrausgehenden Sicherheitskontext, wie beispielsweise ein PSK oder eine PKI, welches die RTSP/RTP Kommunikation zwischen Quelle und Display authentisiert. Somit ist diese Kommunikation anfällig auf Man-in-the-Middle-Angriffe (MITM). Die einzige Absicherung wird durch das Layer 1/2 Protokoll Wi-Fi Direct bereitgestellt.

Angriff auf WPS

Alle Miracast-Geräte, die wir während unserer Recherche genutzt haben, verwendeten standardmässig entweder keine Authentisierung oder WPS-Authentisierung. Das Miracast-Gerät welches uns zu diesem Artikel inspiriert hat, verwendete standardmässig WPS-Authentisierung. Es zeigt eine dynamisch generierte, 4-stellige WPS-PIN auf dem Bildschirm an, die der Benutzer zur Authentisierung verwendet. WPS ist von Design- und Implementationsschwächen betroffen, welche die Sicherheit des Anwendungszwecks oft kompromittieren können.

Im Falle unseres Geräts wurde die dynamische PIN nach fehlgeschlagenen Authentisierungsversuchen nicht erneuert, sondern erst nachdem eine RTSP/RTP-Sitzung aufgebaut wurde. Dies ermöglicht Brute-Force-Angriffe, vor allem, wenn nur eine kurze PIN mit 4 Stellen genutzt wird. Damit kann eine PIN eruiert und zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt verwendet werden, beispielsweise in einem Rogue-AP Angriff, um eine MITM-Position bei einer neu entstehenden Verbindung zu erlangen. Wir waren neugierig, ob die PIN auch über andere Wege erlangt werden kann, beispielsweise in Situationen, wo keine derartige Schwachstelle vorliegt. Ein Ansatz, der in den Sinn kam, war das Verwenden eines Rogue-AP um einen Client dazu zu bringen, sich mit uns zu verbinden. Es stellt sich heraus, dass die WPS-Spezifikation dieses Angriffsszenario bedacht hat. Allerdings besteht viel Raum für potentielle Implementationsfehler, mit denen wir uns dennoch einen Vorteil verschaffen können. Von diesem Punkt an verwendet der Artikel den Begriff Registrar für das Miracast-Gerät, welches eine Verbindung entgegennimmt und Enrollee für das Gerät welches seine Bildschirmdaten teilen will.

Sicherheitsmassnahmen der Spezifikation

Um zu verhindern, dass ein Angreifer einen Rogue-Registrar aufmacht und die legitime PIN vom Enrollee auf einem Silbertablett serviert bekommt, wird die PIN nicht im Klartext übertragen. Weiterhin authentisieren sich der Enrollee und der Registrar beide gegenseitig. Auch wenn die PIN nicht im Klartext ausgetauscht wird, besteht hier die Möglichkeit, die PIN mit Brute-Force-Methoden zu eruieren? Die Spezifikation denkt auch hier mit. Das PIN-Derivat, welcher versandt wird, ist der HMAC-SHA-256-Hash der PIN, einer 128-Bit Nonce und andere Session-Daten. Weiterhin wird die PIN in zwei Hälften gespalten und zweiteilig verschickt, was erst später relevant wird. Jetzt bereitet der Enrollee zwei HMAC Hashes vor, welche die Spezifikation E-Hash1 und E-Hash2 nennt.

E-Hash1 = HMAC(E-S1 || PSK1 || PKE || PKR)

E-Hash2 = HMAC(E-S2 || PSK2 || PKE || PKR)

Der Schlüssel für die HMAC-Funktion wird von Session-Parametern deriviert (Diffie-Hellman Secret, zwei beim Verbindungsaufbau geteilte Nonces, die MAC-Adresse des Enrollees) welche dem Registrar und Enrollee bekannt sind. E-S1 und E-S2 sind zwei separate 128-Bit Nonces welche zu diesem Zeitpunkt nur dem Enrollee bekannt sind. PSK1 und PSK2 sind die ersten 128 Bits des HMAC-SHA-256-Hashs, der ersten respektive zweiten Hälfte der PIN. PKE und PKR sind die Public-Keys des Enrollees und des Registrars.

Weil sich beide Parteien gegenseitig authentisieren, generiert der Registrar ebenfalls zwei HMAC-Hashes, auf dieselbe Art mit seinen eigenen geheimen Nonces R-S1 und R-S2.

R-Hash1 = HMAC(R-S1 || PSK1 || PKE || PKR)

R-Hash2 = HMAC(R-S2 || PSK2 || PKE || PKR)

In einem nächsten Schritt teilen Enrollee und Registrar ihre HMAC-Hashes miteinander. Die Addition der geheimen Nonces für die Erstellung des HMAC hindert uns daran, die PIN-Range mit Brute-Force-Methoden zu eruieren. Allerdings kann zu diesem Zeitpunkt keine Partei verifizieren, ob die andere die korrekte PIN zur Generierung des HMAC-Hashes verwendet hat, da die geheime Nonce unbekannt ist. Im nächsten Schritt tauschen Enrollee und Registrar ihre geheimen Nonces schrittweise miteinander aus. Zuerst teilt der Enrollee die geheime Nonce E-S1, die er zur Generierung seines HMAC-Hashes E-Hash1 verwendet hat. Der Registrar har damit alle nötigen Variablen, um denselben E-Hash1 wert zu berechnen wenn er dieselbe erste Hälfte der PIN verwendet. Kommt der Registrar auf denselben HMAC-Hash, hat er verifiziert, dass der Enrollee die erste Hälfte der PIN kennt. Jetzt antwortet er dem Enrollee mit der R-S2 Nonce. Der Enrollee verifiziert den Registrar gleichermassen und schickt, wenn alles Grünen ist, die E-S2-Nonce. Indem beide Parteien ihre HMAC-Hashes teilen bevor die geheimen Nonces ausgetauscht werden, müssen sie ihre Karten auf den Tisch legen bevor sie eine Chance erhalten, etwas über die PIN zu erfahren. Wenn irgendeine Partei merkt, dass die andere Partei die falsche PIN hat, wird der Nonce-Austausch frühzeitig abgebrochen und eine Offenlegung der ganzen PIN wird verhindert.

Schwachstellen

Unter der Annahme, dass eine 8-stellig PIN verwendet wird, gibt es einen Möglichkeitenraum von 100’000’000 PIN-Kombinationen. Wenn ein Registrar anfällig auf Brute-Force-Angriffe ist, kann die PIN nach spätestens 231 Tagen gefunden werden bei einer Abfragegeschwindigkeit von 5 PINs pro Sekunde. Allerdings wird die PIN in zwei Teile gespalten, welche separat verifiziert werden. Dies verringert den Möglichkeitenraum drastisch auf 10’000 Kombinationen pro PIN-Hälfte. Eine PIN-Hälfte kann bei 5 PINs/Sekunde in spätestens 33 Minuten eruiert werden. Die zweite Hälfte muss nicht einmal am Registrar mit Brute-Force-Methoden erprobt werden. Nachdem die erste PIN-Hälfte vom Registrar erfolgreich verifiziert wird, teilt dieser seine R-S2 Nonce mit, mit der die zweite PIN-Hälfte praktisch sofort offline mit Brute-Force errechnet werden kann. Die Authentisierung bei einem Registrar mit einer statischen PIN ist mit diesem Ansatz komplett kompromittiert. Wenn der Registrar eine dynamische PIN verwendet, sollte er die PIN nach jedem fehlgeschlagenen Login-Versuch erneuern, um solche Angriffe zu verhindern. Das Miracast-Gerät, zu welchem wir Zugang hatten, hat die dynamische PIN bei fehlgeschlagenen Anmeldeversuchen nicht aktualisiert.

Jetzt wo wir den PIN-Austausch-Prozess kennen, können wir die Idee mit dem Rogue-AP erneut aufgreifen. Wenn der Enrollee versucht sich gegenüber unserem Registrar zu authentisieren, wird er die erste Hälfte der PIN offenlegen, da der Enrollee als erster seine Nonce E-S1 teilt. Nachdem wir die Nonce erhalten und dem Enrollee unsere R-S2 Nonce schicken, wird der Enrollee uns nicht E-S2 schicken, sondern den Nonce-Austausch abbrechen da unsere Authentisierung ihm gegenüber fehlschlägt. Allerdings haben wir uns damit bereits alles, was wir vom Enrollee benötigen, geholt. Wir verbinden uns jetzt mit dem Registrar und präsentieren die korrekte erst PIN-Hälfte zusammen mit einer zufälligen zweiten PIN-Hälfte. Weil wir demonstrieren können, dass wir im Besitz er ersten PIN-Hälfte sind, wird der Registrar uns die R-S2 Nonce schicken, mit welcher die zweit PIN-Hälfte offline in kürzester Zeit berechnet werden kann. Da wir bereits mit dem E-Hash2 eine falsche zweite PIN-Hälfte auf den Tisch legen mussten bevor der Nonce-Austausch begonnen hat, können wir diesen Authentisierungs-Flow nicht mehr erfolgreich absolvieren. Allerdings haben wir die komplette PIN eruiert mit nur einem einzelnen fehlgeschlagenen Anmeldeversuch am Registrar. Für alle Registrars, die auch nur ein klein wenig Spiel erlauben, kann so eine valide PIN eruiert werden und die Authentisierung am Registrar erfolgen. Dieser Ansatz ist dann attraktiv, wenn der Registrar einigermassen abgesichert ist, wie beispielsweise mit Rate-Limits und Lockouts gegen Brute-Force-Angriffe oder wenn eine dynamische PIN sich nach ein Paar fehlgeschlagenen Anmeldeversuchen erneuert. Die einzigen Registrars, die hier hiervon abgesichert sind, sind jene, die dynamische PINs verwenden, welche nach jedem einzelnen fehlgeschlagenen Authentisierungsversuch erneuert werden.

Fazit

WPS ist von Designfehlern betroffen. Selbst in den bestmöglichen Szenarien, in denen dynamische PINs verwendet werden, scheint die Sicherheit durch verbreitete Implementierungsfehler untergraben zu sein. Da WPS in vielen Miracast-Konfigurationen der einzige Schutzmechanismus ist, sollte die Verwendung von Miracast zum Teilen sensitiver Inhalte gut abgewogen sein. Motivierte Angreifer, die in Funkreichweite von Miracast-Einrichtung gelangen, haben signifikante Erfolgschancen. Dies kann insbesondere für lukrative Ziele wie Unternehmen relevant sein. Hersteller sollten das Bedrohungsmodell und gängige Angriffe auf WPS verstehen, um zu vermeiden, anfällige Implementierungen auf den Markt zu bringen. Hier bietet die WPS-Spezifikation ausreichend Anleitung in sicherheitsrelevanten Belangen.

Über den Autor

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

Ahmet Hrnjadovic arbeitet seit dem Jahr 2017 im Bereich Cybersecurity, wobei er sich auf die Bereiche Linux, sichere Programmierung und Web Application Security Testing fokussiert. (ORCID 0000-0003-1320-8655)

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
SSLv3 Angriffe

SSLv3 Angriffe

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

Third-Party-Cookies

Third-Party-Cookies

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

Qubes OS

Qubes OS

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv